Does Diarmuid Connolly have his own rules?

Replying To waynoI:  "I've said it before and I will say it time, and time again. Each incident should be treated on its own merits.

What has gone on before with regards to Diarmuid Connolly is completely irrelevant to this one incident.

I don't care if Diarmuid Connolly was provoked. HE should know better at this stage. I love the footballer that glides past opposition and scores amazing scores. I have no time for the Diarmuid Connolly who produces nothing in his time on the pitch, lets himself get wound up as if getting this kind of attention is alien to him, then lashes out with an act of stupidity potentially letting himself and his teammates down.

People saying it wasn't dangerous. He got someone in a headlock and flung him to the ground. He deserved to go. Doesn't matter what had gone on before it, For that incident he shouldn't have remained on the field.

To try and deflect blame by saying Cribben came out and said WM players looked to wind up Connolly is nauseating. He said in public what managers and players say in the confides of their dressing room/training pitches.

Fact is Connolly is a marvellous footballer. But so many times now he has been sent off or should have been sent off for acts of violence against the opposition. He is as likely to let him teammates down, as he is to have a great game. I don't think him being sent off would have made a difference to the outcome of yesterdays game, but he should have seen the line."
Think it's a bit strong calling it an act of vilonce, that aside excellent post couldn't agree more more lads n lassies need to lose the county glasses or this site is dead

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/07/2016 20:17:36    1885845

Replying To westkerry:  "This is why lads stay away from these forums,
It's a game, tempers flair, incidents happen.
Unless it's an act of complete assault then leave it on the field.
It's like who can be outraged more... Get over it..."
Exactly,it's a whingers paradise this forum.He deserved a yellow and he got one.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 18/07/2016 20:22:41    1885854

Yeh it's a black card all right deliberate pull down same as SoS got in AISF. Whatever about the merits of the card yesterday I think the black card should only be for pull down disrupting play

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 18/07/2016 20:29:20    1885856

Often when a player from your home county,or a close rival, is involved in a controversial incident like this, it can be difficult to remain unbiased while arriving at a fair and balanced conclusion.
So what I do sometimes in these circumstances, is switch the protagonists around, to see if I still feel the same way or if I was clouded in my original judgement.

So, whatever way you feel about this incident, imagine for a moment it was Connolly who ruffled hair, and Dolan who initiated the headlock/chokehold.
Take your time, think about it, and be honest with yourself:
do you still feel the same way about the incident?

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 18/07/2016 21:49:47    1885909

Replying To Gleebo:  "Black card offences:

Cynical Behaviour Fouls

Deliberately pull down an opponent.
Deliberately trip an opponent with the hand(s), arm, leg or foot.
Deliberately body collide with an opponent after he has played the ball away or for the purpose of taking him out of a movement of play.
Threaten or to use abusive or provocative language or gestures to an opponent or a teammate.
Remonstrate in an aggressive manner with a Match Official.

Immediate Ordering Off Infractions (Red Cards)

Striking or attempting to strike with arm, elbow, hand, knee or head.
Kicking or attempting to kick with minimal force or with force or causing injury.
Behaving in any way which is dangerous to an opponent.
Spitting at an opponent.
Contributing to a melee.
Stamping.
Inflicting injury recklessly.
Abusive language towards a Referee, Umpire, Linesman or Sideline Official.

Take your pick!

No-one's saying Connolly isn't a brilliant player, nor that Westmeath didn't seek to rile him up. But he should know by now that the word is out about his suspect temperament, and opponents will seek to wind him up, given his history of discipline issues.

It's also noteworthy that most of those going all Helen Lovejoy about the AOS incident the other week have gone missing in action on this thread."
Good man. I note 'provocative gesture' in the black card list but yet I haven't seen you calling out the ref for not giving Dolan a black. Yet you've been whinging about Connolly throughout the thread. Why is that? Because Dolan is not a Dub?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 19/07/2016 00:31:25    1885976

For all the talk of Connolly being targeted, let's not forget that what precipitated the entire incident was getting his hair ruffled! Mildly irritating and somewhat childish, but his reaction was ridiculous.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 19/07/2016 00:41:01    1885978

Where's all the uproar about this? Far worse than the Connolly incident.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 19/07/2016 08:30:05    1886008

The Westmeath man shouldn't have touched Connolly, he instigated the incident and got what he deserved.

geoff (Tyrone) - Posts: 377 - 19/07/2016 08:37:58    1886011

I think the problem with "debate" on this forum is people neither read or aware of what has already been said and they are rather late to the debate! By page six the same conclusions have been recycled ad nauseum, conclusions that were arrived in consensus by the first ten or so posts. If people are going to make sweeping statements about their own county posters they should at least show them the courtesy of reading what has already been posted the "johnny come latelys" might be surprised that it has already been stated. To the point in hand Jim Gavin won't drop Connolly simply because he is a gifted footballer - warts an all. A coach will put up with his "dark" side because when he fires he fires well. As was said ages ago, he was poor on the field, should have been subbed, he was been wound up, playing badly and a firework likely to go off, that is when Gavin will cut his losses as would any good coach. But being all moralistic - leave that to the real county fans.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 19/07/2016 08:57:39    1886015

Connolly has had his say on the matter:

"I think the referee dealt with it there and then. I was a bit frustrated, but look, that's part and parcel of the game as well."

He added that his rash reaction was down to how he had failed to get into his stride rather than any attention he was receiving from the opposition.

"No. It was a yellow card offence.

"I don't think that was a factor [goading from Westmeath players], I was just more frustrated with how I was playing myself and that's what happened."

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 19/07/2016 15:55:00    1886426

Surely this thread should be on the Dublin page no?
I mean all the culchies are giving out about the James McCarthy thread saying it should be on the Dublin page .....so.....shouldnt same rules apply here?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/07/2016 16:07:20    1886434

Replying To ballydalane:  "For all the talk of Connolly being targeted, let's not forget that what precipitated the entire incident was getting his hair ruffled! Mildly irritating and somewhat childish, but his reaction was ridiculous."
that was the one incident you saw
sure he was getting it off the ball throughout the game

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/07/2016 20:56:46    1886647