Does Diarmuid Connolly have his own rules?

It's a black card fair enough the ref got it wrong but never in the history of Gaelic football have I seen a straight red card for a head lock, please someone show me footage of a player being straight red carded for a headlock?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/07/2016 14:21:06    1885546

Replying To Damothedub:  "Couldn't agree more ,
There is very little honest debate on here, indeed a lot of what passes for debate on out games is I believe a vehicle for deep down held distain for one another and its sad . You can predict 90 % of the posts the vitriol and spew that comes on here ,
Re the incident I felt Connolly was stupid for how he reacted , if it was possible he's put an even bigger target on his back in upcoming games , last week I stated re AOS that I don't like scapegoats nor do I like retrospective action , apply the rules and apply them equally and fairly ,"
Well said DamotheDub. If you're looking for reasoned debate unfortunately this is not the place. Used to be. Standard these days is just a load of name calling and weird revisionist nonsense. Nearly all threads on here have returned to AOS diving last week as a means of distraction from the real subject. Connolly should have got a yellow or a red. It was not a black card offence. As TOS pointed out last nite the ref used the yellow card as a get out of jail card.
PS I could mention that I witnessed many footballers taking a dive from all teams involved in yesterday's televised games but I wouldn't do that

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 18/07/2016 14:28:37    1885557

Replying To Weary:  "Well said DamotheDub. If you're looking for reasoned debate unfortunately this is not the place. Used to be. Standard these days is just a load of name calling and weird revisionist nonsense. Nearly all threads on here have returned to AOS diving last week as a means of distraction from the real subject. Connolly should have got a yellow or a red. It was not a black card offence. As TOS pointed out last nite the ref used the yellow card as a get out of jail card.
PS I could mention that I witnessed many footballers taking a dive from all teams involved in yesterday's televised games but I wouldn't do that"
Why is it not a black card infraction?

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 18/07/2016 14:52:01    1885591

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Gleebo news just in;

Connolly says he didn't headlock player

Diarmud Connolly says he did not headlock Westmeath player, Connolly says if there was more camera's in Croker they might have pick up him not headlocking Westmeath player, Connolly says his conscience is clear.

Gleebo there you go"
Jaysus, come on man. I stated at the time that AOS dived and should take his punishment. I also think that he would be better off keeping quiet and concentrating on his football rather than coming out with half-baked nonsense to justify his actions.

As for the headlock question, it's not so much putting an opponent in a half Nelson that's dangerous as doing so and then driving him towards the ground. I personally wouldn't give a red for it, but it's hard to argue against a black card according to the rule book.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/07/2016 14:53:38    1885593

Replying To KYTitletown:  "Imagine the reaction from the Dublin media and HS if it was Paul Galvin who did that................................"
Considering he's retired I imagine the reaction to him "choke-holding" a Westmeath player in Croke Park would be appropriate.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 18/07/2016 15:22:22    1885628

I actually agree with Ulsterman ( for once :-) )
Looks like Diarmuid Connolly is a law unto himself.
Should have got a straight red....getting his hair ruffled was no excuse to go all UFC...he was lining up to give your man a good smack until anorther Westmeath man pulled him off him.

There is no doubt he is a great footballer but simply is not learning from his mistakes, he has got scott free in every case against against him both on and off the field.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 18/07/2016 15:55:54    1885667

Replying To woops:  "I actually agree with Ulsterman ( for once :-) )
Should have got a straight red....getting his hair ruffled was no excuse to go all UFC...he was lining up to give your man a good smack until anorther Westmeath man pulled him off him.

There is no doubt he is a great footballer but simply is not learning from his mistakes, he has got scott free in every case against against him both on and off the field."
he was lining up to give your man a good smack until anorther Westmeath man pulled him off him.

And you know that how??

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 18/07/2016 16:02:01    1885673

dont get people saying he should have got a black card
as the ball was not in play so therefore it was judged like any other outburst when the game is stopped
theres melees in nearly every game and players grapple to the ground
and get two yellow cards all the time when the ball is not in play.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/07/2016 16:33:33    1885712

Replying To Jackeen:  "Always up for a bitta fun sure I'm a Dub!"
As Bill used to say okie doke, we'll leave it there so.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 18/07/2016 16:44:02    1885723

Yellow card was the right call, as it should have been for O'Shea in last year's semi V Dublin. You can only apply cynical play when it interferes with actual play. Anyway, lose the feckin thing as our refs are at different levels of interpretation!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 18/07/2016 17:06:47    1885738

This is why lads stay away from these forums,
It's a game, tempers flair, incidents happen.
Unless it's an act of complete assault then leave it on the field.
It's like who can be outraged more... Get over it...

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/07/2016 17:25:28    1885752

Yes and I've agreed it's a black card but never seen a straight red for a head lock.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/07/2016 18:31:21    1885786

Replying To westkerry:  "This is why lads stay away from these forums,
It's a game, tempers flair, incidents happen.
Unless it's an act of complete assault then leave it on the field.
It's like who can be outraged more... Get over it..."
Exactly. Yellow card was fair enough. Nothing more to be said about it.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7876 - 18/07/2016 18:32:58    1885787

Not the biggest fan of Connolly but a yellow card was the right call. Catching a player in a headlock and bringing him to the ground does not warrant a red card IMO. He has gotten away lightly with incidents in the past but on this occasion the ref made the right call.

The black card rule should also be got rid off as soon as possible, nobody seems 100% sure on the ruling anymore and im sure the refs are even sick to the teeth of it at this stage.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 18/07/2016 18:41:49    1885795

Replying To woops:  "I actually agree with Ulsterman ( for once :-) )

There is no doubt he is a great footballer but simply is not learning from his mistakes, he has got scott free in every case against against him both on and off the field."
Connolly should lucky to stay on field. Should have been black carded. Kieran Donaghy done exact same to Michael Murphy during league. Also Lee Keegan pulled Connolly down by neck last year. Peter Crowley on James McCarthy in league final. All cases were black cards and referee took easy way and issued yellow cards .

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 18/07/2016 18:47:10    1885798

worth a yellow no more, He does get picked on a bit even if its small silly stuff like roughing his hair or clapping in his face when he misses a shot at goal, Reminds me a bit of Graham Geraghty he has to stand up for himself

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 18/07/2016 18:53:06    1885802

Replying To hill16no1man:  "dont get people saying he should have got a black card
as the ball was not in play so therefore it was judged like any other outburst when the game is stopped
theres melees in nearly every game and players grapple to the ground
and get two yellow cards all the time when the ball is not in play."
Incorrect. No where in the rules does it say that the ball has to be in play. A black card, or any other card can be issued before, during or even after the game. A minimum of black should have been given to DC.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 18/07/2016 19:29:28    1885818

Replying To realdub:  "Yellow card was the right call, as it should have been for O'Shea in last year's semi V Dublin. You can only apply cynical play when it interferes with actual play. Anyway, lose the feckin thing as our refs are at different levels of interpretation!"
I wish people would read the rules to get a better understanding of them. An action does not have to interfere with play before a black, or any other colour, can be applied. In this case there was a deliberate pulling down of an opponent to the ground and it merits a black card as per rule book. Even if it happened before the throw in at the start, a black could have been issued.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 18/07/2016 19:35:40    1885822

Replying To SheridansTry:  "worth a yellow no more, He does get picked on a bit even if its small silly stuff like roughing his hair or clapping in his face when he misses a shot at goal, Reminds me a bit of Graham Geraghty he has to stand up for himself"
Have a look at the rule book for the crack and you will see that it should be black!!!!

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 18/07/2016 19:37:22    1885824

Replying To clondalkindub:  "It's a black card fair enough the ref got it wrong but never in the history of Gaelic football have I seen a straight red card for a head lock, please someone show me footage of a player being straight red carded for a headlock?"
The red probably wouldn't be issued for the headlock, but for the dangerous manner in which he took his opponent to the ground. Dangerous play = red card.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 18/07/2016 19:39:55    1885826