Does Diarmuid Connolly have his own rules?

Replying To theduke66:  "Yeh o Sheas was similar he shouldn't have left pitch for it. Glitch in rules pull down for stopping play only should be black."
Fair answer.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 17/07/2016 21:52:35    1885059

Yeah Jack whatever you say.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/07/2016 21:56:05    1885066

Replying To username.if:  "I've seen him do worse think your trying to find a reason to hate. There's no doubt he's plays with aggression and gets himself wound up at times but it was handbags. I hate the lad but you've got to admire his ability one of the best naturally gifted footballer."
Diarmuid Connolly is a superb footballer, the best on the island by a street at the minute and one of the few you would joyfully pay in to watch THIS IS NOT IN QUESTION. What many of us do have issues with is that Connolly and his team-mates get away with a lot of stuff other players and counties don't. That today was a very dangerous pull down and it warranted a red card and at the very least a black for a cynical drag down. Over the past few seasons Dublin players have faced accusations of biting and eye-gouging and most of it has been airbrushed away and ignored by the GAA and Southern media. This is because NO ONE there has the cajones to call the Dubs out because.......they are the Dubs, they bring in the fans, they sell a lot papers and advertising and well.......let's not just talk about ANYTHING negative involving them. It is a farce of the highest order.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 17/07/2016 21:57:53    1885068

Replying To Jackeen:  "Keegan got Connolly in a chokelock last year. What was the punishment? SoS did likewise with Cooper last year & got a black so i believe either a yellow or black was merited in this instance. This one he got away with. Others he doesnt. He's way too liable to being provoked and teams know it. Gavin needs to sanction him somehow."
Oh Jackeen you disappoint me. Agreeing Connolly was actually in the wrong. Now there are three things you can rely on in this life, they are death, taxes and Jackeen defending every Dublin indiscretion against all comers. Now girl don't be going soft on us. This forum just wouldn't be the same.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 17/07/2016 21:58:24    1885069

Chokehold hahaha he head locked him to the grand and let go straight away , red card my H---e. Cribbin said they targeted him before the game so you should be saying fair play to Connolly for not reacting in a dangerous manner. I said after Mayo game last year the black card on Seamie was a disgrace. Come on folks it's like every game your Queing up for Dublin player to do something wrong so you's can slate them. The last game against Meath no one had any problems with what happened in that game.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts:7622 - 17/07/2016 19:57:27
Head lock to ground = chokehold...
If not a red card(which could easily be justified) then what?
That he was targeted is irrelevant in many respects. He gets niggle as he gives a lot and acts out.
This isn't an anti dub thing. Its anti ridiculous behaviour that needs to be got rid of from the game.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 17/07/2016 22:04:51    1885079

Every team in Ireland goaded and targeted Paul Galvin didn't stop him getting punished for his indiscretions on the field

Does Connolly deserve immunity?

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 17/07/2016 22:07:29    1885082

Replying To cluichethar:  "All these Dublin fans seem to forget that Connolly had Keegan in a headlock as well"
Keegan pulled down and grabbed Connolly by the neck. Connolly broke free and hit Keegan a couple digs

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 17/07/2016 22:15:40    1885084

Replying To cluichethar:  "All these Dublin fans seem to forget that Connolly had Keegan in a headlock as well"
Nay you got to read the DRA ruling amazing what you see when you convince yourself you saw it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 17/07/2016 22:15:44    1885085

Replying To realdub:  "Yeah they had some field day against him in 2011 didn't they?!"
Silly comment as this is a different tyrone team. You can't ignore that he has a fierce temper and is involved in incidents more than a normal player. Surely all it would take is to have a word in his ear and tell him to calm down.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 17/07/2016 22:49:33    1885095

Replying To realdub:  "Look, Cribbin even admitted after the game that they targeted him and try to entice him, of course he'll lash out now and then, if you ask me, he has kept his hands by his side during a lot of aggravation in the last few years."
Realdub every good player gets targeted it's allways been the way and as an ex player your self you know this,
Gooch has been targeted all his career but he doesn't strike out even when he's had fingers in the eyes .
Connolly needs to learn to calm him self for the good of his team, although he's 28/29 now so I can't see that happening at this stage .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/07/2016 22:52:15    1885096

Replying To yew_tree:  "every incident now descends into a "who don't what before" debate. Posters deflect away from their own man/team back t past incidents. It's boring..."
This is the difficulty with the Byzantine GAA disciplinary system , Yew Tree. If the GAA fails to implement its own rulebook consistently, there will always be precedents through which the guilty can absolve themselves. IMO,Connolly's offense was a black card according to the rulebook.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 17/07/2016 23:33:29    1885125

Hahahahahaha you bunch of absolute women hahahahaha.......
Keep going Dermo. Best footballer in Ireland. Mmmmmwwaaahhhaaaaahhaaaa

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/07/2016 23:36:29    1885129

Replying To Joxer:  "Fair play to Cribbin for coming out and admitting that they targetted Connolly. That was a brave interview. Connolly could have taken the coward's way out and dived on the ground like a player from a certain other county but in fairness he could also have decked the player with a fist and broken his jaw, and we have seen that also this year. Pulling Dolan to the ground was probably somewhere in between. It would have been a harsh red when he didnn't strike a blow but by the rules that should have been a red and Westmeath should have had a red too. Still some achievement for this magnificent Dublin team. Three games away from what a lot of people might regard as the greatest team to ever play the game."
Fine piece of whataboutery there, it's so much more honourable to overreact to a mildly irritating piece of gamesmanship in a violent fashion than dive (yawn).

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 17/07/2016 23:38:04    1885131

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Chokehold hahaha he head locked him to the grand and let go straight away , red card my H---e. Cribbin said they targeted him before the game so you should be saying fair play to Connolly for not reacting in a dangerous manner. I said after Mayo game last year the black card on Seamie was a disgrace. Come on folks it's like every game your Queing up for Dublin player to do something wrong so you's can slate them. The last game against Meath no one had any problems with what happened in that game."
It's not too different to Dublin posters' circle jerk after the AOS incident last week.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 17/07/2016 23:40:13    1885135

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Hahahahahaha you bunch of absolute women hahahahaha.......
Keep going Dermo. Best footballer in Ireland. Mmmmmwwaaahhhaaaaahhaaaa"
Step away from the computer and take another one of those big tablets.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 17/07/2016 23:42:31    1885137

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Oh Jackeen you disappoint me. Agreeing Connolly was actually in the wrong. Now there are three things you can rely on in this life, they are death, taxes and Jackeen defending every Dublin indiscretion against all comers. Now girl don't be going soft on us. This forum just wouldn't be the same."
Oddly im not sure you're around this place lomg enough to have that opinion of me. Examples please?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/07/2016 00:30:10    1885165

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Man some of ye must never have played the game
Yeah Connolly was silly to let it get to him but how has nobody suggested what westmeath were doing is very poor sportsmanship.
we had a hullabaloo all last week over I Shea diving and how it's cheating yet not so much as a single poster mentions the bad sportsmanship shown by westmeath to goad and down right entice somebody into something. Their manager has even admitted it after they pre planned to go after him. What's the player to do in my opinion this best thing to do is turn and point at the scoreboard and show the aggressors that's where we will do our talking yet when Alan brogan done that before to the same treatment he was labelled as showboating. The refs have a rule where they can give a black card to players abusing another player But had there been one given since the black card was introduced? What's the other options connolly has? He went to the ref already before that incident to inform him he was been targeted and it didn't do much good. So you come to the conclusion you ignore him and let him intimidate you and walk all over you and then what as Jim Gavin says we expect our players to stand up for themselves so if Connolly allows them to intimidate and walk all over him he will be taken off by management for not standing up for himself. For me people whinge about diving and all sorts in the gaa but condone abusive behaviours from teams to try and get player's sent off as means to try winning a game."
Delighted that others too see the true facts. Westmeath have admitted they intentionally targeted Diarmuid Connolly. To deliberately provoke or target a player has to be one of the lowest levels of sportsmanship. Almost as if to say that if one can't equal or surpass a player, then the route to winning is the cheat's way of deliberate provoking. Can true satisfaction ever be gained from this? Not for decent, honest sportsmen.
Diarmuid Connolly is one of the very best players in this country. He has got to the level he is at by way of his ability, his commitment and his character. He may have a temper. That temper is part of his character and has made him what he is. It may be a fault. If so, it is a fault which he alone has to deal with and most definitely should not be used by others to gain advantage.
Which one of us have no faults?
Like Diarmuid Connolly and his temper, we all battle with something. There are times we succeed and times we don't, but go on trying nonetheless. In such cases, negative behavior from others is never helpful.
Diarmuid Connolly's abilities are far greater than his faults.
Which one of us have worked on our abilities to the same level as he has?

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 18/07/2016 02:04:33    1885180

Dublin GAA is certainly way ahead in the number of threads and reaction on social media it gets.

Could it have been red, there is a case. Was it black? Yes.

Surprised at Connolly as he knows there is no defender in Ireland good enough to mark him when on the ball, its only winding him up that works.

Anyway we had 3 practise matches now I hope we pull Mayo in the Qs

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 18/07/2016 07:10:30    1885195

Gleebo Ulsterman and all the haters there's absolutely no come back to this thread when the manager of the opposition's team says after the game "we went out to get at Connolly " how can you go against a player who has been targeted before the game? If Jim Gavin said that you's would be going mental on here , they targeted an amateur footballer come on they wouldn't stop at him the whole first half I was in the lower hogan and he kept going to the linesman basically saying "will you do something"

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/07/2016 08:34:17    1885206

Replying To witnof:  "Dublin GAA is certainly way ahead in the number of threads and reaction on social media it gets.

Could it have been red, there is a case. Was it black? Yes.

Surprised at Connolly as he knows there is no defender in Ireland good enough to mark him when on the ball, its only winding him up that works.

Anyway we had 3 practise matches now I hope we pull Mayo in the Qs"
To be fair, Lee Keegan has done a great job marking him more than once. While winding him up as well!!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 18/07/2016 08:34:46    1885207