Does Diarmuid Connolly have his own rules?

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Yeah he tossled his hair. That's really pushing his buttons alright. I suppose it could be worse...he could have reacted like the Tyrone man last year who fell to the ground like a ton of bricks when the same thing was done to him last year."
Ah here we go again - thread about Dublin and Connolly and we have a mindless southern post about Tyrone - zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 17/07/2016 18:59:47    1884884

Replying To arock:  "In hindsight for a chokelock a red card is merited."
Fair play. I have a lot of respect for a fan who calls a spade a spade even at the detriment of one of their own. More than can be said for supporters of a certain other county who apparently don't know the difference between a theatrical fall to the ground and a push.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 17/07/2016 19:05:51    1884891

Replying To festinog:  "Fair play. I have a lot of respect for a fan who calls a spade a spade even at the detriment of one of their own. More than can be said for supporters of a certain other county who apparently don't know the difference between a theatrical fall to the ground and a push."
Why don't you practice what you preach and call a spade a spade - which county do you refer to - let me guess - an Ulster county? Most discretions are always called out by their fans when players do wrong so not sure where you've been?

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 17/07/2016 19:35:24    1884925

Fair play to Cribbin for coming out and admitting that they targetted Connolly. That was a brave interview. Connolly could have taken the coward's way out and dived on the ground like a player from a certain other county but in fairness he could also have decked the player with a fist and broken his jaw, and we have seen that also this year. Pulling Dolan to the ground was probably somewhere in between. It would have been a harsh red when he didnn't strike a blow but by the rules that should have been a red and Westmeath should have had a red too. Still some achievement for this magnificent Dublin team. Three games away from what a lot of people might regard as the greatest team to ever play the game.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/07/2016 19:54:12    1884948

Man some of ye must never have played the game
Yeah Connolly was silly to let it get to him but how has nobody suggested what westmeath were doing is very poor sportsmanship.
we had a hullabaloo all last week over I Shea diving and how it's cheating yet not so much as a single poster mentions the bad sportsmanship shown by westmeath to goad and down right entice somebody into something. Their manager has even admitted it after they pre planned to go after him. What's the player to do in my opinion this best thing to do is turn and point at the scoreboard and show the aggressors that's where we will do our talking yet when Alan brogan done that before to the same treatment he was labelled as showboating. The refs have a rule where they can give a black card to players abusing another player But had there been one given since the black card was introduced? What's the other options connolly has? He went to the ref already before that incident to inform him he was been targeted and it didn't do much good. So you come to the conclusion you ignore him and let him intimidate you and walk all over you and then what as Jim Gavin says we expect our players to stand up for themselves so if Connolly allows them to intimidate and walk all over him he will be taken off by management for not standing up for himself. For me people whinge about diving and all sorts in the gaa but condone abusive behaviours from teams to try and get player's sent off as means to try winning a game.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/07/2016 19:56:14    1884950

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "In fairness Seamie O Shea only got a yellow for a similar offence in last years semi final replay against Dublin. Oh no wait..........."
Yeh o Sheas was similar he shouldn't have left pitch for it. Glitch in rules pull down for stopping play only should be black.

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 17/07/2016 19:57:05    1884951

Chokehold hahaha he head locked him to the grand and let go straight away , red card my H---e. Cribbin said they targeted him before the game so you should be saying fair play to Connolly for not reacting in a dangerous manner. I said after Mayo game last year the black card on Seamie was a disgrace. Come on folks it's like every game your Queing up for Dublin player to do something wrong so you's can slate them. The last game against Meath no one had any problems with what happened in that game.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/07/2016 19:57:27    1884952

Connolly must be the most easily wound up player in the GAA. The Tyrone lads will have a field day if they come across him this year.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 17/07/2016 20:08:26    1884966

Nothing to it. Some of you lads must still be in euros mode.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 17/07/2016 20:23:13    1884983

You have to give it to the Dubs, they would put that North Korean crowd to shame with their undying loyalty and denial of everything outside their own wee bubble. In this world the rules don't apply and the Dubs have a God given right to win and disregard the rules because.......they can....and they do as the officials and Croke Park have shown; the Dublin tail is still wagging the GAA dog and Gaelic Games are dying on their ar*e because of it.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 17/07/2016 20:40:49    1885004

Look, Cribbin even admitted after the game that they targeted him and try to entice him, of course he'll lash out now and then, if you ask me, he has kept his hands by his side during a lot of aggravation in the last few years.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 17/07/2016 20:55:24    1885018

Replying To mike03:  "If lads want a red card for what Connolly did then GAA really is on its last legs. Christ almighty it was a harmles tussle. Yellow at most."
It's not the UFC it's the GAA He got him round the neck threw him over his shoulder onto the ground and held his neck all the way A move like that could cause serious damage So quit with the harmless tussle stuff A lot of other players have seen red for a lot less The Westhmeath player should have gone too for trying to break the Dublin players arm

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 17/07/2016 20:56:50    1885019

Replying To ballydalane:  "Connolly must be the most easily wound up player in the GAA. The Tyrone lads will have a field day if they come across him this year."
Yeah they had some field day against him in 2011 didn't they?!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 17/07/2016 20:58:38    1885022

All these Dublin fans seem to forget that Connolly had Keegan in a headlock as well

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 17/07/2016 21:02:44    1885026

Replying To gotmilk:  "Do it on the street and you will have a trip up the high steps."
Run in to a fella shoulder to shoulder on the street and you will be there too. So your point isn't really relevant.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 17/07/2016 21:07:26    1885029

Replying To Ulsterman:  "You have to give it to the Dubs, they would put that North Korean crowd to shame with their undying loyalty and denial of everything outside their own wee bubble. In this world the rules don't apply and the Dubs have a God given right to win and disregard the rules because.......they can....and they do as the officials and Croke Park have shown; the Dublin tail is still wagging the GAA dog and Gaelic Games are dying on their ar*e because of it."
You're OBSESSED with the Dubs. Kind of pathetic to be honest. But understandable. We are great afterall.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 17/07/2016 21:08:42    1885030

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Dublin have their own set of rules. Ref gifts them handy frees start of second half that opens a gap. Westmeath give up. Why are the refs always Dublin biased? Why do we never get a ref biased against them? Not like they need the extra help."
Just throw Dublin out of leinster!!, jack might stop the whinging then.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 17/07/2016 21:22:14    1885038

I don't see how a Longford man would do a dub any favor's

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 17/07/2016 21:26:08    1885042

Great player. But he's a liability it's public knowledge it was recommended he needed continued anger management classes. I don't feel that sorry for westmeath as they admitted targeting him but Gavin should punish him even if he got away with it. He can afford to leave him on the bench even if he is one of the greatest footballers around. Don't think Brian coady would put up with it

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 17/07/2016 21:44:35    1885052

After viewing the Connolly incident twice, the co-commentator said there was nothing malicious, more or less two lads engaging in a little horseplay, move along nothing to see. When the two lads in the studio pointed out at half time that the offence merited a black the co-commentator promptly said forget what I said in the first half, what I really meant to say was......Now I would imagine an integral part of your qualifications, when applying for the job would be a knowledge of the rules. I always thought that part of a co-commentators job would be to enlighten the armchair viewer who, in common with most referees, can't tell the difference between a black, yellow and red card offence. I wonder do interviews for the job go something like;" Now Mr interviewee, how do you see your role as co-commentator"? "Well I suppose I'd just waffle on about nothing and if something controversial happened I'd pretend I didn't see it"."Great answer, When can you start"?

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 17/07/2016 21:51:03    1885058