Diarmuid O'Connor - What a brilliant young talent

Replying To TheMaster:  "7 of them have either featured or been involved for the mayo senior team this year flaker. You have only shown that you don't know them.
As for O'Connor being our 'driving force' in the final. Loftus and Irwin rattled off 2-2 each, and still didn't get motm. That went to ruane."
Firstly Master i am well aware of who got gametime, the poster was asking who has broken through? Now FBD and the league is a run out for new players, I am stating that only 3 or 4 will make the breakthrough into the senior panel or maybe not even that will get gametime in the championship, that is what we are talking about. This summer, not next or maybe the year after.

As for the second point you made, I wasn't debating who else didn't play well, you said DOC was average, so you either didn't see the games or you are blind? And yes he was the driving force, the hard runner from deep in all of the games mentioned, therefore the driving force. maybe you don't understand? So again just to repeat you said he was AVERAGE.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 19/07/2016 16:24:58    1886463

Saying O'Connor's U21 campaign was average is laughable. Mayo wouldn't have won the competition without him.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 19/07/2016 17:11:56    1886497

Replying To ZeitChrist:  "Saying O'Connor's U21 campaign was average is laughable. Mayo wouldn't have won the competition without him."
They wouldn't have won it without a lot of players to be honest so that doesn't prove a whole lot in this context. He most certainly didn't carry the team to the title as was suggested, that is for sure. Again, I think he is the best young player in the country, but that claim was simply not accurate and Im just pointing that out. Give guys their due credit, no more no less. No need to big them up unnecessarily, no need to knock them undeservedly, just call it straight. That goes for everyone, be it oconnor or the other players.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/07/2016 17:20:01    1886507

I think that some of that u-21 squad have been called into the junior panel. Kerry use all young players for their junior team as it's one way of keeping them involved.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/07/2016 18:28:55    1886560

Replying To TheMaster:  "They wouldn't have won it without a lot of players to be honest so that doesn't prove a whole lot in this context. He most certainly didn't carry the team to the title as was suggested, that is for sure. Again, I think he is the best young player in the country, but that claim was simply not accurate and Im just pointing that out. Give guys their due credit, no more no less. No need to big them up unnecessarily, no need to knock them undeservedly, just call it straight. That goes for everyone, be it oconnor or the other players."
You are some craic Master. Many of the U-21's had a fantastic year. DOC was the best overall especially in the big games, remember you said average so you can talk about the other players if you want, that doesn't make your statement on his performances any better. That is a fact, I know you hate them.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 19/07/2016 18:38:14    1886567

Replying To GormlaighG:  "Not only was Diarmuid on fire yesterday evening, he was absolutely blazing.
It was a privilege to watch such skill from a truly talented and humble young player. We thoroughly enjoyed each of his magnificent displays.
Diarmuid is an excellent example of the very best of Gaelic football.
He is quickly progressing to the stage where he can hold his own with that other great forward named Diarmuid (Connolly).
Well done Diarmuid and all of the Mayo lads. Ye were super last night."
Judge him if and when he comes up against the defences of the likes of Donegal/ Tyrone.
Good defending and he never would got that goal on Sat night. Kildare gave away the ball for both Mayo goals so even if DOC played well leave bigging him up until September if Mayo are still there
Whoever Mayo will meet down the line I'm sure the manager of that county will have his homework done.
And this goes for all counties who have star young players - don't bum them up just yet as there are big games ahead in August / Sept. That's the time to put on a show and prove what you can do
Think how a team can play so different from one game to another -- Tyrone Sunday with 5-17 v Cavan two weeks ago and at 70 minutes play on Sun v Donegal they had a total of 12 points. Just got lucky with their long range shooting in the last three minutes.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 20/07/2016 11:03:44    1886871

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "Judge him if and when he comes up against the defences of the likes of Donegal/ Tyrone.
Good defending and he never would got that goal on Sat night. Kildare gave away the ball for both Mayo goals so even if DOC played well leave bigging him up until September if Mayo are still there
Whoever Mayo will meet down the line I'm sure the manager of that county will have his homework done.
And this goes for all counties who have star young players - don't bum them up just yet as there are big games ahead in August / Sept. That's the time to put on a show and prove what you can do
Think how a team can play so different from one game to another -- Tyrone Sunday with 5-17 v Cavan two weeks ago and at 70 minutes play on Sun v Donegal they had a total of 12 points. Just got lucky with their long range shooting in the last three minutes."
While I agree with your overall point on not bigging up players against poor defences, DOC had a terrific year last year and played very well against Donegal and Dublin, winning young player of the year and missing out on an All Star only due to the fact they didn't make the final. So he is already doing it against the big teams.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 20/07/2016 11:27:58    1886887

I think Cormac Costello is a far better player and yet for some reason can't get a look in...
Haven't seen a huge amount from O'Connor to suggest he'll be a great player...never mind already being one

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/07/2016 14:04:18    1886996

Replying To TheFlaker:  "While I agree with your overall point on not bigging up players against poor defences, DOC had a terrific year last year and played very well against Donegal and Dublin, winning young player of the year and missing out on an All Star only due to the fact they didn't make the final. So he is already doing it against the big teams."
Himself and Jack McCaffrey were the two best players on the pitch in the drawn semi-final between Mayo and Dublin last year.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 20/07/2016 14:18:42    1887012

connelly is the most natural player i have ever seen.
quotes like costello is better or judge him against teams like tyrone or donegal.

You guys all there.

i wouldnt judge anything against tyrone or donegal they nearly destroyed gaelic football and the biggest threart to gaa is harte who is a parisite eating the life of the gaa from the inside.

some need to get over themselves.

there are only 2 team that will put it up to the dubs kerry and mayo all the rest are pretenders

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 20/07/2016 14:21:21    1887016

Replying To heresam:  "connelly is the most natural player i have ever seen.
quotes like costello is better or judge him against teams like tyrone or donegal.

You guys all there.

i wouldnt judge anything against tyrone or donegal they nearly destroyed gaelic football and the biggest threart to gaa is harte who is a parisite eating the life of the gaa from the inside.

there are only 2 team that will put it up to the dubs kerry and mayo all the rest are pretenders"
Look , both Donegal and Tyrone have a chance of beating Dublin
We don't know what or where Kerry are at , didn't look too good in the Div One final when I last saw them and I'd say they are an old team with very little left Again they have played nobody ( not their fault) and won't be playing anybody until the AI semi final.
I think Donegal / Tyrone are in a better place than Mayo , defiantly have a better defensive structure, would Kevin McLaughlin be part of Donegal/Tyrone's defensive system? Doubt it.
Plus all who said the blanket is finished , well you got your answer on Sunday. Must credit the two teams on how they kept their discipline on Sunday as both defences refused to yield. Fair enough Tyrone got three wonderful scores on Sunday in injury time to win but to me Donegal lost nothing in defeat.
Plus if we beat Cork on Sat week all ye southern boys will have a chance to see two great Ulster teams in Croke park. Study their formation and movements. Leave M Hart alone , think ye are all afraid of an Ulster team winning Sam. But I can tell you Tyrone /Donegal will be no walkovers.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 20/07/2016 14:54:51    1887057

Replying To tiobraid:  "I think Cormac Costello is a far better player and yet for some reason can't get a look in...
Haven't seen a huge amount from O'Connor to suggest he'll be a great player...never mind already being one"
What have you seen from Costello to suggest that? He hasn't made the transition to senior football yet, Gavin would be playing him if he had.

DOC won young poty last year and has stepped up a few levels this year. He 100% has the potential to be one of the greats.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 20/07/2016 14:54:58    1887058

Replying To MayoDan:  "What have you seen from Costello to suggest that? He hasn't made the transition to senior football yet, Gavin would be playing him if he had.

DOC won young poty last year and has stepped up a few levels this year. He 100% has the potential to be one of the greats."
Fair point but that's just my opinion! If he is as good as you say he is then maybe that can push Mayo to the next level.
I've seen enough from Costello since he's a minor to suggest he can slot in and replace Bernard Brogan as the most consistent finisher in the game. But I could be wrong if Gavin isn't playing him, there must be something wrong!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/07/2016 15:16:49    1887077

Replying To heresam:  "connelly is the most natural player i have ever seen.

You guys all there.

there are only 2 team that will put it up to the dubs kerry and mayo all the rest are pretenders"
Fully agree

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 20/07/2016 15:18:15    1887078

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "Look , both Donegal and Tyrone have a chance of beating Dublin
We don't know what or where Kerry are at , didn't look too good in the Div One final when I last saw them and I'd say they are an old team with very little left Again they have played nobody ( not their fault) and won't be playing anybody until the AI semi final.
I think Donegal / Tyrone are in a better place than Mayo , defiantly have a better defensive structure, would Kevin McLaughlin be part of Donegal/Tyrone's defensive system? Doubt it.
Plus all who said the blanket is finished , well you got your answer on Sunday. Must credit the two teams on how they kept their discipline on Sunday as both defences refused to yield. Fair enough Tyrone got three wonderful scores on Sunday in injury time to win but to me Donegal lost nothing in defeat.
Plus if we beat Cork on Sat week all ye southern boys will have a chance to see two great Ulster teams in Croke park. Study their formation and movements. Leave M Hart alone , think ye are all afraid of an Ulster team winning Sam. But I can tell you Tyrone /Donegal will be no walkovers."
Funny how they are now three wonderful scores when they just got lucky a little while ago.
You seem to change more than the weather.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/07/2016 15:32:45    1887089

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Funny how they are now three wonderful scores when they just got lucky a little while ago.
You seem to change more than the weather."
Of course there was an element of luck in those scores but they wer very good.
You go back to 2014 Donegal v Dublin-- remember the few great scor s Dublin got early on but did it last Of course it didn't

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 20/07/2016 16:35:20    1887138

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "Of course there was an element of luck in those scores but they wer very good.
You go back to 2014 Donegal v Dublin-- remember the few great scor s Dublin got early on but did it last Of course it didn't"
In that case sure there's an element of luck in all scores that aren't point blank but just find it funny how in a short space of time the score description varied quiet a bit.
Best of luck against against Cork .

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 20/07/2016 17:38:16    1887173