Longford......take a bow!

Yeah great stuff and well done Longford, looking forward to seeing the highlights.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 09/07/2016 22:35:47    1879619

Well done Longford.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4236 - 09/07/2016 22:40:27    1879630

Ah delighted for them. A potential banana skin for Dublin disposed of, let them enjoy their day.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 09/07/2016 22:55:37    1879650

Replying To crikey:  "Well done Longford. Unfortunately that Monaghan had to play 3 games in 15 days. Surely the GAA can do better."
Monaghan played last Saturday, Cavan played last Sunday and Cavan won today...
I laugh at the Derry man slagging Longford's win considering our impressive record against them in the qualifiers in 2010, 2012 and 2014
Great win for Longford - I honestly didn't think we'd do it - I knew Monaghan would be tired but I thought they'd still have too much for us.
Still the only team to beat Dublin in 2016 and heading into 3rd round of qualifiers - not bad for such a small county

Long.Dub.Glic (Dublin) - Posts: 190 - 09/07/2016 23:05:32    1879670

well done Longford. They seem to have a very consistent upset record in the qualifiers going back a good few years now. I'd love to see them get it together similarly in Leinster.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 09/07/2016 23:14:03    1879685

Replying To Long.Dub.Glic:  "Monaghan played last Saturday, Cavan played last Sunday and Cavan won today...
I laugh at the Derry man slagging Longford's win considering our impressive record against them in the qualifiers in 2010, 2012 and 2014
Great win for Longford - I honestly didn't think we'd do it - I knew Monaghan would be tired but I thought they'd still have too much for us.
Still the only team to beat Dublin in 2016 and heading into 3rd round of qualifiers - not bad for such a small county"
the 31st biggest county beat the 29th largest.

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 09/07/2016 23:21:12    1879699

Congrats to Longford, a stunning victory to beat Monaghan in their own patch. I did not see this result comin. It was tough for Monaghan to go out 3 weeks in a row.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 10/07/2016 00:28:31    1879737

Very, very well done to Longford. They are are county that is always under the radar and undoubtedly have many good people doing a lot of great work within the GAA there. Counties like Longford need results like this to reward and vindicate everything these people do, especially the players, management, board officials and fans, Once again Longford take a step forward and lap up the applause and praise.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 10/07/2016 00:55:13    1879747

Replying To DoireCityFC:  "the 31st biggest county beat the 29th largest."
And who peed in your cornflakes this morn DoireCityFC? Sore after the thumping Dundalk gave you last Friday week? Longford produced the shock of the summer and instead of giving them some credit you are having digs. As someone mentioned earlier why are you not reflecting on your own county's win today. For your information we already beat Down in the qualifiers and now add Monaghan to the mix. We also beat Dublin in the O'Byrne Cup this year. Yes we might get knocked out in the next game but that's sport. You want to know what we have won well some of those lads have Division 3 & 4 medals, a Leinster Minor one and Club Championships. And we will probably go back over this great win again in years to come like we did about Derry in 2006, '12 & '14.

TheMenace (Longford) - Posts: 3 - 10/07/2016 01:28:23    1879753

Great stuff Longford.Even if i did curse ye for for a few hours last night for ruining a bet worth a nice few bob.Couldn't believe it when i was following the game on HS match tracker.How the hell can Monaghan only score four points in the second half.Tired?Rubbish,they had a full week to prepare.Where was McManus?Hard to believe how poor Monaghan were.Come to think of it i think im still sore over my bet.I had the money spent n all.Useless shower of farney men ):

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/07/2016 09:56:38    1879823

Great result for Longford- always some great honest footballers in that county and the best of luck going forward- no diving here!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/07/2016 10:22:20    1879842

Good luck to Longford hope ye go on now and win a few more matches this summer. We are one of the smallest counties population wise and have had some great days out over past few years. Longford are smaller still and deserve great praise for the result. Keep it up for rest of Summer.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1802 - 10/07/2016 10:35:28    1879853

Great result for Longford, very well done to them.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/07/2016 10:59:56    1879873

Replying To TheMenace:  "And who peed in your cornflakes this morn DoireCityFC? Sore after the thumping Dundalk gave you last Friday week? Longford produced the shock of the summer and instead of giving them some credit you are having digs. As someone mentioned earlier why are you not reflecting on your own county's win today. For your information we already beat Down in the qualifiers and now add Monaghan to the mix. We also beat Dublin in the O'Byrne Cup this year. Yes we might get knocked out in the next game but that's sport. You want to know what we have won well some of those lads have Division 3 & 4 medals, a Leinster Minor one and Club Championships. And we will probably go back over this great win again in years to come like we did about Derry in 2006, '12 & '14."
Well said menace..and a superb win for longford..we can listen to excuses all day long.tiredness me arse..longford came prepered and full of heart and won it well in the end..i wont kick monaghan when there down here either as its a bad setback for them .but credit has to be given to the longford lads who no one gave a chance to for this game..enjoy the victory..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 10/07/2016 12:00:30    1879916

Great result, got two difficult away draws against Northren teams, hopefull they get a home draw on Monday, why should they fear anyone now.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2150 - 10/07/2016 12:41:19    1879951

Well done Longford, deserved win Masterson is a fine footballer gave a great display yesterday

Pukefootball (Monaghan) - Posts: 377 - 10/07/2016 13:04:58    1879982

Replying To TheMenace:  "And who peed in your cornflakes this morn DoireCityFC? Sore after the thumping Dundalk gave you last Friday week? Longford produced the shock of the summer and instead of giving them some credit you are having digs. As someone mentioned earlier why are you not reflecting on your own county's win today. For your information we already beat Down in the qualifiers and now add Monaghan to the mix. We also beat Dublin in the O'Byrne Cup this year. Yes we might get knocked out in the next game but that's sport. You want to know what we have won well some of those lads have Division 3 & 4 medals, a Leinster Minor one and Club Championships. And we will probably go back over this great win again in years to come like we did about Derry in 2006, '12 & '14."
I talked about the derry game in posts related to that .

I don't talk about results years ago because who really cares?

Dundalk? We beat louth last week I thought

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 10/07/2016 14:12:26    1880030

I talked about the derry game in posts related to that .

Dundalk? We beat louth last week I thought

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 10/07/2016 14:40:46    1880037

Replying To DoireCityFC:  "I talked about the derry game in posts related to that .

Dundalk? We beat louth last week I thought"
DoireCityFC as a name kind of gives it away unless you are having a gig at your soccer team. You might not care about results from years ago but sometimes supporters like to reminisce. I'm sure in Derry they still talk about 92 and Henry Downey, Athony Tohill etc. or is it who dares to speak of 92?

TheMenace (Longford) - Posts: 3 - 10/07/2016 17:45:56    1880180

Replying To TheMenace:  "DoireCityFC as a name kind of gives it away unless you are having a gig at your soccer team. You might not care about results from years ago but sometimes supporters like to reminisce. I'm sure in Derry they still talk about 92 and Henry Downey, Athony Tohill etc. or is it who dares to speak of 92?"
Apologies '93. I should've said. My bad!

TheMenace (Longford) - Posts: 3 - 10/07/2016 17:47:41    1880182