Monaghan v Longford

Quiet down DoireCity, haven't Longford knocked Derry 2 if not 3 times out of the championship?!!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 889 - 09/07/2016 21:02:37    1879428

Feel sick, no point saying different. Couldn't attend the game but by the sound of it Longford were the better team, apart from a 10 minute spell at the end of the first half. Tonight is all about Longford though. Congratulations and good luck in the next round

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/07/2016 21:12:17    1879445

Replying To Oddball:  "Quiet down DoireCity, haven't Longford knocked Derry 2 if not 3 times out of the championship?!!"
sure have! and went on to win nothing. How many Longford fans will die happy knowing they beat a few teams in the back door? how many players will in years to come be on docos on rte recalling the glory days of beating monaghan in 2016 or derry in 2014? I hear they are renaming a bridge after Denis Connerton

here is the longford mindset. prepping for the backdoor in april

"My preparations have been extremely poor," he admitted.

"At this stage we feel we are unable to beat Offaly in the first round on 15 May and we are preparing for the qualifiers."

WINNERS!!!!!

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 09/07/2016 21:17:01    1879453

Maybe Down not that bad after all

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 09/07/2016 21:20:36    1879458

League standings sometimes count for nothing.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 09/07/2016 21:21:07    1879460

Great back to back wins in Ulster for Longford.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 09/07/2016 21:22:51    1879464

I know what you are now DoireCity. No need to reply, good lad.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 889 - 09/07/2016 21:24:32    1879467

Truely an amazing result.This is what you call a proper shock..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/07/2016 21:31:06    1879480

Replying To Oddball:  "I know what you are now DoireCity. No need to reply, good lad."
and the retort of the year goes to........

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 09/07/2016 22:14:53    1879579

Longford have a good record in the qualifiers and I think an 8-4 record over Ulster teams. It's great to see them come back from that result in Tullamore. Cork, Kildare or Mayo up next for them. They have nothing to fear.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 889 - 09/07/2016 22:22:46    1879592

No sour grapes. No point in complaining. It's not anyone's fault only our own. Best wishes to Longford. They deserved to win this evening.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 09/07/2016 22:36:23    1879621

Replying To DoireCityFC:  "First of all fair play Longford and hard luck Monaghan but all this talk of getting the credit they deserve etc. shite. last big shock was against derry followed by a 17 point loss to tipp. This is a team with 2 less league titles than New York. I only give credit when it is due. One match doesn't say much. we will see how they do next day out."
You're obviously very bitter about 2010, 2012 and 2014.
Sad that you're slagging off Longford instead of praising your own county for coming back from 7 down to win a game!

Long.Dub.Glic (Dublin) - Posts: 190 - 09/07/2016 23:13:25    1879682

Well done to Longford, have to say I was very surprised though to hear the result, I think Monaghan are a bit limited anyway though, winning Ulster was their All Ireland, Donegal and Tyrone are the only realistic All Ireland contenders in Ulster,whoever wins Ulster this year is in with a great chance of getting to the final anyway.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 09/07/2016 23:15:06    1879686

Replying To Long.Dub.Glic:  "You're obviously very bitter about 2010, 2012 and 2014.
Sad that you're slagging off Longford instead of praising your own county for coming back from 7 down to win a game!"
This topic isn't about Derry so why would I bring them up?

I'm not bitter at all. How can one be bitter over a game of football?

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 09/07/2016 23:15:41    1879689

Longford abú

Super result for them. Well done and hard luck Monaghan after the disappointment of missing out in Ulster

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 09/07/2016 23:20:49    1879696

Monaghan were just not good enough. No point in complaining about a week turnaround. Cavan got thrashed in Clones last Sunday and came back out yesterday and won their match. We need more mettle. We should have made it to at least the last eight. Now it's a long rest till next January.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 10/07/2016 14:13:35    1880032

Enough of the 7day turnaround moan, any team that loses gets a second chance. Monaghan had thiers and lost, tough.
If we are to allow all teams two weeks after every game there would be knock on effects right down to club championship and then there would be more moaning. 7day turnaround wow.
Well done Longford.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 10/07/2016 21:09:12    1880423

In this instance I really do feel the 7 day turnaround was a factor. I was at the two Monaghan v Donegal games and they were extremely physical encounters, even by Ulster standards. This just had to take a toll, both physical and mental. An extra week would have done wonders for them. They are a fine team and would normally dispatch any team from outside Division one.

Brilliant performance from Longford though, you can't take that away from them. i just don't think it is fair to judge Monaghan on that performance.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 11/07/2016 00:16:29    1880550

Replying To jonno:  "Enough of the 7day turnaround moan, any team that loses gets a second chance. Monaghan had thiers and lost, tough.
If we are to allow all teams two weeks after every game there would be knock on effects right down to club championship and then there would be more moaning. 7day turnaround wow.
Well done Longford."
in this instance it wasn't just the 7 day turn-around it was the replay 7 days after the initial game v Donegal. 2 massive games which took it's toll both physically and mentallyon Monaghan. Only Cavan were playing a depleted div 4 team we could have been in the same boat. you are better off losing the first day than losing in a replay. Replays should be scrapped apart from all-ireland semi-finals and Finals. anyway congratulations to Longford.
they should have nothing to fear in the dray in the morning.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 11/07/2016 00:36:58    1880558

Barry Gilleran played for the Longford team that lost to Kerry in the 1968 All- Ireland Semi Final. I'm sure the B.Gilleran playing on Saturday is a relation. I wonder how many of the present team have ties to that team? Look at Dublin. James Mc Carthy, Dean Rock and Bernard Brogan's
fathers have 6 All-Irelands between them. Grand fathers,fathers and sons. G.A.A. Fair play to Longford. Still alive.
Longford , Sligo and Westmeath are the only teams left that have never appeared in an All-Ireland Final. They won't this year either but at least they'll get another day out and that's better than sitting on your hands watching others do their best.

daddyo (Dublin) - Posts: 9 - 11/07/2016 04:43:44    1880579