Monaghan v Longford

Beware of Longford!

They have a great early rounds record in the qualifiers, as well as beating us in Clones in '04, they have beaten, Down, Derry x 2, Cavan, Mayo, Offaly, Clare . . . . . all in the last 10 yrs aprox.

They also lost to Kerry in Killarney by a last minute goal, & also lost narrowly away to Tyrone!

Still...... I fully expect us to win, as I expect our lads to be still focused, compared to some previous early qualifiers, Tullamore 4 years ago springs to mind!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 07/07/2016 13:51:33    1877907

Be afraid. Be very afraid.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 07/07/2016 18:32:15    1878089

See this been a very one sided affair. We will be trying to get back on track and have a very strong and experienced team.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 08/07/2016 20:55:37    1878675

Longford are on course to pull off the shock of all shocks

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1679 - 09/07/2016 20:01:55    1879306

Fair play longford

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1679 - 09/07/2016 20:06:13    1879308

Wow!! Delighted for Longford! We'll done.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 09/07/2016 20:06:16    1879309

Replying To border Gael:  "See this been a very one sided affair. We will be trying to get back on track and have a very strong and experienced team."
Should have had more faith in yer lads, ye ended up giving them a really good game!
Well done to Longford, another excellent win for them and hopefully they start getting the credit they deserve. I'd imagine an evening like this evening would be cherished more by them than any silverware they might win in a B competition.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 09/07/2016 20:12:05    1879318

Brilliant Longford, disaster for Monaghan, Leinster football is alive and kicking :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8605 - 09/07/2016 20:14:04    1879323

Hands up. I got this totally wrong. We have been very poor this year in the league and it has followed a repeat into the championship. So far this year the teams who have been good in the league have followed through in the championship. Best wishes to Longford.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 09/07/2016 20:15:03    1879324

Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "Beware of Longford!

They have a great early rounds record in the qualifiers, as well as beating us in Clones in '04, they have beaten, Down, Derry x 2, Cavan, Mayo, Offaly, Clare . . . . . all in the last 10 yrs aprox.

They also lost to Kerry in Killarney by a last minute goal, & also lost narrowly away to Tyrone!

Still...... I fully expect us to win, as I expect our lads to be still focused, compared to some previous early qualifiers, Tullamore 4 years ago springs to mind!"
Ye, I warned, I warned.... but well done to Longford.

Couldn't make the game.. but listened "live " to Nth Sound on Net. From my calculations from the commentary ( counting clear goal chances), Monaghan had 2- 12 in wides, Longford had 0-3 !... amazing...... Gutted ...... but with stats like that, Longford deserve to win!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 09/07/2016 20:18:14    1879328

Fair play to our neighbours. By all accounts the ref seemed to give a few decisions to the home team. The Monaghan goal shouldn't of stood for a pick off the ground. But it didn't matter in the end. What a record they have in the qualifiers. Not only do I hope we win tomorrow to win a championship but I want to win more now just to avoid Longford in the next round!!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 890 - 09/07/2016 20:20:32    1879333

Very well done to Longford, delighted to see the underdogs get a result like that.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/07/2016 20:23:59    1879337

First of all fair play Longford and hard luck Monaghan but all this talk of getting the credit they deserve etc. shite. last big shock was against derry followed by a 17 point loss to tipp. This is a team with 2 less league titles than New York. I only give credit when it is due. One match doesn't say much. we will see how they do next day out.

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 09/07/2016 20:24:04    1879338

Wow, never saw that coming.

Incredible stuff from Longford. Well done.

As for Monaghan... Well, Shockin stuff altogether.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 09/07/2016 20:25:40    1879340

Well done to Longford, is 2016 the year of the underdog?

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 09/07/2016 20:28:00    1879343

Fair play to longford..a hard loss for monaghan.didnt see that one coming..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 09/07/2016 20:28:04    1879345

Well done longford, they are a decent qualifier team and I remember 2009 tough spot to get a result..

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 09/07/2016 20:28:18    1879347

Replying To Oddball:  "Fair play to our neighbours. By all accounts the ref seemed to give a few decisions to the home team. The Monaghan goal shouldn't of stood for a pick off the ground. But it didn't matter in the end. What a record they have in the qualifiers. Not only do I hope we win tomorrow to win a championship but I want to win more now just to avoid Longford in the next round!!"
Deserved win by Lfd, & good luck to them for rest of Chmpsp..... Love to see them get to at LEAST 1/4 finals in CP......... but, who was saying Mon goal should'nt stand, our commentators ( including Longford man) did'nt even mention that it should be dis-allowed!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 09/07/2016 20:32:03    1879351

Replying To riverboys:  "Well done to Longford, is 2016 the year of the underdog?"
can you name one year that hasn't been?

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 09/07/2016 20:38:41    1879359

Nearly as impressive as Fermanagh winning the all Ireland last year!

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 09/07/2016 20:46:21    1879382