Top 3 Forwards in Ireland

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Dublin players aside cause I know I can be bias , so imo the best 3 forwards in Ireland

1. James O Dongohue - absolutely lethal the best forward in Ireland is without doubt in my mind James , he is frighteningly good.

2. Conor McManus- exact same as what I said about O Donoghue what a player

3. Micheal Murphy- brilliant player a leader of men outstanding all round footballer

Now Tyrone have some lethal forwards but I cant tell whose who yet cause there all Mac's but maybe after the season is out one of them will be up here"
In terms of scoring forwards, Ronan O'Neill is Tyrone's main man - he's well ahead of McAlliskey IMO.

If you count Peter Harte as a forward then he should be considered, phenomenal all-round player.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 06/07/2016 16:39:16    1877446

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I know it's the top three but can I take the liberty of pushing it out to six? It's a sobering thought but in my opinion only two forwards from other counties would improve the present Dublin forward line, namely McManus and Murphy. That would leave Connolly, Kilkenny and Flynn in the half forward line with McManus, Murphy and Brogan in the inside line. Even at that Rock is the best free taker about at the minute!!"
Cillian O'Connor is up there in the free taking department as is Sheehan

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 06/07/2016 16:52:01    1877459

McManus
Brogan
Shane Walsh

Next question.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 06/07/2016 16:57:33    1877467

Amazed no-one has mentioned Colm O'Neill or Brian Hurley

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 06/07/2016 17:08:27    1877475

too feckin close to call with only 3 forwards! but Colm O'Neill deserves to be amongst the lads already mentioned, top quality.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 06/07/2016 17:10:52    1877477

Inside forwards or half forwards? As if half forwards then graham Reilly. And watch out for cillian o Sullivan over next couple of years.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/07/2016 17:17:13    1877480

McManus,Connolly and O'Donoghue.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/07/2016 17:26:56    1877489

I would have said Murphy a few years ago,but he has been diluted by playing out of position..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/07/2016 17:28:09    1877494

1) McManus, 2) Murphy, 3) Brogan.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/07/2016 17:31:39    1877497

Replying To Breffni39:  "Amazed no-one has mentioned Colm O'Neill or Brian Hurley"
Far too inconsistent

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 06/07/2016 17:31:53    1877499

Replying To royaldunne:  "Inside forwards or half forwards? As if half forwards then graham Reilly. And watch out for cillian o Sullivan over next couple of years."
O'Sullivan looks like a smart footballer. Didn't have the support in the game against Dublin.

Reilly is talented but not sure if he's ever been consistent enough to be up there with the very best.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 06/07/2016 18:15:44    1877529

1.McManus
2.Connolly
3.Brogan(On last years championship form)

Next best I would have Flynn,Murphy,Colm O'Neill, O Donohoe, Corrigan

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 06/07/2016 18:17:25    1877530

Replying To GaryMc82:  "1. Conor McManus: The best forward in Ireland by far, is Conor McManus. I have never seen such a player who is so difficult to mark and keep under wraps. He truly is a superb player, probably the stand out player in the Country.

2. Bernard Brogan this year has impressed me so far, I would say he is Dublin's best pound for pound scoring forward. I know many people talk about Diarmuid Connolly, who is superb in less advanced role, but Brogan is probably a better scoring forward.

3. Cillian O'Connor is fantastic, he is a all round superb corner forward and I think he is a handful for any team.

There are a host of other forwards such James O'Donaghue, Michael Murphy etc that are also there or thereabouts year on year."
The fact you didnt even mention Diarmuid Connolly ...is absolutely disbelieving but each to their own.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 06/07/2016 19:40:40    1877563

Bernsrd brogan is the best forward in Ireland. Every Aigust september people remember. Rarely in june. That tells a ta le. Brogan is the best bar none. A genius for the ages. Mxmanus is utter class. His ability to win a game on his own is brilliant to watch. A great great footballer. Diarmuid Connolly is.. Diarmuid connolly. A georgie best Of a baller. The ciaran mcdonald of today

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/07/2016 19:44:07    1877564

Thread should read top 3 full forwards in Ireland. In that case Bernard Brogan, Conor McManus and Mickey Murphy. There best half forwards, Connolly, Diarmuid O Connor and Ryan Mc Hugh. Best ball player Connolly by a mile.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 06/07/2016 20:56:36    1877589

1. McManus
2. Brogan
3. Kilkenny

Ciaran McManus is the top foward in the country, no doubt about that. He is even more impressive when seen in the flesh. In second place I would go for Bernard Brogan, always does it when it matters in August and September. In third place is Ciaran Kilkenny, turning into an outstanding player and has his best years ahead of him.

I know a lot of people go for Connolly but he does tend to go missing in the latter stages of the championship. He is always the best player in the country this time of the year. A great player but I would like to see a big performance from him in an All-Ireland final. I know this sounds harsh but he has unreal talent and shoukd be able to perform in the big ganes.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 06/07/2016 21:13:52    1877595

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Bernsrd brogan is the best forward in Ireland. Every Aigust september people remember. Rarely in june. That tells a ta le. Brogan is the best bar none. A genius for the ages. Mxmanus is utter class. His ability to win a game on his own is brilliant to watch. A great great footballer. Diarmuid Connolly is.. Diarmuid connolly. A georgie best Of a baller. The ciaran mcdonald of today"
A bit too obvious with your wind up here.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 06/07/2016 21:46:02    1877617

Replying To Green_Gold:  "1. McManus
2. Brogan
3. Kilkenny

Ciaran McManus is the top foward in the country, no doubt about that. He is even more impressive when seen in the flesh. In second place I would go for Bernard Brogan, always does it when it matters in August and September. In third place is Ciaran Kilkenny, turning into an outstanding player and has his best years ahead of him.

I know a lot of people go for Connolly but he does tend to go missing in the latter stages of the championship. He is always the best player in the country this time of the year. A great player but I would like to see a big performance from him in an All-Ireland final. I know this sounds harsh but he has unreal talent and shoukd be able to perform in the big ganes."
I've been working with the best forward in the country these last few days. I must give Ciaran a shout in the morning and let him know.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 06/07/2016 22:12:33    1877635

Some of ye don't get to alot of Monaghan matches ehhh?? That comment about his scoring from play is rubbish, what does that matter?? If he scored 3 points in each QF would ya mention it.

McManus scored a point against Cork in the league this year that was unlike anything I've ever seen. There was no TV coverage of the game at all. Zero highlights on Sunday Game or TG4.

Some of the stuff he does at club level is outrageous.

Awful pity he couldn't have come on the scene earlier maybe onto the 2007 team. McManus and Tommy Freeman inside with Paul Finlay supplying ball into them would have been hella fun

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 06/07/2016 22:19:34    1877638

Replying To Adler:  "Some of ye don't get to alot of Monaghan matches ehhh?? That comment about his scoring from play is rubbish, what does that matter?? If he scored 3 points in each QF would ya mention it.

McManus scored a point against Cork in the league this year that was unlike anything I've ever seen. There was no TV coverage of the game at all. Zero highlights on Sunday Game or TG4.

Some of the stuff he does at club level is outrageous.

Awful pity he couldn't have come on the scene earlier maybe onto the 2007 team. McManus and Tommy Freeman inside with Paul Finlay supplying ball into them would have been hella fun"
Adler you are absolutely correct, McManus is as good a foward as I have seen which includes Peter Canavan, Stephen McDonnell and Gooch, he is at that level. He often plays as a lone forward as well which is such a difficult role.

Donegal have seen too much of him these past few years ha ha.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 06/07/2016 23:05:59    1877657