Hurling qualifiers pairings

Replying To The_Bull:  "Re JuniorJudge

Who have Waterford beaten in the last few years. A poor Cork team and Clare.

I doubt ye will beat Tipp. Tipp are used to playing in Limerick and Waterford haven't a hope of keeping Callanan quite.

Cork's form has been poor of late but ye were on the receiving end of a hiding from them in 2014 in the replay in Thurles.

Cork were the last team to beat Kilkenny in the Championship in 2013.

The only hype is around this year is around a Waterford team who won 1 league. Think ye are overly confident.

As for Benny, this fellah has a chip on his shoulder with Cork intercounty teams. He even called for the Co.Board to abolish the Cork Senior football team on another thread."
Your very disgruntled my friend, are you ok?

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 06/07/2016 09:54:01    1877139

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "p.s. I genuinely believe it is Waterford's year in Munster and maybe for the All Ireland."
Lohansredhelmet your name brings a smile to my face..the oul fella used to love telling me the craic and banter he had with a few lads on this site and your name continuously was mentioned! The shrewdjudge would be happy with your thoughts on munster and the AI.

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 06/07/2016 10:01:29    1877145

I'm heading down to these three games with me Da on Saturday.25e for the stand seems good value in comparison to the 35e for last Sundays Leinster hurling final.Hopefully the weather is decent.For some reason Thurles always seems to be freezing when i've been there.

First up i expect Cork to account for Wexford.I don't remember off hand the last time Wexford beat Cork.They had a good chance last year in Wexford Park but Cork had too much.Maybe if they had Cork at home again they would stand a very good chance but Cork will feel at home in Thurles and the speedy,skillfull forwards like Lehane and Horgan will enjoy the wide Semple spaces and should have enough to carry the day.I do expect a strong showing from Wexford.The humiliation to Limerick in Semple in 2014 will concentrate the minds and i cannot see this happening again.I don't think Wexford have the same scoring threat as Cork and this will be the difference in the end : Cork by 5.

Clare gave Laois their annual walloping last week.Cheddar's lambs to the Ennis slaughter-house.Limerick were abysmal v Tipp few weeks back and i would fear for them here.Clare beat them comfortably in Ennis in the league and remain my tip for the All Ireland.The return of McInerney and J Conlon have Davy spoiled with riches.A Shanagher may have cemented a starting place with his impressive 3 goals last week.The banner are bristling with quality in all lines of the field.Tony Kelly scored 10 points with seven from play last week and he's worth the admission fee alone just to see his movement and skill.I'm hoping Limerick will turn up and bring their A game.If they do it could well go down to the wire but their are no concrete signs of that happening.Clare's form is better.Their first 15 and panel is stronger.Their All Ireland aspirations are genuine.Clare by 6.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/07/2016 12:53:23    1877266

How can people have Clare as All Ireland contenders? Their record in championship under Davy bar 2013 is as poor as anything in the same period. Plus they havent won a single match outside of Ennis in all those years.

I honestly think people people are swallowing the Davy hype and forget just how bad they have been under him.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 06/07/2016 15:26:54    1877388

Replying To mike03:  "How can people have Clare as All Ireland contenders? Their record in championship under Davy bar 2013 is as poor as anything in the same period. Plus they havent won a single match outside of Ennis in all those years.

I honestly think people people are swallowing the Davy hype and forget just how bad they have been under him."
Not everyone is. I think if Limerick turn up with any bit of fight they will beat them

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/07/2016 15:55:25    1877411

Replying To juniorjudge:  "Your very disgruntled my friend, are you ok?"
They kept him quiet last year when he was fit and flying. If he is even fit to start on Sunday he won't be anywhere near the same level

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/07/2016 15:57:34    1877412

Replying To mike03:  "How can people have Clare as All Ireland contenders? Their record in championship under Davy bar 2013 is as poor as anything in the same period. Plus they havent won a single match outside of Ennis in all those years.

I honestly think people people are swallowing the Davy hype and forget just how bad they have been under him."
Because the talent is genuine,mike.All that underage success and already a senior All Ireland on board.How Limerick would kill for one of those.How can you airbrush that significant 2013 achievement and question Clare's hype?I will forgive them a couple of poor years for i do believe they are the real deal.Maybe it will take this young Clare winning a second senior All Ireland for you to see their true worth.I don't need to see that as they are a joy to watch when in full flow.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/07/2016 16:08:01    1877424

Replying To cuederocket:  "Because the talent is genuine,mike.All that underage success and already a senior All Ireland on board.How Limerick would kill for one of those.How can you airbrush that significant 2013 achievement and question Clare's hype?I will forgive them a couple of poor years for i do believe they are the real deal.Maybe it will take this young Clare winning a second senior All Ireland for you to see their true worth.I don't need to see that as they are a joy to watch when in full flow."
The talent is there but their system is muck. They won the replay in 2013 playing proper hurling. They need Conor Ryan and Mcinerney back to win anything

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 06/07/2016 16:32:27    1877442

Replying To cuederocket:  "Because the talent is genuine,mike.All that underage success and already a senior All Ireland on board.How Limerick would kill for one of those.How can you airbrush that significant 2013 achievement and question Clare's hype?I will forgive them a couple of poor years for i do believe they are the real deal.Maybe it will take this young Clare winning a second senior All Ireland for you to see their true worth.I don't need to see that as they are a joy to watch when in full flow."
That's the general perception they have the talent but the manager is the week link

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 06/07/2016 16:33:52    1877444

Replying To tiobraid:  "The talent is there but their system is muck. They won the replay in 2013 playing proper hurling. They need Conor Ryan and Mcinerney back to win anything"
McInerney is back.I agree re the tactics being used by Davy might actually be holding them back but i hope he changes things a wee bit.It's not too late to let these natural,talented hurlers off the leash a bit.I don't like Davy but i'll wait to see how this year pans out before passing final judgement on his tenure.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/07/2016 16:37:34    1877445

Replying To tiobraid:  "They kept him quiet last year when he was fit and flying. If he is even fit to start on Sunday he won't be anywhere near the same level"
Who???

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 06/07/2016 17:39:58    1877511

Replying To Killarney.87:  "I've nothing against Limerick or Wexford but for the sake of the championship you'd hope Cork and Clare win so Kilkenny might get some sort of resistance between now and the first Monday in September."
And how do you reckon clare or cork will do that? Clare have done nothing since 2013 (when they avoided kk and tipp). and when was the last time they played kk or tipp in championship anyway? they're decent to be fair but the word overrated springs to mind...

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 06/07/2016 21:41:47    1877614

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Not true.

What form have Wexford that makes you think they would beat this Cork team?

I am not saying it is not possible but I have seen nothing from Wexford that suggests that even with a full compliment they would beat Cork regardless of the lack of confidence in this Cork team. Cork forwards are too strong for Wexford's backs IMO"
agree completely, sure cork hammered wexford in wexford last year. wexford havent been competitive with the top teams in a looooong time. (bar an out of sorts clare team and poor waterford team in 2014) and i dont mean just losing but being hammered most of the time..

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 06/07/2016 21:49:57    1877620

limerick won 3 u21s too but people weren't saying we were brimming with talent. Cork could have easily won that ai in 2013 or dublin or limerick for that matter, clare grabbed the chance and fair play but if not, would you be saying how talented those teams are now too? Im not saying theyre poor by any means, but overrated. I dont see that second all ireland anytime soon. (athough clare will probably win another before limerick to be fair.. )

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 06/07/2016 21:59:14    1877626

Replying To The_Bull:  "Re JuniorJudge

Who have Waterford beaten in the last few years. A poor Cork team and Clare.

I doubt ye will beat Tipp. Tipp are used to playing in Limerick and Waterford haven't a hope of keeping Callanan quite.

Cork's form has been poor of late but ye were on the receiving end of a hiding from them in 2014 in the replay in Thurles.

Cork were the last team to beat Kilkenny in the Championship in 2013.

The only hype is around this year is around a Waterford team who won 1 league. Think ye are overly confident.

As for Benny, this fellah has a chip on his shoulder with Cork intercounty teams. He even called for the Co.Board to abolish the Cork Senior football team on another thread."
Do I?

The Cork County Board appointed a junior B club football manager to the position of senior intercounty coach. And that was after the last fiasco. This is the contempt they have for the team. Look at the state of our football team. It was in this context, I said we should pull out. Obviously we are not going to pull out. We will just trundle along and 200 supporters will go to the games.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 06/07/2016 22:05:41    1877630

Replying To wexico15:  "That's the general perception they have the talent but the manager is the week link"
Bit like ourselves wexico15

mrfox (Wexford) - Posts: 338 - 06/07/2016 22:40:30    1877648

Well holy god as miley would say!!! Where is this enormous fancying of clare winning the AI coming from??? If LK turn up on saturday there will be very little in it...CE could be out of the championship saturday night. And if they do beat LK i think im right in saying they will play GAL or TY (if TY loose MHF) and thats not even mentioning the cat machine in the south east!!!!

Good squad with potential talent, poor management....flabbergasted at how so many "fancy" CE this term. WD had the beating of them in the 2 league finals but messed that up themselves and the championship...well we saw what happened there. Not sure theres cause for hysteria by beating LS by a cricket score. I just hope LK turn up saturday!

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 07/07/2016 07:58:04    1877695

Replying To juniorjudge:  "Who???"
Callanan. From memory I don't believe he scored from play. John O'Dwyer done all the scoring..

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 07/07/2016 10:56:18    1877757

Replying To cuederocket:  "McInerney is back.I agree re the tactics being used by Davy might actually be holding them back but i hope he changes things a wee bit.It's not too late to let these natural,talented hurlers off the leash a bit.I don't like Davy but i'll wait to see how this year pans out before passing final judgement on his tenure."
Maybe but I actually think Waterford are better equipped than Clare. They hurl with confidence but far more importantly have big physical athletic players all over the field. Clare don't have that.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 07/07/2016 10:59:52    1877761

All the talk of Clare being All Ireland contenders is unfounded in recent form. Sure they won the league but championship is a different animal and our recent record when it counts is abysmal. Do I think we have the players? Absolutely. No one has a panel as strong as Clare and I could name 5-6 lads who would start for any county (Kelly, McGrath, Conlon, Galvin, D Mc, Dillon spring to mind).

I had to take a break from this site after the Waterford game for a couple of weeks because that loss hurt. In all my years following Clare I dont think I have felt that bad after a game and the main reason is I felt decision making, shot selection (some of our wides in the first half were shocking) and mentality cost us that day and it was reminiscent of great Clare teams of the 70s and 80s who had All Ireland potential but won nothing (other than 2 leagues). I would rather we won nothing playing to our potential than disappointing year on year. With better shooting Clare go in 4 ahead at half time not 4 behind.

I personally believe however, that if Limerick win this weekend it will be from a Clare off-day as if both play to their potential, Clare will win. If we play to our potential any day I believe we will always win but letting our standards drop is a mental problem

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 07/07/2016 11:28:51    1877777