Things in the GAA that make you Cringe

Great thread by the way Wayno, though you spoiled it a bit with the s***e about the dog and the tractor!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 04/07/2016 22:03:58    1876496

Great thread by the way Wayno, though you spoiled it a bit with the s***e about the dog and the tractor!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 04/07/2016 22:05:32    1876498

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "On the flipside Sam the day the GAA died for me was the day they took the Kerry, Mayo replay out of Croke Park and down to Limerick to facilitate an American football game. Then you had a spin doctor wheeled out who tried to justify it by saying it was their intention all along to have replays in smaller venues. To add insult to injury we were then presented with that Meath ****** in Limerick. That lad who came on at the end showed remarkable restraint in my opinion. That was the time for me that the GAA lost it's soul."
Even though it seemed like a bad plan I thought on the night that Limerick was a great venue for the replay. A great atmosphere and Limerick was a good spot for heading out after the match despite the result.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 04/07/2016 22:11:04    1876507

Replying To Condorman:  "1.Pointless interviews with ex players on the sideline at half time in big games .No one wants to listen to them!
2.The ear splitting volume of the PA in Croker.
3.The bouts of shouldering whenever a sub comes on, like rutting bucks!"
I agree with you on the third point. It is stupid, looks ridiculous and should be punished.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 04/07/2016 23:06:57    1876536

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "I would like to ask most people on here who follow Gaelic games --- what has been THE DEFINING MOMENT, the one that sticks out , the one you will never forget that happened in your time following Gaelic games.
I can give you all mine and this is it----
SAM IS FOR THE HILLS
1992 and Antony Molloy says so as he became the first ever Donegalman to lift Sam.
What a day it was for me and indeed thousands more Donegal folk.

Love to hear all your answers. Thank you all"
As its coming up to the 6th anniversary next Monday the Leinster final in 2010. Still so surreal nearly six years later.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 04/07/2016 23:52:27    1876555

Bagpipes playing the anthem, like a sheep about to be sacrificed for a feast. Dublin games ALWAYS throwing in at 4.00 to let their fans watch their No. 1 sport, soccer, on SKY. Posters on HS, the GAA and Southern media anticipating, hoping for, a Kerry/Dublin win against Ulster sides at the business end of the Championship......... with the upside being their big, long faces when it doesn't happen.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 05/07/2016 00:02:07    1876556

Replying To waynoI:  "I was jokin ffs. You lads are way too serious.

I said light hearted in the original post"
Ok point taken

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 05/07/2016 00:30:31    1876561

That Hill 16 Army Facebook page. Nothing but cringy memes

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 05/07/2016 09:13:57    1876590

' A 2 point lead is as good as a 10 point lead for Donegal '
Fat supporters pontificating about the 'right way to play' or 'pure football '...

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 05/07/2016 09:52:40    1876607

Pathetic meath supporter constantly whinging about Dublin,and wanting to throw them out of leinster.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/07/2016 09:56:04    1876608

On the national anthem .. dont mind it being played over a tannoy... but when someone sings it.... ah jaysus now thats cringey. Especially if they make a mistake. Christ almighty

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts:11258 - 04/07/2016 17:46:49 1876303

Agree Waynol 100%, also my biggest cringe moment, is when an interview is been done pitch side after a game and the amount of gombeens behind making faces , on the phone to their friends, hoisting their kids by the neck so he might be seen or just roaring and shouting like cavemen..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 05/07/2016 10:13:43    1876625

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Great thread by the way Wayno, though you spoiled it a bit with the s***e about the dog and the tractor!"
Like ive already said, was just light hearted..

Sorry for the offence caused.

Back on topic, I think the fist pumping when winning a tackle is cringey ..

A lot of people are getting confused between things in the GAA that they don't like, as oppose to things that make them cringe (Embarrassed I suppose)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/07/2016 10:27:17    1876642

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Bagpipes playing the anthem, like a sheep about to be sacrificed for a feast. Dublin games ALWAYS throwing in at 4.00 to let their fans watch their No. 1 sport, soccer, on SKY. Posters on HS, the GAA and Southern media anticipating, hoping for, a Kerry/Dublin win against Ulster sides at the business end of the Championship......... with the upside being their big, long faces when it doesn't happen."
Dublin games ALWAYS throwing in at 4.00 to let their fans watch their No. 1 sport, soccer, on SKY.

ALWAYS?? Exaggerate much?! 6 of Dublin's league games threw in at 19:00, the 7th at 14:00.

The Dublin v Laois game threw in at 19:00 also. But don't let facts get in the way of your usual Anti-Dublin tripe!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 05/07/2016 10:28:17    1876643

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "That Hill 16 Army Facebook page. Nothing but cringy memes"
Don't follow that particular page. Think most facebook pages are full of bias nonsense. Bugs me to be honest.

Seen one recently actually that claimed if "Dermo done what graham reilly done, people would want Dermo up on an assault charge" ..

Give me strength. Zzzzzz

But anyway, you must follow that particular facebook page if you know they put up memes and shit like that ? I couldn't even have told you that

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/07/2016 10:34:49    1876648

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "I would like to ask most people on here who follow Gaelic games --- what has been THE DEFINING MOMENT, the one that sticks out , the one you will never forget that happened in your time following Gaelic games.
I can give you all mine and this is it----
SAM IS FOR THE HILLS
1992 and Antony Molloy says so as he became the first ever Donegalman to lift Sam.
What a day it was for me and indeed thousands more Donegal folk.

Love to hear all your answers. Thank you all"
Good question and probably deserves its own thread.

For me it's Cavan winning Ulster in 97 - the only one i was alive for (so far!!)

If it's a moment that defines GAA for me and an overall special moment, I'd probably say Maurice Fitz' sideling point in Thurles. Just remember being awe-struck when it sailed over.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 05/07/2016 10:35:37    1876649

"It must be said"...certain football co commentator makes me want to turn the football off

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/07/2016 10:42:48    1876660

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Bagpipes playing the anthem, like a sheep about to be sacrificed for a feast. Dublin games ALWAYS throwing in at 4.00 to let their fans watch their No. 1 sport, soccer, on SKY. Posters on HS, the GAA and Southern media anticipating, hoping for, a Kerry/Dublin win against Ulster sides at the business end of the Championship......... with the upside being their big, long faces when it doesn't happen."
Lookin after numero uno..

Proper order chief!!

Up The Dubs !!!! yeeeit.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/07/2016 10:52:58    1876670

"It must be said"...certain football co commentator makes me want to turn the football off

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts:1479 - 05/07/2016 10:42:48 1876660

Brilliant.. this is bugging me for the last few seasons..

Cannot name him as admin will not allow. I wonder why RTE persist with this guy when he played donkeys years ago and no young people watching today no anything about him!
Time for RTE to bring in younger former players as co commentators..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 05/07/2016 11:06:42    1876677

Joanne Cantwell asking the loosing AI finalist manager "well how do you feel after that ".

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 05/07/2016 11:10:01    1876679

Dan Shanahan: Seriously your time is up, get off the pitch, stop wearing the team shorts and socks like your ready to come on at any stage when asked, put your cap on the right way, ye have a fine young team there, its about them, not you. Hopefully Waterford supporters dont take offence but its about the team and a team i like watching not Dan!

A NOTHER: A nother has played every position in every Club at this stage, just put a name in there, the idea that your going to surprise the opposition by springin Johnny when we said A NOTHER on the programme will win it.

Up For The Match: Seriously in 2016, lets have a show about the culchies coming up to the big shmoke for the All Ireland final (when most of them probably already live and work in and around the capital in the first place)

The 2 point lead: " a 2 point lead is one of the most dangerous leads in GAA" no it isnt a one point lead is!

"What did you say at half time": the same question because a top manager is going to tell you what he said at half time which is generally followed by an inate cliche filled answer anyway

Marty: and other commentators with the same lines and the biblical references: lazarus like recovery, the defence parted like Moses and the Red Sea,

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1351 - 05/07/2016 11:12:31    1876682