Donegal v Tyrone

Defeat will have a massive negative mental affect on Tyrone football and their fans; it will set them back years.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 17/07/2016 00:59:20    1884503

Replying To ruanua:  "Not as optimistic as some of my compatriots

Think Tyrone have been improving steadily for last year + - I know it's only league and only D2 but I was at the League final this year against an upcoming Cavan team on a high after promotion and Tyrone cruised past them playing 13 behind the ball but scoring at ease and slickly with 3 gears to spare

I'm not sure where I'm at with Donegal - thought Gallagher was clueless last year versus Mayo - then optimistic In the league then 4 poor defeats - 75pc of me thinking we are on downward spiral 25 PC hoping Gallagher was playing cute. Performances to date in championship haven't given me enough to be convinced - im impressed by new blood( Gillespie Eoin Mchugh, o Reilly ) and half forward movement in second game v Monaghan

I'm worried about the keeper, worried about Lacey who had been our best player for ten years and worried about discipline in giving frees inside 45 and being reduced to 14 too often, worried about relying on 34 year olds in mid field

We have only ever squeezed past throne in last five years - remembering papa save v penrose in 2012 - I think they are better now - we are not

I hope we can do it but wouldn't put the house on it"
Good assessment. Even though Donegal have gotten the better of Tyrone over the past few years I think people are forgetting how close those games were. Very little between the teams back then and still is that way today.

Either way I would expect the loser to still make an impact in the all Ireland.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 17/07/2016 01:01:15    1884504

Replying To johnjoseph:  "Overall the Tyrone team are carrying less bulk on the team apart from the Moy men and I feel that Donegal will wilt first. The counter attacking at pace will start hurting Donegal at the 55 minute mark and at some stage someone in the Donegal defence will make a serious discipline misendeavour and the flood gates will open with Donegal unable to get their hands on the ball . I hope I'm wrong but I think Mickey has Donegals number on this game . Good luck in the minors , Donegal look decent."
Johnjoseph, no more than myself you haven't the faintest idea what is going to happen today.

Games like these usually turn on a moment or two, a big mistake, a moment of inspiration, a refereeing decision, a red card or a substitution & the winner will be the team that makes hay from these moments.

The jersey is on, the fry is sizzling & the daughters are giving me a headache with their babbling.

God, I love Ulster final days.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/07/2016 08:07:54    1884518

I don't think the average age of the team ever won a game lol. Donegal do have some elder statesmen on their team but they are not the runners who carry the ball. In saying that, I wish Rory would use his bench more, he is reluctant to make all his substitutions.

I believe this will be a real dogfightt of a game, both teams play in a similar fashion and want to counter-attack into space. However this space will not be available, so there will be a lot of lateral play and I am not expecting a classic. I would be surprised if there are more than a couple of points in it at the end, unless one of the teams gets a couple of goals. Hard to call but I will go for a 2 point victory to Donegal by 13 points to 11.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 17/07/2016 08:37:35    1884525

Really looking forward to this game. Funny feeling Donegal will sneak it.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11241 - 17/07/2016 09:04:21    1884527

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Johnjoseph, no more than myself you haven't the faintest idea what is going to happen today.

Games like these usually turn on a moment or two, a big mistake, a moment of inspiration, a refereeing decision, a red card or a substitution & the winner will be the team that makes hay from these moments.

The jersey is on, the fry is sizzling & the daughters are giving me a headache with their babbling.

God, I love Ulster final days."
It's going to be an absolute ding ding muckross . As joe would say it's going to be about whoever blinks first . Both teams have had good tightners beforehand so they'll be going on the field ready for action from throw in . Really looking forward to it . Good luck !

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 17/07/2016 10:27:47    1884549

Well lads it's almost time. I just hope we get a great game with lots of scores,good play and little negativity. Good luck to the Donegal men but even more to the Tyrone men!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 17/07/2016 12:08:15    1884592

Jesus what is the referee at here. There is no hope for the gaa

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 17/07/2016 14:40:35    1884650

Jesus lads this is awful stuff. Awful

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/07/2016 14:44:03    1884654

What the hell is that ref playing at?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 17/07/2016 14:44:23    1884655

Dear god this is hard to watch,
Could someone tell me how either of these would beat dubs? Honestly they are light-years behind them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/07/2016 14:45:16    1884657

Been fairly pedestrian so far with some good long range points from Donegal but it seems that the ref and umpires are gonna decide this game. Never 2 black cards in Tyrine when Mc Shane might have had good claim for a penalty himself. Mattie Donnelly was involved in a collision with another player,didn't know the onus was on Tyrone players to get out of the way of Donegal players. Ref had a chance to show fairness and consistency with Rory Kavanagh but decided not to. Poor officiating in my opinion.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 17/07/2016 14:45:17    1884658

Tyrone have been very hard done by in the first half in particular for both black cards. Every week now there is controversy, some calls are borderline but today we clearly have a ref looking like he is trying to stamp his authority over a game in my opinion, unfortunately by doing so he seems to have presumed there were warranted black card offences.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 17/07/2016 14:45:50    1884659

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been posted here.

offtheditch
Cavan

Donegal v's Tyrone

Great the see the Tyrone fouling been punished with black cards. Until you start to punish these northern teams they won't stop it.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 17/07/2016 14:45:55    1884660

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Jesus lads this is awful stuff. Awful"
Very poor match but the refereeing is poor

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 17/07/2016 14:45:55    1884661

Replying To Administrator:  "This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been posted here.

offtheditch
Cavan

Donegal v's Tyrone

Great the see the Tyrone fouling been punished with black cards. Until you start to punish these northern teams they won't stop it."
What tyrone fouling? There's hardly been a tackle all game.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 17/07/2016 14:48:30    1884663

Makes you wonder when the umpire goes out of his way to call the ref back and get a lad black carded when even the other team were not complaining cos they were glad they got away with not conceding a penalty. Funny how the ref listened to his umpire here when at other times they don't even ask for input. Farcical and frustrating.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 17/07/2016 14:50:32    1884665

Replying To royaldunne:  "Dear god this is hard to watch,
Could someone tell me how either of these would beat dubs? Honestly they are light-years behind them."
Turn it off then.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 17/07/2016 14:52:51    1884667

Replying To royaldunne:  "Dear god this is hard to watch,
Could someone tell me how either of these would beat dubs? Honestly they are light-years behind them."
Neither team is playing Dublin or thinking about Dublin.
Today they are trying to beat each other.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/07/2016 14:53:19    1884668

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Jesus lads this is awful stuff. Awful"
It's very low intensity and cagey and not great to watch in fairness. I hope it opens up in second half.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 17/07/2016 14:53:57    1884669