Donegal v Tyrone

Replying To Seansy48:  "You ever had a conversation about football with Mattie Donnelly?

We'll be ready, don't doubt it!"
Nah never had a conversation with mattie Donnelly.....

You ever had the opportunity to talk to Michael murphy recently? If you did you would soon realise the enormosity of the challenge you will face this weekend...

Anyhow, both teams and their fans believe in each other and why wouldn't they, I wish yous well, as I have many a friend in Tyrone....

Sunday can't come quick enough...

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 15/07/2016 14:55:20    1883877

Replying To ben1977:  "Nah never had a conversation with mattie Donnelly.....

You ever had the opportunity to talk to Michael murphy recently? If you did you would soon realise the enormosity of the challenge you will face this weekend...

Anyhow, both teams and their fans believe in each other and why wouldn't they, I wish yous well, as I have many a friend in Tyrone....

Sunday can't come quick enough..."
Look Ben just because I feel Tyrone will be ready doesn't mean I don't think Donegal won't

I wrote that in response to someone saying we'd be beat out the door!

That's not happening, not even your best team could beat Tyrone out the door, these matches just don't go that way.

There are some reasonable thoughtful Donegal fans on here, then there are fans who are saying Tyrone are going to roll over and give you the cup, that's never going to happen.

Tyrone don't roll over under Mickey Harte!

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 15/07/2016 15:09:20    1883888

Replying To DLlegends:  "I've been listening to this rubbish from Tyrone supporters for 4 years now. Team in transition blah blah blah.

Soul searching!! Sure we're transition ourselves.
Trying to bleed young boys like Eoin Mc Hugh, Ciaran Gillespie, Stephen Mc Brearty, Mark Anthony, Ciaran Thompson, Jigger and Caolan Mc Gonagle.

Trust in Gallagher. What about Mickey. If he is outfoxed on the line again, by a man who supposedly photocopied JMG master plan. What will that say!

The oll nerves are clearly taking over rehand. This is a must win for Tyrone."
Alright Legends, let me lay it out for you as easy as it comes!

These were the top scorers for Tyrone in the game against Donegal in 2011:
S O'Neill 0-2, S Cavanagh 0-2 (1f), P Jordan, B Dooher, O Mulligan, M Penrose and P Harte (f) 0-1 each

These were the top scorers last year:
S Cavanagh (0-4, 3 frees); D McCurry (1-0); C McAliskey (0-3); Justin McMahon, M Donnelly, R McNamee (0-1 each).

Now Harte was on both teams, not denying that but you can see how much the Tyrone team has turned over....surely now?

For reference Donegal 2011:
C McFadden 1-1 (1f), D Molloy 1-0, M Murphy 0-2 (1f), K Cassidy, K Rafferty and P McBrearty 0-1 each

Donegal 2015:
M McElhinney (1-2); M Murphy (0-3, 2 frees, 1 45); C Toye, C McFadden, P McBrearty (0-2 each); F McGlynn, K Lacey (0-1 each)

It's a case of Tyrone having actual new names and faces on the side and Donegal are bringing through the young lads a bit more and relying less on the old.

Anyway transition or not, the proof will be in the Sunday pudding, end of transition doesn't necessarily mean we'll win it just means we've completed the transition from old to new team

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 15/07/2016 15:19:26    1883903

Replying To kevin03:  "If Tyrone win there will be some amount of red faced Donegal fans. I haven't seen a Tyrone fan yet say they are sure of a win while almost everyone Donegal fan is certain of it."
Are you just selectively ignoring Tyrone posters or something? Some of ye seem to be reaching really hard for something to rally against here.

Donegal 2-1 outsiders and literally every media outlet predicting a Tyrone win not enough? It's almost like ye aren't sure to deal with all of it. Have more belief in yourselves lads.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 15/07/2016 17:42:20    1883988

Well lads we will know soon enough :)
I'm hoping for a cracker of a game and a Tyrone win. I believe we will do it too. Mickey Harte looking very confident of his team in the press conference. Total faith in Mickey and the boys!!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 15/07/2016 21:05:09    1884072

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Well lads we will know soon enough :)
I'm hoping for a cracker of a game and a Tyrone win. I believe we will do it too. Mickey Harte looking very confident of his team in the press conference. Total faith in Mickey and the boys!!"
We will seanie tir eoghain abu

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 15/07/2016 23:35:03    1884122

An awful lot of bare chested willy waving going on here with statistics, assertions, bluff & guff in abundance.

The truth of it is we have a game between two great rivals with very little between them to look forward to & we should all be grateful for that.

Roll on Sunday!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 15/07/2016 23:37:03    1884123

Replying To ta32:  "We will seanie tir eoghain abu"
Hope so Ta32! Yer keepin well?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 16/07/2016 00:22:49    1884130

Replying To greatpoint:  "Are you just selectively ignoring Tyrone posters or something? Some of ye seem to be reaching really hard for something to rally against here.

Donegal 2-1 outsiders and literally every media outlet predicting a Tyrone win not enough? It's almost like ye aren't sure to deal with all of it. Have more belief in yourselves lads."
Not ignoring Tyrone posters at all. A few are confident but no where near as confident as Donegal supporters.

Just giving my honest assessment. Think Tyrone are in a good place but they are not quite there yet and I believe the media has way over hyped them.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 16/07/2016 08:04:29    1884140

Lot of talk about Tyrone being the young vibrant team and Donegal being old and tired so I'll leave this here.

Average age of starting 15:
Tyrone: 26
Donegal: 25

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 16/07/2016 08:28:29    1884144

Whatever happens tomorrow I think draw dependent we will be seeing this match up in the final a few times over the next few years given age profiles and talent coming through. Hopefully we will see example of this with the Donegal minors playing Derry in the curtain raiser.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 16/07/2016 11:26:25    1884174

Replying To benjyyy:  "Lot of talk about Tyrone being the young vibrant team and Donegal being old and tired so I'll leave this here.

Donegal: 25"
More selective attention.

It's hardly a 15 man game anymore look at Dublin!

If you included the Tyrone bench the average would go down, if you included the Donegal bench it'd go up a bit

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 16/07/2016 14:19:16    1884225

Tyrone have looked better but this is arguably their first proper test of the year.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 16/07/2016 16:47:30    1884267

Hoping for a great game of course. As a well behaved Tyrone gentleman I won't trash-talk the opposition!

Niall Sludden is a vital man for Tyrone - so much pressure on a young man in his first Championship season - I hope he does well.

Connor McAliskey must step up to the plate in this game. Instead of drifting in and out of games as he had done all too often, he must take responsibility and boss the full-forward line.

COME ON TYRONE!

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 797 - 16/07/2016 19:30:01    1884336

Replying To benjyyy:  "Lot of talk about Tyrone being the young vibrant team and Donegal being old and tired so I'll leave this here.

Donegal: 25"
Miles on the clock is also an issue though, some of those Donegal lads have given so much over the past 5 years plus that you would have to think they can't be as fresh as Tyrone are..... We'll know by this time tomorrow

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 16/07/2016 19:49:23    1884345

Looking forward to this game . Donegal to fade badly in the heat . Tyrone going through the gears nicely and dodged their upset in the Cavan game . Donegal to get a man sent off with 20 minutes left and Tyrone to hit the diff . Tyrone 2-13 Donegal 0-11

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 16/07/2016 22:08:59    1884444

Right enough, the Mediterranean climate, so prevalent round the Moy, will be a big advantage to those swarthy Tyrone men.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/07/2016 22:36:00    1884458

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Right enough, the Mediterranean climate, so prevalent round the Moy, will be a big advantage to those swarthy Tyrone men."
Overall the Tyrone team are carrying less bulk on the team apart from the Moy men and I feel that Donegal will wilt first. The counter attacking at pace will start hurting Donegal at the 55 minute mark and at some stage someone in the Donegal defence will make a serious discipline misendeavour and the flood gates will open with Donegal unable to get their hands on the ball . I hope I'm wrong but I think Mickey has Donegals number on this game . Good luck in the minors , Donegal look decent.

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 16/07/2016 23:40:08    1884478

Not as optimistic as some of my compatriots

Think Tyrone have been improving steadily for last year + - I know it's only league and only D2 but I was at the League final this year against an upcoming Cavan team on a high after promotion and Tyrone cruised past them playing 13 behind the ball but scoring at ease and slickly with 3 gears to spare

I'm not sure where I'm at with Donegal - thought Gallagher was clueless last year versus Mayo - then optimistic In the league then 4 poor defeats - 75pc of me thinking we are on downward spiral 25 PC hoping Gallagher was playing cute. Performances to date in championship haven't given me enough to be convinced - im impressed by new blood( Gillespie Eoin Mchugh, o Reilly ) and half forward movement in second game v Monaghan

I'm worried about the keeper, worried about Lacey who had been our best player for ten years and worried about discipline in giving frees inside 45 and being reduced to 14 too often, worried about relying on 34 year olds in mid field

We have only ever squeezed past throne in last five years - remembering papa save v penrose in 2012 - I think they are better now - we are not

I hope we can do it but wouldn't put the house on it

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 17/07/2016 00:19:25    1884486

Referring back to Thomas Ckarkes post - couldn't argue with much - I could point to performance v Armagh last year, we should have won Ulster final last year by 3/4 points except for some shocking wides and umpires in second half, in the Monaghan replay this year we were better by 4/5 points but again didn't register this - so I'd argue there are more positive signs than TC mentions ( also a victory over Tyrone in 2015) - The comment about Murphy is a bit mischievous given that that he will be fouled 90 times tomorrow by McMAhon or whatever spoiler Tyrone assign but all in all bud optimisim is not unfounded

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 17/07/2016 00:33:08    1884493