Donegal v Tyrone

Personally I think the Tyrone supporters are buying into the over the top media hype of Tyrone. No doubting Tyrone have had some decent results the past year but as already mentioned over the past two years met two top teams and got beat.

From 1 to 15, Peter Harte and Mattie Donnelly are possibly the only two I would take onto the Donegal team. And least we not forget that when the s**t hits the fan, Peter normally goes missing.

Tyrone supporters can talk down Donegal's form and a talk up the notion that this is a team in decline all you want. But there is serious pace , serious football ability and a good vibe about the team this year. This is one that the likes of Lacey, Mc Gee, Toye and Kavanagh are willing to die for, as it may be there last.

All the pressure is on Tyrone. They have to win this. For me though it will be Donegal by 5.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 14/07/2016 09:27:21    1882916

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The bottom line is that if a young, fit, ambitious Tyrone side DON'T dispatch an ageing, slow, tired Donegal team by at least 5 points they are going nowhere. Tyrone fans know this but won't say it."
"an ageing, slow, tired Donegal team"

Ulsterman, for a man that constantly bemoans the Southern media and their anti-Notthern agenda you've fairly bought into their incorrect description of Donegal this year.

Our average age is 26 or thereabouts. Slow? O'Reilly, the McHughs, McBrearty, McGlynn?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9161 - 14/07/2016 09:29:39    1882917

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The bottom line is that if a young, fit, ambitious Tyrone side DON'T dispatch an ageing, slow, tired Donegal team by at least 5 points they are going nowhere. Tyrone fans know this but won't say it."
Ageing, slow, tired Donegal team..... Care to enlighten me how you come to that conclusion... We have pace all over the field, moulded with experience and the average age of the team is 25...

We may as well stay at home on Sunday by the sounds of it....

Tyrone may or may not win this game, but anybody who thinks they will win easily or run us of the park are not living in the real world..... This will be a massive test for us, no doubt about that, but I'll tell you Tyrone are going to get a serious examation as well, their first real test since the AI semi last year.. especially their full back line... Donegal can hurt them seriously in this area and it won't surprise me if we get 2/3 goals... if we do, we win.. Simple as....

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 14/07/2016 09:45:27    1882923

Sean Cavanagh, Colm Cavanagh and Tiernan McCann are all players who would also get a place in the Donegal team in response to previous post about same. Some supporters losing the run of themselves here on both sides.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 14/07/2016 11:13:44    1882986

Replying To panamasam:  "Sean Cavanagh, Colm Cavanagh and Tiernan McCann are all players who would also get a place in the Donegal team in response to previous post about same. Some supporters losing the run of themselves here on both sides."
For who Pan. Who would you lose from our half back line for Tiernan. Frank, Tony Thompson, or Karl Lacey.

This mass hyperbole about Colm Cavanagh, let's take stock here. Colm C. is a decent county footballer no more, full stop. Joe Brolly spouts some rubbish about how he is a master at the sweepers role and low and behold the rest of the media row in behind.

Big Sean would have walked into our team a couple of years ago, but I disagree that he would now.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 14/07/2016 12:31:34    1883050

Replying To DLlegends:  "For who Pan. Who would you lose from our half back line for Tiernan. Frank, Tony Thompson, or Karl Lacey.

This mass hyperbole about Colm Cavanagh, let's take stock here. Colm C. is a decent county footballer no more, full stop. Joe Brolly spouts some rubbish about how he is a master at the sweepers role and low and behold the rest of the media row in behind.

Big Sean would have walked into our team a couple of years ago, but I disagree that he would now."
A lot of the people going over the top about tyrone are form outside the County. Not Tyrone people they know this is a step up.

Think Donegal people getting a bit tetchy as southern media are (ridiculously) loving tyrone for once whereas Donegal never got that love even in 2012! they just can't understand it.

As for the comment above, Frank Mc Glynn is the only half back that would start for tyrone. As for Cavanagh he showed the last day that has still got it. Hope e has a good ulster swansong on Sudnay and mc gee keeps his fists, elbows, teeth, mouth to himself

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 14/07/2016 12:56:36    1883077

Replying To redhanddefender:  "A lot of the people going over the top about tyrone are form outside the County. Not Tyrone people they know this is a step up.

Think Donegal people getting a bit tetchy as southern media are (ridiculously) loving tyrone for once whereas Donegal never got that love even in 2012! they just can't understand it.

As for the comment above, Frank Mc Glynn is the only half back that would start for tyrone. As for Cavanagh he showed the last day that has still got it. Hope e has a good ulster swansong on Sudnay and mc gee keeps his fists, elbows, teeth, mouth to himself"
Yea you tyrone boys are so innocent. at least mc gee competes for the ball not like justin mc mahon last year.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2412 - 14/07/2016 13:09:28    1883091

Tiernan McCann would play instead of Karl Lacey. Colm Kavanagh in midfield instead of Kav. Sean Kavanagh at centre half forward instead of Martin Mc.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 14/07/2016 13:12:58    1883095

Was that swansong or swandive?

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 14/07/2016 13:23:52    1883103

Tyrone fans know better not to say it in case it comes back to haunt them
Not saying for sure we are going to win but have them @3/1 to win Ulster.
22/1 to win Sam and around 7/1 to get to the final.
Here is a bit of information for you -- MA mcGinley-21
P McGrath-26
R mcHugh-23
Ciaran Gillispie -19
O mcNelis-23
M McElhinney-26
Eoin MC Hugh-22
P McBrearty-22
M Murphy-26
M o Reilly-23
Subs we used--- Mark mcHugh-26
Eoghan ban Gallagher20
So you say it's an old team
Are you sure Tyrone are not playing u 18 /u16 boys if they are so young
But let's face it posters -- this is the game to win -- this is bigger than anything that will happen later on except the two meet in the All Ireland final.
Kerry v Dublin my ****
And don't forget Donegal are still 20/1 to win Sam and if they win Sunday I'd expect them to be around7/1. Still value in them but off course they have to win Sunday otherwise they will drift in the betting.
Listen to me here now -- this Donegal team is the only team in the country that will put it up to Dublin and in fact can beat Dublin
I saw enough on Easter Saturday night in Croke park to know that Donegal are not finished yet

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 14/07/2016 13:34:18    1883108

Very surprised the bookies have Donegal at 2/1 for this game considering recent history between the two teams. I'll be taking a look at that personally, think it's a great price for a Donegal side I see as more battle hardened.

Not really sure what the arguments about which player would get into which side prove lads, surely the discussion should be about matchups and who will get the better of who?

Really interested to see what Gallagher does with Michael Murphy in this game considering the way C.Cavanagh will largely ignore play in order to get back into the 'defensive d' when Tyrone are defending. I'd posted on this thread earlier that I expect Justin McMahon to come in to mark him, but the more I think of that, Rory Gallagher will obviously know more about football than me - surely he'll look to avoid a potential 'double team' from Cavanagh/McMahon on Murphy and keep him out around the middle?

Can't wait for the game - matchups are key, agree with previous posts on it being a defensive hard hitting game - but sure that's what everyone wants, a war.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 14/07/2016 14:11:53    1883150

Jesus boys this is a slow week....
it's a proper championship match. You know it is when one minute you're relatively calm and confident, then you read something or hear something at work about the game and next thing you're racked with trepidation about your team's chances! Great bloody stuff!

I'd say the atmosphere about Clones will be electric on Sunday! It always seems to be warmer or something there. Like a warm blanket descends on the town and pitch. The fans are right close to the pitch too and with the prize at stake this weekend the tension will be electric!!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9161 - 14/07/2016 14:40:01    1883177

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "Tyrone fans know better not to say it in case it comes back to haunt them
Not saying for sure we are going to win but have them @3/1 to win Ulster.
22/1 to win Sam and around 7/1 to get to the final.
Here is a bit of information for you -- MA mcGinley-21
P McGrath-26
R mcHugh-23
Ciaran Gillispie -19
O mcNelis-23
M McElhinney-26
Eoin MC Hugh-22
P McBrearty-22
M Murphy-26
M o Reilly-23
Subs we used--- Mark mcHugh-26
Eoghan ban Gallagher20
So you say it's an old team
Are you sure Tyrone are not playing u 18 /u16 boys if they are so young
But let's face it posters -- this is the game to win -- this is bigger than anything that will happen later on except the two meet in the All Ireland final.
Kerry v Dublin my ****
And don't forget Donegal are still 20/1 to win Sam and if they win Sunday I'd expect them to be around7/1. Still value in them but off course they have to win Sunday otherwise they will drift in the betting.
Listen to me here now -- this Donegal team is the only team in the country that will put it up to Dublin and in fact can beat Dublin
I saw enough on Easter Saturday night in Croke park to know that Donegal are not finished yet"
Whatever about your chances against Tyrone, I've no idea what makes you think that Donegal are the only team that could beat Dublin. Donegal have played Dublin 7 times in the McGuinness/Gallagher era, and won once (the 2014 AI semi-final). Dublin have won 5 times, with their average margin of victory being 5.5 points. Don't mistake hype and antipathy for a close rivalry - one blemish aside, Donegal have never really threatened this current Dublin side.

Donegal fans clearly rattled here, coming out with increasingly-outlandish assertions. 'Possibly 2 Tyrone players would make the Donegal starting 15'. 'We're the only side that could beat Dublin'.....

Pressure showing, roll on Sunday.....

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 14/07/2016 15:24:54    1883242

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "Whatever about your chances against Tyrone, I've no idea what makes you think that Donegal are the only team that could beat Dublin. Donegal have played Dublin 7 times in the McGuinness/Gallagher era, and won once (the 2014 AI semi-final). Dublin have won 5 times, with their average margin of victory being 5.5 points. Don't mistake hype and antipathy for a close rivalry - one blemish aside, Donegal have never really threatened this current Dublin side.

Donegal fans clearly rattled here, coming out with increasingly-outlandish assertions. 'Possibly 2 Tyrone players would make the Donegal starting 15'. 'We're the only side that could beat Dublin'.....

Pressure showing, roll on Sunday....."
Haha Thomas mo chara I'd say the tension is equally as bad over your way!
"Are we that good?" "Have we really bridged that gap between Div2 standard and the top 3/4?"
Those types of questions are eating away at yez I'd say!!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9161 - 14/07/2016 15:36:17    1883254

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "Whatever about your chances against Tyrone, I've no idea what makes you think that Donegal are the only team that could beat Dublin. Donegal have played Dublin 7 times in the McGuinness/Gallagher era, and won once (the 2014 AI semi-final). Dublin have won 5 times, with their average margin of victory being 5.5 points. Don't mistake hype and antipathy for a close rivalry - one blemish aside, Donegal have never really threatened this current Dublin side.

Pressure showing, roll on Sunday....."
I think you'll find all the pressure is on Tyrone Tom...

Sure aren't yous expected to steam roll the old men from the hills and as a thread on Here, Tyrone are the only team that can stop Dublin so you shouldn't have to much to worry about seeing we have lost 5 out of 6 recent meetings..... Time for Tyrone to deliver I'd suggest, so pressure is on big time... Can your young lads handle a big Ulster final?? Time will tell all..

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 14/07/2016 15:38:16    1883256

Replying To DLlegends:  "Personally I think the Tyrone supporters are buying into the over the top media hype of Tyrone. No doubting Tyrone have had some decent results the past year but as already mentioned over the past two years met two top teams and got beat.

From 1 to 15, Peter Harte and Mattie Donnelly are possibly the only two I would take onto the Donegal team. And least we not forget that when the s**t hits the fan, Peter normally goes missing.

Tyrone supporters can talk down Donegal's form and a talk up the notion that this is a team in decline all you want. But there is serious pace , serious football ability and a good vibe about the team this year. This is one that the likes of Lacey, Mc Gee, Toye and Kavanagh are willing to die for, as it may be there last.

All the pressure is on Tyrone. They have to win this. For me though it will be Donegal by 5."
I'll maintain forever you caught us on an off day last year!

The absolute arrogance of you to consider Donegal a "big team" last year, you were rolling in Ulster and were torpedoed in the quarter final.

Tyrone then beat the team that beat you to the Ulster title and advanced further into the championship than Donegal.

In what way were Donegal a big team last year? Was it winning no silverware? Was it having no all-stars (Tyrone had Mattie)?

How many "big" teams did Donegal beat last year because all I can see is Tyrone, Armagh, Derry and Galway?

Seems Tyrone beat more Division 1 opponents last year

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 14/07/2016 16:16:58    1883289

Replying To ben1977:  "I think you'll find all the pressure is on Tyrone Tom...

Sure aren't yous expected to steam roll the old men from the hills and as a thread on Here, Tyrone are the only team that can stop Dublin so you shouldn't have to much to worry about seeing we have lost 5 out of 6 recent meetings..... Time for Tyrone to deliver I'd suggest, so pressure is on big time... Can your young lads handle a big Ulster final?? Time will tell all.."
You ever had a conversation about football with Mattie Donnelly?

We'll be ready, don't doubt it!

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 14/07/2016 16:25:45    1883304

Once again Donegal buying into the hype created by the media outside Tyrone, to sell papers and build an opponent for Dublin. Tyrone people no this team have shown nothing yet but for sure in the next year or 2 they definitely will need to. Pressure will be on then to deliver. For now this is just a test.

Donegal supports definitely rattled and a bit angry that they are being written off. Its just a game lad take it easy.

Correct about Dublin to, I don't think Donegal could trouble them in any way at the minute. It was different under a shrewd operator like mc Guinness and a passionate man who could get the extra percent out of his players. they won't go that extra mile for a Fermanagh man who nipped in and stole mc Guinness's 1994 playbook and photocopied the pages.

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 14/07/2016 16:30:41    1883309

I honestly don't know how Tyrone are favourites for this match. They haven't played a division 1 side in a while and they shipped 5 goals to Cavan. The price Donegal is at its worth a bet on them. Way I see it is that Donegal have more to lose as they are playing in division 1, have played and won 2 tough games again monaghan and have had the better of Tyrone on the past occasions. If Tyrone beat them then Donegal will be written off as a team who's past it and if they beat Tyrone then everyone will be saying they beat a division 2 team who have been overhyped.

It should be a good game but think Donegal will win as Tyrone do not have a reliable free taker who could punish Donegal and the amount of goals they conceded against cavan is concerning.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 14/07/2016 18:43:25    1883402

Replying To Seansy48:  "I'll maintain forever you caught us on an off day last year!

The absolute arrogance of you to consider Donegal a "big team" last year, you were rolling in Ulster and were torpedoed in the quarter final.

Tyrone then beat the team that beat you to the Ulster title and advanced further into the championship than Donegal.

In what way were Donegal a big team last year? Was it winning no silverware? Was it having no all-stars (Tyrone had Mattie)?

How many "big" teams did Donegal beat last year because all I can see is Tyrone, Armagh, Derry and Galway?

Seems Tyrone beat more Division 1 opponents last year"
We got you on an off day! Get over yourself lad.

Whether you like it or not Donegal are classed as a big team.

Now don't get me wrong Tyrone have a good chance on Sunday. This young team that Mickey has moulded are supposed All-Ireland conterders and are laying waste to all around them.

All and good when teams sit back and admire ye. However we both know what happens when it's a dog fight. You normally fill your togs.

As I said before this is an over hyped Tyrone team, but are still dangerous.

All the pressure is on Tyrone. This is a must win for Mickey and Tyrone and you all know it.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 14/07/2016 19:37:19    1883420