Donegal v Tyrone

Everyone building up this game to be some kind of classic not to be missed, I've seen Donegal v Tyrone games of late and they've all been dire, ugly affairs. Defensive beyond all recognition two teams stuck in their own Half. When the opposing is attacking there is 15 men behind the ball and then its all guns blazing to counter attack before the other team can set up again and this goes on and on the whole game. It will come down to who can counter attack the quickest and who can take their scores. I'll not be going to it. Can't say who will win Tyrone look good on the counter but the old men of Donegal might still have the legs and power to hold them out.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 09/07/2016 13:24:39    1878839

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "This will be no CROKE park , more like Ballybofey 2013 or Clones 2012. I can't see the Tyrone forwards getting the freedom like they did last Sunday. My guess is this game will be like the 2013 game in Ballybofey. It will be fierce tight with a goal being the all important score but who gets it is the big question.
All the pundits ( paddy Cullen included ) on about Tyrone's pace but I don't see it as a factor. It will be very defensive with both teams trying to attack but both having to go back as their way will be blocked.
Now discipline will be an issue and who will pick up cards, black yellow or indeed red could have a big bearing.
We will need a strong referee and good afternoons from the umpires /linesmen It will be hectic but the he two best teams are there and there is an awful lot to play for. If my life depended on getting the result right I'd go for Donegal."
Sam I think you're a great poster, really great actually very knowledgeable, very fair!

But you're ignoring the fact they lined the pitch out slim in Ballybofey when we played there, every time and it was bloody obvious.

That's all very fair, It's up to the home county to decide such things. 2012 in Clones, your counties rise to their highest peak as a team. Tyrone weren't ready to compete, Donegal were months if not years ahead in terms of development. I don't think that game will have any relevance Tyrone are much much better across the board whereas it seems Donegal came back to the pack after 2012.

We won't be playing in CROKE park as you put it but we won't be playing on a 5 a side pitch in Ballybofey either and we won't be taking a time machine to 2012 or 2013. I maintain what I said earlier, this Donegal team haven't played the best of this Tyrone team in fact i'd call the loss to you lads last year a major turning point. I'd also say Tyrone HAVE seen the best this Donegal team has to offer.

Long story short I can't see this match being like any other between them in recent times other than the way it'll most likely go down to the wire

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 09/07/2016 16:00:20    1878886

Replying To Seansy48:  "Sam I think you're a great poster, really great actually very knowledgeable, very fair!

But you're ignoring the fact they lined the pitch out slim in Ballybofey when we played there, every time and it was bloody obvious.

That's all very fair, It's up to the home county to decide such things. 2012 in Clones, your counties rise to their highest peak as a team. Tyrone weren't ready to compete, Donegal were months if not years ahead in terms of development. I don't think that game will have any relevance Tyrone are much much better across the board whereas it seems Donegal came back to the pack after 2012.

We won't be playing in CROKE park as you put it but we won't be playing on a 5 a side pitch in Ballybofey either and we won't be taking a time machine to 2012 or 2013. I maintain what I said earlier, this Donegal team haven't played the best of this Tyrone team in fact i'd call the loss to you lads last year a major turning point. I'd also say Tyrone HAVE seen the best this Donegal team has to offer.

Long story short I can't see this match being like any other between them in recent times other than the way it'll most likely go down to the wire"
McCumhaill Pairc is a bigger pitch than Croker

I'd absolutely love to know where this accepted wisdom of it being tiny came from

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 218 - 09/07/2016 17:05:45    1878968

Replying To joeteor:  "McCumhaill Pairc is a bigger pitch than Croker

I'd absolutely love to know where this accepted wisdom of it being tiny came from"
There's a difference between having a pitch the same size as Croker and lining out the same playing area!

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 09/07/2016 19:54:31    1879293

Seems to be a danger of this not selling out, crazy to think when some were advocating it to be moved to Croke Park. Still any amount of tickets available online and from supervalu which wasn't the case in previous years, I know from my own club ticket orders are down on previous years, not too sure what it's like in Tyrone.

Antifa (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 11/07/2016 15:43:18    1881035

We will win.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 11/07/2016 15:48:10    1881044

There's a lot of neutrals really looking forward to this one. This is the biggest match in the championship to date. The most unpredictable one. The winner of this pairing will go forward with a huge expectation from them.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 11/07/2016 22:14:44    1881426

Can't wait now,excitement is building,not that much of a buzz about though, suppose it's our 6th Ulster final in a row, who'd have thought that 6 years ago,
Donegal by 2 !!

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 11/07/2016 22:25:11    1881439

Hoping for a good match on Sunday, hard to call it ,, halftime will be nice to see the Down team of 91 being remembered

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 11/07/2016 22:33:09    1881445

So let me get this right, Tyrone lost all those games in Ballybofey because the size of the pitch? Sweet lord...

On the game itself, one minute I feel we will win this game with a few to spare, the next minute I get a shiver and think tyrones time has arrived to beat us.. It's 50/50 at best..
This game is gonna be decided by goals, can keep them out after their goal blitz against Cavan? I'm fairly confident we can nick at least one and possible two if we keep murph inside for a good porportion of the game, cause I feel their FB line is the weak link of Tyrone.. If we do, then we win by 3-4 points... It's gonna be some day in clones and may the best team win.....

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 11/07/2016 22:53:54    1881455

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Everyone building up this game to be some kind of classic not to be missed, I've seen Donegal v Tyrone games of late and they've all been dire, ugly affairs. Defensive beyond all recognition two teams stuck in their own Half. When the opposing is attacking there is 15 men behind the ball and then its all guns blazing to counter attack before the other team can set up again and this goes on and on the whole game. It will come down to who can counter attack the quickest and who can take their scores. I'll not be going to it. Can't say who will win Tyrone look good on the counter but the old men of Donegal might still have the legs and power to hold them out."
I agree totally with your assessment of this game, it will be tense and blanket defences to the fore. I think it will be low scoring as both teams want to counter attack, however there will be no space to counter attack into. It might come down to who makes the least mistakes or who takes their frees, neither side have been brilliant at frees so far this year. Both teams know each other very well and the runners on both sides will be well marshalled. I find it difficult to pick a winner.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 11/07/2016 23:23:42    1881470

What we are building up to here is a massive Ulster Final in which the winners would have a great chance to go on to win the All-Ireland. Dublin and Kerry being the other main contenders. Winning Ulster would be a major boost for Tyrone and it would certainly help the All-Ireland chances going straight to the quarters and avoiding Kerry/ Dublin. That said Donegal have been a great team over the past five years and I must be one of the few who have enjoyed watching Donegal play when they counter attack at speed and have any number of players who can take their scores. A full house at Clones, both teams wanting to win Ulster for its own sake, I think we will have the game of the season so far with Tyrone to win by two points.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 12/07/2016 08:46:57    1881524

Donegal v Tyrone last year was a very good game, especially the 2nd half. A goal would open the thing up. If we get one half way through the 1st half then we should be in for a great game. If not, I suspect it will be a game of chess with gum shields.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 12/07/2016 08:56:26    1881536

Replying To ben1977:  "So let me get this right, Tyrone lost all those games in Ballybofey because the size of the pitch? Sweet lord...

On the game itself, one minute I feel we will win this game with a few to spare, the next minute I get a shiver and think tyrones time has arrived to beat us.. It's 50/50 at best..
This game is gonna be decided by goals, can keep them out after their goal blitz against Cavan? I'm fairly confident we can nick at least one and possible two if we keep murph inside for a good porportion of the game, cause I feel their FB line is the weak link of Tyrone.. If we do, then we win by 3-4 points... It's gonna be some day in clones and may the best team win....."
Ha! Had a good chuckle at that one myself. The pitch size being the reason they lost to us!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9161 - 12/07/2016 09:53:38    1881560

Replying To ben1977:  "So let me get this right, Tyrone lost all those games in Ballybofey because the size of the pitch? Sweet lord...

This game is gonna be decided by goals, can keep them out after their goal blitz against Cavan? I'm fairly confident we can nick at least one and possible two if we keep murph inside for a good porportion of the game, cause I feel their FB line is the weak link of Tyrone.. If we do, then we win by 3-4 points... It's gonna be some day in clones and may the best team win....."
Never once did I say that Donegal won because of pitch size, simply said it won't be the same this time!

Donegal were a team of the moment whilst Tyrone were a team in transition, like none of you really think you'd have beaten us in 03 or 05....at least i'd hope for your sanity!

My point on pitch size is your defensive scheme is largely based on clogging the middle channel, if they middle channel is 1 metre smaller than it is on another pitch it's easier to clog.

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 12/07/2016 14:31:52    1881843

Replying To Seansy48:  "Never once did I say that Donegal won because of pitch size, simply said it won't be the same this time!

Donegal were a team of the moment whilst Tyrone were a team in transition, like none of you really think you'd have beaten us in 03 or 05....at least i'd hope for your sanity!

My point on pitch size is your defensive scheme is largely based on clogging the middle channel, if they middle channel is 1 metre smaller than it is on another pitch it's easier to clog."
You'll find be beat yous well in 2004...with 14 men too.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9161 - 12/07/2016 15:07:12    1881879

Replying To Lockjaw:  "You'll find be beat yous well in 2004...with 14 men too."
We've never feared playing Tyrone at any stage.
And will prove that point again this Sunday.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9161 - 12/07/2016 15:23:48    1881909

Replying To Lockjaw:  "We've never feared playing Tyrone at any stage.
And will prove that point again this Sunday."
You mean the year Cormac died!?

Yeah i'm sure there heads were there for that match.

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 12/07/2016 17:21:14    1881997

Replying To Seansy48:  "You mean the year Cormac died!?

Yeah i'm sure there heads were there for that match."
No need to get so defensive.
You said that we wouldn't have come near yez in the 03-05 period and I merely pointed out that it was incorrect as we knocked you out of the Ulster championship in 04.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9161 - 12/07/2016 17:41:05    1882017

Replying To Lockjaw:  "No need to get so defensive.
You said that we wouldn't have come near yez in the 03-05 period and I merely pointed out that it was incorrect as we knocked you out of the Ulster championship in 04."
No I didn't read what I said again there!

I said 03 or 05 not 03-05

I'm not offended by the way I'm just pointing out the obvious. It's more than you I must say, when people consider that team they never consider what may have been had Cormac lived....almost like they don't want to in some parts of the country.

Canavan was out in 2004 with the ankle injury from the year before. We got beat by Mayo in the quarter final that year hitting the posts 4 times and Mayo winning by 4 points. The team required leadership and a better full back both of which Cormac was and that's before you even get into the mental damage of losing him in the first place

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 12/07/2016 18:00:13    1882029