Donegal v Tyrone

The tackle on Frank McGlynn was almost identical to Tom Cuniffees shoulder on Peter Harte in 2013. Unfortunately Harte picked up a bad injury then but both tackles were excellent pieces of defending - though I do remember some complaints from certain quarters about Cuniffees tackle.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 19/07/2016 10:54:32    1886084

I thought the ref was good on sunday. He tried to allow the game to keep going. I think that the black card calls must have been harsh, I was away down at the corner flag and couldnt see them. I did see the penalty call in the 2nd half, as I was opposite the action. It was not a penalty, if it were given it would have been a fermanagh mayo type.

I hope we can all look forward to the next day out. Seems these threads tend to attract a lot of baying for heads and the like. I think that we still have to recognise that it is an amateur game and the managers and players give their time unconditionally.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/07/2016 11:35:00    1886130

Replying To Soma:  "The tackle on Frank McGlynn was almost identical to Tom Cuniffees shoulder on Peter Harte in 2013. Unfortunately Harte picked up a bad injury then but both tackles were excellent pieces of defending - though I do remember some complaints from certain quarters about Cuniffees tackle."
Almost identical but not identical. From memory as I haven't seen it in a while Harte had just released the ball (so a late hit) and I don't think it was shoulder to shoulder. Both were bone crushers though.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 19/07/2016 13:34:09    1886272

Agree with you Donegalman. That is why I always resent TSG panel competing with each other for the funniest personal insult of a county/player/manager (usually Ulster) .. your right, they are amateurs after all.
BBC NI do robust criticism of tactics, dangerous play etc but its always fair , never personal and concentrates on the game.
Wouldn't it be great if BBC had exclusive coverage of all Ulster (including replays not shown this Summer) and free up RTE to show Dubs/KY/MO put away some minnow by 20+ .. no one could complain then of having to watch competitive Ulster contests but Clones would still be sold out.
Thought COR out of order with his description before game of a player 'being a good one to start a row outside a chipper on a Sat night'

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 19/07/2016 14:21:52    1886329

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Give me a break Benjy the lad was in the Donegal goal mouth with your lads tripping over him,and if it was for verbals to an umpire even more pathetic as that goes unpunished 99% of the time but suddenly in a provincial final a young lad has to be made an example of. In regard to Mattie Donnelly it's like Tomas O Se said you'd need to be in his head to know if it was intentional and since it didn't really effect the play that was goin on I think he should have been given the benefit of the doubt. And why was Rory Kav not given same treatment? Complete inconsistent application of rules."
Maybe the ref should of asked Mattie did he mean it or not ? Or is that not why you have refs and linesmen. Oshea sits on the fence I think he will break it. forget him.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 19/07/2016 14:44:58    1886355

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Give me a break Benjy the lad was in the Donegal goal mouth with your lads tripping over him,and if it was for verbals to an umpire even more pathetic as that goes unpunished 99% of the time but suddenly in a provincial final a young lad has to be made an example of. In regard to Mattie Donnelly it's like Tomas O Se said you'd need to be in his head to know if it was intentional and since it didn't really effect the play that was goin on I think he should have been given the benefit of the doubt. And why was Rory Kav not given same treatment? Complete inconsistent application of rules."
Maybe the ref should of asked Mattie did he mean it or not ? Or is that not why you have refs and linesmen for. O'shea sits on the fence so much I think he will break it. forget him.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 19/07/2016 14:49:17    1886360

my mistake and good luck Tyrone going forward.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts:131 - 19/07/2016 01:25:40 1885984
-----------------
Fair play. Good luck yerselves.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/07/2016 14:51:54    1886364

Replying To benched:  "Almost identical but not identical. From memory as I haven't seen it in a while Harte had just released the ball (so a late hit) and I don't think it was shoulder to shoulder. Both were bone crushers though."
Your memory is playing tricks on you, Harte was just in the process of collecting a handpass when he was hit and it was as shoulder to shoulder as you can get. The only real difference in the 2 was that Cunniffe hit harder and unfortunately Harte was injured. Two excellent pieces of defending, great to see it still part of the game.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 19/07/2016 14:59:33    1886376

Good luck in the AI series, feel that Tyrone will blossom when the hit Croker.
Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts:153 - 19/07/2016 02:03:34 1885989
---------------------
"Have you ever walked the lonesome hill or heard the curlews cry.......Or seen the raven black as night upon a windswept sky" lol

Curlew I absolutely accept the best wishes of my good neighbours.I wish them the best also. My complaint was about officiating and its complete lack of consistency.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/07/2016 14:59:56    1886377

Maybe the ref should of asked Mattie did he mean it or not ? Or is that not why you have refs and linesmen. Oshea sits on the fence I think he will break it. forget him.
bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts:359 - 19/07/2016 14:44:58 1886355
----------------
The point is Coldrick couldn't have known it was an intentional act. When it's a 50/50 like that I think the player should be given the benefit of the doubt. To ruin a guys provincial final like that cos you " think" he "might" be acting the maggot is not the way the game should be refereed,it is a contact game after all. Contrast that with the Colm Boyle incident were Colm walks of without an issue cos he knows he's guilty. Clearly Mattie was gutted and I think he was personally sacrificed and Mc Shane so Coldrick could act like a hard man ref. And to add salt to the wound he had a chance to show consistency by doing the same with Rory Kav and didn't. He sent the engine of our midfield and a forward who scored and showed promise of more to the line for nothing. Maybe he was trying to "engineer" a result himself. Nobody in the Gaa hierarchy wants to see a Tyrone management and team that is not doing interviews with RTE lifting the Sam Maguire. You can be 100% sure of that.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/07/2016 15:23:02    1886400

Replying To benched:  "Almost identical but not identical. From memory as I haven't seen it in a while Harte had just released the ball (so a late hit) and I don't think it was shoulder to shoulder. Both were bone crushers though."
Wrong it was shoulder to shoulder and Harte was about to gather possession but didn't see Cunniffe until it was too late,I only remember checking it again at the time as people were crying over it trying to say it was dirty from the Mayo man, which it wasn't.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 19/07/2016 15:35:51    1886405

Replying To Soma:  "Your memory is playing tricks on you, Harte was just in the process of collecting a handpass when he was hit and it was as shoulder to shoulder as you can get. The only real difference in the 2 was that Cunniffe hit harder and unfortunately Harte was injured. Two excellent pieces of defending, great to see it still part of the game."
To be fair, there wasn't much between the 2 hits in terms of hardness. McGlynn also had to come off injured after Munroe's.

Considering that it not only broke up a Donegal attack, but also launched the counter attack for a Cavanagh point, it was arguably the key moment in the game.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 19/07/2016 15:46:06    1886413

Munroe's was a hard but fair hit I thought. He was like a wrecking ball when he came on, really tore into us and shook things up. Makes Gallagher's decision to leave Leo twiddling his thumbs all the more baffling. He could have made a similar impact for us.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9163 - 19/07/2016 16:09:28    1886438

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Wrong it was shoulder to shoulder and Harte was about to gather possession but didn't see Cunniffe until it was too late,I only remember checking it again at the time as people were crying over it trying to say it was dirty from the Mayo man, which it wasn't."
You both may well be right, as I said I can remember the big hit but the circumstances are sketchy, just remember he was totally open for it and never seen it coming

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 19/07/2016 16:18:22    1886454

Usual great stats based analysis

https://dontfoul.wordpress.com/tag/donegal/

Tyrone's conversion rate is usually bad and it amazes me their coaches can't teach better shot selection.

Black red yellow are not the real issue if you accept this blog analysis.

cjx (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 19/07/2016 16:43:45    1886482

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Maybe the ref should of asked Mattie did he mean it or not ? Or is that not why you have refs and linesmen. Oshea sits on the fence I think he will break it. forget him.
----------------
The point is Coldrick couldn't have known it was an intentional act. When it's a 50/50 like that I think the player should be given the benefit of the doubt. To ruin a guys provincial final like that cos you " think" he "might" be acting the maggot is not the way the game should be refereed,it is a contact game after all. Contrast that with the Colm Boyle incident were Colm walks of without an issue cos he knows he's guilty. Clearly Mattie was gutted and I think he was personally sacrificed and Mc Shane so Coldrick could act like a hard man ref. And to add salt to the wound he had a chance to show consistency by doing the same with Rory Kav and didn't. He sent the engine of our midfield and a forward who scored and showed promise of more to the line for nothing. Maybe he was trying to "engineer" a result himself. Nobody in the Gaa hierarchy wants to see a Tyrone management and team that is not doing interviews with RTE lifting the Sam Maguire. You can be 100% sure of that."
ah now seanie you can pick on incidents all you want and i agree Kavanagh should have went and I think Thompson could have been sent off but your comment about enginnering a result is mental considering he had 3 chances (for each of your last scores) where he could have given Donegal nice easy frees and he didn't.

He was poor for both sides and it evened out alot better than it normally does.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 19/07/2016 16:55:59    1886489

Not a fan of Ulster football but we'll done to micky and all the tyrone players really think they are the only team to take on the dubs,they are able to play football think we will see more of there skill as the year goes on

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 779 - 19/07/2016 17:24:01    1886514

Replying To Thomas Clarke:  "To be fair, there wasn't much between the 2 hits in terms of hardness. McGlynn also had to come off injured after Munroe's.

Considering that it not only broke up a Donegal attack, but also launched the counter attack for a Cavanagh point, it was arguably the key moment in the game."
Without a doubt it was a huge moment and a good shoulder often does mark a turning point due to the boost it gives a team and fans and how it can demoralise the opposition. Hopefully there are plenty more before the year is out.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 19/07/2016 17:36:50    1886527

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Maybe the ref should of asked Mattie did he mean it or not ? Or is that not why you have refs and linesmen. Oshea sits on the fence I think he will break it. forget him.
----------------
The point is Coldrick couldn't have known it was an intentional act. When it's a 50/50 like that I think the player should be given the benefit of the doubt. To ruin a guys provincial final like that cos you " think" he "might" be acting the maggot is not the way the game should be refereed,it is a contact game after all. Contrast that with the Colm Boyle incident were Colm walks of without an issue cos he knows he's guilty. Clearly Mattie was gutted and I think he was personally sacrificed and Mc Shane so Coldrick could act like a hard man ref. And to add salt to the wound he had a chance to show consistency by doing the same with Rory Kav and didn't. He sent the engine of our midfield and a forward who scored and showed promise of more to the line for nothing. Maybe he was trying to "engineer" a result himself. Nobody in the Gaa hierarchy wants to see a Tyrone management and team that is not doing interviews with RTE lifting the Sam Maguire. You can be 100% sure of that."
Rubbish, is ref supposed to give every player that make what you call a 50/50 decisions the benefit of the doubt ? I agree that there is no consistent in refereeing but I think both where blacks. But thats a major problem in the gaa as a whole. Its funny when people say he should be let away with it because he was a good player makes me laugh :)

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 19/07/2016 17:40:57    1886529

Replying To dstuction:  "ah now seanie you can pick on incidents all you want and i agree Kavanagh should have went and I think Thompson could have been sent off but your comment about enginnering a result is mental considering he had 3 chances (for each of your last scores) where he could have given Donegal nice easy frees and he didn't.

He was poor for both sides and it evened out alot better than it normally does."
Lads the main point I'm making is how inconsistent these refs are in terms of how they seem to interpret the rules and how they issue sanction.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/07/2016 18:41:53    1886572