Donegal v Tyrone

Inishowen man........missed the "penalty" drama but let's be civil to each other on here as we are neighbours,and good luck in qualifiers.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/07/2016 19:01:55    1885804

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Inishowen man........missed the "penalty" drama but let's be civil to each other on here as we are neighbours,and good luck in qualifiers."
Congrats on your win - the better side won it.

No excuses I hope from Donegal fans.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 18/07/2016 19:11:28    1885809

Replying To benched:  "What dive by Cavanagh? He wasn't even involved in any penalty claim you axx"
What is this penalty issue with Sean about. I watched the match on rte and then watched the Sunday Game and they never showed it or discussed it.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 18/07/2016 19:14:34    1885810

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Give me a break Benjy the lad was in the Donegal goal mouth with your lads tripping over him,and if it was for verbals to an umpire even more pathetic as that goes unpunished 99% of the time but suddenly in a provincial final a young lad has to be made an example of. In regard to Mattie Donnelly it's like Tomas O Se said you'd need to be in his head to know if it was intentional and since it didn't really effect the play that was goin on I think he should have been given the benefit of the doubt. And why was Rory Kav not given same treatment? Complete inconsistent application of rules."
Jeez you asked someone to shed some light on the rules so I posted them...no need to attack me for it!

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 18/07/2016 19:23:38    1885814

It warms my heart to see some of the last few donegal posts here. Clearly struggling to deal with loss and it was the same around the ground after. You try be gracious and all they could do was moan about this and that and say that donegal threw it away.

Grow a bit of dignity, it was a tight game of football, take your beating and move on. we have had to alot.

As for the Inishowen fella complete about people being in the bars what odds?Once in a life time opportunity so let people enjoy it as they please. Thought the tyrone support was immense yesterday and seemed to be 50/50. Why is someone questioning the amount of support there when the ground was a sell out?

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 18/07/2016 19:39:44    1885825

Replying To redhanddefender:  "It warms my heart to see some of the last few donegal posts here. Clearly struggling to deal with loss and it was the same around the ground after. You try be gracious and all they could do was moan about this and that and say that donegal threw it away.

Grow a bit of dignity, it was a tight game of football, take your beating and move on. we have had to alot.

As for the Inishowen fella complete about people being in the bars what odds?Once in a life time opportunity so let people enjoy it as they please. Thought the tyrone support was immense yesterday and seemed to be 50/50. Why is someone questioning the amount of support there when the ground was a sell out?"
Which Donegal posters are you referring to here? Did I miss a page?

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 18/07/2016 20:10:11    1885836

Replying To benjyyy:  "Jeez you asked someone to shed some light on the rules so I posted them...no need to attack me for it!"
Not attacking Ye Benjjy,just being a bit exasperated in that post! A bit fed up about the inconsistent way these rules are being applied by these refs and how they conveniently listen to their umpires and other officials when it suits.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/07/2016 20:11:24    1885837

Congrats to Tyrone. 3 years ago it was Neil Mc Gee with the big hit on O Neill but yesterday it was Frank Mc Glynn receiving one of them. These are the small things that lift or deflate a team. Tyrone deserved their win because they tried to win. We tried to manage the game and got caught. There is very little between the teams but in my honest opinion if the management teams were switched yesterday I think it would have been a different result.
Rory set up the team week to start both the Monaghan replay and yesterday's match but in both games the opposition countered and Rory panicked, making poor decisions on subs and on tactics. That's the third game he has brought on a player after taking him off while players like Michael Carroll, Stephen Mc Brearty and Ciaran Thompson twiddle their thumbs. Paddy Mc Brearty was starved of ball yesterday but instead of changing it outfield he takes Paddy off and brings on Mc Fadden. What good was that going to do!
I didn't think we'd win yesterday and to be honest we could have as Tyrone were very nervous. They will however gain great confidence from this and I expect them to be in Croke Park v Dublin on the 18th Sept.
As for us. It's transition time. We'll lose 7 or 8 great servants to Donegal GAA at the end of this season but have lots to look forward to with great talent coming through from minor and u21 grade. We just need a good pilot to guide them.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/07/2016 20:11:30    1885838

Replying To kevin03:  "What is this penalty issue with Sean about. I watched the match on rte and then watched the Sunday Game and they never showed it or discussed it."
There was a decent shout for a Tyrone penalty. Don't know who it was but don't think it was Cavanagh. Could have went either way imo. Tackles came in from both sides though it looked like the player was looking for it a bit. Still, seen them given.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 18/07/2016 20:12:01    1885839

Replying To redhanddefender:  "It warms my heart to see some of the last few donegal posts here. Clearly struggling to deal with loss and it was the same around the ground after. You try be gracious and all they could do was moan about this and that and say that donegal threw it away.

As for the Inishowen fella complete about people being in the bars what odds?Once in a life time opportunity so let people enjoy it as they please. Thought the tyrone support was immense yesterday and seemed to be 50/50. Why is someone questioning the amount of support there when the ground was a sell out?"
I agree with you .

To my own county men : please stop blaming the ref.

Tyrone deserved to win .

Lets take our beating .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 18/07/2016 20:20:45    1885853

Replying To benjyyy:  "There was a decent shout for a Tyrone penalty. Don't know who it was but don't think it was Cavanagh. Could have went either way imo. Tackles came in from both sides though it looked like the player was looking for it a bit. Still, seen them given."
Cheers. I seen one towards the end but another poster said it was a typical Sean dive. It was either Sean or a dive. Tyrone player was tackled by 2 players and fell.

As you rightly say we have seen them given and seem them not given.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 18/07/2016 20:38:10    1885865

Replying To InishowenMan:  "benched

Where you actually watching the game yesterday or where you just another drunken gobsh*te there to get drunk and sing songs..?

2nd half..Cavanagh bursting into the box from the left hand side with two Donegal men tackling' Cavanagh lunged forward and threw himself down and the reaction from the crowd was Tyrone fans shouting for a penalty and Donegal fans baying Dive which it clearly was. It all ended in what looked like a rugby Srum with the ref Bent over peeking in before Donegal came away with the ball....You AXX. But sure that wouldnt be like Your shaun now would it.

Irishgael3,, pipe you down with your assumptions..its nothing to do with people not taking their beating..It was what it was.!
Would i be as critical of Donegal had we won the game..? probably not as much so,but it was still a pile of Sh8te.

We paid good money for tickets, an hotel room the night before and spent more money in a Restuarant/bar in Enniskillen not to mention the diesel ect to go to this Ulster final like we do in every championship game and to have to endure that 2nd half yesterday was frustrating to say the least. im not a fair weather fan and have followed my county for many yrs but yesterdays performance when all is taking into account is just not good enough as a supporter and many are feeling the same way today.."
Pipe down my a4se - where on my posts have I mentioned or made assumptions - your rant about a penalty is way off the mark - the only penalty shout in the game was not cavanagh and the lad got a black card for being dragged down!

Donegal will bounce back in qualifiers they are way too strong not to so perhaps you'll be in a better mood after that.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 18/07/2016 20:44:36    1885870

Tyrone wanted to win this game more than Donegal did, which was plain to see by the reaction of the Tyrone squad at the final whistle.

We were in the same place 6 years ago & will be again.

For now, it's congratulations to Tyrone.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/07/2016 23:08:54    1885953

Look Donegal had their chance to win the game yesterday and weren't brave enough to go for the kill, tried to sit on their lead and top teams like Tyrone will punish you. I thought the best team won and I wouldn't complain about the ref, sure in every game bad decisions are made, that is all part of football. The black cards were harsh, especially the McShane one. I think the ref was expecting a dirty game as the media were going on all week about how he would need to be strong, unfortunately he was trigger happy with the black cards.

Best of luck to Tyrone in their quest for the All-Ireland title , you never know we might meet again on the 3rd Sunday in September. Tyrone are building a fine side and have some excellent players, Donegal are going to have their work cut out competing with them in the next few years.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 18/07/2016 23:31:32    1885961

Replying To InishowenMan:  "benched

Where you actually watching the game yesterday or where you just another drunken gobsh*te there to get drunk and sing songs..?

2nd half..Cavanagh bursting into the box from the left hand side with two Donegal men tackling' Cavanagh lunged forward and threw himself down and the reaction from the crowd was Tyrone fans shouting for a penalty and Donegal fans baying Dive which it clearly was. It all ended in what looked like a rugby Srum with the ref Bent over peeking in before Donegal came away with the ball....You AXX. But sure that wouldnt be like Your shaun now would it.

Irishgael3,, pipe you down with your assumptions..its nothing to do with people not taking their beating..It was what it was.!
Would i be as critical of Donegal had we won the game..? probably not as much so,but it was still a pile of Sh8te.

We paid good money for tickets, an hotel room the night before and spent more money in a Restuarant/bar in Enniskillen not to mention the diesel ect to go to this Ulster final like we do in every championship game and to have to endure that 2nd half yesterday was frustrating to say the least. im not a fair weather fan and have followed my county for many yrs but yesterdays performance when all is taking into account is just not good enough as a supporter and many are feeling the same way today.."
Seems like you spent too long it that bar in Enniskillen on Saturday night. An all nighter was it? It appears either your vision was, or else your memory is a bit hazy on the events as they unfolded. As I said Sean (note the spelling of the mans name) wasn't involved in any penalty shout. I'm guessing your referring to the time that Rory Brennan went down in the box, was it a penalty? Certainly seen them given, as Carr said on the tv if it was out the field a free definitely would of been awarded, however like yesterday I've seen them not given before as well. One things for sure it definitely wasn't a dive, unlike what McGinley done when he gathered the ball up, again called out by Carr on RTE for going down holding his face with no contact. Starting to get a bit of a rep for it at this stage young Mark Anthony isn't he?
As for myself not that it's any of your business I drove the family to and from Clones yesterday just like I did for the two Cavan games.
I did call into the local for two celebratory pints last night, they tasted good, cheers!

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 18/07/2016 23:33:42    1885963

Hands up' I got it completely wrong regarding the penalty shout' Im only after getting peace and quite to watch the whole match back on the iplayer.
it was the Rory Brennan incident on 69 mins i was reffering too and it looked a dive from where i was at and I thought it was Sean Cavanagh.So i'd Like to retract my comment and apoligies to Sean Cavanagh and any Tyrone fan i upset.

irishgael3..Your assumption was that i couldnt take a beating..! As i said in my post hats off to Tyrone..I have no issue with Tyrone winning the game as they showed they wanted it more and went for it..' and i dont begrudge it one bit. I wasnt attempting at making excuse's just pointing out some key moments in the game...wrongly so regarding Sean cavanagh.

I,ve been following Donegal and going to games for many years and always take defeats to better teams on the Chin.
My disgust on Sunday was aimed at ourselves and not Tyrone. I dont mind a team going out on their Shield but What we offered up especially in the 2nd half has made me Question spending alot of money to continue following this team around the Country and i dont for one minute blame any of the players who have and give 100% each time they pull on the jersey.

I wont be going to the Qualifier against Cork and ive been to all Champonship games this season..Until i see some kind of improvement and the managements will to shake things up and give players the chance to express themselves then I will be taking a good hard look at the money in my pocket before parting with it.

Apoligies again for my mistake and good luck Tyrone going forward.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 19/07/2016 01:25:40    1885984

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Not attacking Ye Benjjy,just being a bit exasperated in that post! A bit fed up about the inconsistent way these rules are being applied by these refs and how they conveniently listen to their umpires and other officials when it suits."
seanie_boy , so many of your good neighbours have congratulated Tyrone , saying that the best team deserved to win and have wished you well in the AI series .. you seem to be still engaged in a trench war fare with a few disappointed fans trying to seek explanations/excuses for losing a game that they were still leading after 72 minutes. Its time to be a good winner, accept their best wishes and move on to further glory .

Delighted for Mickey Harte, a great leader and tactician . I suggested to RTE today that they issue a GENUINE apology to him and try and build bridges (not going to happen this year i know) .. would be good to hear his considered thoughts and wisdom again.
Actually heard more than one on the Today Show (SOR) after 11am mention how highly respected he is.
Sean Cavanagh showed once again what a MAN he is when the chips were down.

Good luck in the AI series, feel that Tyrone will blossom when the hit Croker.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 19/07/2016 02:03:34    1885989

Replying To DLlegends:  "Personally I think the Tyrone supporters are buying into the over the top media hype of Tyrone. No doubting Tyrone have had some decent results the past year but as already mentioned over the past two years met two top teams and got beat.

From 1 to 15, Peter Harte and Mattie Donnelly are possibly the only two I would take onto the Donegal team. And least we not forget that when the s**t hits the fan, Peter normally goes missing.

Tyrone supporters can talk down Donegal's form and a talk up the notion that this is a team in decline all you want. But there is serious pace , serious football ability and a good vibe about the team this year. This is one that the likes of Lacey, Mc Gee, Toye and Kavanagh are willing to die for, as it may be there last.

All the pressure is on Tyrone. They have to win this. For me though it will be Donegal by 5."
- Ah yes, that old myth about Peter Harte disappearing in big games. Well, I think we can put that one to bed now.

- I thought that Harte's point - given the distance, pressure, tiredness, outside of the boot - was one of the very best that I've ever seen. Sean Cavanagh's effort just before it was immense also. Actually, there were some great points from both sides, McNialis, McHugh, Murphy and Morgan from dead balls. All extremely high quality scores.

- Mickey Harte finally learned that you can't play Donegal by bombing everyone forward against them and burning ourselves out after 45 minutes. In previous encounters, we've been tortured on the counter attack, particularly in the 2nd half, so this year we mirrored the Monaghan approach of playing equally defensively and conserving energy early on. We were probably a bit too hesitant early on, but began to take over when we ran at them in the 2nd half. In the last 42 minutes, we outscored Donegal 9-3, which was pretty comprehensive.

- David Coldrick was what he always likes to be - the centre of attention. He made howlers galore. The black cards were a disgrace. If in doubt, a good referee would err on the side of caution, but not Coldrick, who seemed to relish the chance to send off Tyrone's best footballer. In the second half, McFadden and Gillespie both looked to have been fouled in scorable positions, while the Brennan penalty incident would have drawn a whistle had it occurred anywhere outside the box.

- One of the few things that Coldrick got right was in not awarding a free to Frank McGlynn when Jonny Munroe emptied him. Munroe's hit was shoulder to shoulder and his foot was on the ground as it was executed. It wasn't a foul, and it was the major turning point in the game.

- Tyrone should improve from this. Sunday was as much of a mental challenge as physical, and it should be a great boost to our young players to have come through it. The key thing now is to refocus after all the celebrations, as Mayo in the qtrs would be a real challenge.

- Mickey will have a couple of selection headaches for the qtr final. Rory Brennan is too good not to be starting, though it would be harsh on McCrory or McNabb were either to make way for him. McShane could also come under pressure. A fit Richie Donnelly and Conor Meyler would strengthen our half forward options (both started the last championship games for which they were available).

- Donegal fans will be pleased with the performances of some of their youngest players, particularly the excellent McNialis and Ryan McHugh. However, there's no denying that a period of rebuilding is around the corner. Donegal's key men in 2012 were Gallagher, Durcan (both gone), Lacey, McFadden (both going), Neil McGee (over 30) and Murphy & Mark McHugh (both mid-20s but neither playing as well as they were a few years ago). Cork are certainly beatable, but it's hard to see this Donegal side reaching an AI final.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 19/07/2016 08:29:07    1886006

I certainly am not begrudging Tyrone their win and looking to blame the ref for this or that is pointless. Decisions come and go in big games like these and you just have to take your medicine as a Donegal fan. Tyrone got the better of us in a tight game and took the prize. End of.
It's a bitter pill to swallow but that's life.

Good luck to Tyrone going forward. I find it amusing to hear people say they won't come near Dublin on that performance. Sunday was a real 'horses for courses' match and Harte set up Tyrone accordingly. With their fitness and athleticism in Croke Park I think they'll tighten Dublin, although maybe they are lacking a consistent inside forward man to truly topple them.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9161 - 19/07/2016 09:55:20    1886043

Its good to see some Donegal boys saying in the main forum they are tired with their teams approach to the game, that it is hindering their progress rather than helping. This whole game management stuff has been an obsession of McGuiness and Gallagher has followed suit and maybe gone backwards with it. When the ball was thrown in 15 Donegal men dandered into their own half and I knew straight away what we were in for.

I don't think Gallagher knows any other way and I'd like to see a change in Donegal management. Maybe then we could see more of their great players like Murphy and McBearty playing within a structure that's not all about the fear of losing but about the desire to outscore the opposition.

Donegal do have the talent but their current management doesn't believe in them, its shut up shop and never give away possession at all costs

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 19/07/2016 10:20:53    1886058