Donegal v Tyrone

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "I'm not arguing with your point, we did have that number of men behind the ball.
Unfortunately when playing Donegal it is the only way to set up, you have to mirror the game plan of Donegal's in order to win and its an awful way to play. Hopefully now that will be the end of it and Tyrone can go back to playing exciting, fast flowing football with an attack mentality. Kerry was not too proud to play the same way when they beat to Donegal in all Ireland final few years back, we're not either but like Kerry, it is not Tyrone's natural game"
Yeah right. Trust me, if you play Dublin you will set up the exact same way. Then we will see who's natural game it is?

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 18/07/2016 11:47:00    1885391

Both blacks cards where correct soft or not. It was the lines men and umpires where actually involved in making both decisions. How many times have umpires and lines men saying nothing when the foul play been committed. If people actually bother to read the rules they would see they where both blacks to deliberately block a run and deliberately hand trip a player. Tommy was joke on rte Sunday the rubbish he was coming out with a one stage he said Mc Shane didn't really matter as he wasn't play that well. So according to Tommy a black doesn't matter unless its good player been black carded or go easy on the better player. Or into words let the better player get away with a black card. And I could believe O'Rourke in the studio was agreeing with Tommy Carr. Clearly a lot people experts included don't know what card rule is. Fair play to Tyrone they really dug deep when it mattered. Peter Harte is a fabulous player what score at the end excellent,

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 18/07/2016 11:47:46    1885393

Replying To Donegalman:  "re 6 or 7 day turn arounds.

If you get 2 weeks between provincial finals and then 2 weeks before a quarter, then you obviously have a chance going into the quarters.

The fact that it is the dubs will mean either cork or donegal have a joke of a task to get ready for this fixture. But that is life in the back door."
I don't we can complain too much... if we didn't want a 6 or 7 day turnaround - we should have been a bit more fearless and gone for the win. We're lucky to have a second chance.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 246 - 18/07/2016 12:10:51    1885411

Replying To benjyyy:  "There was a slight breeze at times. Favoured Donegal in first half then Tyrone. Sean Cavanaghs point that he skied definitely would not have made it without the help of the wind that caught it.

The Harte point gets all the talk (and it was superb) but the MacNiallais and Murphy dead ball from outside the 45 against the breeze in the 2nd half were also monstrous"
Thanks for the reply, and Handballref as well. I presumed that was the case but didn't hear it mentioned, Cavanaghs point was the one that suggested there was a breeze alright. MacNiallais's point was all the more impressive bearing that in mind.
Only other observation I had was I remember watching Ryan McHugh play against Antrim 2 years ago and his shooting was very poor, he really has improved that side of his game and is now an excellent footballer.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 18/07/2016 12:13:33    1885415

I have spent 5 years on this site defending my county but I won't this time .

We are disgusting to watch and it has finally put me off football .

I've put in a lot of time and effort to follow a cause I love but I simply can't do it anymore .

Congrats to Tyrone . They are equally as depressing to watch - sorry that's not a dig either .

I don't care if there was 33k in Clones - there was zero noise at the game .

Gaelic football is dying .

I know there are a lot worse things in life but I am totally fed up with this rubbish of a game .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 18/07/2016 14:05:57    1885521

Replying To Donegalman:  "The only difference between the sides yesterday was a missed free and 2 points at the death. It was really that close.

Anyone who goes on about tactics without accounting for the final plays of the game is not seeing the game for what it was. I think that if murphy had scored it could have been such a different story. Gallagher would be lauded as being a manager who beat a very fancied tyrone team by locking down their attacking forwards and by being patient. Tyrone would have been accused of not going for broke (which they did at the very end).

Hindsight means we are all experts. I think that a nights sleep gives us a different view of the game once emotional attachment is not as strong.

Tyrone were not exactly lucky, neither were donegal cowardly. There was no room to penetrate tyrone and being turned over was not an option for our lads.

We never are involved in good games with tyrone. I bet the next game both teams play will be a much more open affair. In fact, it would be a fair assessment to reserve judgement on either team until the qualifiers are done or the quarters for tyrone."
Ask yourself honestly Donegalman which teams wants to play this type of game because there's only 1 logical answer!

I see Tyrone play this kind of game once annually (there abouts) and it's only against Donegal.

Monaghan Donegal games are much the same, 2011 vs. Dublin.

I don't see the precedent for Tyrone playing like that against other teams where as I can see the precedent for Donegal to do it.

Trying to be reasonable here by the way, Donegal won alot of games that way...it's about winning after all

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 18/07/2016 14:15:32    1885536

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Both blacks cards where correct soft or not. It was the lines men and umpires where actually involved in making both decisions. How many times have umpires and lines men saying nothing when the foul play been committed. If people actually bother to read the rules they would see they where both blacks to deliberately block a run and deliberately hand trip a player. Tommy was joke on rte Sunday the rubbish he was coming out with a one stage he said Mc Shane didn't really matter as he wasn't play that well. So according to Tommy a black doesn't matter unless its good player been black carded or go easy on the better player. Or into words let the better player get away with a black card. And I could believe O'Rourke in the studio was agreeing with Tommy Carr. Clearly a lot people experts included don't know what card rule is. Fair play to Tyrone they really dug deep when it mattered. Peter Harte is a fabulous player what score at the end excellent,"
Don't think either were black cards in fairness. Why is the onus on Mattie Donnelly to pull up and not the other guy? And in Mc Shane's case the Donegal player was all over the top of him and he'd the right to push him of to protect himself. When given the opportunity to be consistent and dish out the same punishment to Rory Kav I'm afraid Coldrick lost his nerve. Plus some bbc commentators were saying Mc Shane's might have been for verbals? I didn't know the black card was to be used in this way? Maybe somebody on here can shed some light in that. Either way they were harsh on the 2 players involved. Nonsense decisions especially so with Mc Shane as it was hardly the case that the donegal defender was through on goal and Mc Shane dragged him down.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/07/2016 14:52:31    1885592

Replying To benjyyy:  "There was a slight breeze at times. Favoured Donegal in first half then Tyrone. Sean Cavanaghs point that he skied definitely would not have made it without the help of the wind that caught it.

The Harte point gets all the talk (and it was superb) but the MacNiallais and Murphy dead ball from outside the 45 against the breeze in the 2nd half were also monstrous"
Agree with that. 2 great scores and Mc Hugh get a mention too. I guess Hartes was at a critical time in the game so it was more pressure. It kinda reminded me of Kevin Cassidy's point against Kildare a few years ago!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/07/2016 14:58:48    1885599

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Don't think either were black cards in fairness. Why is the onus on Mattie Donnelly to pull up and not the other guy? And in Mc Shane's case the Donegal player was all over the top of him and he'd the right to push him of to protect himself. When given the opportunity to be consistent and dish out the same punishment to Rory Kav I'm afraid Coldrick lost his nerve. Plus some bbc commentators were saying Mc Shane's might have been for verbals? I didn't know the black card was to be used in this way? Maybe somebody on here can shed some light in that. Either way they were harsh on the 2 players involved. Nonsense decisions especially so with Mc Shane as it was hardly the case that the donegal defender was through on goal and Mc Shane dragged him down."
- Deliberately pull down an opponent.
- Deliberately trip an opponent with the hand(s), arm, leg or foot.
- Deliberately body collide with an opponent after he has played the ball away or for the purpose of taking him out of a movement of play.
- Threaten or to use abusive or provocative language or gestures to an opponent or a teammate.
- Remonstrate in an aggressive manner with a Match Official.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 18/07/2016 15:04:07    1885603

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Don't think either were black cards in fairness. Why is the onus on Mattie Donnelly to pull up and not the other guy? And in Mc Shane's case the Donegal player was all over the top of him and he'd the right to push him of to protect himself. When given the opportunity to be consistent and dish out the same punishment to Rory Kav I'm afraid Coldrick lost his nerve. Plus some bbc commentators were saying Mc Shane's might have been for verbals? I didn't know the black card was to be used in this way? Maybe somebody on here can shed some light in that. Either way they were harsh on the 2 players involved. Nonsense decisions especially so with Mc Shane as it was hardly the case that the donegal defender was through on goal and Mc Shane dragged him down."
Protecting himself give me a break.he made two attempts to trip one with the leg and one with his hand. And yes it probably was a free in orginally but such is life sometime you don't get them. There is not 3 different camera angles and everything slowed down to a inch of its life for the refs or umpires during the game. And if Mattie is coming to that hard it was a bit reckless yes its up to Mattie to pull out if he is not shoulder to shoulder also Mattie elbow was very high also.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 18/07/2016 15:08:17    1885609

Replying To benjyyy:  "- Deliberately pull down an opponent.
- Deliberately trip an opponent with the hand(s), arm, leg or foot.
- Deliberately body collide with an opponent after he has played the ball away or for the purpose of taking him out of a movement of play.
- Threaten or to use abusive or provocative language or gestures to an opponent or a teammate.
- Remonstrate in an aggressive manner with a Match Official."
Give me a break Benjy the lad was in the Donegal goal mouth with your lads tripping over him,and if it was for verbals to an umpire even more pathetic as that goes unpunished 99% of the time but suddenly in a provincial final a young lad has to be made an example of. In regard to Mattie Donnelly it's like Tomas O Se said you'd need to be in his head to know if it was intentional and since it didn't really effect the play that was goin on I think he should have been given the benefit of the doubt. And why was Rory Kav not given same treatment? Complete inconsistent application of rules.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/07/2016 15:18:06    1885622

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Protecting himself give me a break.he made two attempts to trip one with the leg and one with his hand. And yes it probably was a free in orginally but such is life sometime you don't get them. There is not 3 different camera angles and everything slowed down to a inch of its life for the refs or umpires during the game. And if Mattie is coming to that hard it was a bit reckless yes its up to Mattie to pull out if he is not shoulder to shoulder also Mattie elbow was very high also."
Opinions vary man. The lad was in the opposition goal mouth and certainly did not impede a donegal attack. Given that these refs do less in other circumstances it seemed very harsh to ruin a young lads provincial final for such a trivial incident.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/07/2016 15:25:18    1885632

Well I am as sick as a "Poisioned Pup" today and like some on here i've had enough of this Sh*te..!

I''m no fan of Mickey Harte or Tyrone but credit where credit is Due.They where Hungrier yesterday and wanted it more and were willing to attack when they got the ball. Alright we played some attacking ball in the 1st half but a game lasts 70+ Mins and not 35+ mins.

I have been one of the biggest moaners on here about this lateral basketballing crap that goes on with Donegal "especially when they get a lead.
One well mannered Young gentleman behind me yesterday refferred to it as "FATHING" about,..Well i can think of much stronger words to describe it.

The 4 mins added time in the 1st half they where at it and an old buck in front was happy that they were keeping possesion and I was urging them on to push forward and try for another score before the break.

Some people on this Site talk about Chess matches and love this tactical crap and thrive on it But like some I.ve had enough of it.This is a contact sport with 15 grown men and not a ****ing Chess game. !!

All this talk about Tyrone being a younger fresher side was a load of boll*cks.We are as freash and as good if we would only play Football.
Talk anout Paddy McBrearty not making runs..? ive watched one of the beat forwards in the country game after game making runs and shouting for ball with hands up and not recieving them.I,ve watched as himself and MM stood on the square with not one ball sent in.
Thomas o' shea talked about footpassing a couple of weeks ago and 50/50 balls. Spot on he was. Why have two players of Murphy and mcbreartys calibre standing doing nothing when the others are basketballing up the field instead of sending balls in. they wont win them all but if !o balls where sent in then surley they would win at least 3 of them. I have watched Paddy making to many runs and not getting the blll and have watched him many times standing shaking his head frustrated. I.ve said more than once this man needs to be out around the half forward line Running at the oppostion and sending balls over the bar that we know he is capable of.

I couldnt even be bothered typing anymore, but will just finish on saying that something has to change.i'm not one for playing the manager or criticziing the management but after yesterday something has to be said..Toye wasnt on soon enough for starters, Bringing Thompson back on..?wtf...Mcloone,Jigger on the Bench../ We couldnt break Tyrone down Surel;y these were the fresh legs that was needed to run at Tyrone..? I just dont get it anymore.

Good luck to Tyrone,they where two oustanding scores at the finish but The penalty call was another blatant dive by Cavanagh but it wasnt given but youse didnt need it anyway and it didnt show it on the sunday game last night but from what I seen of the High tackle on McFadden at a crucial time i just dont undertsand how a free was not awarded...All this is neither here nor there as the Anglo celt is in Tyrone's hands and after yesterday i dont begrudge it one Bit. Mickey Harte was the happiest man in clones yesterday..i honestly dont think he would have been able to handle another Defeat to Donegal.

From what i seen yesterday the Dubs have little to worry about..

And to all those chess lovers who even attempt to defend that game yesterday' its time to take that Jim McGuiness Book in the Bubble wrap from under the pillow that you read every night and put it on the shelf. It was all great and fun in the sun while it lasted but its time to move on.And its
time for drastic Changes.

Im Donegal until I die but i've seen enough of this SH*TE.

Time for that cold shower.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 18/07/2016 15:27:52    1885637

That was some horsesh*t yesterday of an Ulster final.. Somehow managed to be as worse as the previous week's Connaught final.
I think half of the Donegal players could have gone out an hour later and played another game as they spent the game walking around collecting a handpass and walking with the ball and giving another handpass. Xavi and Iniesta wouldnt have looked out of place for Tika Taka play Donegal were trying to implement.

The sad fact in Murphy and Mcbreatry they have one of the best full forward lines in the game.....Rory Gallagher supposedly was going to get Donegal playing a more adventurous style.....but yesterday was one of the most ponderous,insane,shite tactics I have ever seen. They deservedly got beaten.

As for Tyrone, they took the knocks they got on the chin and kicked some great scores, they looked well off All Ireland challengers though.But possibly getting an Ulster under their belts they will kick on from this.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 18/07/2016 15:50:47    1885661

A great point by Peter Harte really was the winning of the game. Having looked at it a few times, I'm surprised at his choice of shot. With the breeze behind you would have expected him to loft the ball over like the young lad did for the last score. Instead he cut across the ball causing if to fade in and over the bar at the last moment. He is obviously comfortable with his shooting but that is the type of shot you might play into a cross wind and a be a bit iffy. The last score was a good one but without the pressure that Harte was under.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 18/07/2016 15:51:23    1885662

Replying To InishowenMan:  "Well I am as sick as a "Poisioned Pup" today and like some on here i've had enough of this Sh*te..!

I''m no fan of Mickey Harte or Tyrone but credit where credit is Due.They where Hungrier yesterday and wanted it more and were willing to attack when they got the ball. Alright we played some attacking ball in the 1st half but a game lasts 70+ Mins and not 35+ mins.

I have been one of the biggest moaners on here about this lateral basketballing crap that goes on with Donegal "especially when they get a lead.
One well mannered Young gentleman behind me yesterday refferred to it as "FATHING" about,..Well i can think of much stronger words to describe it.

The 4 mins added time in the 1st half they where at it and an old buck in front was happy that they were keeping possesion and I was urging them on to push forward and try for another score before the break.

Some people on this Site talk about Chess matches and love this tactical crap and thrive on it But like some I.ve had enough of it.This is a contact sport with 15 grown men and not a ****ing Chess game. !!

All this talk about Tyrone being a younger fresher side was a load of boll*cks.We are as freash and as good if we would only play Football.
Talk anout Paddy McBrearty not making runs..? ive watched one of the beat forwards in the country game after game making runs and shouting for ball with hands up and not recieving them.I,ve watched as himself and MM stood on the square with not one ball sent in.
Thomas o' shea talked about footpassing a couple of weeks ago and 50/50 balls. Spot on he was. Why have two players of Murphy and mcbreartys calibre standing doing nothing when the others are basketballing up the field instead of sending balls in. they wont win them all but if !o balls where sent in then surley they would win at least 3 of them. I have watched Paddy making to many runs and not getting the blll and have watched him many times standing shaking his head frustrated. I.ve said more than once this man needs to be out around the half forward line Running at the oppostion and sending balls over the bar that we know he is capable of.

I couldnt even be bothered typing anymore, but will just finish on saying that something has to change.i'm not one for playing the manager or criticziing the management but after yesterday something has to be said..Toye wasnt on soon enough for starters, Bringing Thompson back on..?wtf...Mcloone,Jigger on the Bench../ We couldnt break Tyrone down Surel;y these were the fresh legs that was needed to run at Tyrone..? I just dont get it anymore.

Good luck to Tyrone,they where two oustanding scores at the finish but The penalty call was another blatant dive by Cavanagh but it wasnt given but youse didnt need it anyway and it didnt show it on the sunday game last night but from what I seen of the High tackle on McFadden at a crucial time i just dont undertsand how a free was not awarded...All this is neither here nor there as the Anglo celt is in Tyrone's hands and after yesterday i dont begrudge it one Bit. Mickey Harte was the happiest man in clones yesterday..i honestly dont think he would have been able to handle another Defeat to Donegal.

From what i seen yesterday the Dubs have little to worry about..

And to all those chess lovers who even attempt to defend that game yesterday' its time to take that Jim McGuiness Book in the Bubble wrap from under the pillow that you read every night and put it on the shelf. It was all great and fun in the sun while it lasted but its time to move on.And its
time for drastic Changes.

Im Donegal until I die but i've seen enough of this SH*TE.

Time for that cold shower."
What dive by Cavanagh? He wasn't even involved in any penalty claim you axx

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 18/07/2016 15:55:56    1885668

i've seen enough of this SH*TE.

Time for that cold shower.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts:129 - 18/07/2016 15:27:52 1885637
-------------
The only incident I remember Cavanagh being involved in was when he took a kick to the chest from Thompson with studs first!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 18/07/2016 16:21:00    1885695

Replying To benched:  "What dive by Cavanagh? He wasn't even involved in any penalty claim you axx"
Agree I think this guy is losing plot - why cant people take their beating without wheeling out this jibberish about diving - its ridiculous.

As for Donegal tactics I am at a loss as well - Gallagher clearly not getting the most out of this Donegal team, Tyrone were nervous yesterday and it showed that they haven't been in a final for a long time and winning it will do them the world of good - I thought their tactics were to mirror what Donegal were going to do and its really not their style. They will revert to their normal style no doubt at HQ.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 18/07/2016 16:23:03    1885697

benched

Where you actually watching the game yesterday or where you just another drunken gobsh*te there to get drunk and sing songs..?

2nd half..Cavanagh bursting into the box from the left hand side with two Donegal men tackling' Cavanagh lunged forward and threw himself down and the reaction from the crowd was Tyrone fans shouting for a penalty and Donegal fans baying Dive which it clearly was. It all ended in what looked like a rugby Srum with the ref Bent over peeking in before Donegal came away with the ball....You AXX. But sure that wouldnt be like Your shaun now would it.

Irishgael3,, pipe you down with your assumptions..its nothing to do with people not taking their beating..It was what it was.!
Would i be as critical of Donegal had we won the game..? probably not as much so,but it was still a pile of Sh8te.

We paid good money for tickets, an hotel room the night before and spent more money in a Restuarant/bar in Enniskillen not to mention the diesel ect to go to this Ulster final like we do in every championship game and to have to endure that 2nd half yesterday was frustrating to say the least. im not a fair weather fan and have followed my county for many yrs but yesterdays performance when all is taking into account is just not good enough as a supporter and many are feeling the same way today..

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 18/07/2016 17:44:09    1885763

Replying To InishowenMan:  "benched

Where you actually watching the game yesterday or where you just another drunken gobsh*te there to get drunk and sing songs..?

2nd half..Cavanagh bursting into the box from the left hand side with two Donegal men tackling' Cavanagh lunged forward and threw himself down and the reaction from the crowd was Tyrone fans shouting for a penalty and Donegal fans baying Dive which it clearly was. It all ended in what looked like a rugby Srum with the ref Bent over peeking in before Donegal came away with the ball....You AXX. But sure that wouldnt be like Your shaun now would it.

Irishgael3,, pipe you down with your assumptions..its nothing to do with people not taking their beating..It was what it was.!
Would i be as critical of Donegal had we won the game..? probably not as much so,but it was still a pile of Sh8te.

We paid good money for tickets, an hotel room the night before and spent more money in a Restuarant/bar in Enniskillen not to mention the diesel ect to go to this Ulster final like we do in every championship game and to have to endure that 2nd half yesterday was frustrating to say the least. im not a fair weather fan and have followed my county for many yrs but yesterdays performance when all is taking into account is just not good enough as a supporter and many are feeling the same way today.."
feel the same myself. but with gods help ill be back in croke park sat week. as a side point i must say what happened the massive support tyrone used to have.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2412 - 18/07/2016 18:48:58    1885801