Donegal v Tyrone

That maoir Uisce from Donegal is a super prat if there ever was one. Compare him to Tyrones Joe Mac who was their maoir Uisce today. Joe stayed within the rules. The other fella is so in yer face. Ref was very inconsistent today. Tyrone were getting nothing today. It was a terrible match to watch by times but boy did it liven up in the last 10 minutes when Tyrone went for broke. I think it took them to the last 10 minutes to believe that they could do it. Ref bottled on a high tackle by one magee brothers in the opening minutes. That kind of inconsistentcy really annoys the neutral supporters and makes you wonder why you bother going to these matches and paying into them.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 17/07/2016 23:45:32    1885138

Replying To benched:  "Well I think any debate about whether it was Jimmy or Rory that were the brains behind the glory years can certainly be put to bed, although to be fair I think it was mainly only Rory who ever thought that it was him.
On another note what would Maxi Curran be like in goals? Every kick out he seemed to run to the goalie with an instruction on where to hit it, surely it would just be easier to let him do the goals? (different than what Monaghan fans were saying from the semi, on this occasion I didn't notice him trying to interfere with or get involved with any of the Tyrone players but by God he spent some time on the pitch)."
Lol, Maxi was our best player today. On a serious note with all the preparation done these days, why does he need to run on to the pitch to give so many instructions. Surely they should have every eventuality thought out beforehand.

As for who was the brains of the Donegal camp from 2011-14, it didn't need today to tell me that.

BTW congrats on the victory today, great second half performance from your team.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 17/07/2016 23:48:46    1885142

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Lol, Maxi was our best player today. On a serious note with all the preparation done these days, why does he need to run on to the pitch to give so many instructions. Surely they should have every eventuality thought out beforehand.

As for who was the brains of the Donegal camp from 2011-14, it didn't need today to tell me that.

BTW congrats on the victory today, great second half performance from your team."
I do have benefit if some inside knowledge - if it's a choice between maxi on the pitch or running onto the pitch to give instruction - the latter is much the lesser of two evils

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 17/07/2016 23:53:04    1885146

I've done my fair share of giving about Tyrone in the pass but in fairness to them they were worthy winners. The black cards seemed harsh, especially McShane's.

When Donegal went 4 points up they really dug in and quickly brought it back to a one point game. Like most people on this site I am a long time admirer of Peter Harte, he is a really good footballer and dos his bit when Tyrone needed leaders in the second half.

Sean Cavanagh looks and plays like he is still only 23.

In an odd way it reminded me a lot of the euro 2016 final last week, as in 2/3 of the game was cagey but when Tyrone when some small positive adjustments to their set up it made all the difference.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 18/07/2016 04:08:38    1885188

We needed that win so badly!

Great supporters for both teams, not a pretty game but exciting to the death.

One sour note, bald head guy from donegal backroom team, don't know who he is but he was doing his best to wind up tyrone suppoerters on the sideline, goading and shouting. got some egg on his face

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 18/07/2016 06:41:07    1885194

Football is Ulster is a game of such fine margins.
Tyrone people are on about attacking play but there was no attacking play by your guys in the first half when we have the wonder points and then ye had it in the second half.. It was a game won by turnovers and wonder points. In reality there is nothing between these teams and if they play 10 times I wouldnt be surprised to see it 5 all but there wouldnt be many nuetrals watching after the first few.

If McGlynn or McFaddan won their frees that I felt should have (and a tyrone man in front agreed) then we probably would have won. Had Harte missed that kick like he did with a few in the first half it probably would have ended a draw (which wouldnt have been good for either team).
Small Margins.

I didnt think the ref was good for either team. By the letter of law both Tyrones black cards were right but if they were black then sean cavanagh, rory Kavanagh, Michael Murphy, McCarron should have alos seen black and Anthony Thompson should have seen a red based on what I seen. There was frees given that were questionable and then definate frees/penaltys that weren't given.

But nothing between these teams and the worst thing is not only do we not have the Anglo Celt which is a massive achievement in its own right, we now have an almighty, probably impossible, route to progress through the All Ireland series

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 18/07/2016 08:25:12    1885204

There's much to be happy about from yesterdays famous win by Tyrone over the anti footballing outfit of Donegal. Its good for Tyrone people of course but good for Donegal as well as it means maybe Donegal management will cease this warped brand of our beautiful game. They have so many talented players who get no chance to shine due to their Donegal's fear of losing so much. Their obsession with holding on to possession at all costs resulted in boo's yesterday and its just so ghastly to the human eye. Lateral hand passing, slowing down the play, they were even walking at one point constantly switching it across the field, my word it was rotten. Why Donegal play with so much fear and negativity can only be due to low footballing self esteem. Bad Donegal teams of old have shaped their current managements modern style of playing, started by McGuinness but their management have failed to see that the players they have today are twice as good as what was before. Come on Donegal, let your men play a bit of attacking, free flowing football next time and show off the talent at your disposal.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 18/07/2016 08:40:54    1885210

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "There's much to be happy about from yesterdays famous win by Tyrone over the anti footballing outfit of Donegal. Its good for Tyrone people of course but good for Donegal as well as it means maybe Donegal management will cease this warped brand of our beautiful game. They have so many talented players who get no chance to shine due to their Donegal's fear of losing so much. Their obsession with holding on to possession at all costs resulted in boo's yesterday and its just so ghastly to the human eye. Lateral hand passing, slowing down the play, they were even walking at one point constantly switching it across the field, my word it was rotten. Why Donegal play with so much fear and negativity can only be due to low footballing self esteem. Bad Donegal teams of old have shaped their current managements modern style of playing, started by McGuinness but their management have failed to see that the players they have today are twice as good as what was before. Come on Donegal, let your men play a bit of attacking, free flowing football next time and show off the talent at your disposal."
Laughable post. You had 15 players within 55 yards of your goal for long spells of that game yesterday. Not 14, actually 15. How do you expect us to play free flowing football against that? It would suit you right down to the ground. We were getting countered every time we turned the ball over by running into trouble so we had to be careful.

Well done you deserved to win but leave the whole anti-football nonsense out because youse played the exact same way except having a couple more players who could 'break the line' and hit great scores.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 18/07/2016 09:28:41    1885234

Firstly congratulations to Tyrone and their fans of their deserved victory yesterday. It looked ominous for you at half time but Mickey Harte once again proved what a good manager he is with the changes he made. 3 substitutes scored and moving Brennan (I think?) on to Ryan McHugh was the winning of the game for you I think. McHugh was the only man penetrating the defensive lines and kicking points. Once that option was negated for us, none of the others seemed capable of it and it led to the lateral passing snore fest we seen for the majority of the second half.

It wasn't just McHugh being kept quiet second half that did for us though. McCann, Harte and especially Cavanagh grew into the game more and the latter two scored some absolute beauties. Cavanagh will go down as one of the all time greats. His scores yesterday came at vital times. Inspirational stuff from the captain. Tyrone will be a dangerous animal going forward now, and I would expect to see them contesting the All Ireland final, most likely against Dublin. I think you may be just a wee bit off their level yet, but you'll certainly give them their fill of it.

For ourselves, tactically it was unreal what happened in the second half. Now I realise how hot it was and we were trying to hold on to a lead. But for me, in sport and life, when there's something there you really want, you need to throw off the shackles and go and bloody take it. I thought the game was there for us to kill off Tyrone, especially when we went 4 up. At that point Murphy should have been told to stick on the edge of the square. He clearly isn't fit enough for the roving role. So for 5 or ten minutes I would have told the lads to bomb a lorry load of balls in on top of him. It may or may not have worked, but it would have been such a sea change from the relentless hand passing out the pitch it surely would have caused some form of panic. The chat before game was that Tyrone were weak in the full back line, Not once did we even attempt to test that. Unreal.

But anyway, we'll go again against Cork and see what happens.

Congrats again to Tyrone and all the best for the rest of the campaign,

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9159 - 18/07/2016 09:53:47    1885258

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "There's much to be happy about from yesterdays famous win by Tyrone over the anti footballing outfit of Donegal. Its good for Tyrone people of course but good for Donegal as well as it means maybe Donegal management will cease this warped brand of our beautiful game. They have so many talented players who get no chance to shine due to their Donegal's fear of losing so much. Their obsession with holding on to possession at all costs resulted in boo's yesterday and its just so ghastly to the human eye. Lateral hand passing, slowing down the play, they were even walking at one point constantly switching it across the field, my word it was rotten. Why Donegal play with so much fear and negativity can only be due to low footballing self esteem. Bad Donegal teams of old have shaped their current managements modern style of playing, started by McGuinness but their management have failed to see that the players they have today are twice as good as what was before. Come on Donegal, let your men play a bit of attacking, free flowing football next time and show off the talent at your disposal."
Laughable to blame Donegal for the game yesturday, Tyrone decided the best tactic to beat Donegal was to give them the ball, they are just as much to blame - as rightly pointed out there was 15 behind the ball on numerous occasions. To ask Donegal to play attacking football is a bit rich wouldn't you say....

I don't think anyone won yesturday, as for either team beating Dublin, forget about it.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 18/07/2016 09:55:15    1885260

The only difference between the sides yesterday was a missed free and 2 points at the death. It was really that close.

Anyone who goes on about tactics without accounting for the final plays of the game is not seeing the game for what it was. I think that if murphy had scored it could have been such a different story. Gallagher would be lauded as being a manager who beat a very fancied tyrone team by locking down their attacking forwards and by being patient. Tyrone would have been accused of not going for broke (which they did at the very end).

Hindsight means we are all experts. I think that a nights sleep gives us a different view of the game once emotional attachment is not as strong.

Tyrone were not exactly lucky, neither were donegal cowardly. There was no room to penetrate tyrone and being turned over was not an option for our lads.

We never are involved in good games with tyrone. I bet the next game both teams play will be a much more open affair. In fact, it would be a fair assessment to reserve judgement on either team until the qualifiers are done or the quarters for tyrone.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/07/2016 09:55:36    1885261

Can anyone who was at the game confirm if there was any breeze at all? Most of the long range points seemed to be kicked into the one end.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 18/07/2016 10:06:48    1885267

Replying To bcfb:  "So you got it right that a team would tire after 70 no S of Ulster championship football.
Nothing else.
You sir, would give mystic Meg a run for her money.
Take a bow son, now exit left ."
As I predicted to your fellow county man muckross donegal would blink first and they did what's wrong with that ? Why should I exit left ? Sounds like sour grapes sir . Good luck against Cork .

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 18/07/2016 10:12:22    1885282

Replying To Soma:  "Can anyone who was at the game confirm if there was any breeze at all? Most of the long range points seemed to be kicked into the one end."
Yes there was a breeze that favoured Donegal in the first half and Tyrone in the second. It was stiff enough at times probably didn't show on tv though.

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 18/07/2016 10:40:11    1885310

Replying To GetOverTheBar:  "Laughable to blame Donegal for the game yesturday, Tyrone decided the best tactic to beat Donegal was to give them the ball, they are just as much to blame - as rightly pointed out there was 15 behind the ball on numerous occasions. To ask Donegal to play attacking football is a bit rich wouldn't you say....

I don't think anyone won yesturday, as for either team beating Dublin, forget about it."
I think if either team had 3 or 4 weeks to prepare a game plan for Dublin they have every chance. It wouldn't be played anything like yesterday's game. But any team that has to play Dublin in a quarter final with a 6 day turnaround.. Not a hope

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 18/07/2016 10:45:09    1885317

Replying To Soma:  "Can anyone who was at the game confirm if there was any breeze at all? Most of the long range points seemed to be kicked into the one end."
There was a slight breeze at times. Favoured Donegal in first half then Tyrone. Sean Cavanaghs point that he skied definitely would not have made it without the help of the wind that caught it.

The Harte point gets all the talk (and it was superb) but the MacNiallais and Murphy dead ball from outside the 45 against the breeze in the 2nd half were also monstrous

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 18/07/2016 11:11:34    1885342

Replying To HandballRef:  "I think if either team had 3 or 4 weeks to prepare a game plan for Dublin they have every chance. It wouldn't be played anything like yesterday's game. But any team that has to play Dublin in a quarter final with a 6 day turnaround.. Not a hope"
It will be a 7 day turnaround not that it makes a difference. Impossible task.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 18/07/2016 11:16:42    1885354

I do think this was a coming of age victory for Tyrone. Losing another tight hand to hand combat game to Donegal would have been a big blow. Winning Ulster will be a big boost and I think the style of Tyrone's play will be well suited to Croke Park and I expect them to flourish there.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 18/07/2016 11:27:48    1885365

re 6 or 7 day turn arounds.

If you get 2 weeks between provincial finals and then 2 weeks before a quarter, then you obviously have a chance going into the quarters.

The fact that it is the dubs will mean either cork or donegal have a joke of a task to get ready for this fixture. But that is life in the back door.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/07/2016 11:35:40    1885375

Replying To benjyyy:  "Laughable post. You had 15 players within 55 yards of your goal for long spells of that game yesterday. Not 14, actually 15. How do you expect us to play free flowing football against that? It would suit you right down to the ground. We were getting countered every time we turned the ball over by running into trouble so we had to be careful.

Well done you deserved to win but leave the whole anti-football nonsense out because youse played the exact same way except having a couple more players who could 'break the line' and hit great scores."
I'm not arguing with your point, we did have that number of men behind the ball.
Unfortunately when playing Donegal it is the only way to set up, you have to mirror the game plan of Donegal's in order to win and its an awful way to play. Hopefully now that will be the end of it and Tyrone can go back to playing exciting, fast flowing football with an attack mentality. Kerry was not too proud to play the same way when they beat to Donegal in all Ireland final few years back, we're not either but like Kerry, it is not Tyrone's natural game

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 18/07/2016 11:37:01    1885379