Donegal v Tyrone

Just home. Gutted. Fair play Tyrone. Enjoy.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 17/07/2016 19:35:41    1884926

Tyrone deserved the win today, even if only for the cracking few points at the end that won it. But it's certainly galling to see a few Tyrone supporters claiming they were the only team trying to play football. They camped 15 men inside their 45 and refused to come out no matter how much Donegal tried to draw them out. It was disciplined but less of the sanctimonious crap please. What Tyrone did well was make sure they kicked the ball dead in the 2nd half at the end of an attack so they could reorganise. Donegal, as patient as they tried to be against the white wall , turned it over a few times which allowed Tyrone to attack the space. The margins were fine though. I haven't seen black cards again but I felt Donegal didn't get a few big calls near the end. What looked like a push in the box especially and then McFadden being held back although he really should have held on to that ball. Need to watch them again. Also a bit miffed at Gallagher's subs again. What's the point in bringing Thompson back on? Where the hell is Leo McLoone? We needed players like him in a game like that.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 17/07/2016 19:44:36    1884936

Replying To ruanua:  "Disappointing result - Tyrone deserved to win and showed the fight and intent in second half

Not sure what went wrong with the game plan - looked in complete control in first half - off the shoulder runs gave us good chances - scored 7 plus 3/4 easy misses early in the half so like it or not the tactics were working

In the second half Tyrone ran at us with intent - pushed up on kick outs and won any that went long - plus got 2/3 points off the bench so their changes worked -
We still had plenty possession but no longer had ideas when we got to the 45 - couldn't find any space - no plan B - Murphy went inside must be 20 times and not one ball - nothing played to mcbrearty either

Thought the black card near the goal looked soft but thought Donegal lost three huge calls at the death - the hit on Mcglynn from which cavanagh scored and a foul in scoring distance in McFadden and earlier a push after a chip inside when we had our first sniff of goal - that aside Tyrone could have had a penalty with a ref that was more fussy"
Agree with most of your post. The possession thing is very misleading though - Donegal held possession for long periods and passed laterally and backwards with no penetration and Tyrone let them do it. In the second half Tyrone grabbed game by scruff of the neck and went for it and that's why the best team won. Tyrones bench showed its worth especially after the 2 disasterous black card calls. All in all Tyrones fitness was the ultimate difference which allowed their flair players to free themselves from the Donegal shackles in latter stages of second half

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 17/07/2016 19:46:38    1884939

Replying To Pericles:  "Don't agree about Donegal needing to change much. They had control for most of the match but the players started taking the safe pass when one to a shooter was on. They failed to shoot from 7 or 8 possessions and eventually got turned over. Good defensive play by Tyrone, but hardly a reason for Donegal to go back to the drawing board... that'd be wishful thinking."
Yes you are right there were occasions where Donegal had an option to pass on to player in shooting position and elected not too. But I do maintain that there does have to be an extra element added to Donegal play especially against the best sides in the country. The best teams in the country now know to beat Donegal you just replicate their defensive structure. Donegal did not test the Tyrone full back line enough especially in the second half. My response is not just in relation to today but a common theme in the last couple of years against the better teams.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 17/07/2016 20:08:40    1884967

Disappointed beyond words with our tactics in the second half.

It was as if having gone 08-04 up we thought we could see the game out & got exactly what we deserved, nothing.

Many congratulations to Tyrone, a fully deserved win & with hopefully new management in place at our end I look forward to many jousts in coming years.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/07/2016 20:36:13    1884997

Very fine margins at Clones today, it really could have gone anyway. When Donegal went 4 up I thought that was it and they would push on and win but Sean Cavanagh took a grip of the game and won it really by himself. Donegal seemed to slow down a good bit on the 55/60th minute but they will still have a big say in the All Ireland. Tyrone will need to play for 70 mins like they did in the last 15 if they are serious about having a tilt at Dublin and Kerry. Westmeath showed that Dublin CAN be rattled and disrupted at if you get in their faces and don't let them settle.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 17/07/2016 20:37:03    1884999

Just home, well done to Tyrone and good luck in the All Ireland series now, tough road ahead for us but no doubt we'll give it a good rattle,
we'll have to rebuild when the Mc Kenna cup and league start again,
think we'll have a few retirements after this season, great lads who done the county proud.

TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 17/07/2016 20:42:42    1885007

Replying To benjyyy:  "Tyrone deserved the win today, even if only for the cracking few points at the end that won it. But it's certainly galling to see a few Tyrone supporters claiming they were the only team trying to play football. They camped 15 men inside their 45 and refused to come out no matter how much Donegal tried to draw them out. It was disciplined but less of the sanctimonious crap please. What Tyrone did well was make sure they kicked the ball dead in the 2nd half at the end of an attack so they could reorganise. Donegal, as patient as they tried to be against the white wall , turned it over a few times which allowed Tyrone to attack the space. The margins were fine though. I haven't seen black cards again but I felt Donegal didn't get a few big calls near the end. What looked like a push in the box especially and then McFadden being held back although he really should have held on to that ball. Need to watch them again. Also a bit miffed at Gallagher's subs again. What's the point in bringing Thompson back on? Where the hell is Leo McLoone? We needed players like him in a game like that."
Ye brought Thompson back on....enough said Benjy. Immediately after the restart ye popped over a point to take a 4 point lead.We had to play attacking football when we got the chance and we did.We scored 9 points after this and you scored 3.Ye tried to play keep ball at every opportunity and its up to your guys to break through our defense and get a shot off just like we had to do.Gallagher bringing Thompson back in was a retrograde step for you guys and when I saw him do it and tapping his wrist on the line regarding time left on clock you knew he just wanted to try to get a one point lead and defend it to the death which backfired in the end.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 17/07/2016 20:54:13    1885017

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Ye brought Thompson back on....enough said Benjy. Immediately after the restart ye popped over a point to take a 4 point lead.We had to play attacking football when we got the chance and we did.We scored 9 points after this and you scored 3.Ye tried to play keep ball at every opportunity and its up to your guys to break through our defense and get a shot off just like we had to do.Gallagher bringing Thompson back in was a retrograde step for you guys and when I saw him do it and tapping his wrist on the line regarding time left on clock you knew he just wanted to try to get a one point lead and defend it to the death which backfired in the end."
But that's the thing. Youse didn't play attacking football, you still sat with 15 men in the 45 and let us pass it around. We tried to draw you out by passing it around but didn't work. I give kudos for being disciplined but how is that attacking football? It was just better defending than we managed. It helped that your best attacks were counter attacks from our turnovers, whereas most of ours were from kickouts when your defensive wall was already in place.

The better team won but both teams played the same tactics essentially.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 17/07/2016 21:14:36    1885035

Firstly well done to Tyrone, they deserved their win as they were more positive than us in the 2nd half. The first half was a very cagey affair with both teams keeping all their players behind the ball. Donegal looked to be in control being 4 points up just after half time. However as Donegal have done for the past couple of seasons, they sat back and tried to defend a lead. This invited Tyrone on to us and a good side like that will punish you. What can I say about Sean Cavanagh, one of the best players ever. Donegal were just too negative when in possession and refused to kick the ball into Murphy and McBrearty, it must be a nightmare playing in the Donegal full forward line as you never get the ball delivered in early. Rory Gallagher's tactics seem to be kepp possession at all costs, never take any risks. I wasn't surprised by our substitutions as this is what Rory always does, he some times brings pllayers back on again, never seen anything like it before and is a major snub to his other subs. Why bring on Thompson again when McLoone is on the bench?

The black card is a joke, it is ruining games. Most of the time it is handed out in error.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 17/07/2016 21:32:52    1885045

Replying To TirChonaillabu2:  "Just home, well done to Tyrone and good luck in the All Ireland series now, tough road ahead for us but no doubt we'll give it a good rattle,
we'll have to rebuild when the Mc Kenna cup and league start again,
think we'll have a few retirements after this season, great lads who done the county proud."
steady on there, your championship isn't over yet

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 17/07/2016 21:37:26    1885048

Replying To benjyyy:  "But that's the thing. Youse didn't play attacking football, you still sat with 15 men in the 45 and let us pass it around. We tried to draw you out by passing it around but didn't work. I give kudos for being disciplined but how is that attacking football? It was just better defending than we managed. It helped that your best attacks were counter attacks from our turnovers, whereas most of ours were from kickouts when your defensive wall was already in place.

The better team won but both teams played the same tactics essentially."
No worries, I mean our tactics were markedly different in the 2nd half and Donegal's weren't

Why would you change it? it was going the exact way you wanted!

The difference is normally a goal that ends up being the dagger between these 2 teams.

Instead of that we got McCrory empyting Mc Glynn followed by Harte's wonder point, not to mention your main man missed the free when you needed it!

Whatever makes you feel better though

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 17/07/2016 22:00:07    1885071

Worth noting there was a lot
At stake in terms of a route to AI final
Tyrone now could have Cork - Galway - Final
Donegal could have Mayo-Dublin-Kerry- Final

Don't fancy ours too much !!

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 17/07/2016 22:04:19    1885078

Replying To benjyyy:  "But that's the thing. Youse didn't play attacking football, you still sat with 15 men in the 45 and let us pass it around. We tried to draw you out by passing it around but didn't work. I give kudos for being disciplined but how is that attacking football? It was just better defending than we managed. It helped that your best attacks were counter attacks from our turnovers, whereas most of ours were from kickouts when your defensive wall was already in place.

It was 14 men behind the ball but that's being a bit pedantic. Yes when Tyrone didn't have the ball both teams mirrored each other but if you say you couldn't see the difference in attitude and urgency when each team were on the ball I would wonder were you watching at all. You call it trying to draw Tyrone out, it was no imagination, no one willing or able to grab the camp and make something happen, no one willing to commit a defender and try to get at Tyrone, I even heard some of the Donegal subs in front of me urging some of the ball carriers repeatedly to "break the line". Looking back best think happening was McBeartys point at the start of the second half to put Donegal four up, from their they seemed content to try and see the game out..... With 35 minutes left! Even when Tyrone got level they never upped the intensity in attack as said previously illustrated by re-introducing Thompson and looking to sneak a point win. To answer a question by someone previously McLoone was jogging up and down the sideline with a red bib on, was I not glad to see him stay there

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 17/07/2016 22:38:14    1885092

Both teams as bad as each other in terms of tactics. The difference was when Tyrone went forward they took on the Donegal defence while Donegal were happy to keep possession in the 45 line and try to run down time. Use were a point up on the 65th minute and Gallagher was tapping his watch like mad willing it to go faster.

If I was a donegal fan I would be furious at the management for this tactic. Donegal won have won with a few to spare if they tried to take on tyrone defence in instead of hand passing to waste time.

I may be completely wrong but with Rory Gallagher I always feel as if he thinks he's the star of the show. He's embarrassing to watch on the side lline with his antics. I actually feel as if he's holding Donegal back.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 17/07/2016 22:45:18    1885094

Well done to Tyrone, 6 years is a helluva long time nowadays without a provincial and Mickey has built yet another excellent team to have a crack at an all ireland. Nobody will want ye in the last 8. Well done to Seanie, Brend and the other Tyrone lads. Some celebrations tonight I'm sure :)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 17/07/2016 23:28:47    1885112

Looking forward to this game . Donegal to fade badly in the heat . Tyrone going through the gears nicely and dodged their upset in the Cavan game . Donegal to get a man sent off with 20 minutes left and Tyrone to hit the diff . Tyrone 2-13 Donegal 0-11

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts:144 - 16/07/2016 22:08:59 1884444

Got the points right , Donegal didn't lose the man but they wilted . They blinked .

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts: 158 - 17/07/2016 23:29:11    1885114

Well I think any debate about whether it was Jimmy or Rory that were the brains behind the glory years can certainly be put to bed, although to be fair I think it was mainly only Rory who ever thought that it was him.
On another note what would Maxi Curran be like in goals? Every kick out he seemed to run to the goalie with an instruction on where to hit it, surely it would just be easier to let him do the goals? (different than what Monaghan fans were saying from the semi, on this occasion I didn't notice him trying to interfere with or get involved with any of the Tyrone players but by God he spent some time on the pitch).

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 17/07/2016 23:32:08    1885119

Replying To kevin03:  "Both teams as bad as each other in terms of tactics. The difference was when Tyrone went forward they took on the Donegal defence while Donegal were happy to keep possession in the 45 line and try to run down time. Use were a point up on the 65th minute and Gallagher was tapping his watch like mad willing it to go faster.

If I was a donegal fan I would be furious at the management for this tactic. Donegal won have won with a few to spare if they tried to take on tyrone defence in instead of hand passing to waste time.

I may be completely wrong but with Rory Gallagher I always feel as if he thinks he's the star of the show. He's embarrassing to watch on the side lline with his antics. I actually feel as if he's holding Donegal back."
I'm starting to agree with your sentiments regarding Gallagher. Quite a few who travel thru thick and thin starting to feel the same. This group of Donegal players have underachieved outside of Ulster.

bcfb (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 17/07/2016 23:33:01    1885123

Replying To johnjoseph:  "Looking forward to this game . Donegal to fade badly in the heat . Tyrone going through the gears nicely and dodged their upset in the Cavan game . Donegal to get a man sent off with 20 minutes left and Tyrone to hit the diff . Tyrone 2-13 Donegal 0-11

johnjoseph (Derry) - Posts:144 - 16/07/2016 22:08:59 1884444

Got the points right , Donegal didn't lose the man but they wilted . They blinked ."
So you got it right that a team would tire after 70 no S of Ulster championship football.
Nothing else.
You sir, would give mystic Meg a run for her money.
Take a bow son, now exit left .

bcfb (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 17/07/2016 23:36:14    1885127