Donegal v Tyrone

Which side of the Qualifier draws (A or B) will the losing Provincial finalists enter?

Qualfier 2B already has Mayo, Monaghan, Cork, Kildare, Fermanagh etc, and they funnel into the Leinster/Munster side of the All Ireland QF draw,

Qualifier 2A already has Derry, Meath, Sligo, Cavan, Carlow etc and they funnel into the Ulster/Connacht side of the draw.

I'm just not sure about the Provincial runners up

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 04/07/2016 21:44:27    1876483

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Which side of the Qualifier draws (A or B) will the losing Provincial finalists enter?

Qualfier 2B already has Mayo, Monaghan, Cork, Kildare, Fermanagh etc, and they funnel into the Leinster/Munster side of the All Ireland QF draw,

Qualifier 2A already has Derry, Meath, Sligo, Cavan, Carlow etc and they funnel into the Ulster/Connacht side of the draw.

I'm just not sure about the Provincial runners up"
Not sure Gary but you normally cannot play a team you have defeated in the provincial decider in the quarter final draw, therefore I think the Ulster final loser goes to side A. The A side looks top heavy already with potentially Dublin, Kerry, Mayo and Monaghan. The winner of the Ulster final is going to have a great chance of progressing to the All-Ireland final.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 04/07/2016 22:04:44    1876497

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Not sure Gary but you normally cannot play a team you have defeated in the provincial decider in the quarter final draw, therefore I think the Ulster final loser goes to side A. The A side looks top heavy already with potentially Dublin, Kerry, Mayo and Monaghan. The winner of the Ulster final is going to have a great chance of progressing to the All-Ireland final."
Sorry that should read that the Ulster final loser goes to the B side of the draw which is top heavy with Kerry, Dublin, Monaghan and Mayo potentially.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 04/07/2016 22:07:26    1876500

Replying To GaryMc82:  "Which side of the Qualifier draws (A or B) will the losing Provincial finalists enter?

I'm just not sure about the Provincial runners up"
If Donegal lose and win their match against the 3B winner then we play Dublin ( provided they win Leinster )

Tyrone are the same as Donegal .

Losers of Connacht final will play Munster winners provided they win their match against 3A winners .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 04/07/2016 22:33:00    1876521

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "If Donegal lose and win their match against the 3B winner then we play Dublin ( provided they win Leinster )

Tyrone are the same as Donegal .

Losers of Connacht final will play Munster winners provided they win their match against 3A winners ."
So winning Ulster and Connacht has an added incentive this year!!

That B side of the Qualifiers is very top heavy, but should make for an Interesting All Ireland Quarter final

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 04/07/2016 23:29:35    1876543

Both sides have been scoring freely and playing well so that obviously sets up the final for.........a drab, low scoring defensive match. It could be a chess game with the two teams cancelling each other out but I think Tyrone now know that in the current era this doesn't necessarily win you games. It's no good pulling everyone behind the ball if you don't put scores on the board and Tyrone have improved massively in this area over the past few years. They have a fit, young side and the likes of Peter Harte are starting to deliver on their earlier promise. This is a game Tyrone must win and I think they will. Donegal are not the side they were and many of their players have a lot of mileage. Tyrone's stamina, speed and youth to carry it by 4 or 5.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 04/07/2016 23:43:24    1876550

This is going to be an absolute classic! Not sure if i like all the hype with Tyrone, ill reserve my judgement until the season is over. Donegal are ticking over quite nicely and they will love the fact that Tyrone is getting all the hype. Based on recent form ( last 5 years) obviously Donegal have the better head to head, but with there has been very little in any of the games played between these sides. I feel Tyrone are going to get the run of the green in this one as they are due it.
Since Harte has taken over and up to 2011 Donegal struggled to beat tyrone, and to their credit since JMG took over they have had the upper hand, just!! I hope that its time to change that.
Aside from the result though I fully expect both teams to cause serious damage when they both get to croke park. Thank goodness for the Ulster championship and providing some form of competition this year. Also credit to Roscommon and Galway for breaking Mayo's monopoly, just need leinster and munster (HA!) to follow suit
Where can the game be won and lost?
Donegal suddenly seem to shipping some goals, which is unheard of for them. I think Sludden/Harte/McCann will be able to penetrate the middle easier than before. Donegals goalie doesnt look unbeatable and i think there is a goal or 2 for tyrone in this game. Although after scoring 5 the last day it wouldnt surprise me if Harte spent the next 2 weeks in training working on long distance scoring knowing that Donegal will shore up the middle.
For Donegal I think they have to play MM in full forward (Why does he not play there??). Himself and McBearty (on his day as good as mcManus) will cause bother with the early Diag ball in. McNallias (Spelling?) is as good as an attacking Midfileder/CHF playing today and if he has a good game he could cause bother.
Anyway I feel that this year its gonna take one of these 2 to topple Dublin, Kerry dont have enough currently and are mentally scarred from dublin ( bit like tyrone in the 00's) . Mayo will do well if the avoid Dublin, I dont think they can get over that hurdle, but with Tyrone/Donegal beating them for them ;) they will probably get a clear path to final

Although I wouldnt bet on any of that!!

conman1282 (Tyrone) - Posts: 88 - 05/07/2016 07:50:26    1876576

Massive game simply cause the winner is in the all Ireland final. All the big boys will be on the other side of the draw.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/07/2016 09:26:29    1876595

Looking forward to this game....Surprising they have met so little in Ulster finals.....

I think Donegal might just have too much for Tyrone!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 05/07/2016 10:05:10    1876616

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Massive game simply cause the winner is in the all Ireland final. All the big boys will be on the other side of the draw."
Would have to disagree. If Mayo come back to anywhere near their best they'd account for either of these

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 05/07/2016 10:41:21    1876657

This game will be decided on the weather (I do believe Tyrone are the better team) but if its a rainy windy day then all of a sudden the pendulum will shit Donegals way - as it has in the past few years when we played them in Ballybofey - in bad weather....but if its a dry ...summers day.....then Tyrone skill & legs will tear Donegal apart.....

TireoghainLim (Limerick) - Posts: 8 - 05/07/2016 10:41:50    1876658

Replying To TireoghainLim:  "This game will be decided on the weather (I do believe Tyrone are the better team) but if its a rainy windy day then all of a sudden the pendulum will shit Donegals way - as it has in the past few years when we played them in Ballybofey - in bad weather....but if its a dry ...summers day.....then Tyrone skill & legs will tear Donegal apart....."
Does Tyrone have some sort of tropical micro climate that I'm not aware of?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9161 - 05/07/2016 11:19:31    1876689

Tiobraid but Mayo can't face the winners cause Mayo are on the other side of the draw , am I right in saying this?

Mayo,Cavan,Monaghan, Tyrone/Donegal , Cork

All these teams are on the Dublin/Kerry side of the draw , is that correct?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/07/2016 11:24:22    1876693

Yes clondalkin that is right. Mayo are in the same side as the Dubs and Kerry. I do not think the winners of Ulster will automatically go into the AI final. Yes they will be fav's to do so but the winners of Connaught will have a say in it too. Must say I am typing here with a smirk on my face at the youth and legs comments that Tyrone have over Donegal seemingly. Ask any of the Monaghan lads what state/shape the Donegal legs are in. Over the hill Donegal team with an average age of 25.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 05/07/2016 12:02:19    1876721

Guys I'm not sure do any of you's know the actual draw .

It's simply a matter of google .

Mayo , as a round 4B winner CAN meet Donegal or Dublin the quarters . Using Donegal as the example of the Ulster winners .

So in short . Mayo CAN meet Ulster or Leinster winners in the last 8.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 05/07/2016 12:16:31    1876727

Replying To panamasam:  "Yes clondalkin that is right. Mayo are in the same side as the Dubs and Kerry. I do not think the winners of Ulster will automatically go into the AI final. Yes they will be fav's to do so but the winners of Connaught will have a say in it too. Must say I am typing here with a smirk on my face at the youth and legs comments that Tyrone have over Donegal seemingly. Ask any of the Monaghan lads what state/shape the Donegal legs are in. Over the hill Donegal team with an average age of 25."
No Pan.

Mayo are on the B side .

Kerry are on the A side .

The confusing side is that Leinster winners will play Munster winners should they both win the semis and Ulster V Connacht.
However the Ulster and the Leinster champions much play the B winners in order to get to the last four .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 05/07/2016 12:22:02    1876728

Lads, the qualifier draw is as follows:

A side: Cavan, Carlow, Derry, Meath, Laois, Clare, Sligo

B side: Monaghan, Longford, Kildare, Offaly, Mayo, Fermanagh, Cork, Limerick

'A' winners face Tipp or Connaught runner-up with the winners of that then facing Kerry or Connaught winner in a Q/F

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5019 - 05/07/2016 13:04:48    1876757

Oh right yeah that is very confusing alright TRS I presumed both on same side as Leinster and Munster meet in semi final.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 05/07/2016 13:11:19    1876763

http://www.gaa.ie/football/gaa-football-all-ireland-senior-championship/fixtures

You're welcome folks ;o)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 05/07/2016 13:27:48    1876776

Great Final, in truth it was long suspected Tyrone would face either Monaghan or Donegal in the Ulster Final but to have it now you can get excited.

There's no doubt Tyrone have had and continue to have a serious problem with Donegal, McGuinness came in and turned everything on its head, amazing to think if you'd had this exact thread 5 years ago, you knew Tyrone would beat Donegal if it came to a fight....now, it's got to be the exact opposite.

Tyrone will have good reason to be fearful of Donegal after shipping those 3 goals v Cavan in first game and with good reason, Donegal have serious options inside and the long ball to McBrearty and Murphy...or both...Could cause absolute havoc I personally don't think Tyrone are equipped to deal with but Donegal are wary of leaving Murphy on the inside because of the 'tactics' Tyrone employ on Murphy when he's inside marked by Justin McMahon....if Murphy comes out, that's less of a problem because McMahon can't run anymore and will cease to be an option for Tyrone.

That being said, Tyrone have the running game and probably an all round, better panel than Donegal just at this minute in time with a serious point to prove to people, like myself who doubt them psychologically in this game. They also look to have a more effective scoring forward line and replacements for whatever type of tactics they will go for.

I'd actually look towards something as simple as the weather for this one, I think if it's a wet and damp affair it will suit Donegal, a dry warm day and I'd sway for Tyrone. The referee will play a huge role as people discussed earlier re: Tyrone's running game, will he let the hard (fair!!!) hits that Donegal will absolutely nail on Tyrone go? I don't see Tyrone being built for the type of physical battle Monaghan and Donegal had (first time out - didn't see the second game unfortunately).

Promises to be a great game between two great teams!

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 05/07/2016 13:50:44    1876796