Being a "true fan" isnt actually much fun

Replying To cuederocket:  "Lads,lets get this straight.I am a proud Dub.Born and bred.Everything about me is Dublin,the way i speak,where i live,work,eat and sleep.Always will be.I love this county and city.But both of my parents are from Tipp.Like many country people they had to come up to the capital to work in the '70's.They had me and my brother up here and that's where i've always been.

My ma and da instilled a love of Tipperary and Tipperary hurling especially to me from a very early age.I was sitting on my ma's knee for the 1984 Munster hurling final in Thurles when Seanie O Leary broke all Tipperary hearts with two late goals.I was only seven but apparently i got sick after the game.A sign of the nerves at a young age maybe.Since that game my Dad would bring me to all Tipp games in Munster and if they got to Croke Park.I holidayed in Tipp every summer for four weeks and grew an affinity for the county.Most of my cousins are down there.

I started going to the hill to watch Dublin footballers when i was 14 and always went to the hill until i was in early twenties.I cried the day we lost to Donegal in '92.In '94 v Down in the rain i was too numb to feel pain.I feel Dublin to the core.Dublin footballeres are my num 1 love.But i am also proud of the Tipp blood running through my veins and will always support their hurlers.I support Dublin hurlers also and it is great to see them dining at the top table in recent years but that's just the way i feel.They are the only two counties that stir my blood and i'm happy enough with that."
You don't need to explain yourself to anybody on here Cue :o)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/07/2016 08:20:13    1874512

Replying To AthCliath:  "Great post Jimbo,
I was only thinking last week that for some reason I enjoy the rainy winter evening going to watch Dublin in the O Byrne Cup in Parnell park or league game on a Saturday evening the most. Sunday morning drive to leitrim this year to play Roscommon was enjoyable also. Have a coffee sit in the stand, chill and just enjoy a game of ball.
Don't get me wrong Championship is what it's all about, but the emotions are unbearable at times.
Granted for us Dubs at the moment it's quarter final onwards before it gets really nervy, no back door then . But even for the first 20 mins last week against Meath i was uneasy .
Our first game with Mayo last year with 5 min's to go was agony.
Although in second game when Kev mc goal went in , that was the ecstasy. That's why we go through it all."
Our first game with Mayo last year with 5 min's to go was agony.
Although in second game when Kev mc goal went in , that was the ecstasy. That's why we go through it all.

___

Yes very well said!! :)

Great times

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/07/2016 13:41:08    1877294

Well by the looks of the possible pairings that lay ahead...

Dublin are going to have a very difficult path indeed to even get to a final.... never mind winning back to back titles

But sure WM up first and that's all that Gavin and co will be thinking about...

But as a supporter...... bloody hell... nervy, thrilling, nail biting, anxious, tense times ahead....

Here we go again!!

Jaysus...........

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/07/2016 13:46:24    1877297

This is a great thread. As a Monaghan fan that isn't old enough to remember the 80's there have been significantly more downs than ups! The torture was all worth it for that amazing day in 2013 when we won the minor and senior double. The 30 minutes directly after the final whistle are something that will be taken to the grave, the 70 minutes on the other hand were unimaginable torture!
I have never enjoyed watching Monaghan playing; it is an awful way to spend 70 minutes in a ball of knots. I could barely breathe towards the end of both Donegal games recently! What I couldn't believe was people leaving before the end of the Down game recently, WE WERE 19 POINTS UP, HOW CAN YOU LEAVE??? There are too many low points not to enjoy a day like that.
I have heard people giving out that they aren't enjoying the matches. You aren't supposed to enjoy it!! If you want enjoyment go to the theatre. Following your team is not about enjoyment but about survival, and it is the hope that kills you.
But after all that, I still wouldn't change it for the world!

sideline_cut (Monaghan) - Posts: 14 - 06/07/2016 16:31:07    1877440

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well by the looks of the possible pairings that lay ahead...

Dublin are going to have a very difficult path indeed to even get to a final.... never mind winning back to back titles

But sure WM up first and that's all that Gavin and co will be thinking about...

But as a supporter...... bloody hell... nervy, thrilling, nail biting, anxious, tense times ahead....

Here we go again!!

Jaysus..........."
If you win it you'll have done it the hard way. Potential for Mayo QF, Kerry SF to even get to the big one.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 06/07/2016 17:26:57    1877490

Replying To Whammo86:  "If you win it you'll have done it the hard way. Potential for Mayo QF, Kerry SF to even get to the big one."
In fairness to this Dubs team they always have done it the hard way!

Tyrone
Donegal
Kerry

Cork
Kerry
Mayo

Fermanagh
Mayo
Kerry

Another big run required to win Back to Backs.... even reaching a final would be impressive!

And they'll have to do it without a Full back!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/07/2016 20:59:07    1877591

this week i was at --
limerick v clare munster inter hurling final - we lost
limerick v cork football - we lost
limerick v clare hurling - we lost
limerick v tipp minor hurling we lost
while in thurles kept eye on limerick v offaly camogie we lost
my club lost our first two championship games

so no not much bloody fun at the moment

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 11/07/2016 11:31:54    1880776

Replying To janesboro:  "this week i was at --

so no not much bloody fun at the moment"
God almighty that is a bad week.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2492 - 11/07/2016 11:47:36    1880793

I actually said in the last 5 minutes on Saturday that I am not sure if I enjoy the game! The nerves, the tension as Nash was raining balls in on our backs in search of a goal, just waiting for a bobble of a ball and the net to rattle.

And then, when the full time whistle blew, I said there is nowhere in the world I'd rather be! I have sat through all sorts of games in my near 40 years on this planet, dejection at the hands of Kilkenny and Offaly, losing to Carlow in the league 2009, John O'Connor's missed free v Cork in 1993, and then the elation of 1996 which still to this day makes up for every heartbreaking defeat

The only thing which keeps me going is the memory of that year, and my absolute belief you have to support the team through thick and thin no matter how thin thin is. Only then, can you really enjoy the great days. It is easy to jump aboard an ole ole brigade like the Irish football.

And that is why I still go. And will till I'm 6 feet under I hope.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 11/07/2016 11:48:56    1880794

tough going, that!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 11/07/2016 11:56:27    1880812

and then the elation of 1996 which still to this day makes up for every heartbreaking defeat ---The only thing which keeps me going is the memory of that year
Pinkie - im trying to forget that year!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 11/07/2016 11:59:25    1880818

Following your team in any sport is difficult most of the time. When you hit the good times you got to enjoy it while it lats.
There is a new breed of fans (some) though who seem to take more pleasure in taunting/mocking the opposition after a win then actually basking in their own teams win.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 11/07/2016 12:39:07    1880865

Fairplay to you though, that's some support you've given this week.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 11/07/2016 12:49:26    1880878

was in thurles last night for 21s- more heartbreak

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 15/07/2016 08:24:07    1883626

Replying To janesboro:  "was in thurles last night for 21s- more heartbreak"
You're not having a good few weeks at all :(

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 15/07/2016 09:05:25    1883639

Replying To jimbodub:  "In fairness to this Dubs team they always have done it the hard way!

Tyrone
Donegal
Kerry

Cork
Kerry
Mayo

Fermanagh
Mayo
Kerry

Another big run required to win Back to Backs.... even reaching a final would be impressive!

And they'll have to do it without a Full back!!"
Kerry have been playing without a proper fullback since 2000, so I wouldn't worry too much about it!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/07/2016 09:41:57    1883658

Replying To janesboro:  "was in thurles last night for 21s- more heartbreak"
Jaysus, that's some loosing streak alright.
Did you ever think you might be a jinx ?

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/07/2016 11:27:58    1883735

Did you ever think you might be a jinx ? -Dubh_linn (Dublin)

yes i have, we having as much luck as uncle albert had with boats!!!!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 15/07/2016 11:56:02    1883754

Replying To janesboro:  "Did you ever think you might be a jinx ? -Dubh_linn (Dublin)

yes i have, we having as much luck as uncle albert had with boats!!!!!"
Haha! Stick with it.
You'll have your day in the sun. Were there at the minute but these times come and go.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/07/2016 12:24:16    1883779

Replying To janesboro:  "Did you ever think you might be a jinx ? -Dubh_linn (Dublin)

yes i have, we having as much luck as uncle albert had with boats!!!!!"
keep the faith janesboro,the good days will make up for all the heartbreak.i remember the very un glorious 1980's and early 1990's for wexford,we finally got our day in the sun and it made up for all the heartbreak on the way!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 15/07/2016 13:58:05    1883840