Being a "true fan" isnt actually much fun

I would imaging it must be complete torture for Mayo fans though.
The victories on the way to the final and semis are hard enough to sit through but then the sheer misery of having to head to another final at this stage must have them in a lather. The game getting ever closer and what if ?
Not having a dig by the way ,just know what the feeling of getting there takes out of you.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/06/2016 08:03:27    1874094

Does one not enjoy going to games. I follow the Galway teams all over the country, and my enjoyment isn't down to whether they win or lose. I enjoy the occasion, the road trip, meeting with other fans.I have to say following Galway teams is allot of fun even though we have little silverware to show. It actually makes unexpected wins. Like in castlebar all the sweeter. It used to make or beak my year whether Galway teams were successful or not, but I wouldn't get ecstatic or depressed now.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 30/06/2016 08:56:49    1874106

Replying To jimbodub:  "All the happy clappy Irish support got me thinking.. listen fair play to them, they really came across well...

But seriously...

Support for me is something very different altogether

Sure you take sheer joy out of the good times, but at times I don't think my nerves can take anymore and I'd be standing there thinking.. what am I doing to myself! Why am I here... when I could be off actually having fun!

In the build up to big games... I'd be doing all I can to avoid reading things in the paper, and again, the fecking nervous tension you carry around... you'd swear you actually had some sort of control of the eventual outcome... all your little superstitions that you stick with!

I think to be a real fan.. it's actually quite a poxy experience most of the time

You live for those few seconds of uncontrollable joy... and you suffer the rest for that hopeful outcome"
Nice post, but surely its all worth it for those few moments of "uncontrollable joy" ??(well put btw) As the Buddhists teach, 'life is suffering' so a few moments of happiness is realistically the best we can hope for in any walk of life or any sport or team we follow ..

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 30/06/2016 10:07:24    1874131

Before the 2012 AI Final I wrote this:

The article:
There's the history, of course. The 20 years without an All-Ireland Final appearance, but frankly, like all history, that's bunk.
I think about it a lot, and have done since I was able to kick a ball, when the GAA laid its transforming hands on me and gave me the gift or disease or whatever it is that runs in the blood of football fans country-wide.
For teams like Donegal, for all teams in fact, the Championship is where hope is born and where it can die.
All football fans like to think they've had it worse than their peers and there's a peculiarly Irish competitiveness about which team and indeed fan has suffered the most. The truth is we all suffer, and so we must, to enjoy our day in the sun.

Donegal GAA means more to me and tens of thousands of others than it should, but we can't help that. Football fandom, real football fandom, defies logic. It's deep and visceral and actually beyond logic. That's why we all shout so loudly when something seems to explain our lunacy. "That's why!" we cry, "That's why we go!"
This Championship run is one such occasion. Sceptical wives, children, workmates and pundits say 'well done', and we bask in it.

We love the football too: the players, the goals, the tackles, the saves. We love each other: the comments, the songs and shouts and shared passion. To stand (and occasionally sit down) with the massed ranks of Donegal fans on Sunday will feel like the next step of a journey (not a short, X Factor journey, but a proper slog over many years).
We'll bear witness to the beginning of something, or the end. I'm not quite sure which.

We deserve this, the players deserve this, the board deserves this, and Jim McGuinness deserves this. I cannot let this go - my hours are filled with obsessive thoughts about tactics on the day, and last minute freak training ground injuries.
I have sleepless nights worrying if lads who stood with me in Breffni, or in Clones, have tickets.

Donegal GAA deserves this. So often the butt of pundits and other fans' jokes, we deserve some dignity. I love this county and the people who live in it. I'm proud to have been born here, and I imagine this is where I'll die, among people I understand. Funny, compassionate, blunt, to the point, and always up for a good time - oh what a session that would be!

I have nothing against Mayo, but I have no room in my heart or thoughts for anyone but my family, my team and my county.
Supporting a team is like playing a game, only over a much longer period. There's a lot of hard slog, tons of blind alleys and plenty of pain, but every now and again there's something sublime and gorgeous to celebrate. Let's hope it happens this Sunday.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 30/06/2016 10:29:26    1874140

Replying To galwaydublin:  "Does one not enjoy going to games. I follow the Galway teams all over the country, and my enjoyment isn't down to whether they win or lose. I enjoy the occasion, the road trip, meeting with other fans.I have to say following Galway teams is allot of fun even though we have little silverware to show. It actually makes unexpected wins. Like in castlebar all the sweeter. It used to make or beak my year whether Galway teams were successful or not, but I wouldn't get ecstatic or depressed now."
I'd love to have your attitude to games but my enjoyment or otherwise depends entirely on the result. There are different levels of happiness following on from a win, depending on who we beat, how we played and how it's looking for the next game. I hate close games and I get so uptight at times I can't even applaud when we score. I don't think that if we finally win an All Ireland it will make it all the sweeter because of the losses. Nothing will make up for 96, 97, 2012 and 2013. Not even if we win three in a row. I'm fascinated at Dublin supporters being uptight at games. I thought their main problem would be boredom as in "is that twelve points we are ahead or is it fourteen", yawn. My heart does go out to you lads as you must be absolutely frantic when the lead drops below ten points. I hate to break it to you but your worst fears will eventually be realised and you will finally lose a game. It will probably be 2019 or 2020 but it will happen. It will probably come as a welcome release for you all.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 30/06/2016 10:40:41    1874143

There is nothing quite like the build up to the big games, for example going up the hill to the pitch in Clones on Ulster final day. I just love going to games, even McKenna cup games.

There is only one match when the nerves can just overcome you - the All-Ireland final itself. It is an amazing occasion but really is dependent on the result as to whether you enjoy it or not. Losing an All-Ireland final is like a funeral, winning is euphoria. We rarely get a good All-Ireland final, the semi-finals tend to be much better games. Is this because of the nerves and so much being at stake? I think it is completely understandable.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 30/06/2016 11:20:23    1874164

I suppose it depends where you are from and what your counties history is. Some fans are delighted with one win or a few, other a Connacht or Munster title is the holy grail...quarter final for other and it's All Ireland or bust for a few teams.
In our case it's All Ireland or bust for quiet a while now....I don't know know if or will it happen but for the sanity of the county I hope it happens soon.

Agree on the actual 70 minutes....I don't really enjoy them either unless you are winning well.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11237 - 30/06/2016 11:44:52    1874175

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I'd love to have your attitude to games but my enjoyment or otherwise depends entirely on the result. There are different levels of happiness following on from a win, depending on who we beat, how we played and how it's looking for the next game. I hate close games and I get so uptight at times I can't even applaud when we score. I don't think that if we finally win an All Ireland it will make it all the sweeter because of the losses. Nothing will make up for 96, 97, 2012 and 2013. Not even if we win three in a row. I'm fascinated at Dublin supporters being uptight at games. I thought their main problem would be boredom as in "is that twelve points we are ahead or is it fourteen", yawn. My heart does go out to you lads as you must be absolutely frantic when the lead drops below ten points. I hate to break it to you but your worst fears will eventually be realised and you will finally lose a game. It will probably be 2019 or 2020 but it will happen. It will probably come as a welcome release for you all."
Your memory mustn't go beyond 2010 as far as Dublin is concerned.
Plenty

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/06/2016 11:46:53    1874180

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Cue, your dead to me. DEAD!!"
Nice post.And a thumbs up too.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/06/2016 13:00:29    1874216

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/ciar%C3%A1n-murphy-gaa-doesn-t-really-need-feed-of-pints-to-have-a-good-time-1.2704382

interesting article here

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 30/06/2016 13:32:19    1874240

Replying To hill16no1man:  "http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/ciar%C3%A1n-murphy-gaa-doesn-t-really-need-feed-of-pints-to-have-a-good-time-1.2704382

interesting article here"
Great thread this. Read the article earlier but I'm not sure I agree with it. For the early rounds of the Ulster Championship I usually wouldn't bother going for any pre match pints but if Donegal were to make the Ulster final like they have the past 5 years (hopefully can make their 6th in a row on Saturday) I would find it very strange not to land in Clones an hour or 2 early and go for a few drinks with fellow supporters. I would always go for a few pints before a game in croke park as well....calms the nerves a bit!

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 30/06/2016 14:53:30    1874291

I can see your point OP but when/if your team wins after all the nerves it is a great relief.
If it goes the other way and I feel the team underperformed I feel sick for weeks.
But during a big important 50/50 game I can never enjoy it either and I envy the neutrals.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 30/06/2016 15:22:24    1874313

Replying To cuederocket:  "Good post.I would have to say i am not just a big Dublin fan,but a big fan of both hurling and football.I love all the big games,regardless of who's playing.I've been to many Munster hurling finals and nearly 20 All Ireland hurling finals.I try get to both All Ireland hurling semi-finals each year.Funny thing is i only attend Dublin football matches.I've only ever attended one big game with Dublin not involved when myself and my Da travelled from his home in Tipp to Killarney to see Kerry beat Tyrone a few years back in the championship.I love Dublin footballers more than anything but i probably like hurling more.I was brought up supporting Tipp because of my parents and remember going to all Tipp's big games down the years.I never had a conflict of interest with Tipp and Dublin until a few years back when they met in the All Ireland hurling semi final and i must be honest i was shouting for Tipp.I wasn't going to jump ship now when i'm 40.Even though i'm born and bred in the capital i always followed Tipp hurlers.Obviously i support Dublin hurlers in every other game.I count myself lucky at the start of every year to have Dublin footballers and Tipp hurlers to support.It could have been a lot worse."
Certainly could be worse! Could be the Dub hurlers, and the Tipp footballers for a start. There's a touch of bandwagon in that mix surely.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3466 - 30/06/2016 15:53:19    1874335

Replying To waynoI:  "Its the nature of the beast Jim.

You, as a "true fan" (define whichever way you like), will almost always go through more downs than ups.

Its what makes the minority of great times, that little bit better. And the hard times, that little bit harder.

People ask me why I go to games knowing tha Dublin are going to win by 15 and 20 points.

I always say the same thing, I go because I also know that these timeswont last forever. Dublin will, at some point, fall away from the top and teams like Meath will come again.

N its gas cause when i'm actually leaving the gaff to go to a game, My mam or someone would often say "enjoy the game", But I cant enjoy a game, especially the close ones.

I enjoy the build up and pre game atmosphere, I enjoy the chats with opposition fans beforehand, but once that whistle goes, My body becomes a bag of nerves, Any enjoyment goes out the window.. You can only actually enjoy a game when you are 5 6 7 points up with a minute or so to go, Then you can, as a fan, relax.

Then afterwards, If we win, I can enjoy looking back at the game, I can enjoy the aftermath. The game itself when its going on infront of you is impossible to enjoy."
Waynol, what if your house is 'divided' and the team that you would die for are down to meet the team she would die for, in an important game? Oh to have your freedom to show your enjoyment if you win without worrying about how you are rubbing your wife''s nose in it.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 30/06/2016 16:06:19    1874339

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Certainly could be worse! Could be the Dub hurlers, and the Tipp footballers for a start. There's a touch of bandwagon in that mix surely."
If you can't understand where i'm coming from without calling me a bandwagon fan well i dont feel the need to add any more to it.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/06/2016 16:47:58    1874370

I have felt the euphoria of the county footballers winning all Irelands and also tasted defeat in Ulster and All Ireland finals. I savour the tight matches more myself and while it is painful to see them lose on the big stage in Croke, for me I remember taking it much worse when losing a club match to the rivals. Especially if I'd played poorly myself. That would be wrecking my head for a week or more.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 30/06/2016 17:44:32    1874402

Always loved this Bill Simmons piece he described a fan better than I ever could:

Sports is a metaphor for life. Everything is black and white on the surface. You win, you lose, you laugh, you cry, you cheer, you boo, and most of all, you care. Lurking underneath that surface, that's where all the good stuff is - the memories, the connections, the love, the fans, the layers that make sports what they are. It's not about watching your team win the Cup as much as that moment when you wake up thinking, In 12 hours, I might watch my team win the Cup.

http://grantland.com/features/the-consequences-caring/

Tayto5 (Kerry) - Posts: 3 - 30/06/2016 18:05:35    1874409

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Certainly could be worse! Could be the Dub hurlers, and the Tipp footballers for a start. There's a touch of bandwagon in that mix surely."
Read wat Cue actually said! Its the opposite of bandwagon. Cue i can identify to a point. I am a dub to the core but i have a serious gra for the limerick footballers funnily i have little or no gra for their hurlers. But that said if limerick ever meet dublin in a serious football game, its dubs all day for me but as i said the limerick footballers are a huge love for me

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/06/2016 21:45:58    1874474

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Read wat Cue actually said! Its the opposite of bandwagon. Cue i can identify to a point. I am a dub to the core but i have a serious gra for the limerick footballers funnily i have little or no gra for their hurlers. But that said if limerick ever meet dublin in a serious football game, its dubs all day for me but as i said the limerick footballers are a huge love for me"
Lads,lets get this straight.I am a proud Dub.Born and bred.Everything about me is Dublin,the way i speak,where i live,work,eat and sleep.Always will be.I love this county and city.But both of my parents are from Tipp.Like many country people they had to come up to the capital to work in the '70's.They had me and my brother up here and that's where i've always been.

My ma and da instilled a love of Tipperary and Tipperary hurling especially to me from a very early age.I was sitting on my ma's knee for the 1984 Munster hurling final in Thurles when Seanie O Leary broke all Tipperary hearts with two late goals.I was only seven but apparently i got sick after the game.A sign of the nerves at a young age maybe.Since that game my Dad would bring me to all Tipp games in Munster and if they got to Croke Park.I holidayed in Tipp every summer for four weeks and grew an affinity for the county.Most of my cousins are down there.

I started going to the hill to watch Dublin footballers when i was 14 and always went to the hill until i was in early twenties.I cried the day we lost to Donegal in '92.In '94 v Down in the rain i was too numb to feel pain.I feel Dublin to the core.Dublin footballeres are my num 1 love.But i am also proud of the Tipp blood running through my veins and will always support their hurlers.I support Dublin hurlers also and it is great to see them dining at the top table in recent years but that's just the way i feel.They are the only two counties that stir my blood and i'm happy enough with that.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/06/2016 22:19:03    1874481

Great post Jimbo,
I was only thinking last week that for some reason I enjoy the rainy winter evening going to watch Dublin in the O Byrne Cup in Parnell park or league game on a Saturday evening the most. Sunday morning drive to leitrim this year to play Roscommon was enjoyable also. Have a coffee sit in the stand, chill and just enjoy a game of ball.
Don't get me wrong Championship is what it's all about, but the emotions are unbearable at times.
Granted for us Dubs at the moment it's quarter final onwards before it gets really nervy, no back door then . But even for the first 20 mins last week against Meath i was uneasy .
Our first game with Mayo last year with 5 min's to go was agony.
Although in second game when Kev mc goal went in , that was the ecstasy. That's why we go through it all.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 30/06/2016 23:13:30    1874492