An All-Ireland series without Dublin

Replying To averagejoe:  "I know it's only a hypothetical scenario ,but looking at results already this year , it would have made for an extremely entertaining and unpredictable season.
The other 3 provinces have already proved competitive with Ulster(4 horse race), Connacht (galway bt mayo) and munster (tipp beating cork) ,and to be honest without Dublin there you could make a case for 6/7 teams in leinster to be the next best.
I also think it would leave an extremely open all-Ireland championship - probably be Kerry/mayo/tyrone but there would be a few more after that who would fancy a crack at them (cavan/galway already)
Just a thought i had, but the dubs ruined it by being continuesly brilliant and the shining light of gaelic football"
This is ridiculous and what's wrong with most counties in Ireland - even the name Dubs makes them shake in their boots. Be assured, Kerry, Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan, Mayo and indeed Galway will be confident enough to face the Dubs and beat them. Please stop this unstoppable Dub stuff because it isn't true - if they win 5 in a row I might believe it.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 30/06/2016 15:28:00    1874315

Who would we love to hate then (apart from Meath and Ros)?

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 02/07/2016 23:59:37    1875218

Replying To liner:  "Who would we love to hate then (apart from Meath and Ros)?"
Exactly! And what could begrudgers use as reasons for their teams failings then?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/07/2016 08:49:33    1875257

Replying To galwaydublin:  "As a man who was born in Dublin, but moved to Galway at 15, and moved back to Dublin after twenty years away, is it not time to split Dublin either at the liffey or along county council boundaries. The amount of talent in Dublin club football is unreal, and allot is being wasted. 1 premier league club for London wouldn't work and I think the gaa needs to think long term, as the population drift to big cities like Dublin will only get more pronounced. I think this would even strengthen gaa in Dublin ad there are large areas in Dublin with little or no gaa, but with dedicated smaller county boards, that could change."
Ha!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/07/2016 10:21:45    1875280

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I wouldn't say the all ireland as 2 or 3 teams still compete but Dublin shouldn't play in Leinster every year. They should rotate around all 4 provincials only playing in Leinster every 4.

So Dublin in:
Munster 2017
Connaught 2018
Ulster 2019
Leinster 2020

I guarantee you 6 or 7 Leinster counties would improve because 3/4 years they'll have significant silverware to play for.

Nowadays a 10/20 point drubbing against Dublin is what you give your life up for.

They've won 10/11 and i wouldn't be surprised if they win the next 10. what's the point."
Still on with this rubbish!! the point is grow a pair get your own counties team in order and start to compete. there is no reason why Meath and kildare cant compete with Dublin, Donegal Tyrone Mayo Monaghan Kerry all well capable of competing and beating Dublin.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/07/2016 10:59:39    1875303

Replying To eunans4ever:  "completely disagree- Donegal wiped the floor with them in 2014 and we will do so again down the road.."
Agreed,no team is unbeatable and Donegal for sure are well capable of taking out Dublin

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/07/2016 11:05:12    1875307

No need for exclusion, just have all teams competing, working from a similar budget and every team has play the same amount of teams to win an all ireland, not rocket science just an even playing field..

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 03/07/2016 11:45:45    1875330

Replying To superbluedub:  "Still on with this rubbish!! the point is grow a pair get your own counties team in order and start to compete. there is no reason why Meath and kildare cant compete with Dublin, Donegal Tyrone Mayo Monaghan Kerry all well capable of competing and beating Dublin."
There are many reasons. I'll name a few.

Way more clubs in Dublin than meath.
Way more players playing football in Dublin
A number of super clubs in Dublin
Massive financial backing which basically leads to a professional team set up.
Huge number of underage coaches.

It's not a coincidence Dublin are obliterating all in leinster. What's the point? Why waste the spectators time? Why waste the TV viewers time? Why waste the players time?

I feel bad for the players. Can't speak for other counties, but the meath players give up their lives for this. The sooner they wake up and realise they'd be better just playing with their clubs the better.

all counties should protest and refuse to play Dublin every year in leinster. but I fear they'll just accept being whipping boys and make up the numbers for the next 10 Dublin leinster wins in the next 10 years.

I'm emotionally detached from the province now. It's why I'm only on here every now and then. Tbh I'm barely arsed even writing these replies. Not like it will come to anything.

I'll let the crap leinster championship attendances and dead atmospheres do the talking.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 03/07/2016 18:10:57    1875521

There'd be not point in winning an All Ireland without Dublin.

You have to beat the best to be the best.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 03/07/2016 18:40:27    1875537

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "There are many reasons. I'll name a few.

It's not a coincidence Dublin are obliterating all in leinster. What's the point? Why waste the spectators time? Why waste the TV viewers time? Why waste the players time?

I feel bad for the players. Can't speak for other counties, but the meath players give up their lives for this. The sooner they wake up and realise they'd be better just playing with their clubs the better.

all counties should protest and refuse to play Dublin every year in leinster. but I fear they'll just accept being whipping boys and make up the numbers for the next 10 Dublin leinster wins in the next 10 years.

I'm emotionally detached from the province now. It's why I'm only on here every now and then. Tbh I'm barely arsed even writing these replies. Not like it will come to anything.

I'll let the crap leinster championship attendances and dead atmospheres do the talking."
Far more clubs in Dublin yes. But certainly not in mayo kerry donegal etc and they can compete (well time will tell). Problem is our own not Dublin. But the life has completely gone out of leinster at this stage. At the match last Sunday found myself not really too much about the result.

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 03/07/2016 19:05:32    1875548

I'll let the crap leinster championship attendances and dead atmospheres do the talking."
you forgot to explain how Donegal mayo monaghan tyrone can compete and are well capable of beating Dublin?
your defeatist opinion is very sad and a disgrace to your county!!refuse to play Dublin in leinster indeed omg grow up man.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/07/2016 19:23:44    1875559

Replying To Royalace:  "Far more clubs in Dublin yes. But certainly not in mayo kerry donegal etc and they can compete (well time will tell). Problem is our own not Dublin. But the life has completely gone out of leinster at this stage. At the match last Sunday found myself not really too much about the result."
Agree the life has gone out of leinster,this is not Dublins fault they have set the benchmark and its up to meath and Kildare etc to match them.
it can be done, look at Donegal embarrassed in 2010, Mcguinness came with a gameplan and got them to an all Ireland semi final in 2011.They
brushed aside everyone in 2012 and won the All Ireland.They played Dublin off the park in 2014.Would love to see a strong meath and Kildare in leinster .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/07/2016 19:41:59    1875574

Always were way more clubs in Dublin than meath but ye competed just fine when you had a good team. You dont have a good team now so aren't able to compete. Its not rocket science!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/07/2016 19:47:39    1875580