Castleknock 2016 Feile Peil Na Nog

I might be wrong but I think Castleknock only beat New York by a point in the semi final. How would this thread have read if new York had won?

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 29/06/2016 15:11:09    1873854

As a member of a "Super club" just because you have a lot of numbers playing doesn't mean you have success on the playing field. Castleknock has large numbers and is a relatively young club and unlike some of the so-called Dublin super club names banded around here they play all five codes maybe six not sure if they have a rounders team, I will let you all try and figure out what I am talking about. Unlike some of these super clubs who put in "half" the effort, ignore ladies and to compete import country players no they are not super clubs they are a right pain in the ass. Castleknock when trying to build a base opted to go for playing fields first rather than build a sexy clubhouse so beloved of country clubs. Castleknock are just one of a few "super clubs" in Dublin there are far less than you think.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 29/06/2016 15:14:10    1873856

Replying To onlyhurling:  "I might be wrong but I think Castleknock only beat New York by a point in the semi final. How would this thread have read if new York had won?"
Well done New York.Something like that i'd imagine.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/06/2016 15:15:18    1873857

Replying To onlyhurling:  "I might be wrong but I think Castleknock only beat New York by a point in the semi final. How would this thread have read if new York had won?"
Outstanding , brilliant , unreal just some of the words I can think of , and Id mean them .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 29/06/2016 15:22:58    1873861

Replying To arock:  "As a member of a "Super club" just because you have a lot of numbers playing doesn't mean you have success on the playing field. Castleknock has large numbers and is a relatively young club and unlike some of the so-called Dublin super club names banded around here they play all five codes maybe six not sure if they have a rounders team, I will let you all try and figure out what I am talking about. Unlike some of these super clubs who put in "half" the effort, ignore ladies and to compete import country players no they are not super clubs they are a right pain in the ass. Castleknock when trying to build a base opted to go for playing fields first rather than build a sexy clubhouse so beloved of country clubs. Castleknock are just one of a few "super clubs" in Dublin there are far less than you think."
Their not a super club though are they?Not yet anyway.They are a young,emerging,promising and talented club at present.Fair play to them as it is a great story for Dublin GAA.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/06/2016 15:23:22    1873863

Shi7 just dawned on me all the free advertisement Im given them on here DOH

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 29/06/2016 15:33:38    1873870

Replying To Paulh:  "Lads
Castleknock wouldn't be one of the wealthier clubs in the area. Money definitely is not a factor in the clubs recent success, we are trying to get a clubhouse off the ground and this has put pressure across the board. Regarding success on the field , there is only one way to achieve that and that's to teach the kids how to play football properly , there's no short cuts there. I coach the team that won the Feile last weekend and money / socio background have had very little part to play in their achievement. If anything they have been at a disadvantage to other clubs with the clubhouse being built , a lot of focus has been on that. At the moment we could only dream of some of the facilities we were lucky to play in over the weekend in Kerry. Hundreds of hours on the training ground and hundreds of thousands of ball touches since they were five are the main reason the lads won the Feile , not money and background.
Paul"
Well done Paul, great achievement.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4244 - 29/06/2016 15:41:33    1873877

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "A rich Country with some of their players coming from poor backgrounds. A lot of countries have players from poor backgrounds playing for them but don't have the success that a rich country like Brazil has. So money is a huge factor. Brazil also has a huge population so population and wealth a big factor in their success. Not the fact that they have players from poor backgrounds."
and USA ?????????????
rich powerful and how many world cups????????????

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/06/2016 16:32:27    1873905

Replying To cuederocket:  "That's what i mean about GAA being a part of a country county's dna.Every town,village and parish is immersed in GAA.The local GAA field is the pride of the parish and a local hub of activity.You say your often amazed to see fields with little stands down the country.I must say i'm not.I spent all my summer holidays in Tipp and Cork to a lesser extent and always played on good pitches with massive nets behind the goals.I used practise for hours hurling and loved the way these nets would stop the sliotar.I never had that in Dublin growing up.Sounds a small thing but i loved it.

It was never like this in Dublin.I grew up playing in Glenaulin Park in Palmerstown on Corporation pitches and one prefab as a changing room.Lots of away fields we changed in our cars.The country counties will always have that advantage over us.Their whole county is immersed in GAA.It is changing in Dublin but it is not the same."
i dont know if its an advantage cued
I think its just annoying when dublin success is labelled due to facilites
when we are only playing catch up in that department.
plus most of those grounds in rural areas were paid for by the gaa
a high percentage of that money came from the full houses of dublin supporters in croke park over them years.
for me they would be far better off spending the money on developing players than facilites.
but alcohol seems to be a big thing in every rural area, so they need a pub in the club to bring in the people.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/06/2016 16:37:06    1873909

would have said congrats new york

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/06/2016 16:37:45    1873910

Replying To hill16no1man:  "and USA ?????????????
rich powerful and how many world cups????????????"
Lol - my point in all this is that as others have said, Money and Population are two massive factors and Dublin Top Trump the rest in this regard. If you check through any previous topics regarding finances in the GAA you will see that I have nothing but admiration for Dublin in how they have used the resources available as while they are two major factors in determining the ability to be successful you still need to have the bodies putting in the graft to make it a success. This doesn't mean I think it's fair that Dublin have got financed from the GAA they way they have compared to the rest, and more so knowing how little my own County has received and knowing the state we are in. And also it annoys me a bit when you hear ones saying that their club is a success only down to the work put in at Youth level up and not the finances when I know within my own club there has been great work put in at this age group over the last 10-15 years and the financial support from the people in fund raisers etc is brilliant. The difference is my club is in a rural parish of around 2000 with 170 odd members (adult/playing) and we don't have the same population to pick from nor the same resources as a club with 1500+ members. Look at it simply - if each member put in £10 a month my club would be getting £1700 each month compared to £15,000 in the example club given. That extra £13,300 is a massive gulf and affords one club a big advantage over the other. Factored up to a year it is a few pound short of an extra £160,000. So don't expect me to believe that we have the same chance as the likes of the example club if we would just put the effort in as that is insulting. Fact is population and money are huge factors when it comes to the GAA.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 29/06/2016 17:46:42    1873947

Replying To hill16no1man:  "i dont know if its an advantage cued
a high percentage of that money came from the full houses of dublin supporters in croke park over them years.
for me they would be far better off spending the money on developing players than facilites.
but alcohol seems to be a big thing in every rural area, so they need a pub in the club to bring in the people."

I strongly agree with this.

I think the building of swanky facilities is more about ego and appearances than it is about the football.

The Dublin model of putting the money straight to coaching and benefitting players is the direction other counties need to go down.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4244 - 29/06/2016 18:30:03    1873960

Replying To Whammo86:  "for me they would be far better off spending the money on developing players than facilites.

I strongly agree with this.

I think the building of swanky facilities is more about ego and appearances than it is about the football.

The Dublin model of putting the money straight to coaching and benefitting players is the direction other counties need to go down."
I wasn't talking about swanky facilities.The vast majority are just a good field with nets up in goals and a massive high net behind the goals.With maybe a few concrete slab benches along the sideline.That's my experience anyway down in Tipp.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/06/2016 18:42:29    1873967

Replying To cuederocket:  "I wasn't talking about swanky facilities.The vast majority are just a good field with nets up in goals and a massive high net behind the goals.With maybe a few concrete slab benches along the sideline.That's my experience anyway down in Tipp."
Yeah, I'm more talking about county boards putting serious money into Centres of excellence and stadiums.

Men on the ground has to be the first priority.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4244 - 29/06/2016 19:01:08    1873976

Offside rule
I played with a club that aint a big club in Dublin growing up. We played in a public park. Throughout under 9s up to minor we met every year the local rivals. They had a huge clubhouse, two pitches of their own and a training pitch. They would have 25 or 26 players togged out each week. The club I was playing for struggled to field 15 we often had to get the minibus to call around to players houses to get them out of bed to try get the 15 bodies. In all them years I never once lost a match to that other club with all its facilities and finance. We may have had no fancy stuff but we had an area to train we had a group of 10 or 11 who would never miss a training session and we put the effort in every week and won 5 league titles in 10years and got to the division 3 all ireland feile final. I know what I'm talking about when I say it's about what the players do themselves that makes the difference. All the money in the world wouldn't have kicked that point for cluxton in 2011 all ireland final, it was the hour before training every night he turned up and kicked ball after ball by himself years in advance so that when it came to that moment he had the hard work done.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/06/2016 19:12:08    1873980

Replying To cuederocket:  "I wasn't talking about swanky facilities.The vast majority are just a good field with nets up in goals and a massive high net behind the goals.With maybe a few concrete slab benches along the sideline.That's my experience anyway down in Tipp."
Not my experience cued
plenty have wasted stands that cater for 100 people. Others have a full terrace stretching the length of the sideline with about 10steps deep. Others have scoreboards run electronically. Others have handball walls in their carparks.
I went to ballinamore in Leitrim a lot as a child and they had turnstiles going into the pitch haha the town has a population of about 350 people , I returned a few years ago after maybe 10 years since last visit.
They have a ground that is better than Parnell park now a stand and all with terrace around it and proper electric scoreboard.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 29/06/2016 19:17:55    1873983

i dont know if its an advantage cued
but alcohol seems to be a big thing in every rural area, so they need a pub in the club to bring in the people.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:10752 - 29/06/2016 16:37:06
It isn't true at all that most grounds in rural areas were paid for by the GAA. Members save up, they get loans from various institutions. They use government grants etc etc. I don't know of many club houses in tipp for example with bars in their club houses to get people in. Only sarsfields in thurles afaik.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 29/06/2016 20:37:26    1874006

There's no money and a tiny population in New York.

BlackAndBlue (UK) - Posts: 100 - 30/06/2016 10:01:48    1874129

Taking about Super Clubs just look at Cuala, don't even own a ground, could never get the money to afford to buy land in their catchment area. Uses different council pitches over the Council area or play in Bray Emmets grounds.

But to acknowledge all this would be a crime for non-Dublin people, it is easier to hide behind the 'Dublin GAA is only about money' as this way their own internal failures are covered up.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 30/06/2016 11:03:38    1874155

Think people are missing the point. There are a number of factors in how well a club or County do. Biggest factor is obviously the work/graft put in to get players and teams up to a level which is above your rivals. If you don't have the right, committed people, coaches, executive etc in place then you can have all the money in the world and not notice any improvement. But other major factors are resources available to call on - both financial and population. Of course having more people to try and reach out to gives you a better chance of having a better 15 on the pitch than a team from a rural place with a small population. You also have to remember that given a lot of people move to urban areas when they reach job age hinders a lot of rural areas - I think back to the team of ours who won the County U21 and who were tipped in the press to go on and dominate Antrim football for a number of years. Well, within about 3 years the majority of that team were finished their Education and had moved either abroad to find work or away far enough that playing for the club was no longer possible. I myself moved to Dublin for a number of years to work. And contrary to what some believe, a lot of the finances for any improvements do come from the Club and not from the GAA. Yes there are also Lottery Funds etc you can apply for (up here anyway) but the majority of the money is either raised or sourced by the club themselves. Again, as the point I made yesterday, more population = more members = more wallets to try and get money off.

If the GAA distributed their money in a fairer way and didn't channel the lions share towards Dublin over the last decade or so then you might see more Counties in a better position to challenge the dominant few. But I suppose when you have been the benefactors it is easy to sit and look down on the rest and be dismissive of the advantages that finances and population give. And to try and say that neither of these are factors but it is just down to hard work is just being silly.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/06/2016 11:24:53    1874166