Castleknock 2016 Feile Peil Na Nog

Replying To hill16no1man:  "your wasting your time damo
because castleknocks address is dublin
you will get the same responses over and over
it is a huge achievment for a club that is not too long in existance
they also dumped oliver plunketts(the brogans along with 5 or 6 intercounty players from around the country) club out of this years senior championship.
is jimmy rabbitt would say they are the hardest working band i mean club in ireland haha"
You could be right Hill ,maybe you need to be a Dub , to know our club scene to see and grasp what they have done.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 28/06/2016 17:10:55    1873458

Yeah, the poor upper-middle class, poverty-stricken people of Castleknock. It's a wonder they have the strength to kick a ball.

Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 28/06/2016 18:22:08    1873475

this is a topic based on kids so I'd caution all posters .. dubs automatically circle the wagons though and see it as an automatic anti dub sentiment which it ain't ... but c'mon guys this club has the same catchment as the nationalist population of fermanagh and a far higher average wage ... other posters talk about no u13 team and I have to laugh because all dublin clubs have every age represented whereas most country clubs have lads playing u12 and u14 and never ever run u7 u9 u11 u13 etc as the numbers aren't there ... so well done being a massive club with massive resources and winning stuff

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 28/06/2016 19:05:53    1873489

Replying To cuederocket:  "Yea fair play to Castleknock for sure.They do seem to be a club on the rise.How far they will go we'll have to wait and see.Talks of being a "super club" are premature.Not sure what a super club is but if it is solely based on playing numbers then the likes of Ballyboden,Kilmacud and Na Fianna would be up there.Ky whas t you dont seem to understand is the fact there is huge parts of Dublin with little or no GAA participation or interest.The whole Kerry county is steeped in GAA tradition ; something Dublin does not and probably never will have.That will always be a massive advantage to Kerry and other counties imo.It's not all one-way traffic in Dublins favour as you like to believe."
I understand and accept there are more sports played in Dublin, however soccer is well-played down here (Kerry won the Kennedy Cup last year and usually do well in the competition) Listowel for example the 3rd biggest town is totally soccer dominated, the GAA team are Junior grade and they lose often to much smaller villages.

I don't understand yourpoint on Boden they just the All Ireland this year, even though I thought there were a bit fortunate not a patch on that incredible Vincents team a few years back.

I think it's fair to say in the last decade or so GAA has become much more popular in Dublin. I remember reading in the newspaper a bit ago I think it was Boden (not sure) that from underage up to senior the club had 100 teams in total and over 2,000 members. Now I know that includes both men and women and hurling but irregardless that is a phenomenal number which would serious organisation to keep everything running smoothly.

I imagine the other superclubs would have relatively similar number of teams from underage up. You could combine all the teams from the clubs in North Kerry (15) and you wouldn't be near 100 teams in total. The same would go for every other region bar East Kerry which includes Killarney.

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 28/06/2016 19:28:33    1873500

Replying To AnBuachaillGlas:  "this is a topic based on kids so I'd caution all posters .. dubs automatically circle the wagons though and see it as an automatic anti dub sentiment which it ain't ... but c'mon guys this club has the same catchment as the nationalist population of fermanagh and a far higher average wage ... other posters talk about no u13 team and I have to laugh because all dublin clubs have every age represented whereas most country clubs have lads playing u12 and u14 and never ever run u7 u9 u11 u13 etc as the numbers aren't there ... so well done being a massive club with massive resources and winning stuff"
Fair point.I agree with that.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/06/2016 19:40:15    1873503

Replying To AnBuachaillGlas:  "this is a topic based on kids so I'd caution all posters .. dubs automatically circle the wagons though and see it as an automatic anti dub sentiment which it ain't ... but c'mon guys this club has the same catchment as the nationalist population of fermanagh and a far higher average wage ... other posters talk about no u13 team and I have to laugh because all dublin clubs have every age represented whereas most country clubs have lads playing u12 and u14 and never ever run u7 u9 u11 u13 etc as the numbers aren't there ... so well done being a massive club with massive resources and winning stuff"
Oh now the average wage of their parents helped under 14s win a competition I have heard It all.
The funny thing is the same people think Leicester city winning the premier league despite earning thousands a week or the rep of Ireland beating an Italian reserve teams are huge achievments haha
But a new club in area competing with two fully established clubs with probably the most recognizable gaa name in the country as a priceless marketing tool to get to where they are so soon is down to their parents wage packets hmmm

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/06/2016 19:47:35    1873507

Thanks for the note of caution.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 28/06/2016 19:47:47    1873508

A great achievement for Castlenock. To have success in any club numbers help, but that alone will win you nothing. I agree with the Cavan man and add, it takes people with football management skills to coach and lots of time spent to produce good underage teams- great for the game and especially so without weights/conditioning/gyms.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 28/06/2016 20:03:38    1873517

Replying To KYTitletown:  "I understand and accept there are more sports played in Dublin, however soccer is well-played down here (Kerry won the Kennedy Cup last year and usually do well in the competition) Listowel for example the 3rd biggest town is totally soccer dominated, the GAA team are Junior grade and they lose often to much smaller villages.

I don't understand yourpoint on Boden they just the All Ireland this year, even though I thought there were a bit fortunate not a patch on that incredible Vincents team a few years back.

I think it's fair to say in the last decade or so GAA has become much more popular in Dublin. I remember reading in the newspaper a bit ago I think it was Boden (not sure) that from underage up to senior the club had 100 teams in total and over 2,000 members. Now I know that includes both men and women and hurling but irregardless that is a phenomenal number which would serious organisation to keep everything running smoothly.

I imagine the other superclubs would have relatively similar number of teams from underage up. You could combine all the teams from the clubs in North Kerry (15) and you wouldn't be near 100 teams in total. The same would go for every other region bar East Kerry which includes Killarney."
All i said about Ballyboden was in terms of numbers they would be a super/massive club.Ye have the tradition Ky.In every nook and cranny of your county.The whole of Kerry live,breath and sleep football.For me,that is worth it's weight in gold.It is priceless.Ye may have a few barren years hear and there but sooner rather than later a Kerry man has always been seen climbing the Hogan Stand steps.It's in yere DNA.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/06/2016 20:15:29    1873523

Replying To Damothedub:  "Your just not getting it , my club has A GPO of which like Castleknock we fundraise to pay half their wage , we are seeing teams fold at under 13 , unable to enter teams in this years PJ Troy tournament , unable to enter this years camaint ,"
I agree with your post. used to play Club level in Dublin myself .. seen how smaller Clubs struggle to field teams while the Big Clubs field loads of teams and poach younger players from smaller Clubs ,, The likes of Castleknock have to compete for young players with a load of well established Clubs in a 5 mile radius of them. There's no parish boundary rules. player's can play for a particular club and not live in that area. Clubs are also having to compete with Rugby and Soccer. Kids want to play other sports.

Wexiko (Wexford) - Posts: 81 - 28/06/2016 20:26:24    1873529

Replying To SmellyBadger:  "The club has ONLY ONE GPO.

99% of clubs around the country would absolutely love to have ONLY ONE GPO.

Castleknock has a population of over 20,000.

They would be by far the biggest club in most counties in Ireland.

Great to see the work being put in but its hardly one of the great underdog success stories!"
You do realise you can only have 15 players on the pitch regardless of if there 20 thousand or 2 thousand living in an area. People on this site are obsessed with population,but I never get how they don't question why China,India,USA and Indonesia are not dominating soccer seen as they have make up almost half of the the world's population.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/06/2016 20:31:36    1873532

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Oh now the average wage of their parents helped under 14s win a competition I have heard It all.
The funny thing is the same people think Leicester city winning the premier league despite earning thousands a week or the rep of Ireland beating an Italian reserve teams are huge achievments haha
But a new club in area competing with two fully established clubs with probably the most recognizable gaa name in the country as a priceless marketing tool to get to where they are so soon is down to their parents wage packets hmmm"
so finbars making similar strides or joey's ocb? or peregrines round the corner ... don't make me laugh ... money and numbers are key but I never said they auto translate to success but jays us they are the catalyst ? this club has the same number at u9s that my in has from u6 to minor ... they are the best that they can be and fair play but what's 20 Years old got to do with anything ... their facilities are awesome and they aren't running around a bare porters town park ... congrats the knock but calm down that it's some sort of Lazarus rise ...

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 28/06/2016 21:20:45    1873546

Replying To AnBuachaillGlas:  "so finbars making similar strides or joey's ocb? or peregrines round the corner ... don't make me laugh ... money and numbers are key but I never said they auto translate to success but jays us they are the catalyst ? this club has the same number at u9s that my in has from u6 to minor ... they are the best that they can be and fair play but what's 20 Years old got to do with anything ... their facilities are awesome and they aren't running around a bare porters town park ... congrats the knock but calm down that it's some sort of Lazarus rise ..."
Do you live in Dublin buachail?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/06/2016 21:39:51    1873563

Replying To browncows:  "A great achievement for Castlenock. To have success in any club numbers help, but that alone will win you nothing. I agree with the Cavan man and add, it takes people with football management skills to coach and lots of time spent to produce good underage teams- great for the game and especially so without weights/conditioning/gyms."
Too true Browncows , there was a seminar in Offaly a few weeks ago , the topic was " What makes a great player" part of the discussion used Messi and Ronaldo as examples and delegates were asked to give opinions on both icons , eventually King Henry was brought into the argument , and topic expanded , at the end the following were some of the type of answers that were given to describe what makes a great player
Coaching
Talent
Skill
Intelligence
Coaching
Money
Natural ability
None of the above were eventually accepted as what makes a great player , the people in the room agreed Enviroment creates greatness , the top clubs are the top clubs and know it , within that Enviroment kids thrive , they want to succeed they get pulled behind a clubs good ethos , the opposite to that is there are big and small clubs in Dublin that have septic Enviroment were individual coaches players parents can't and never will see a bigger picture coaches at different age groups pulling in different directions and no amount of money will ever help a club produce success if the Enviroment isn't right, case in point Parnells .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 28/06/2016 21:46:30    1873566

Replying To hill16no1man:  "You do realise you can only have 15 players on the pitch regardless of if there 20 thousand or 2 thousand living in an area. People on this site are obsessed with population,but I never get how they don't question why China,India,USA and Indonesia are not dominating soccer seen as they have make up almost half of the the world's population."
Of course population makes a difference. My god how can it not.

If you've 2 thousand children to choose from the law of averages will dictate that 15 best players from that 2000 will be better than the 15 best players from a pool of 50.

India and USA aren't particularly successful as they have other sports that they prioritise. Cricket for India and then Basketball, Baseball and American Football in the US. India is also ridiculously poor which doesn't help them.

China is mainly due to them not having the knowledge base. There's a good book called "Why England Lose". They mention that Europe is so successful because it's the hub of world football and that new ideas will first develop there and be transferred through Europe before reaching the rest of the world more slowly.

China actually realised this problem and have set up a huge soccer academy bringing in about 200 European (mainly Spanish coaches) as they just didn't have the existing knowledge base.
China will very likely be a world force in football within about 20-30 years.

Dublin will win a hurling championship very soon. Very likely within 10 years. They will start to dominate very soon as they do already with football.

They have all the main factors for success in place.

Population
Money
Knowledge base (the network of coaches they have)

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 28/06/2016 22:34:07    1873587

Anbuachaillglas so what about ballymun kickhams? They rose to the top in all the age levels and they are in a working class area. Let's try another sport soccer where sherriff yc are dominating the fai junior cup along with the league they are in the hunt for five trophys this year, there chief rivals in the last five years have been pike rovers from southill in limerick and kilbarrack all three of these areas are perceived lower class not dripping with money.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/06/2016 23:26:51    1873601

Your last point there Damothedub is one of the best made on this forum in a long time. Unfortunately at club, development level, county, county board & council level the environment is parochial, political, toxic & off putting yo children, sponsors, coaches, administrators & so on. Create the right environment & attitude & application of fairness to all & you will succeed at anything. I would guess from your last point that you could be a very able coach or administrator with open progressive ideas. I acknowledge the point you made about Castleknock & salute their achievements regardless of their population or socio economic background.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 29/06/2016 00:29:17    1873608

Damo you must remember that Dublin GAA is only about money, its all we are in it for.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 29/06/2016 07:24:57    1873618

Replying To hill16no1man:  "You do realise you can only have 15 players on the pitch regardless of if there 20 thousand or 2 thousand living in an area. People on this site are obsessed with population,but I never get how they don't question why China,India,USA and Indonesia are not dominating soccer seen as they have make up almost half of the the world's population."
It was your huge population that kept Dublin ticking over for 40 years (1977-2010) but it was money that pushed you out front. Dublin won two U21 hurling titles from 1964-2006. You're heading for your fourth since then.

You won two All Irelands from 1976-2010. You're heading for #4 in six years this year. The money started to roll into Dublin 12 years ago. Co-incidence? I think not.

Castleknock is a very affluent area. Look at the speed with which they are putting their ground together. Most clubs (esp country clubs) would take decades to get that far, that quickly. Yes, you need energy and good help, but money is a huge factor. Without money, you've no investment and lads get sick of it. I wonder how much of the kids' interest is maintained by doing things with them/getting them gear?

Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 29/06/2016 08:11:53    1873622

I have been involved in the Gaa as a player and a volunteer coach for over 50 years. Not only have I never heard of a club with a full time GPO, I don't even know what it is, could someone explain?
On the point re population being the key to success there has been countlees amount of research done on this and it has been shown that success is down to a combination of factors. Population, tradition, coaching and economic circumstances (money don't buy success but poverty does prevent success, India being a good example)

onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 29/06/2016 08:46:27    1873627