What is going wrong with Kildare football?

Replying To Crinigan:  "Thats a fact. Kildare underage teams, including this years minors, seem to always have 4/5 lads who are fully grown and then disappear at u21 and senior level. If you are fully grown at 15/16, then your chances of having an adult career of substance are greatly reduced in my view."
If these young Gullivers we have do the business as minors I'm more than happy. That size thing makes no sense at all. Neil FLynn is a great prospect already playing senior and he's no giant, nor is NIall Kelly. Dan FLynn is one of our best players and he was fully grown when he was 10, Feely when he was 12!

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 08/07/2016 20:14:00    1878656

Have to say the aussies have no problem with 'fully grown' either. Paddy Brophy doing very well and Flynn could go back in the morning if he wanted.

Whatever the reasons for our current standing its absolutely nothing to do with the size of talented youngsters coming through. Cian O'Neill is in year one, deserves more time I would say. The great Micko had to have 2 stints to get us competitive.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 08/07/2016 20:28:16    1878661

Is fitness a problem for Kilare ? I know Micko had players just doing laps. His tactics written on a postage stamp but he was a great motivator.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 08/07/2016 23:31:22    1878731

Replying To crikey:  "Is fitness a problem for Kilare ? I know Micko had players just doing laps. His tactics written on a postage stamp but he was a great motivator."
Crikey, I don't imagine that fitness should be a problem considering Cian O'neill's credentials as a coach and fitness expert. It's his managerial nous and tactical system(s) that is certainly under scrutiny considering our recent poor performances.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 09/07/2016 14:37:13    1878861

Lads that are fully grown at ten and twelve years of age ha !
Jaysus ,that's the daftest thing I have heard in a while. About confirmation age and you are fully grown. Wtf.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 09/07/2016 15:22:46    1878870

Arent the county board massively in debt, a hangover from the Mcgeeney era?
That will affect team preparation.
seems alot of county boards seem to think its still 2007.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 09/07/2016 15:52:30    1878880

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Lads that are fully grown at ten and twelve years of age ha !
Jaysus ,that's the daftest thing I have heard in a while. About confirmation age and you are fully grown. Wtf."
Agree

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 09/07/2016 16:57:23    1878952

Not much wrong, how would you like
To be a Meath fan?

nemlodoak (Meath) - Posts: 170 - 09/07/2016 17:10:45    1878978

Kildare just another team nowadays trying to play a defensive system the wrong way.just showing up and cramming the back line.no counter attacking at pace.poor shot selection.hand passing backwards.afraid to kick a pass.now i say this on the strenght of their last 2 outings which i seen.dire stuff to watch.to me kildare aint an uber defensive team and never where..its like o neill is trying to mould them into donegal 2011.put it this way if you cant beat westmeath playing this style of football forget about it.no disrespect here to kildare fans as they are among the best in country but if you lose against offaly playing this kind of drivel then o neills job has to questioned..hope im wrong and they go on the attack tonight like former traditional kildare teams and give it a lash..forget about keeping the score down B.S and go at them full pelt..more respect in losing if you give everything instead of just parking the bus..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 09/07/2016 17:44:32    1879080

Replying To GGdub:  "Kildare just another team nowadays trying to play a defensive system the wrong way.just showing up and cramming the back line.no counter attacking at pace.poor shot selection.hand passing backwards.afraid to kick a pass.now i say this on the strenght of their last 2 outings which i seen.dire stuff to watch.to me kildare aint an uber defensive team and never where..its like o neill is trying to mould them into donegal 2011.put it this way if you cant beat westmeath playing this style of football forget about it.no disrespect here to kildare fans as they are among the best in country but if you lose against offaly playing this kind of drivel then o neills job has to questioned..hope im wrong and they go on the attack tonight like former traditional kildare teams and give it a lash..forget about keeping the score down B.S and go at them full pelt..more respect in losing if you give everything instead of just parking the bus.."
Well GGDub we did as you suggested and we got the result. Blanket defence dispensed with and ok while we conceded 2-14, at least the fans leaving St.Conleth's tonight got some entertainment and Kildare score 1-22 and might actually return the next day. All about the draw for the next round but for now the performances against Wexford and Westmeath are forgotten.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 10/07/2016 01:02:51    1879749

Replying To jimski:  "Well GGDub we did as you suggested and we got the result. Blanket defence dispensed with and ok while we conceded 2-14, at least the fans leaving St.Conleth's tonight got some entertainment and Kildare score 1-22 and might actually return the next day. All about the draw for the next round but for now the performances against Wexford and Westmeath are forgotten."
Yes agree 100% jim..delighted for the lillywhites..but im even more happy that they returned to their traditional game tonight..hope the draw is good to them now and they go on a good run..well done kildare..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 10/07/2016 11:21:59    1879887

The Kildare blanket defence was all in perparation for a meeting with Dublin in the Leinster Final. With that goal gone and the fact that the implementation of the blanket wasn't improving match by match, the logical thing to do was to go traditional style and fair play to them.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1018 - 10/07/2016 11:44:15    1879905

I dont Cian O'Neill is suited to role as manager after losing to Clare and Westmeath. They were in control and faded badly in last 10 minutes. Will be a few years before we see Kildare challenging at the top again. They will be out of championship tonight, expect Mayo to give them a good trimming.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 16/07/2016 15:06:00    1884238

Replying To Gael85:  "I dont Cian O'Neill is suited to role as manager after losing to Clare and Westmeath. They were in control and faded badly in last 10 minutes. Will be a few years before we see Kildare challenging at the top again. They will be out of championship tonight, expect Mayo to give them a good trimming."
indeed under Kieran McGeeney Kildare were always strong in the last 10 mins. I expect that we will come up short against Mayo tonight. Anyway on a brighter note Kildare minors will be going for 3 Leinster titles in four seasons tomorrow in Croke Park against Laois.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 16/07/2016 17:18:25    1884283

It'll be interesting to see did Mayo get the kick up the hole they needed after last week's game. They should be scalping this Kildare team tonight, if they don't make handy work of it, then I would worry for them!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8597 - 16/07/2016 18:11:00    1884304

Must say that Aidan O'Shea's dive last week is definitely costing him: that's three certain fouls he didn't get in the opening quarter. Otherwise pleasing enough so far from Mayo, much greater intensity about them so far.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 16/07/2016 19:18:46    1884333

Kildare are embarrassingly physically weak. Compared to the mayo lads kildare are like girls taking the ball into contact. Plenty football in them but so weak and terrible decisions taken .still in it tho

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/07/2016 19:23:20    1884334

Jayziz lads kildare are uuusseellesssss

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/07/2016 19:36:09    1884338

Kildare are shambles. Mayo could by 20 plus

themastermind (UK) - Posts: 10 - 16/07/2016 19:39:45    1884340

Worst kildare outfit I've seen for a while.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 16/07/2016 19:48:57    1884344