Has the Press gone all Anti Gaa

Replying To keeper7:  "Friendly or not, we were outnumbered!"
in a friendly..u do realise the massive number of poles living here?...so what do u make of the massive bandwagon element in the gaa and other sports?...seems like your just bitter keeper...you couldnt even get your facts straight when trying to have a dig

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2016 12:11:21    1877824

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Keeper your wasting your time it's the irish soccer team you can't say a bad word against them boys sure they won a medal for behaving like anybody else who goes on holidays. I wonder will the lanzarote mayor be sending my medal in the post or will he invite me over to collect it haha"
id have to agree with you that the medal stuff is all a bit cringe...egged on by a few notable sites...i dont think a lot of the fans over there taught a whole lot of it either

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2016 12:12:59    1877826

Replying To hill16no1man:  "all the praise for supporters of rep and north of ireland
there is a cross border european tie tonight
im looking forward to see all these medal winning supporters of irish soccer filing through the turnstiles.
cork held a press conference for this game yesterday morning and only one journalist bothered to turn up.
St Patrick's Athletic won the first leg of their first qualifying round match against Jeunesse Esch of Luxembourg on Tuesday but it did not warrant a mention on the state broadcaster's evening news bulletin.
Advancing one round in the Europa League qualifiers is worth more than €200,000. In comparison the winners of the League of Ireland earn €110,000 after an eight-month season.
finishing second last season Cork won €55,000.
both leagues receive insufficient investment.
The FAs of both will have earned a minimum €10m from their national sides' performances in France and when, in the Republic's case at least, almost a third of the squad are products of domestic clubs the sums involved appears dramatically unbalanced. Not least with the association's chief executive, John Delaney, earning €360,000 per annum.
This is the same man who once labelled the league of ireland a "problem child""
yet another tired league of ireland post....how come these posts always come out around when the national team is in the news..same old bitter tired argument

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2016 12:14:04    1877828

Replying To alano12:  "in a friendly..u do realise the massive number of poles living here?...so what do u make of the massive bandwagon element in the gaa and other sports?...seems like your just bitter keeper...you couldnt even get your facts straight when trying to have a dig"
That's coz I'm too busy not jumping on the bandwagon! The reality was that support for the national soccer team had gone stale through poor performances & results whilst playing a near-unwatchable brand of football. Even season ticket holders were giving some of the games a wide berth. If pointing out that fact somehow makes me bitter then so be it.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 07/07/2016 14:25:04    1877937

Replying To keeper7:  "That's coz I'm too busy not jumping on the bandwagon! The reality was that support for the national soccer team had gone stale through poor performances & results whilst playing a near-unwatchable brand of football. Even season ticket holders were giving some of the games a wide berth. If pointing out that fact somehow makes me bitter then so be it."
the same is the case in all sports...look at the attendance for kilkenny-galway this year compared to the final last year...bandwagon much?..u are clearly looking to make a dig..you couldnt even get your facts straight...ireland filled out the aviva or pretty close for poland, germany, bosnia, scotland last year and got a pretty good attendance for a friendly against england..why such bitterness?...teams who dont play good a good style and dont get results always go through a period of poor support..look at munster rugby, kildare and meath footballers?..look at how the attendances for meath dublin games has completely collapsed

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2016 14:55:25    1877955

True, there is an element of bandwagon-jumping in all those examples you named. However, following the 'boys in green' in France is the biggest bandwagon of all, in my opinion. Here's a reality check for you: we only qualified for the Euros this time around because the number of teams allowed in was increased by 8 (50%) to 24. We only qualified for the knockout stages for the same reason having finished 3rd in the group.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 07/07/2016 18:11:20    1878081

Replying To alano12:  "yet another tired league of ireland post....how come these posts always come out around when the national team is in the news..same old bitter tired argument"
If you can't see a problem with the main man in the fai giving himself 350 grand a year salary and only giving the club who wins the league 110 grand fair enough.
people whinge about enda kenny salary haha at least he does something to earn it.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/07/2016 19:57:37    1878124

Replying To keeper7:  "True, there is an element of bandwagon-jumping in all those examples you named. However, following the 'boys in green' in France is the biggest bandwagon of all, in my opinion. Here's a reality check for you: we only qualified for the Euros this time around because the number of teams allowed in was increased by 8 (50%) to 24. We only qualified for the knockout stages for the same reason having finished 3rd in the group."
reality check?..does anybody dispute that?..they qualified so what is your issue?..everyone is well aware...so what is the gripe again?..why such bitterness?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2016 20:02:24    1878125

Replying To keeper7:  "True, there is an element of bandwagon-jumping in all those examples you named. However, following the 'boys in green' in France is the biggest bandwagon of all, in my opinion. Here's a reality check for you: we only qualified for the Euros this time around because the number of teams allowed in was increased by 8 (50%) to 24. We only qualified for the knockout stages for the same reason having finished 3rd in the group."
they are all big bandwagons..every one of them...the euros/world cup in soccer is simply bigger than anything else hence larger following and the viewing figures speak for themselves

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2016 20:05:17    1878130

Replying To hill16no1man:  "If you can't see a problem with the main man in the fai giving himself 350 grand a year salary and only giving the club who wins the league 110 grand fair enough.
people whinge about enda kenny salary haha at least he does something to earn it."
Good point hill.That is a digrace to be fair but that chap in charge of the FAI has no shame.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/07/2016 20:21:32    1878139

Replying To hill16no1man:  "If you can't see a problem with the main man in the fai giving himself 350 grand a year salary and only giving the club who wins the league 110 grand fair enough.
people whinge about enda kenny salary haha at least he does something to earn it."
yes im well aware..your talking about this as if people dont already know about this situation years ago

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2016 20:31:48    1878141

Replying To alano12:  "reality check?..does anybody dispute that?..they qualified so what is your issue?..everyone is well aware...so what is the gripe again?..why such bitterness?"
I'm not bitter. I avoided the bandwagon for said reasons even though many other people & the media lost the run of themselves.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 07/07/2016 21:18:35    1878164

Replying To keeper7:  "I'm not bitter. I avoided the bandwagon for said reasons even though many other people & the media lost the run of themselves."
u seem rather bitter..sounds like you wouldnt be on it even if they topped the group..still not really seeing what your point is....fair play to you for being so superior

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2016 21:49:15    1878184

Replying To alano12:  "yes im well aware..your talking about this as if people dont already know about this situation years ago"
A lot of people wouldnt know that he is that overpaid

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/07/2016 21:58:49    1878192

Replying To alano12:  "reality check?..does anybody dispute that?..they qualified so what is your issue?..everyone is well aware...so what is the gripe again?..why such bitterness?"
The lack of perspective id imagine

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/07/2016 21:59:54    1878193

Replying To alano12:  "they are all big bandwagons..every one of them...the euros/world cup in soccer is simply bigger than anything else hence larger following and the viewing figures speak for themselves"
The funny thing is You say the euro's and world cup are so big yet have you noticed since Ireland and England exit from the tournament the publicity of the tournament has dropped dramatically yet the competition is now actually at the buisness and where the largest attention should be for the media yet there's more news on the premier league this morning than the semi final of the European championship.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/07/2016 22:03:25    1878197

Replying To alano12:  "u seem rather bitter..sounds like you wouldnt be on it even if they topped the group..still not really seeing what your point is....fair play to you for being so superior"
I think it's you who finds it hard to understand that the rep of Ireland ain't the be all and end all to a lot of people and seem bemused by it

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/07/2016 22:06:37    1878199

Replying To hill16no1man:  "A lot of people wouldnt know that he is that overpaid"
eh i think most people are well aware how overpaid he is..its been public knowledge for years

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2016 22:15:10    1878205

Replying To hill16no1man:  "The lack of perspective id imagine"
or maybe your own bitterness and grudges?

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2016 22:15:46    1878207

Replying To hill16no1man:  "The funny thing is You say the euro's and world cup are so big yet have you noticed since Ireland and England exit from the tournament the publicity of the tournament has dropped dramatically yet the competition is now actually at the buisness and where the largest attention should be for the media yet there's more news on the premier league this morning than the semi final of the European championship."
the publicity seems to be still going strong but yes of course its going to die down somewhat without england and ireland still in it..basic common sense seeing as the channels and newspapers available to us are British & Irish..they are so big do you honestly dispute this?..look its clear your not a big fan of the national team like a small minority here but at least try and keep an objective mind

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/07/2016 22:17:50    1878210