Pat Spillane ( The Manager )

Surely a man of Pats knowledge and wisdom in relation to how County teams are being managed has managed at least at club level before.
Surely he is using his experience to make such comments.
Surely he isn't one of these people who pontificate without taking up the challenge themselves.
Surely was married to George in Glenroe.
Surely Pont d'Avignon On y danse, On y danse.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 28/06/2016 14:04:16    1873285

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Surely a man of Pats knowledge and wisdom in relation to how County teams are being managed has managed at least at club level before.
Surely he is using his experience to make such comments.
Surely he isn't one of these people who pontificate without taking up the challenge themselves.
Surely was married to George in Glenroe.
Surely Pont d'Avignon On y danse, On y danse."
Maybe Antrim could use his services? If not for the football then the hurling maybe? Pat always liked to get one over on Meath! And I know how much he respected Christy Ring! He could be the first dual manager!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 28/06/2016 14:09:17    1873290

Seriously lads,when i listened to Spillane on the Sunday Game i thought he was taking the snake hiss about inter county management.I just dont see it in him.He never shuts up and if i was a player under his tutelage i'd have to wear ear plugs to training.Sometimes all i see are his lips moving at a rate of knots and i cannot hear or process anything he is saying.Less is more sometimes.Especially where Pat is concerned.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/06/2016 14:15:33    1873297

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "Maybe Antrim could use his services? If not for the football then the hurling maybe? Pat always liked to get one over on Meath! And I know how much he respected Christy Ring! He could be the first dual manager!"
Given I am more qualified to take the County team than Pat I think we will let him gain his experience somewhere else. It's a bad day when we are being picky about who manages us :-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 28/06/2016 14:17:18    1873299

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "The football 91-95 was as good as you will see. Those Dublin/Meath games Down/Meath etc had everything's. Speed skill hard knocks, great scores. Players faked nothing. Got up and got on with it. Watch it see for yourself. You can't touch a player nowadays but it's a free. It's same as soccer only we can still handle the ball."
Think you need to read my post again.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7908 - 28/06/2016 14:17:53    1873300

so no blanket defence, no sweeper systems, no had passing, no gym sessions, no protein shakes just good oul man to man marking and hail mary balls up the field. Good luck Pat!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2388 - 28/06/2016 14:31:17    1873311

Pat has great facial expressions when the others are talking, priceless

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 28/06/2016 14:57:18    1873329

Replying To SaffronDon:  "so no blanket defence, no sweeper systems, no had passing, no gym sessions, no protein shakes just good oul man to man marking and hail mary balls up the field. Good luck Pat!"
Unless my memory is playing tricks on me, that is not the way Pat played. He was one of the original runners, carrying the ball from deep in his own backline. He did it by soloing the ball which he wouldn't be able to do today, but his ideas were obviously a bit closer to how the game is played today than he might admit. He did some coaching at school/college level which is where coaches/managers like Malachy O'Rourke started. Maybe he just wants to show McStay that he could do better than him. Pat is always the best

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 28/06/2016 14:58:08    1873331

yea add 'soloing' to that list then, and would ye wish him good luck for me again, cheers!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2388 - 28/06/2016 16:07:36    1873418

so no blanket defence, no sweeper systems, no had passing, no gym sessions, no protein shakes just good oul man to man marking and hail mary balls up the field. Good luck Pat!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2388 - 28/06/2016 19:24:25    1873499