Dublin's fitness

Replying To Damothedub:  "The average senior club player in Dublin is very fit , Dublin have been very competitive at club level come 17 March etc over the last few years , when there is that environment at both club level and county your going to have fit lads , truth is we are good at holding the ball that allows us to pull teams side to side which eventually takes its toll , from an early age your are allways thought it's an easier game to play with the ball than chasing the ball."
Indeed,coached at an early age in Dublin do that they are ready later on..

The young Meath players in the past few years have been very raw and therefore struggle.We are just starting to get there at underage,

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 16:57:00    1872913

It would have been clear to anyone watching the game yesterday that Meath were unfit - this always becomes apparent in last twenty minutes of any match. Meath were struggling big time.

How much training do top county players do? "Train Tuesday and Thursday, game at the weekend?" - your having a laugh right/ a Junior club player in Dublin would put more than that in.

How about 6 daily sessions of strenght and conditioning? Two nights of intensive field training? One night of "Individualised" training? The odd road/track run/gym/weights work, daily exercise routines? Specialised dieting? Pool/Sauna? and of course one day of rest "to get their head in gear" usually Saturdays!

No Sex Drugs and Rock and Roll, no alcohol, no messy relationships, no friends, no work.

I would think the lifestyle of trappist monks would be less restrictive. So maybe the Meath lads have the right approach.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 27/06/2016 18:55:38    1872984

I think some of it is just Dublin have a wider pool of players.

So they're just by the law of averages their players are going to be fitter than the average county's player.

If every team does the same training, the team with the best athletes will be the fittest.

Don't get me wrong they also have good footballers.

Style of play has a lot to do with it.

Dublin have a system in place and use their players efficiently.

Meath's style of play is really energy sapping. A lot of hard running to try and break out from defence. I think that's why even against weaker teams they struggle.

They also have a deep squad, they can use their bench early without noticeably weakening their team.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 27/06/2016 20:51:51    1873030

Dublin as mad as it sounds i reckon do less hard training than some counties. Obviously they train hard but they are given huge freedom under Gavin. Everything is tailored for the guys to put family and work first. Dublin have an advantage that guys don't have far to travel to meet up . But really that's where it stops. They do not get meals delivered. Like Kerry,Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone etc. Players will be given diet and nutrition sheets to follow. Dublin might possibly be able to monitor players easier and again because of travel can get them in for early pool sessions. Again not a huge game changer , granted it helps.
But Dublin look fresh on the pitch where some other teams can look over trained. I think they are tailoring training to suit the players and they enjoy it. Also a lot of work is being put in to pull the opposition across the pitch. We done this in the first half it looked like Meath were in the game but really Meath were hanging onto our coat tails. Second hakf they were tired from chasing the ball. But you need the players who are comfortable kicking passes for this to work .
Bottom line ye need the players .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/06/2016 23:19:29    1873087

Replying To Damothedub:  "The recepie for this post is one dollop of bullshi7 two spoonfuls of garbage .
My son at matches , and when down the country gets this gourmet grub your taking about , guess what it's a wrap , it's a bottle of water and some fruit , have you seen the company delivering the food ? if you did you'd realise how far away from Michelin Star cuisine it actually is , my own son prefers to bring his own packed lunch.
Oh and yes I've seen other squads get fed on my travels .
On food my son was given a booklet on nutrition, about 10 pages long , we read it and after that it was up to him to follow it , it was up to me and his mother to pay for it. It's basic and could be gotten easily off the internet eats nuts not biscuits , et etc
People are reaching as there has to be a reason the dubs are doing so well , could it be feille winning teams at under 14 beating teams all over the place none of which have a gym programme none of which have a nutrition programme , just good players ."
Ur a bit touchy there. Generally my opinion is there has to be a reason why one player is better than another. They are not just born that way. Could be any number of reasons they are special. And yes we are speculating. Nothing wrong with that. There a super bunch of players

Don't think I said anything negative about Dublin so calm a bit.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 27/06/2016 23:30:55    1873090

Replying To Gael85:  "Do you have a link to that article about Dublin players getting meals delivered? Or did you hear that story down the pub??"
The Dublin footballer I work with would also like the link to that article as it's the 1st he's heard of it and he clearly feels like he's missing out.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 28/06/2016 09:34:52    1873130

Replying To CroiGorm:  "The Dublin footballer I work with would also like the link to that article as it's the 1st he's heard of it and he clearly feels like he's missing out."
Also Philly wants to know who this company is and why they aren't using his Fitfood company!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/06/2016 10:00:56    1873143

The dubs our no fitter than any of the other top teams, its when they play the other counties they really stand out i know down were training only twice a week where as the big boys will go 5/6 days, when there into the quarter finals then football will win not fitness.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 705 - 28/06/2016 10:01:21    1873144

People getting seriously worked up about this meal thing. For everyone's info Philly McMahon runs a company called fit food and a lot of the players use this service and others that are similar. Not all players use it and it is not paid for by the county board. In fact I used to work with a Waterford footballer and he used a similar service. It is not that big an advantage I would say over 50% of footballers in the country use it.

Dublin have moved well away from your classic running laps and lifting weights training. They have moved into aerobic strength and high intensity training. Have a look up MAS training programmes there and that is a snip-it of what they are at. Now I am not saying the likes of Kerry and Tyrone etc are not doing the same but I know there is definitely counties at there which are years behind in the science of training the modern athlete. They don't have a strength and conditioning coach they have a High Performance Manager, the title is different because they focus of what they are detailed to achieve is different. Also, before the money thing is brought in Bryan Cullen is fulfilling this role so they are hardly scouring the globe to bring in the best and most experienced lads. If other counties realigned their focus I think it would benefit them greatly.

Along with basic training methods Dublin's major advantage is they are superior footballers to the majority of opposition they face. They can keep the ball and make the other team work harder, therefore getting more tired in the closing quarter. It really isn't a magic formula. Let the ball do the work is a cliche as old as the game itself and it is true.

Somebody mentioned there about a general fitness level in Dublin club GAA and they are spot on, the competition is so great at senior club level it has trickled down. I manage a junior B team in Dublin and we have at least 3 sessions a week and during pre season it included gym, MAS training and a football session and/or match. There are Junior B teams down the country that meet up for a game of ball and a pint at the weekend. It is definitely a mentality thing that has been changing over the last decade in the capital.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 28/06/2016 10:30:42    1873166

Replying To Mayonman:  "Ur a bit touchy there. Generally my opinion is there has to be a reason why one player is better than another. They are not just born that way. Could be any number of reasons they are special. And yes we are speculating. Nothing wrong with that. There a super bunch of players

Don't think I said anything negative about Dublin so calm a bit."
Fair enough point taken

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 28/06/2016 10:51:49    1873180

Replying To GAAHattrick:  "People getting seriously worked up about this meal thing. For everyone's info Philly McMahon runs a company called fit food and a lot of the players use this service and others that are similar. Not all players use it and it is not paid for by the county board. In fact I used to work with a Waterford footballer and he used a similar service. It is not that big an advantage I would say over 50% of footballers in the country use it.

Dublin have moved well away from your classic running laps and lifting weights training. They have moved into aerobic strength and high intensity training. Have a look up MAS training programmes there and that is a snip-it of what they are at. Now I am not saying the likes of Kerry and Tyrone etc are not doing the same but I know there is definitely counties at there which are years behind in the science of training the modern athlete. They don't have a strength and conditioning coach they have a High Performance Manager, the title is different because they focus of what they are detailed to achieve is different. Also, before the money thing is brought in Bryan Cullen is fulfilling this role so they are hardly scouring the globe to bring in the best and most experienced lads. If other counties realigned their focus I think it would benefit them greatly.

Along with basic training methods Dublin's major advantage is they are superior footballers to the majority of opposition they face. They can keep the ball and make the other team work harder, therefore getting more tired in the closing quarter. It really isn't a magic formula. Let the ball do the work is a cliche as old as the game itself and it is true.

Somebody mentioned there about a general fitness level in Dublin club GAA and they are spot on, the competition is so great at senior club level it has trickled down. I manage a junior B team in Dublin and we have at least 3 sessions a week and during pre season it included gym, MAS training and a football session and/or match. There are Junior B teams down the country that meet up for a game of ball and a pint at the weekend. It is definitely a mentality thing that has been changing over the last decade in the capital."
I'd definitely agree with the last bit. In my local club there are joint training sessions between junior and senior and the Junior B "manager"arrives in to the last five minutes to see who is there. During the match he spends the time on the sideline laughing with the subs when the players on the field make a mistake. His first group text afterwards is "anyone for pints"? Any player with any ambition has quietly left. The team isn't doing too well!!!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 28/06/2016 11:39:23    1873198

Replying To GAAHattrick:  "People getting seriously worked up about this meal thing. For everyone's info Philly McMahon runs a company called fit food and a lot of the players use this service and others that are similar. Not all players use it and it is not paid for by the county board. In fact I used to work with a Waterford footballer and he used a similar service. It is not that big an advantage I would say over 50% of footballers in the country use it.

Somebody mentioned there about a general fitness level in Dublin club GAA and they are spot on, the competition is so great at senior club level it has trickled down. I manage a junior B team in Dublin and we have at least 3 sessions a week and during pre season it included gym, MAS training and a football session and/or match. There are Junior B teams down the country that meet up for a game of ball and a pint at the weekend. It is definitely a mentality thing that has been changing over the last decade in the capital."
Very good post

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 28/06/2016 12:01:49    1873209

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I'd definitely agree with the last bit. In my local club there are joint training sessions between junior and senior and the Junior B "manager"arrives in to the last five minutes to see who is there. During the match he spends the time on the sideline laughing with the subs when the players on the field make a mistake. His first group text afterwards is "anyone for pints"? Any player with any ambition has quietly left. The team isn't doing too well!!!"
Now don't get me wrong, we enjoy our pints. But only after a big league win or a champo game.

Everybody plays GAA for fun and enjoyment, at the moment in Dublin you won't win unless you are putting the work in. In my own experience it is no fun playing a sport and losing week in week out so the training has to be done.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 28/06/2016 12:48:24    1873239

Replying To Whammo86:  "Very good post"
GAAHattrick sad state of affairs when junior b sides are doing that-where is the enjoyment? That level of preparation is for senior players and at a push intermediate.

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 28/06/2016 12:53:17    1873242

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I'd definitely agree with the last bit. In my local club there are joint training sessions between junior and senior and the Junior B "manager"arrives in to the last five minutes to see who is there. During the match he spends the time on the sideline laughing with the subs when the players on the field make a mistake. His first group text afterwards is "anyone for pints"? Any player with any ambition has quietly left. The team isn't doing too well!!!"
Most junior teams are feeder teams for the senior team and also give lads from the minor grade a chance to prepare for senior football. Maybe you are being serious but if you are telling me that the junior manager texts the lads to go for pints then your club in general must be a shambles. If the senior team is good and has a good set up, the club wouldn't allow someone like that to be in charge of a junior team , not in my club anyway!

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 28/06/2016 13:02:34    1873251

Replying To Mayonman:  "Ur a bit touchy there. Generally my opinion is there has to be a reason why one player is better than another. They are not just born that way. Could be any number of reasons they are special. And yes we are speculating. Nothing wrong with that. There a super bunch of players

Don't think I said anything negative about Dublin so calm a bit."
"They are not just born that way" IMO I think that is slightly incorrect. Nature over nuture or visa-versa? I have coached and mentored many a Hurler/Camogie player and the final divining separation is ability. All players are taught the very same basic techniques. So why do players "alter" and personalise these taught techniques? It is because the very best have a unique "Physiology" given them the ability to do this, it gives them the edge. All hurlers/footballers perfect and hone their skills into their own unique style, this is done privately alone over years with practise. As they say some have it and some don't. I have seen coaches trying to "correct" hurlers who have a beautiful puck! yet somehow it doesn't conform to their notion of how a ball is struck. The very best are unique, they are born and they perfect their craft themselves.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 28/06/2016 13:13:35    1873255

Replying To lowballplease:  "GAAHattrick sad state of affairs when junior b sides are doing that-where is the enjoyment? That level of preparation is for senior players and at a push intermediate."
Maybe that was a senior teams preparation 10-20 years ago. But I can tell you now that if a senior team in Dublin is only doing that then they won't be senior too much longer.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 28/06/2016 13:24:30    1873264

Replying To lowballplease:  "GAAHattrick sad state of affairs when junior b sides are doing that-where is the enjoyment? That level of preparation is for senior players and at a push intermediate."
I see nothing wrong with it. Our junior team has 6-7 of our 2nd year minors playing with them in preparation for the senior grade. If it wasn't taken seriously with training regimes and diet they'd have no hope when they eventually move up to senior grade.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 28/06/2016 14:08:50    1873289

There are Junior B teams down the country that meet up for a game of ball and a pint at the weekend. It is definitely a mentality thing that has been changing over the last decade in the capital.

Thats because lower level teams don't have the luxury of living in the locality of their club. Most of them are dispersed all round Ireland and travel home at weekends for matches so it's a practical impossibility to do what you suggest

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 28/06/2016 14:33:08    1873312

Replying To KYTitletown:  "There are Junior B teams down the country that meet up for a game of ball and a pint at the weekend. It is definitely a mentality thing that has been changing over the last decade in the capital.

Thats because lower level teams don't have the luxury of living in the locality of their club. Most of them are dispersed all round Ireland and travel home at weekends for matches so it's a practical impossibility to do what you suggest"
I am sorry, but I don't buy that excuse for a minute. Maybe it does happen but I would say that is happening in the vast minority of clubs. Maybe it happens in clubs that are exclusively junior, of which there are few in Dublin. I would be talking about your clubs with 2 or more adult teams really.

My own team has gone down to Cork and Galway during preseason for the last 2 years and hockeyed a couple of junior A & B teams, from big clubs, in challenge games. These lads were not just home for the weekend they just were not committed to playing football the way lads of the same level are in Dublin.

Now I know there are obviously exceptions to this, there are teams in Dublin in the same league as my own that can barely get a team together and there are some very well run country teams. But from my own experience the standard of junior A & B in Dublin is a good couple of levels higher than our country cousins. It really does all come down from the top, sure look at the last 6 years of club football in Leinster, a Dublin club has won it 5 of these years. It's no mistake that Dublin are going so well at the moment, success breeds success and it rubs off throughout the county.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 28/06/2016 14:58:20    1873333