Well done Ireland

To say that this was a sub standard Italian team is just ridiculous , for a start the goalie plays with PSG and has won 4 Ligue 1 titles also twice voted Ligue 1 player of the year, Motta also with PSG has won league titles in Italy, Spain and France along with two champions leagues and a club world cup. We had 4 players from Juventus with 14 Serie A titles between them, a Bundesliga and a 2006 world cup winner along with various individual honours and winners of various other cups. Ogbonna plays with West Ham and has won 2 Serie A titles, Immobile was on the Sevilla team which beat Liverpool in the Europa League Final this year, and Bernardeschi (Fiorentina) Florenzi (Roma) De Sciglio (AC Milan) all play for top clubs in their league. All these players are top professionals and would have being trying to claim a starting spot for the Spain game. When you compare this to the players at our disposal you surely must agree that last nights result was a magnificent achievement.

aceofspades (Cavan) - Posts: 256 - 23/06/2016 16:16:53    1871265

Replying To janesboro:  "Thankfully the soccer team will eclipse any result of the eggballers in their glorified friendly against 10% of South Africa. Great day ahead Sunday with dubs and meath preceeded by soccer then watch recording of kildare game. Not a sound of irelands call and dort accents.
sceptical (Cavan) - Posts:427 - 22/06/2016 22:24:31 1

above is the bile and hatred im on amount - although he is to be fair only winding us up

-the longridge-- who needs rory when we got your man lowry son of offaly ledgend brendan to get us gold in rio-"
Good result for U20 rugby team and Ireland winning first test in SA, even with 14 men. All down to 3rd Test on Saturday. Great weekend of sport ahead in all codes.

It's Ireland's Call and that dish cloth I do not like. Political and musical rubbish.
Thanks for compliment reShane Lowry. We have our feet on the ground up here.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1745 - 23/06/2016 16:29:42    1871268

Replying To aceofspades:  "To say that this was a sub standard Italian team is just ridiculous , for a start the goalie plays with PSG and has won 4 Ligue 1 titles also twice voted Ligue 1 player of the year, Motta also with PSG has won league titles in Italy, Spain and France along with two champions leagues and a club world cup. We had 4 players from Juventus with 14 Serie A titles between them, a Bundesliga and a 2006 world cup winner along with various individual honours and winners of various other cups. Ogbonna plays with West Ham and has won 2 Serie A titles, Immobile was on the Sevilla team which beat Liverpool in the Europa League Final this year, and Bernardeschi (Fiorentina) Florenzi (Roma) De Sciglio (AC Milan) all play for top clubs in their league. All these players are top professionals and would have being trying to claim a starting spot for the Spain game. When you compare this to the players at our disposal you surely must agree that last nights result was a magnificent achievement."
Top post

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4232 - 23/06/2016 16:31:38    1871269

Replying To cavanman47:  "Replying To hill16no1man: "It's the fact the paper's and media outlets are hailing them while showing these images is not sending the right message.
we have a massive alcohol problem existing in this country and changing the mindset of people to understand it causes serious problems is hard enough as it is and also trying to get a change that it's not the only way to celebrate or enjoy something"

Why? There a shortage or something???"
V good

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4232 - 23/06/2016 16:41:48    1871277

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=257112

lol

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 23/06/2016 17:10:23    1871281

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Well done though I must say lot of hypocrisy going on I have Been abused where I ref at times called a brit and go back north . But same lads shout on the northern Irish men playing for republic and manager ......."
Some people don't like you, get over it.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 23/06/2016 17:22:24    1871283

Replying To THE_SNAPPER:  "Some people don't like you, get over it."
Are you for real ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 23/06/2016 17:36:03    1871286

Replying To waynoI:  "Are you for real ?"
Wayno I just ignore him he always having a pop at me but if other posters do not like me am happy to stop posting

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/06/2016 17:55:45    1871293

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Wayno I just ignore him he always having a pop at me but if other posters do not like me am happy to stop posting"
Keep posting dell.Always interesting to get a referee's side of things.Don't mind the begrudgers.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/06/2016 17:59:57    1871296

Replying To cuederocket:  "Keep posting dell.Always interesting to get a referee's side of things.Don't mind the begrudgers."
Thanks that poster started attacking after I made them aware of some rules regarding laois v Armagh .the poster then harped on about Louth v Meath where I explained in was different circumstances and he / she starting attacking me .but seems to be the norm in Louth

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/06/2016 18:31:12    1871303

Hill I was only joking pal fair play to you your a great Dub supporter.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 23/06/2016 18:37:02    1871306

Match on big screen. This is a new low. No respect for the two teams in the first game. Train all year for a match and their warm and concentration ruined by a soccer match.

I'll be shouting on Ireland as much as anyone and a big soccer supporter. But this is too far!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 23/06/2016 18:42:09    1871309

It's great to see the 32 county march on in France. Hopefully they can get revenge for the incident in the '09 play-off in Paris. The Irish lads should warm up for the game with gaelic football handpassing, it could come in useful!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7865 - 23/06/2016 18:43:21    1871311

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Thanks that poster started attacking after I made them aware of some rules regarding laois v Armagh .the poster then harped on about Louth v Meath where I explained in was different circumstances and he / she starting attacking me .but seems to be the norm in Louth"
The vast majority are good,decent people on here Dell.Unfortunately,there may be a couple of bad eggs.They should be ignored until they decide to leave,or change their ways.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/06/2016 18:57:10    1871317

Replying To cuederocket:  "The vast majority are good,decent people on here Dell.Unfortunately,there may be a couple of bad eggs.They should be ignored until they decide to leave,or change their ways."
I agree I like lot of posters on here even the Dublin ones have grown on me lol .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/06/2016 20:14:34    1871346

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "I agree I like lot of posters on here even the Dublin ones have grown on me lol ."
We're not bad,Dell.We're just misunderstood (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/06/2016 21:32:01    1871375

Replying To cuederocket:  "We're not bad,Dell.We're just misunderstood (:"
misunderstood haha

Angus (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 23/06/2016 21:50:12    1871380

Replying To cuederocket:  "We're not bad,Dell.We're just misunderstood (:"
Like us Tyrone lads lol :):)

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 23/06/2016 21:56:29    1871382

Replying To tiobraid:  "Match on big screen. This is a new low. No respect for the two teams in the first game. Train all year for a match and their warm and concentration ruined by a soccer match.

I'll be shouting on Ireland as much as anyone and a big soccer supporter. But this is too far!"
You have a point

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 23/06/2016 23:33:18    1871400

While I am as happy as anyone that we beat the Italians the other night and qualified for the knock out stages I feel the reaction has been just a bit OTT.All this talk about 'revenge' against the French is just daft as well.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 24/06/2016 11:32:49    1871474