Well done Ireland

Replying To hill16no1man:  "the italian team was made up of reserve players
who had nothing to play for as italy were already guaranteed to top the group.
a blind man could see italy looked as disinterested in the game as you could get.
If they had something to play for it would have been a totaly different game
further evident by the fact buffon their actual goalkeeper celebrated with the ireland managment team after the whistle.
it was achen to when a national league last round game where one team is qualified for league semi finals
and the other must win to avoid relegation and the team already qualified puts out a second team."
Well in fairness the Italians were
playing with 12 men with the
referee!!!!

The Italians made changes but they
defended resolutely and gave Ireland
nothing. No Italian side will ever be
easy to score against or break down.
They players they brought in were
determined to stake their claims for
a place in thr team.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 23/06/2016 11:10:02    1871093

Replying To hill16no1man:  "the italian team was made up of reserve players
who had nothing to play for as italy were already guaranteed to top the group.
a blind man could see italy looked as disinterested in the game as you could get.
If they had something to play for it would have been a totaly different game
further evident by the fact buffon their actual goalkeeper celebrated with the ireland managment team after the whistle.
it was achen to when a national league last round game where one team is qualified for league semi finals
and the other must win to avoid relegation and the team already qualified puts out a second team."
I see your point but Ireland could only play what was in front of them. They played with 2 Juventus players at the back also who are regular starters. Massive win for Irish soccer last night, financially also. If u dismiss Ireland going through, look at the north outplayed in two games and beat the worst team in the cup. So come on........

As for rugby there is only 5-6 decent teams in the world so success should be strong if ur team is strong, soccer different kettle of fish

222 (UK) - Posts: 695 - 23/06/2016 11:18:01    1871097

Replying To janesboro:  "well done ireland fantastic performance , deserved it for both the performances tonight and against sweden, hope for more of the same against france on sunday, the country will be buzzing , great to see fellow minnows the north,wales iceland and hungary also get through

While i am open to correction its Interesting to note that no such thread has ever been done for the rugby team winning 6 nations , while most posters would say well done i think there would be a fair amount of bile and hatred because its rugby that thankfully doesn't seem to be there for soccer"
There just isn't any comparison between Ireland in a major tournament and the rugby team winning something.

The rugby team has done very well in the last few years but it just doesn't compare in terms of how people feel about it. There was dancing in the streets last night! All of Europe were watching our boys last night! Rugby just doesn't have that reach.

When Ireland do well in a major tournament the world is watching.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13713 - 23/06/2016 11:37:30    1871107

Replying To MesAmis:  "There just isn't any comparison between Ireland in a major tournament and the rugby team winning something.

The rugby team has done very well in the last few years but it just doesn't compare in terms of how people feel about it. There was dancing in the streets last night! All of Europe were watching our boys last night! Rugby just doesn't have that reach.

When Ireland do well in a major tournament the world is watching."
sick bucket please !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/06/2016 12:03:44    1871119

Replying To MesAmis:  "There just isn't any comparison between Ireland in a major tournament and the rugby team winning something.

When Ireland do well in a major tournament the world is watching."
Too right mes.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/06/2016 12:16:02    1871127

Replying To hill16no1man:  "sick bucket please !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
A little bit of ginger might settle your stomach.

Get well soon man.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13713 - 23/06/2016 12:37:49    1871142

I see they all were on the boos directly after the match, pictures from the dressing room of them all with Carlsberg drinking and they have a match on Sunday
Bad advertisement for kids.
Reminds me of the cricket team after they beat England went on the lash for the week.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/06/2016 12:47:06    1871151

As George Hamilton said last night "Ireland are through to the last 16 of the euros for the first time ever".

Emm, except for 2012 George when there was only 16 teams in it! Or what about 1988 when we reached the finals with only 8 teams in it?!

CmonAymonow (Laois) - Posts: 160 - 23/06/2016 12:49:49    1871154

Replying To Lockjaw:  "We were playing against a team with a fantastic pedigree which is much better resourced than ours.
Jesus wept Irish begrudgery alive and well."
He's the king of it...for someone not interested in the sport too apparently.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 23/06/2016 12:54:58    1871157

By holy jaysus

I think this thread should actually be called...

"THANK YOU ITALY"

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/06/2016 13:36:53    1871171

There's lots to be happy about last night.. great night for the country

Also what put an extra big smile on my face was...

The fact that our late goal knocked out Turkey....

:) x 10

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/06/2016 13:40:22    1871175

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I see they all were on the boos directly after the match, pictures from the dressing room of them all with Carlsberg drinking and they have a match on Sunday
Reminds me of the cricket team after they beat England went on the lash for the week."
Hill these must be wind up posts.
Everyone knows a huge victory for any team is usually celebrated with some boo's

Frederick (Louth) - Posts: 479 - 23/06/2016 13:46:05    1871179

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I see they all were on the boos directly after the match, pictures from the dressing room of them all with Carlsberg drinking and they have a match on Sunday
Reminds me of the cricket team after they beat England went on the lash for the week."
Hill,i hope city bin or greyhound are not charging you for all the rubbish coming out of your mouth!Stop being a ballbuster and party pooper!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/06/2016 13:49:18    1871181

Well done to Ireland. What a performance and what a result. It was the first time ever that the Republic have won a match at a major tournament wearing their white jerseys. Bring on the French.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/06/2016 13:52:36    1871182

Replying To Frederick:  "Hill these must be wind up posts.
Everyone knows a huge victory for any team is usually celebrated with some boo's"
When you have a match in a couple of days time you should be looking after the body not drinking alcohol.
not great images to be portraying to kids you at least have to agree with that.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/06/2016 14:07:20    1871193

Replying To hill16no1man:  "When you have a match in a couple of days time you should be looking after the body not drinking alcohol.
not great images to be portraying to kids you at least have to agree with that."
Yes I agree, not great to portray to kids.
I would not say they went on the tear like I'd say they had 1-2 cans, prob recovery and video session this morning so I wouldn't see the harm in it tbh.

Frederick (Louth) - Posts: 479 - 23/06/2016 14:17:27    1871199

Seriously lads pull your head out of *****...

It was a great night but you cannot just ignore how utterly abysmal Italy were....

They couldn't given two s***s and it was a shockingly poor performance from them

DOWN THUMB ALL YOU WANT YA BLEEDING CHEERLEADERS...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/06/2016 14:19:09    1871200

Replying To hill16no1man:  "When you have a match in a couple of days time you should be looking after the body not drinking alcohol.
not great images to be portraying to kids you at least have to agree with that."
Hill the Irish team have a day off today so they are entitled to have a drink or two because they deserve it. It is not every day that you beat Italy at a major tournament and it is only Ireland's second win at the Euros in nine matches.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/06/2016 14:21:47    1871205

Great win for the team and the brilliant fans who are great ambassadors for Ireland. Some day of sport to look forward to on Sunday. I think though that the Dublin Meath throw in a t 6.35 is a bit late for a Sunday. There could be a few fans seeing two balls flying around Croke Park at that stage.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 23/06/2016 14:23:52    1871207

Shut up for the boys in green,shut up for the boys in green!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/06/2016 14:24:04    1871208