Monaghan V Donegal

Right in my opinion it is still a black card for a cynical foul

As per the GAA 'deliberately body collide with an opponent after he has played the ball away ' that's a black card definition

It could not be more cut and dry Frank McGlynn passes the ball off and McManus deliberately comes in late and takes him out . How can it even be argued that is not a black . The only way to suggest it is not black is to suggest it was not deliberate which it definitely was. If it is not deliberate why give a yellow. McManus is one of my favourite players so it's not like I am showing bias towards him or Monaghan but it was a black card.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 26/06/2016 16:57:29    1872308

Replying To greatpoint:  "Surely this has to be addressed? Monaghan played 10 minutes with an extra man?"
Walshe was not yellow carded. Ryan Wylie the other corner back was along with McManus and I think Ryan McAnespie

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 26/06/2016 16:59:56    1872309

Replying To greatpoint:  "Surely this has to be addressed? Monaghan played 10 minutes with an extra man?"
I don't think it matters to be honest, whether he got a yellow before the black card is irrelevant, as he still left the pitch at that moment.

Everything else can still be done retrospectively

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 26/06/2016 17:03:46    1872314

Replying To marita:  "Replay is in Breffni saturday at 7"
That means the game wont be televised as I think Sky are showing the Cork - Dublin hurling qualifier at the same time.. Gutted

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 520 - 26/06/2016 17:04:41    1872315

Well surely it matters if he should have been red-carded instead due to already being on a yellow? If that's the case he shouldn't have been replaced after going off.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 26/06/2016 17:12:17    1872317

Replying To dubshurling7:  "Right in my opinion it is still a black card for a cynical foul

As per the GAA 'deliberately body collide with an opponent after he has played the ball away ' that's a black card definition

It could not be more cut and dry Frank McGlynn passes the ball off and McManus deliberately comes in late and takes him out . How can it even be argued that is not a black . The only way to suggest it is not black is to suggest it was not deliberate which it definitely was. If it is not deliberate why give a yellow. McManus is one of my favourite players so it's not like I am showing bias towards him or Monaghan but it was a black card."
Give it up mate, you're not making any sense. McManus went to collide with McGlynn when McGlynn had the ball, that the collision happened after McGlynn had released the ball was just the culmination of the attempted tackle. Same as Anthohny Thompson's late tackle at the very end. Yellow card only.

The Donegal black card should have been a red card in my opinion - he jumped into Wylie with his elbow up, a very cheap shot.

On the Walsh alleged card - is this real incident or just more Donegal propaganda to cover their own dubious tactics (16 men, water carrier, feigning injury).

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 26/06/2016 17:53:31    1872329

Replying To dubshurling7:  "Right in my opinion it is still a black card for a cynical foul

It could not be more cut and dry Frank McGlynn passes the ball off and McManus deliberately comes in late and takes him out . How can it even be argued that is not a black . The only way to suggest it is not black is to suggest it was not deliberate which it definitely was. If it is not deliberate why give a yellow. McManus is one of my favourite players so it's not like I am showing bias towards him or Monaghan but it was a black card."
Are you Master in disguise?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/06/2016 18:07:52    1872333

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Are you Master in disguise?"
Ye that's it I'm not just a person who is trying to have a genuine discussion about an incident in the game. James Horan even said he was lucky to get a yellow

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 26/06/2016 18:18:04    1872338

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Are you Master in disguise?"
Ye that's it I'm not just a person who is trying to have a genuine discussion about an incident in the game. James Horan even said he was lucky to get a yellow

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 26/06/2016 18:19:26    1872339

Replying To rcarragh:  "Give it up mate, you're not making any sense. McManus went to collide with McGlynn when McGlynn had the ball, that the collision happened after McGlynn had released the ball was just the culmination of the attempted tackle. Same as Anthohny Thompson's late tackle at the very end. Yellow card only.

The Donegal black card should have been a red card in my opinion - he jumped into Wylie with his elbow up, a very cheap shot.

On the Walsh alleged card - is this real incident or just more Donegal propaganda to cover their own dubious tactics (16 men, water carrier, feigning injury)."
I meant to say dubious Donegal tactics mostly from the sideline (and goalkeeper), I've generally admired them over the last 5 years. Loads of good players and have achieved deserved success. (And I do't subscribe to the idea that they are finished).

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 26/06/2016 18:21:01    1872341

Replying To GaryMc82:  "I didn't mention age profile of the team at all actually They are young enough overall however a lot of them have been playing since the mcguinness era and you can see Imo a weariness setting it n . So when a donegal player has an off day dip in form etc he continues to hold his place compare this to Dublin MDMA drop in form management trust Fenton a rookie to come n and replace him ... Your mgt don't seem to have the same trust in the young fellas u mention and for they type of game donegal play they need a bigger pick and if the lads r there they need to be transitioned in over the next 1-2 years that's my point . Would also wonder if there are replacements for lacey he surely doesn't have the legs for it . Gallagher is a big miss in midfield the replacement there appears to be kavsmagh @ 33 years of age so that needs looking at too .
I like donegal appreciate exactly what they have done since 2011 the in laws r from donegal so go to alot of the gsmes as a supporter too. But i do think they are starting to look a bit weary the donegal team of 11 .... 12... 13..... proba ly wouldnt have coughed up 2 late injury tine points either i have a feeling the replay might just come a bit quick but we will see ..
rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts:191 - 26/06/2016 07:42:22 1872104

A lot of the current Dublin players have been in the Dublin panel since the Pat Gilroy era, and I don't think they trained less than Donegal. I think it comes down to perception, we've been hearing repeatedly on tv about "A lot of miles on the Donegal legs", which in part was down to the static line-up in many position between 2011 and 2014/5, where older players of the likes of Colm McFadden, Neil Gallagher, Rory Kavanagh, Eamon McGee, Christy Toye have featured prominently.

However since 2013/2014, they have Consistently Introduced the likes of Ryan McHugh, Odhran MacNiallais, Marty O'Reilly, Hugh McFadden, Darrach O'Connor (Out with cruciate last year), and 2015/2016 Eoghain Ban Gallagher, Eoin McHugh, Ciaran Thompson, Stephen McBrearty, Ciaran Gillespie, Michael Carroll, Stephen McMenamen and MA McGinley. All of these players along with Paddy McBrearty, are aged 23 or under.

I have watched all Donegal Championship games since 2011, and I think this current Donegal side has more pace than the 2011-2013 side. They also create more shooting chances per game, but badly need to work on the shooting accuracy. Had this current Donegal side the shooting accuracy of 2012, I think they would be coasting through games at present."
Grand job well see how they fare next week and in the ulster final if they get that far

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 26/06/2016 18:22:13    1872342

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "For goodness sake of course it was a black card..it was late , intentional and many more words that I will not use.
letterkennyGuy (Donegal)

No black card It was either a yellow card or a red card, one or the other, he did not drag down a player in possession or prevent a player from engaging in the game (unlike what happened for the goal). It was late, reckless and yes if you want to debate "dirty" I will, but it wasn't black"
You don't have to drag a man down to get a black, impeding a players run after they play the ball is also a black card. That said it was more of a late tackle, yellow probably about right

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 26/06/2016 18:29:27    1872347

Missed the game. I'm told it was a good tough game. McGinley and Rory Gallagher seem to be getting a lot of abuse. What did they do to cause this outcry.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 26/06/2016 20:03:09    1872366

Rossy this over the hill tired team line is one fed out by the media. Yes I would agree that Lacey and Eamon Mcgee are 2 players that are showing signs of slowing down of those that start but those apart the legs are fine esp with the youth that are been introduced. Rory Kavanagh has had a year off so is fresher than most. Donegal are actually a team in transition and coping very well with it. There are a wave of players coming through that many outside the county do not know of but will very soon believe me. This years minor side has a couple of exceptional players who will get to play in an Ulster final plus a quarter final. Remember the names Niall O'Donnell and Jason McGee. Still only minors but I bet my bottom dollar they won't be a secret outside of Donegal too much longer as I am sure some of the Monaghan supporters will testify who were in attendance for the minor game yesterday.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 26/06/2016 20:19:22    1872376

GaryMc82 I think a monaghan player pushed the keeper then the keeper took 3 steps to the side ran into a Donegal player and went down like he had been punched on the nose. Commentators mentioned it straight away. Will be interesting to see if it's mention on the Sunday Game.

Was a hard hitting but fair match otherwise.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 26/06/2016 20:35:24    1872391

I don't think Donegal are over the hill or gone. I was working an therefore dident see last night's match, however from listening to it I thought it was raining in Cavan and that this was causing all the slipping and sliding and falling etc. I know that the rain destroyed the other semi final. I am looking forward to a very interesting weekend of football this weekend. Two semi finals that no one could bet on. I hope we get our act together and reach the finals.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 26/06/2016 21:07:40    1872425

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Being either late or intentional has nothing to do with it. It wasn't a third man tackle, he didn't drag McGlynn to the ground, therefore no black card.
I fail to see what is so difficult to understand about that."
So every black card you have ever seen has been a 3rd mad tackle ? Going by rules maybe but usually by refs decisions in general NO!

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 26/06/2016 21:19:01    1872438

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "For goodness sake of course it was a black card..it was late , intentional and many more words that I will not use.
letterkennyGuy (Donegal)

No black card It was either a yellow card or a red card, one or the other, he did not drag down a player in possession or prevent a player from engaging in the game (unlike what happened for the goal). It was late, reckless and yes if you want to debate "dirty" I will, but it wasn't black"
Fair enough hats off. It was definitely intentional

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 26/06/2016 21:20:28    1872440

100% well said

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 26/06/2016 21:23:19    1872444

There was little or no rain during the matches border but there was earlier in the day. The slipping and sliding was prevalent in the minor game also.

To go back to my earlier point regarding Donegal being perceived as a past it team etc. Donegal do have one major area of weakness which is the inside forward line. Niall O'Donnell could definitely be the player Donegal need but has development physically to do and Darrach O'Connor is still very young so hopefully this will problem area will get rectified.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 26/06/2016 21:23:33    1872445