Monaghan V Donegal

Did Colin Walshe not receive a yellow card in the first half? He was definitely replaced by someone after the black.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 25/06/2016 21:17:10    1871989

Did Donegal have 16 men in the pitch when they were down too 14 men? Also the GAA is going to have to make a rule about the "runner" who comes into the pitch to slow play down......I'm not been a hypocrite because I know Tyrone do the same and I disagree with it. Has to stop.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 25/06/2016 21:29:02    1871997

Replying To cavanman47:  "Entertaining game.

Donegal are a better team than Monaghan but didn't take their chances. McManus excellent as usual - just wish he'd cut the diving out of his game (although he was in good company this evening in that regard!!)

I thought the refereeing was poor myself."
I love what you did there admin ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 25/06/2016 21:36:44    1872001

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Hard game with missed chances in both sides but not surprised with the draw.Either team will cause problems in qualifiers and could still contest final.
Donegal goalie should take a look at himself for that dive and play acting. He has big boots to fill and that's not the way to go about it."
What our goalie done was the height of embarrasment .

It has no place in the game . It was 100% cringe . I hope he never does that again .

I don't know where to start with that game so I'm going to wait until tomorrow morning to think about it .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 25/06/2016 21:42:38    1872005

Replying To GaryMc82:  "So you have absolutely nothing good to say about Monaghan at all MadgeKing, not one thing? Donegal lost a few games in the league cos they were focused on the championship whereas Monaghan lost a few cos they were barely fit for the division? The way you're talking it seems that Donegal will go and hammer us on Saturday. You're a good laugh anyway, I'll give you that

And as for being out of Clones, big deal. Don't forget we beat you in Breffni last year and then went back and beat Fermanagh in the semi final, being out of Clones isn't as big a factor as some seem to think
turkeyplucker (UK) - Posts:90 - 24/06/2016 12:03:31

Yeah I don't think being out of Clones will make much difference to Monaghan, I think it will still be a tough tight game.

Statistically speaking, Monaghan are justifiable favourites. Donegal are missing Paul Durcan's kick-out accuracy, and the chat is that they will miss Neil Gallagher in midfield, as well as Key full back Neil McGee. There are also serious question over Michael Murphy's fitness, he definitely didn't look fully fit against Fermanagh.

When In possession of the ball, I don't think there is much between the two sides, as both are excellent at holding possession and twisting and changing play. However in terms of kick-out efficiency, as well as midfield dominance, Monaghan currently have an edge, especially if Neil Gallagher is missing for Donegal. What currently will give Monaghan an edge and platform to push on, is their greater efficiency in winning primary possession around the middle.

Now in saying that, Rory Gallagher knew Donegal would be facing Monaghan in the Ulster SF, most people knew this would be the case. Donegal will be well prepared for this game, and Donegal are capable of winning this. Monaghan have Conor McManus, who I consider to be possibly the greatest or one of the all time greatest corner forwards to have ever graced our game. Virtually impossible to mark this man, he is a true marvel to watch and any game featuring himself and Michael Murphy is always essential viewing."
Unfortunately Michael not in mc manus league.....

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 25/06/2016 22:07:08    1872018

Donegal a pale shadow of the 2011 - 2013 team they may win the replay but neither of those teams will trouble Tyrone or cavan for that matter imo
Michael Murphy does not look 100 % match fit which is a huge problem for donegal
Discipline also a big problem - even though there's probably a kick of sorts left n them I think they need to rebuild and transition n a few new lads over the next 1 -2 years

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 25/06/2016 22:10:37    1872021

Replying To Kirkintilloch:  "I think Donegal were really lucky tonight. If it wasn't for the goal at the right time we were struggling. The confidence went when the wide's started racking up. Need to work on the kicking and the disipline for the replay"
Lucky- seriously???

We were by far the better team even with 14 men

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 25/06/2016 22:12:11    1872023

Replying To rossy15:  "Donegal a pale shadow of the 2011 - 2013 team they may win the replay but neither of those teams will trouble Tyrone or cavan for that matter imo
Michael Murphy does not look 100 % match fit which is a huge problem for donegal
Discipline also a big problem - even though there's probably a kick of sorts left n them I think they need to rebuild and transition n a few new lads over the next 1 -2 years"
Either of them would beat Cavan and Tyrone haven't won any championship silverware at senior level for 6 years and counting so who knows how good they are. First serious challenge Tyrone had this year they didn't exactly convince.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 25/06/2016 22:24:58    1872032

Táimid beo!! !!!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9141 - 25/06/2016 22:32:53    1872037

i could watch close fought games like that all day. Two good Ulster semi finals there, looking forward to the replays. The only negative was the Donegal GK, absolutely disgraceful behaviour, hopefully this isn't a sign of things to come as its clear soccer are doing f all about it and that game is rife with play acting now.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 25/06/2016 22:33:29    1872038

16,287 in breffni tonight.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/06/2016 22:38:53    1872040

Conor McManus is without question the best inside forward in the country.There is simply no discussion.Who will win the next day? Could go either way again,very hard to pick a winner.Both are capable of beating Cavan/Tyrone too...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 25/06/2016 22:42:48    1872042

I think people being bit harsh on Donegal.
felt they went down to 14 men and missed 4 scoreable frees yet still managed to be the ones who went and got the goal.
When they went three down they responded and were the ones who went ahead again in injury time.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 25/06/2016 22:45:16    1872043

Rory Gallagher sideline antics is now translating onto pitch with players losing discipline. Jimmy McGuinness had a impeccable discipline record

CurranCake1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 130 - 25/06/2016 22:53:24    1872045

Replying To rossy15:  "Donegal a pale shadow of the 2011 - 2013 team they may win the replay but neither of those teams will trouble Tyrone or cavan for that matter imo
Discipline also a big problem - even though there's probably a kick of sorts left n them I think they need to rebuild and transition n a few new lads over the next 1 -2 years"
Average age there today for Donegal was 25 so your comment holds no water

bcfb (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 25/06/2016 23:15:24    1872052

Replying To rcarragh:  "Either of them would beat Cavan and Tyrone haven't won any championship silverware at senior level for 6 years and counting so who knows how good they are. First serious challenge Tyrone had this year they didn't exactly convince."
Great game tonight and Ulster back on map - no other province has two semis like this - and the final will be probably just as good. Fair play Ulster, instead of ridiculing this province let's learn from them - hats off to you all. The other stuff tomorrow will be boring guaranteed.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 25/06/2016 23:31:24    1872054

I think you need to consider that both these sides are exceptionally well conditioned and well organised outfits, who know each other exceptionally well and don't give an inch away.

I heard Oisin McConville a couple of weeks back on about how the Donegal don't penetrate defences like in 2011-2013, and yet seemed to miss the dramatic change that has come over other teams in both conditioning and tactical preparation since then. Teams now are better prepared for Donegal's counter-attacking game, and can lessen its impact. Tonight they were playing a formidable Monaghan side, one of the best teams in the Country, did anybody realistically expect Donegal to run through them, I certainly didn't.

Donegal's transition is well underway, 7 of today's starting lineup were aged 23 or under, and only 4 starting players were aged 30 or over. And of those few that are over 30, Donegal have excellent replacements in their early 20's already there, who have been slowly integrating into the team since 2015. By next season, the average age of the Donegal starting team could be 24, which is shocking when you realise Kerry currently don't have a single key player under the age of 25. The Idea they don't have the legs anymore is a myth, they have added serious pace to this team.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 25/06/2016 23:41:42    1872059

Replying To greatpoint:  "Did Colin Walshe not receive a yellow card in the first half? He was definitely replaced by someone after the black."
i thought he did receive a yellow. but ref never showed him the red after the black. there was a bit of confusion all round there. lucky the game ended in a draw or we could have another armagh v laois scenario.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 25/06/2016 23:59:33    1872066

A draw was a fair result IMO. We didn't deserve the win by missing those frees and why Michael Murphy persisted in taking them off the ground when he was obviously struggling with them I'll never know.
Both sides missed chances, made loads of mistakes and some even had time to make a fools of themselves both on the line and close to goals!
It was a poor quality game but exciting and neither side deserved to win.
Our discipline is shocking and too often now we end up with 14, poor tackling and having frees moved forward. We need to end this.
I wouldn't think either team will win Ulster. Tyrone look that bit better than either of those teams.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 26/06/2016 00:17:38    1872072

Replying To GaryMc82:  "I think you need to consider that both these sides are exceptionally well conditioned and well organised outfits, who know each other exceptionally well and don't give an inch away.

I heard Oisin McConville a couple of weeks back on about how the Donegal don't penetrate defences like in 2011-2013, and yet seemed to miss the dramatic change that has come over other teams in both conditioning and tactical preparation since then. Teams now are better prepared for Donegal's counter-attacking game, and can lessen its impact. Tonight they were playing a formidable Monaghan side, one of the best teams in the Country, did anybody realistically expect Donegal to run through them, I certainly didn't.

Donegal's transition is well underway, 7 of today's starting lineup were aged 23 or under, and only 4 starting players were aged 30 or over. And of those few that are over 30, Donegal have excellent replacements in their early 20's already there, who have been slowly integrating into the team since 2015. By next season, the average age of the Donegal starting team could be 24, which is shocking when you realise Kerry currently don't have a single key player under the age of 25. The Idea they don't have the legs anymore is a myth, they have added serious pace to this team."
I didn't mention age profile of the team at all actually They are young enough overall however a lot of them have been playing since the mcguinness era and you can see Imo a weariness setting it n . So when a donegal player has an off day dip in form etc he continues to hold his place compare this to Dublin MDMA drop in form management trust Fenton a rookie to come n and replace him ... Your mgt don't seem to have the same trust in the young fellas u mention and for they type of game donegal play they need a bigger pick and if the lads r there they need to be transitioned in over the next 1-2 years that's my point . Would also wonder if there are replacements for lacey he surely doesn't have the legs for it . Gallagher is a big miss in midfield the replacement there appears to be kavsmagh @ 33 years of age so that needs looking at too .
I like donegal appreciate exactly what they have done since 2011 the in laws r from donegal so go to alot of the gsmes as a supporter too. But i do think they are starting to look a bit weary the donegal team of 11 .... 12... 13..... proba ly wouldnt have coughed up 2 late injury tine points either i have a feeling the replay might just come a bit quick but we will see ..

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 26/06/2016 07:42:22    1872104