Monaghan V Donegal

GaryMc82, for a man who wasnt at the game last night it baffles me how you have made 4 lengthy posts about it already. As far as I know there have been no tv highlights shown.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts:249 - 03/07/2016 13:01:53 1875363

You know nothin Jon Sno......I mean HEREBENJI

My comments on this discussion thread are not simply based on last night, and if you read them carefully, you would notice that. Donegal played Monaghan twice, and the discussion is now looking at the bigger picture of where they go now.

And that aside, somebody did record the game last night and a video link was up on facebook and I watched a bit of that late last night. Quality wasn't great, but still watchable.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 03/07/2016 14:57:39    1875414

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "
Replying To Monaghan Exile:  "But we had no right to be near Donegal last night and I wish them the best in the final and hope Donegal go and win it.
On a side note we have our rivalry over the last few years, but not a bad word between supporters and its brilliant compared to the hate and vile from other counties supporters.
shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts:1449 - 03/07/2016 09:31:17 1875266

Spot on Shaggylegend about supporters|"
The Monaghan supporters didnt show much respect to our freetakers last night."
I was at the game?.... You will always get a bit of "heckling" for set pieces , from all teams & that was case last night too. In general, there is always good banter between both sets of fans as was the case last night. If you want total silence for set pieces, maybe you should watch rugby!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 03/07/2016 14:57:45    1875415

Replying To GaryMc82:  "GaryMc82, for a man who wasnt at the game last night it baffles me how you have made 4 lengthy posts about it already. As far as I know there have been no tv highlights shown.

My comments on this discussion thread are not simply based on last night, and if you read them carefully, you would notice that. Donegal played Monaghan twice, and the discussion is now looking at the bigger picture of where they go now.

And that aside, somebody did record the game last night and a video link was up on facebook and I watched a bit of that late last night. Quality wasn't great, but still watchable."
I suppose we're lucky to have you Gary. Look forward to your anaysis of the Tyrone Cavan game at around 5.45 this evening even though you wont be at that match either.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 422 - 03/07/2016 15:30:28    1875431

Benji Gary is one of the finest contributors on these threads. He was not at the match last night...so what big deal? He did listen to it live and was on here last night looking for insight and peoples opinions who were at the game hence he formed his opinion. As he said himself he is looking down the line and where Donegal might go.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 03/07/2016 16:23:23    1875457

I suppose we're lucky to have you Gary. Look forward to your anaysis of the Tyrone Cavan game at around 5.45 this evening even though you wont be at that match either.
HEREBENJI (Donegal)

I don't always agree with Gary we have had our differences on various topics, but at least he is not afraid to engage before his team have played and won. unlike some who only "sing when your'e winning"
Without the likes of him that have the courage to try and predict performances it wouldn't be much of a discussion thread, going by some of the posts since the match

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 03/07/2016 20:52:13    1875622

Replying To GaryMc82:  "GaryMc82, for a man who wasnt at the game last night it baffles me how you have made 4 lengthy posts about it already. As far as I know there have been no tv highlights shown.

And that aside, somebody did record the game last night and a video link was up on facebook and I watched a bit of that late last night. Quality wasn't great, but still watchable."
I suppose we're lucky to have you Gary. Look forward to your anaysis of the Tyrone Cavan game at around 5.45 this evening even though you wont be at that match either."
Pull your neck in there Hereb.

Gary is a GAA man through & through & speaks more sense than any poster I know on Ulster football

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/07/2016 22:11:49    1875710

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "
Replying To HEREBENJI:  "[quote=GaryMc82:  "GaryMc82, for a man who wasnt at the game last night it baffles me how you have made 4 lengthy posts about it already. As far as I know there have been no tv highlights shown.

I suppose we're lucky to have you Gary. Look forward to your anaysis of the Tyrone Cavan game at around 5.45 this evening even though you wont be at that match either."
Pull your neck in there Hereb.

Gary is a GAA man through & through & speaks more sense than any poster I know on Ulster football"]I have always enjoyed Gary's take on things and alot of the time his predictions and after match analysis is spot on and I always enjoy reading his posts. I actually recall reading posts Gary made prior to the Dublin V Donegal semi final in 2014 where he was one of very few that gave Donegal a chance and if memory serves me correctly he almost predicted the correct scoreline.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 04/07/2016 16:28:16    1876208

Not a personal attack on Gary, I'm sure hes a grand lad but how you can make 4 lenghty posts with opinions on a game you haven't seen is beyond me.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 422 - 04/07/2016 19:32:45    1876393

. I actually recall reading posts Gary made prior to the Dublin V Donegal semi final in 2014 where he was one of very few that gave Donegal a chance and if memory serves me correctly he almost predicted the correct scoreline.
Mobot (Donegal) - Posts:27 - 04/07/2016 16:28:16

Thanks for that, I didn't give a exact score prediction, more predicted how Donegal would win or what they needed to do to win. I dug that old post up and pasted it in below.

DUBLIN have an average Championship score of 28.75 points per game ( 2.25 goals per game, 22 points per game ).
Dublin concede on average = 13.75. Average winning championship margin = 15 points.
While during the 2014 championship so far, Dublin concede on average 13.75, meaning they have an average winning margin of 15 points.
If you take 70minutes per game with approx 2 mins Injury time, thats 72 minutes x 60 seconds = 4320 seconds. 4320seconds of game time divided by 28.75 points per game = 150.26 seconds.
Dublin roughly score every 2 mins 30 seconds.

DONEGAL have an average combined Championship score of 17.25 points per game ( 1.25 goals per game, 13.5 points per game ).
Donegal conceded 12.25 points per game, giving them an average winning margin of 5 points per game.
4320 of game time divided by 17.25 points per game = 250.43 seconds.
Donegal roughly score every 4 mins 17 seconds.

If Donegal can get 2 or 3 goals, and simultaneously reduce Dublin's point scoring average of 22 points per game. Then a Donegal win is possible, however they will need to concede no goal's and limit Dublin to 16 or 17 points.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts:2517 - 15/08/2014 09:56:15 163

You basically take a statistical analysis of the two teams, factor the standard of the opposition those statistics were accumulated against, and then factor in the strengths & weaknesses of the current opposition.
For Example: Any attacking orientated side who have a large points average, perhaps accumulated against lower division sides, will almost always score less points than their previous average when playing a well organised defensively tight Division 1 team like Donegal. Likewise a strong defensive side like Donegal will always concede more points than their previous average against an formidable attacking side like Dublin.

There is always a chance of something unexpected happening, like Donegal conceding two goals in the 2014 AI final, which changes the equation.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 04/07/2016 19:50:53    1876405

Gary is a very good poster so leave your rubbish out .

Your the same poster who tried go defend our goalkeepers embarrasing dive a few weeks ago .

No need to be rude to other posters .

Fair play Gary.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 04/07/2016 20:07:01    1876414

Not a personal attack on Gary, I'm sure hes a grand lad but how you can make 4 lenghty posts with opinions on a game you haven't seen is beyond me.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts:252 - 04/07/2016 19:32:45

I already clarified that I didn't, I didn't post 4 lengthy posts on a game I didn't see. That is something you chose to focus on, but you were incorrect then and again now. So take your oil BENJI, you're totally wrong.

1. I did see a video of the game online on Saturday night, poor quality, but watchable.
2. My posts focused on the prior games and general play.
3. I also listened to the game on Radio Ulster live, before seeing the video.

There are no personal attacks on here between posters, we all use forum profiles, and outside of various digs at our respective counties, we don't get personal as I doubt any of us know each other. HEREBENJI attacked my posts, nothing more. He was corrected, failed to read or understand that and made the same mistake again.

I recently had a Monaghan poster claiming I slammed Monaghan v Down, which didn't seem or sound right, and he didn't give a date or time or thread. When I finally found the actual comment I made, it was not remotely close to what he accused me of saying. Some see what they want to see sometimes.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 04/07/2016 20:08:20    1876416

Replying To GaryMc82:  ". I actually recall reading posts Gary made prior to the Dublin V Donegal semi final in 2014 where he was one of very few that gave Donegal a chance and if memory serves me correctly he almost predicted the correct scoreline.
Mobot (Donegal) - Posts:27 - 04/07/2016 16:28:16

Thanks for that, I didn't give a exact score prediction, more predicted how Donegal would win or what they needed to do to win. I dug that old post up and pasted it in below.

DUBLIN have an average Championship score of 28.75 points per game ( 2.25 goals per game, 22 points per game ).
Dublin concede on average = 13.75. Average winning championship margin = 15 points.
While during the 2014 championship so far, Dublin concede on average 13.75, meaning they have an average winning margin of 15 points.
If you take 70minutes per game with approx 2 mins Injury time, thats 72 minutes x 60 seconds = 4320 seconds. 4320seconds of game time divided by 28.75 points per game = 150.26 seconds.
Dublin roughly score every 2 mins 30 seconds.

DONEGAL have an average combined Championship score of 17.25 points per game ( 1.25 goals per game, 13.5 points per game ).
Donegal conceded 12.25 points per game, giving them an average winning margin of 5 points per game.
4320 of game time divided by 17.25 points per game = 250.43 seconds.
Donegal roughly score every 4 mins 17 seconds.

If Donegal can get 2 or 3 goals, and simultaneously reduce Dublin's point scoring average of 22 points per game. Then a Donegal win is possible, however they will need to concede no goal's and limit Dublin to 16 or 17 points.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts:2517 - 15/08/2014 09:56:15 163

You basically take a statistical analysis of the two teams, factor the standard of the opposition those statistics were accumulated against, and then factor in the strengths & weaknesses of the current opposition.
For Example: Any attacking orientated side who have a large points average, perhaps accumulated against lower division sides, will almost always score less points than their previous average when playing a well organised defensively tight Division 1 team like Donegal. Likewise a strong defensive side like Donegal will always concede more points than their previous average against an formidable attacking side like Dublin.

There is always a chance of something unexpected happening, like Donegal conceding two goals in the 2014 AI final, which changes the equation."
Keep them coming mate . Whether your right or wrong doesn't matter .

Your posts are always detailed so fair play .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 04/07/2016 20:08:58    1876417

Still baffled by the set of circumstances preventing live screening or showing deferred coverage of this fixture.
A 5.00pm throw in would have avoided clashing with hurling matches on RTE (3.30) and SKY (7.00pm) as well being more family friendly to fans facing return journeys to North West Donegal.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 04/07/2016 20:36:34    1876436

First time posting (sensibly!) about the match as I went into celebratory mode after the game! The past weekend confirmed two things for me: Overall, we have better players than Monaghan and I cannot handle a good session like I once used to!
We made things hard on ourselves by giving away two very poor goals. The first one in particular. You'd make your underage teams to 10 laps of the pitch for that kind of sloppiness!
That said, the team showed great character and composure to just keeping plugging away and tacking on the points. Was very impressed by some of our less heralded players, O'Reilly in particular. But also Mark McHugh - he's had a lot of criticism but I always said that if he was working hard and cut out the nonsense then he deserved another crack at it. So hopefully he'll keep the head down now and improve his form further. If we could get him back to 2012 levels it would be a serious lift.
Tyrone will be a major challenge in the final. They looked awesome against Cavan but realistically the two quickfire goals killed that match stone dead before half time. Cavan seemed to abandon all tactical discipline in the second half and it was easy pickings for a strong counter attacking team like Tyrone. They'll not get it as handy against a better organised Donegal set up.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9141 - 05/07/2016 09:51:42    1876606