Monaghan V Donegal

Lads anyone know if people can simply turn up and pay at the gate for the replay this Saturday night in Cavan? Flying in from overseas on Friday, looking at tickets.ie I doubt they can post the tickets by Friday at this stage. Or at least there is a risk they might not arrive in time

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 29/06/2016 10:58:12    1873684

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Lads anyone know if people can simply turn up and pay at the gate for the replay this Saturday night in Cavan? Flying in from overseas on Friday, looking at tickets.ie I doubt they can post the tickets by Friday at this stage. Or at least there is a risk they might not arrive in time"
Donegal_abroad I reckon you will have no problem getting a ticket at the gate. They were selling tickets before the match last Saturday and the ground wasn't full to capacity. There might be a bigger crowd this weekend but I still wouldn't expect a sell out.

By the way, do tickets.ie not have an option to print your ticket at home?

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 29/06/2016 11:08:30    1873688

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Lads anyone know if people can simply turn up and pay at the gate for the replay this Saturday night in Cavan? Flying in from overseas on Friday, looking at tickets.ie I doubt they can post the tickets by Friday at this stage. Or at least there is a risk they might not arrive in time"
Probably the safest bet to buy them in a local Centra or Super Valu once you get here in the event you can't pay at the gate. Although they tend to have ticket vans outside most provincial grounds too.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 29/06/2016 11:10:05    1873689

Yeah agree with Croi buy in a centra or super value when you get here. You can find the list of tickets agents online. There were tickets on sale Saturday at the ground so expect the same Saturday though I do expect a bigger crowd.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 29/06/2016 11:46:02    1873721

Murphy must be carrying something...

He doesn't look right

That's why I'm sticking with Monaghan

It'll be some contest..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/06/2016 13:19:38    1873791

Yeah, at Breffni you can get tickets at the gate (a small ticket office between the town-end terrace and main terrace) or a ticket office behind the main stand.

This does involve queuing for the ticket then queuing again for the turnstile so print them online if you can, it's easier.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 29/06/2016 13:34:16    1873807

Many thanks lads for the reply, another Donegal fan and friend of mine will generously be heading to Super Valu or Centra this evening to pick a few tickets up for me. Cannot wait for this game. Donegal's whole season tends to hinge on winning Ulster so there's big pressure to build forward momentum. We need to win more ball the next day which surely involved a more sophisticated kickout strategy (albeit one which doesn't invite pressure), we also need to take our chances when they come. I feel Monaghan will cough up goal chances with the way we attack at times but will we take the chances?? Still would back Monaghan for the win. McManus only got one point from play the last day; he's bound to score more Saturday I would feel. Also I think that Donegal cough up too many frees and that will win the game for Monaghan, most likely.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 29/06/2016 14:00:49    1873819

Is Ciaran Thompson injured? i thought he would have played last week.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 29/06/2016 14:07:11    1873823

Your right about Murphy still carrying a niggle jimbob but even so he was immense in open play. If Donegal continue to play him inside I think it is the winning of the game for them. He caused havoc in there last weekend and opens space for the runners coming through. I do not go with the notion that winning Ulster is the be all and end all for Donegal. They have far too a talented squad to base their season on this. I fancy Donegal at the weekend providing tactics remain the same. Big improvement still needed in the discipline stakes plus if they do give away frees be smart in where they are located. The Dubs and Kerry have this down to a tee. They give away frees but make sure they are just out of scoring range. I can only presume Ciaran Thompson is not 100% fit as surely we would have seen more of him. Off to see the Rossies and Galway minors later. Potential quarter final opponents for the Donegal minors further down the line in a quarter final or semi final. Be interested to see how they compare.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 29/06/2016 14:38:59    1873839

Replying To Donegalman:  "Is Ciaran Thompson injured? i thought he would have played last week."
I don't think Ciaran is injured, he is just not being selected. He did the warm up with the team last weekend and was selected in the 26-man squad, which is more than can be said for Stephen McBrearty, who didn't even make the match squad. Rory seems to want to go with the older lads unless he is forced into it e.g. Neil McGee being suspended paved the way for young Gillespie.

I really think Ciaran Thompson, Stephen McBrearty and Eoghan Ban Gallagher should be in the team, or at least being used as subs.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 29/06/2016 14:43:14    1873842

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I don't think Ciaran is injured, he is just not being selected. He did the warm up with the team last weekend and was selected in the 26-man squad, which is more than can be said for Stephen McBrearty, who didn't even make the match squad. Rory seems to want to go with the older lads unless he is forced into it e.g. Neil McGee being suspended paved the way for young Gillespie.

I really think Ciaran Thompson, Stephen McBrearty and Eoghan Ban Gallagher should be in the team, or at least being used as subs."
Can't understand the Stephen mc brearty one. Probably the best underage prospect we produced since his brother patrick. Patrick played at 18 years and Stephen is now coming 20 and can't even make. The 26. In a lot of people's eyes he shud b on the first 15. I think eoin ban too shud be getting a run probably the same speed as eoin and Ryan mc Hugh. I think speed is the one weapon that Monaghan don't like playing against.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2408 - 29/06/2016 15:39:39    1873876

So hard to call thsi again but I'm looking forward to another epic encounter!

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 30/06/2016 10:43:25    1874145

This is going to be a very tactical defensive game and I will go for the old dogs of Donegal who are happy with this type of game.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 30/06/2016 12:15:01    1874196

Will go to the wire once more. I think that the ref/ interpretation of a foul will be vitally important as almost every single tackle the last day was totally up for debate. I also predict that frees from around the 45 will be the winning or losing of this game, as the last day showed. May the best team win and hopefully we will enjoy another epic.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/06/2016 15:09:34    1874308

Will go to the wire once more. I think that the ref/ interpretation of a foul will be vitally important as almost every single tackle the last day was totally up for debate. I also predict that frees from around the 45 will be the winning or losing of this game, as the last day showed. May the best team win and hopefully we will enjoy another epic.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/06/2016 15:38:59    1874321

Replying To Donegalman:  "Will go to the wire once more. I think that the ref/ interpretation of a foul will be vitally important as almost every single tackle the last day was totally up for debate. I also predict that frees from around the 45 will be the winning or losing of this game, as the last day showed. May the best team win and hopefully we will enjoy another epic."
It will be close and probably down to who can pull a rabbit out of the hat this time.
Monaghan a little more predictable than Donegal but neither team lies down easily.
I wont be betting on it anyway that's for sure.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 01/07/2016 16:42:47    1874770

I think a lot will depend on the referee. Deegan was on the sideline and will have seen some of the things that went on. Banty has come out in the media about Donegal's line - clearly designed to influence the ref. Will Deegan have noted Corey's pulling and dragging on Murphy as well?

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 02/07/2016 09:30:26    1874918

Replying To opa01:  "I think a lot will depend on the referee. Deegan was on the sideline and will have seen some of the things that went on. Banty has come out in the media about Donegal's line - clearly designed to influence the ref. Will Deegan have noted Corey's pulling and dragging on Murphy as well?"
Or the pulling and dragging of McGee on Hughes all good backs do it and if they don't they aren't doing their jobs

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 02/07/2016 10:48:25    1874948

Can't understand the Stephen mc brearty one. Probably the best underage prospect we produced since his brother patrick. Patrick played at 18 years and Stephen is now coming 20 and can't even make. The 26. In a lot of people's eyes he shud b on the first 15. I think eoin ban too shud be getting a run probably the same speed as eoin and Ryan mc Hugh. I think speed is the one weapon that Monaghan don't like playing against.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts:29 - 29/06/2016 15:39:39 1

Having watched Stephen McBrearty a number of times with Donegal Minors in 2014 and U21's in 15/16, I think you first need to note that Stephen is a very different type of player to his brother Patrick, more of a half forward, but one that is excellent at launching attacks from his own half back line. I think himself and Ciaran Thompson are on par, I would actually give Ciaran Thompson the nod ahead of him after a few of his performances early in the year. I'm not sure either are ready for a starting 15 place, but they are not far off.

I agree on Donegal's pace, It made Monaghan uncomfortable at times, and Donegal seem to have plenty more of those players coming through. However shooting accuracy is what they badly need to address, as it is very poor at present. They are creating enough chances to win games comfortably, but are struggling to put those away.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 02/07/2016 12:28:32    1874976

Looking forward to another serious battle in Breffni. Monaghan need a better scoring return from some of their new forwards.
Word on the street today is that Drew Wylie is carrying an injury. Dessie Mone will start with Kieran Duffy moving into the full back line. That, plus a wet evening, might swing the verdict to Donegal.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 02/07/2016 12:47:06    1874983