Dublin v Meath

Firstly huge congrats to dubs, you have improved since 14, of that there is no doubt, I cant see anyone beating you, your fans are a credit to you, gracious in victory in the stadium.
However our game plan was a shambles , it worked somewhat for 35 mins, but we haven't the fitness do that for 70+ . The two incidents? I dont know if micky was going for the ball (he probably was ) but it was still a red card, grahams kick? I think is just one of those things, no intent. There will be no retrospective punishment, as I'm sure the cccc would view it as unintentionally.
Where to from here? Well I am looking forward to next year already, under a new exciting regime, players properly drilled, perhaps with Gillespie and McGill back, first thing first will be to gain promotion, not easy in itself, but few players this year will give James McCarty the frighteners like graham Reilly did, Harnan was exceptional as was keoghan, other lads need their confidence boosted by a proper coach, our fitness must be substantially increased, we have 2 men in waiting who are more than capable of doing all this and more.
Stability? Give me a break, there is no stability in going backwards.
Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/06/2016 10:24:04    1872621

Ah stop will you royaldunne with fitness that team is as fit as any other county team Dublin are just better. James McCarthy will sleep like a baby every night ,biggie scored some nice ones tbf but did his usual disappearing act when needed most.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/06/2016 10:32:30    1872626

Meath need to dust themselves off now

Derry up next - and Meath are capable of performing well up there

I'd fancy Meath to go through...

As for the game yesterday... sorry but...

We had far tougher league games this year... to think that was a Leinster semi-final V Meath... Dear oh dear... awful stuff.

I remember when Dublin beta Meath by 10pts in 1995... felt like a dream come true!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/06/2016 10:33:15    1872627

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah stop will you royaldunne with fitness that team is as fit as any other county team Dublin are just better. James McCarthy will sleep like a baby every night ,biggie scored some nice ones tbf but did his usual disappearing act when needed most."
Clondalkdub

They are not fit enough,I have watched Meath over the last four years against all kinds of opponents and they are not fit enough.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 10:35:28    1872628

Replying To waynoI:  "You're only saying that cause its a Dub saying it and in particular, me.

I'm just saying what everyone else thinks. Truth isn't nice to hear sometimes. .

I'm not being disrespectful, I'm being honest.

Dublin where passing it from side to side around the middle of the pitch for 2 minutes and 3 minutes at a time with no real urgency or intent to get forward and add to their tally, Watch the last 15 mins or so youll see what I mean., If they wanted to put up a massive win, they would of. The fact they didn't and just kept possession was in a way, taking the mick out Meath.

And we wont lose to Westmeath. What do you want me to do ? pretend I give them a chance ? ...

Every single poster on here, yourself included, knows Dublin will beat Westmeath, I was obviously being tongue in cheek with the "no point in WM turning up" remark, They will turn up, But they will be beaten.

Do you disagree with any of what I'm saying ?"
No Wayne in saying it because I'm not one to kick a dog when it's down nor am I one to disrespect the efforts of other counties. Sure a lot of what you say is true but there are ways and means of making your point and I simply don't like the way you made yours, your very fond of throwing your tuppence worth in on the Meath forum which not many Dubs do so I don't really know what your true intent is, maybe I have you figured out wrong but one thing I haven't figured wrong is that statements like the one you made are unnecessary and disrespectful that's my opinion I don't expect you to like it or agree with it either so there we are, I had good craic with loads of Dubs yesterday where we all bemoaned the standard of football in general and at full time none of them were happy with how Dublin saw out the game and neither was I, it would have been better if Dublin had gone for their scores and bet us by another 20 points than that fannying about they were doing for the last 10 or so minutes, it kind of showed contempt for the opposition.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 27/06/2016 10:35:59    1872629

Well what can you say about last nights game really.
Strange one that we didnt learn anything from a dublin point of view.
If I was a meath supporter I would be livid with the way they set up last night.
For me that was the first time in my life I have seen Meath concede defeat before the ball was thrown in.
It was identical to Westmeath in last years leinster final, they just played so defensiveto keep the score down.
They won the toss elected to play with a very strong wind and rain at their backs and what do they do only put fourteen men behind the ball.
Lets be honest this was Dublin in first gear last night, I got the feeling at any stage had they of put the boot down could have won this at any scoreline we wanted to.
there was huge talk of this being Meaths best prepared team well it didnt show at all.
Felt dermo had very good game for us,mccauley made a good impact off the bench.
other than that we were pretty much average just going through the motions.
Job done and onto the Leinster final with a chance to win 6 in a row.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2016 10:54:14    1872637

Replying To tearintom:  "I personally dont understand why teams just dont go up against Dublin and say "what have we got to lose" and have a right cut at them.

We have all these teams going in playing a way just to keep the score down, why? Whats the point? A defeat is a defeat either way and at the moment teams are just turning up to keep the score down. Dublin are handing out beatings anwyay so surely theres a lot to be said about getting beat but at least having a go at it."
excatly spot on.
I feel westmeath have to have a go in the final.
they done the damage limitation thing last year in the final
and lost by 13 points. now they are for the first time in history in two leinster finals back to back
whats the point in doing the same thing, I think they will set up more attacking.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2016 11:02:05    1872641

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Del a refs first job is to be neutral and fair. I am not joking when i say if u ever ref a Dublin team, on all known form from you on here, you would be neither neutral nor fair . You're genuine anti dub attitude from a serious ref is glaringly obvious. Why?"
Please explain further I never said one bad word about Dublin and to be clear am a very fair ref

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 27/06/2016 11:20:02    1872655

Replying To Richieq:  "No Wayne in saying it because I'm not one to kick a dog when it's down nor am I one to disrespect the efforts of other counties. Sure a lot of what you say is true but there are ways and means of making your point and I simply don't like the way you made yours, your very fond of throwing your tuppence worth in on the Meath forum which not many Dubs do so I don't really know what your true intent is, maybe I have you figured out wrong but one thing I haven't figured wrong is that statements like the one you made are unnecessary and disrespectful that's my opinion I don't expect you to like it or agree with it either so there we are, I had good craic with loads of Dubs yesterday where we all bemoaned the standard of football in general and at full time none of them were happy with how Dublin saw out the game and neither was I, it would have been better if Dublin had gone for their scores and bet us by another 20 points than that fannying about they were doing for the last 10 or so minutes, it kind of showed contempt for the opposition."
Well look, I'm sorry if anything I said offended you.

I just called it as I see it. Perhaps too soon but my opinion hasn't and wont change with regards to yesterday.

What you are saying about Dublin showing contempt, I agree with ye. That's the point I was taking about taking the mick, And ill be honest, I wasn't happy. I wanted us to keep putting the pressure on and not let up. Maybe they where reserving themselves.

It wasn't meant as disrespectful, I just felt that we didn't bother in the last quarter, And it looks like your agreeing with that. Maybe I put it a little bluntly.

As for Westmeath, Look, I don't give them a hope and I'm not apologisin for that, If I'm wrong I'm wrong but I cant see it.

That's not dissin their efforts, I just don't think they can compete with this Dublin team, No shame in that, This Dublin team are immense.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/06/2016 12:11:10    1872687

Replying To Richieq:  "No Wayne in saying it because I'm not one to kick a dog when it's down nor am I one to disrespect the efforts of other counties. Sure a lot of what you say is true but there are ways and means of making your point and I simply don't like the way you made yours, your very fond of throwing your tuppence worth in on the Meath forum which not many Dubs do so I don't really know what your true intent is, maybe I have you figured out wrong but one thing I haven't figured wrong is that statements like the one you made are unnecessary and disrespectful that's my opinion I don't expect you to like it or agree with it either so there we are, I had good craic with loads of Dubs yesterday where we all bemoaned the standard of football in general and at full time none of them were happy with how Dublin saw out the game and neither was I, it would have been better if Dublin had gone for their scores and bet us by another 20 points than that fannying about they were doing for the last 10 or so minutes, it kind of showed contempt for the opposition."
Again, we have the argument about the standard of football which in my opinion is not the issue. The issue yesterday and for the last number of years in leinster is the poor quality of the opposition to Dublin. There has been plenty of really great football matches in the last 5 years and more than likely they will be seen again from here on when the better teams start to play each other. Example Dublin V Kerry in 2011 and 2013, mayo v dublin in 2012 and 2015, kerry v mayo in 2014, donegal v dublin in 2014. Dublin play lovely football and are prepared to work at beating defensive strategies. I would also question if Kerry were winning the all-ireland every other year would we hear this negativity about the modern game. It has evolved and will again. Switch on TG4 and watch some of the gamed in the 70s, 80s and 90s, absolutely a million miles from where we are at know. And bemoaning the lack of high fielding in the modern game did anyone stop teams from kicking the ball long whether it is from kickouts or into the forward line. Meath done it twice yesterday and reaped some dividends but it seemed to not be part of their plan. Time for the meaths and kildares to get of their arses and sort themselves out. Nostalgia blinds peoples opinions and this is very much the case with their opinion on the game. Answer me a question, richieq, what progress have meath made in the last 5 years?

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 27/06/2016 13:02:26    1872719

What was on show yesterday made for poor fare from a Leinster and Meath point of view i think.
Sides seem to go out and think they can stand back and hope to keep the score respectable I feel instead of having a go.
Westmeath were the same last year and again to some degree yesterdat against a poor Kildare outfit. It was only when the went at them that they got on top. No, Kildare or Meath are not Dublin but whoever beats them will not do it by watching either of those two teams.
Dublin will win Leinster again of course but we have yet to see the form that suggests a back to back for me.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/06/2016 13:05:00    1872721

I think some of what's being said is unfair on Meath.

They went out to win, they attacked reasonably well at the start of the game.

Second half they were out on their feet.

It's impossible to attack if you don't have the energy to win the ball back.

Dublin then just pinned them back.

Dublin's first 15 are a bit better than Meaths. Dublins subs are head and shoulders above what Meath have.

Westmeath won't be able to cope either.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4232 - 27/06/2016 13:44:00    1872756

So this is 2016 and this is what Dublin vs Meath has become. It really is sad from a Meath perspective to see the manner in which we were beaten yesterday. Dublin never got out of 1st gear which really is the scariest thought that comes to mind. Their level of control was hugely impressive but in fairness we made it very easy for them.

In the opening 15 minutes it looked like we were going to give Dublin a game. Our running game through the centre was working for us but as the half wore on we became less and less ambitious. We ended up pulling our midfield and half forward line inside our own half so anytime we got possession in our own half we gave it away by either carrying the ball into the tackle around the middle or kicking it straight to another Dublin player. Any time we tried to attack we just had no options up front so Dublin just swept up everything. Meath never put pressure on the Dublin kick out either so we just invited them onto us.

I think our management showed a real naivety yesterday and never really set up the team with a purpose to win. Whether they deny that or not doesn't matter because there was enough evidence out on the field to suggest otherwise. We penned ourselves in so Dublin were happy enough to waste time playing keep ball. They knew they didn't have to try hard because they had us exactly where they wanted us so our threat was nullified.

It really was a humiliating defeat just to see how far we have fallen and to also witness the death of a once great rivalry. The way Dublin pegged it around in that pitiful manner was very hard to stomach but sadly that's what it has come to.

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 789 - 27/06/2016 13:51:13    1872760

Replying To Whammo86:  "I think some of what's being said is unfair on Meath.

Dublin's first 15 are a bit better than Meaths. Dublins subs are head and shoulders above what Meath have.

Westmeath won't be able to cope either."
Whammo

The issue with Meath is,that the fact that Meath are out on their feet for most second halves or at least last 20mins of most games in the last 4 years.If a managment team cannot get them fit,then what else can he do?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 14:15:03    1872779

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Whammo

The issue with Meath is,that the fact that Meath are out on their feet for most second halves or at least last 20mins of most games in the last 4 years.If a managment team cannot get them fit,then what else can he do?"
Yeh I do agree that that is shocking.

I really wonder what they're training is like and why they're so bad.

Some of it probably has to do with their style of play too I suppose. A lot of off the shoulder hand passing with moves starting from very deep.

Tyrone/Donegal also do it but maybe they have players more suited to that style.

Cavanagh, Donnelly, the McHughs are all serious athletes.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4232 - 27/06/2016 15:08:00    1872812

Replying To Whammo86:  "I think some of what's being said is unfair on Meath.

Westmeath won't be able to cope either."
I don't know what the tv cameras showed you, but Meath certainly didn't set up to win the game. They win the toss and choose to play with a strong wind and driving rain at their backs in the first half, yet proceeded to play 13 and 14 men in their own half. That's not having a go.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2016 15:11:28    1872814

Replying To hill16no1man:  "I don't know what the tv cameras showed you, but Meath certainly didn't set up to win the game. They win the toss and choose to play with a strong wind and driving rain at their backs in the first half, yet proceeded to play 13 and 14 men in their own half. That's not having a go."
Also we had Andy Tormey a big guy,not the quickest and not mobile.Instead of playing him FF,we play him off all people as a sweeper for most of the game.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/06/2016 15:26:07    1872833

Replying To waynoI:  "Well look, I'm sorry if anything I said offended you.

I just called it as I see it. Perhaps too soon but my opinion hasn't and wont change with regards to yesterday.

What you are saying about Dublin showing contempt, I agree with ye. That's the point I was taking about taking the mick, And ill be honest, I wasn't happy. I wanted us to keep putting the pressure on and not let up. Maybe they where reserving themselves.

It wasn't meant as disrespectful, I just felt that we didn't bother in the last quarter, And it looks like your agreeing with that. Maybe I put it a little bluntly.

As for Westmeath, Look, I don't give them a hope and I'm not apologisin for that, If I'm wrong I'm wrong but I cant see it.

That's not dissin their efforts, I just don't think they can compete with this Dublin team, No shame in that, This Dublin team are immense."
Thats fine with me as long as you keep that tell-it-as-it-is attitude in the real world wayno.
If you're sitting in quinns or walking down Jones Rd on match day and you tell the WH man next to you that his team shouldn't turn up then work away lad...

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 27/06/2016 15:35:41    1872838

Replying To Adamski:  "Again, we have the argument about the standard of football which in my opinion is not the issue. The issue yesterday and for the last number of years in leinster is the poor quality of the opposition to Dublin. There has been plenty of really great football matches in the last 5 years and more than likely they will be seen again from here on when the better teams start to play each other. Example Dublin V Kerry in 2011 and 2013, mayo v dublin in 2012 and 2015, kerry v mayo in 2014, donegal v dublin in 2014. Dublin play lovely football and are prepared to work at beating defensive strategies. I would also question if Kerry were winning the all-ireland every other year would we hear this negativity about the modern game. It has evolved and will again. Switch on TG4 and watch some of the gamed in the 70s, 80s and 90s, absolutely a million miles from where we are at know. And bemoaning the lack of high fielding in the modern game did anyone stop teams from kicking the ball long whether it is from kickouts or into the forward line. Meath done it twice yesterday and reaped some dividends but it seemed to not be part of their plan. Time for the meaths and kildares to get of their arses and sort themselves out. Nostalgia blinds peoples opinions and this is very much the case with their opinion on the game. Answer me a question, richieq, what progress have meath made in the last 5 years?"
The Meath senior team has made no progress what so ever in last 5 years, rather than progress it has been the story of a continually declining football county. We have had the some of the worst results in our history the last 5 years, 16 point defeat to Dublin in 2014, first ever loss to Westmeath (after being way ahead) last year. Our underage has been poor for many years (From talking to some things may be improving a little bit now, I hope this is the case?) and I have heard stories of former successful players wanting to get involved in training younger players but a county board who want to have nothing to do with them. Trying not to have a go at MOD as being an intercounty manager is a tough role for any would be manager. Some Meath players have walked away from county team, makes you wonder have they any confidence in the set up. Meath county board seem to have no ambition for the county team for the last decade and the management setup being left in place shows up their lack of ambition. Yesterday's game was the eight championship game in succession where Meath have been outscored in the second half, Meath's level of fitness does not seem to be up to it which goes back to the team not being properly prepared.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1355 - 27/06/2016 15:39:52    1872841

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Also we had Andy Tormey a big guy,not the quickest and not mobile.Instead of playing him FF,we play him off all people as a sweeper for most of the game."
Yeah some of it made no sense
id be very annoyed if I was a Meath supporter the way they lacked any ambition to win. In the second half Dublin strung 30 odd passes together inviting Meath to come out of the defensive set up and the lack of interest in the Meath player's to try take the ball off Dublin was so bad. Surely if someone is doing that around you it would make you feel angry and determined to take it off them.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/06/2016 15:55:15    1872861