Dublin v Meath

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Burke should have seen red,but people are having a laugh if they think the Reilly one was a red.."
Colm O Rourke for one thought it was.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 27/06/2016 00:00:19    1872514

Burke could of broke Kilkennys jaw the way he went in with a closed fist. A definite Red.
Reilly left his boot trailing into Connollys face ,knew exactly what he was doing, then put up his hands as if he was innocent, more cowardly than anything else.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/06/2016 00:23:18    1872521

Replying To AthCliath:  "Burke could of broke Kilkennys jaw the way he went in with a closed fist. A definite Red.
Reilly left his boot trailing into Connollys face ,knew exactly what he was doing, then put up his hands as if he was innocent, more cowardly than anything else."
He's lucky Connolly didn't take his head off for that!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 27/06/2016 00:29:37    1872523

Was Reilly's kick out a red card ? Was Burkes punch a red card ?

Doesn't matter, Irrelevant.

Had no bearing on the game as Dublin just basically took the mick.

All week we've been hearing about MOD and preparing for Dublin, But like Brollier said, What was the point ?

Damage limitation is what they went for. No ambition to win the game.

Ive even seen a few lads on here say that Dublin didn't have any goal chances. Fair point... But Meath still lost by 10 points.

10 points that literally could have been 20 or 25. When you see a team keeping possession like we did for 2 and 3 minutes at a time with no real ambition to add to the scoreboard, We dictated it. We toyed with them. The margain of victory is smaller than 2014, But the gulf in class is only getting wider.

No point in Westmeath showing up in 3 weeks.

Those players don't do complacency. We will chew them up and spit them out. The real challenge comes when we play in the QF in august some time.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/06/2016 00:33:58    1872524

Replying To AthCliath:  "Burke could of broke Kilkennys jaw the way he went in with a closed fist. A definite Red.
Reilly left his boot trailing into Connollys face ,knew exactly what he was doing, then put up his hands as if he was innocent, more cowardly than anything else."
Reilly bottled it when Connolly stood up and dropped him. That's what the hands out motion was. He cacked himself.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/06/2016 00:37:53    1872525

Replying To waynoI:  "Was Reilly's kick out a red card ? Was Burkes punch a red card ?

Doesn't matter, Irrelevant.

Had no bearing on the game as Dublin just basically took the mick.

All week we've been hearing about MOD and preparing for Dublin, But like Brollier said, What was the point ?

Damage limitation is what they went for. No ambition to win the game.

Ive even seen a few lads on here say that Dublin didn't have any goal chances. Fair point... But Meath still lost by 10 points.

10 points that literally could have been 20 or 25. When you see a team keeping possession like we did for 2 and 3 minutes at a time with no real ambition to add to the scoreboard, We dictated it. We toyed with them. The margain of victory is smaller than 2014, But the gulf in class is only getting wider.

No point in Westmeath showing up in 3 weeks.

Those players don't do complacency. We will chew them up and spit them out. The real challenge comes when we play in the QF in august some time."
Dublin took the mick?? No point in Westmeath showing up?? Whatever your notions are Wayne comments like that are not just disrespectful there just wrong and give fuel to the fire of those who like to knock the Dubs. Ye won well in second gear, third at best, show some bit of humility and respect like a good man

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 27/06/2016 00:59:19    1872531

Jesus christ wayne will u have a little class and show some respect to westmeath FFS. That kinda attitude really portrays u in a bad light man. Give that "i say it like it is" bullsh*t a rest will u

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 27/06/2016 01:03:04    1872533

Replying To Richieq:  "Dublin took the mick?? No point in Westmeath showing up?? Whatever your notions are Wayne comments like that are not just disrespectful there just wrong and give fuel to the fire of those who like to knock the Dubs. Ye won well in second gear, third at best, show some bit of humility and respect like a good man"
You're only saying that cause its a Dub saying it and in particular, me.

I'm just saying what everyone else thinks. Truth isn't nice to hear sometimes. .

I'm not being disrespectful, I'm being honest.

Dublin where passing it from side to side around the middle of the pitch for 2 minutes and 3 minutes at a time with no real urgency or intent to get forward and add to their tally, Watch the last 15 mins or so youll see what I mean., If they wanted to put up a massive win, they would of. The fact they didn't and just kept possession was in a way, taking the mick out Meath.

And we wont lose to Westmeath. What do you want me to do ? pretend I give them a chance ? ...

Every single poster on here, yourself included, knows Dublin will beat Westmeath, I was obviously being tongue in cheek with the "no point in WM turning up" remark, They will turn up, But they will be beaten.

Do you disagree with any of what I'm saying ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/06/2016 01:27:00    1872536

He's right Wayno, that's a little over the top don't you think?

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 27/06/2016 02:30:14    1872542

Replying To waynoI:  "Fair play htaem. Reckon meath will have enough to beat derry in two weeks time"
Waynol if I was you I wouldn't be including myself with the rest of the dublin fans of been gracious it's guys like you who give ammo to the likes of the master.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 27/06/2016 04:44:19    1872545

I personally dont understand why teams just dont go up against Dublin and say "what have we got to lose" and have a right cut at them.

We have all these teams going in playing a way just to keep the score down, why? Whats the point? A defeat is a defeat either way and at the moment teams are just turning up to keep the score down. Dublin are handing out beatings anwyay so surely theres a lot to be said about getting beat but at least having a go at it.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1349 - 27/06/2016 08:17:56    1872547

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Jesus christ wayne will u have a little class and show some respect to westmeath FFS. That kinda attitude really portrays u in a bad light man. Give that "i say it like it is" bullsh*t a rest will u"
It was completely tongue in cheek saying theres no point in them turning up.

when I give a team respect in your view I'm bein a lickarse wanting the culchies to like me, When I say we will beat Westmeath you say I'm being disrespectful. Cant win.

And anyway, while we are on about being disrespectful, There have been numberous people on here (Dubs and culchies) saying Dublins championship doesn't start until August, I'm sure if I looked hard enough id find you dismissing teams in Leinster aswell. So less of the "disrespect" shite.

You're all full of it yourselves givin it socks about Dublin not having opposition in Leinster

Dublin will do to Westmeath what they did to Laois, Meath, And all other Leinster counties in their path in recent years. They will turn up, They will win comfortably, They will go home. And people will set up threads about Chronic lobsided games in Leinster

Meanwhile. Wayno here states we will dance all over Westmeath and he is hung out to dry.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/06/2016 08:23:06    1872548

Knowing when to say it and in what context helps Wayno.
I wouldn't fancy being told by Kilkenny fans after our hurlers were bet that they had harder training sessions.
Immediately after a defeat is a bitter pill for fans , who have travelled to games. We can be gracious in victory and move on.
Yes we looked a standard above yesterday amd for that im delighted. Thrilled to have players of the class of Carthy, Connolly and Flynn on our team to name just a few . People talk about our finances, but really we are fortunate to have 3 or 4 leaders on the same team at the same time and this brings on other lads and gives them belief when they look around the dressing room before running out onto the pitch.
I hope Meath carry some of the first half performance into their game against Derry and best of luck to them in the next round.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/06/2016 08:26:53    1872549

Replying To KerryKillers:  "He's right Wayno, that's a little over the top don't you think?"
Nope.

Honestly think its calling a spade a spade.

Westmeath, like every other side in Leinster right now, are muck. And incapable of putting any kind of challenge up to Dublin over 70 minutes.

Meath where best placed to do it, And they where huffin and puffin to keep the score down, let alone actually try and win the game.

What I'm saying is true.

There have been dozens of threads set up talking about our lack of a challenge in the provincial campaign.

I'm only writing what every single GAA fan thinks, Dublin will beat Westmeath.

And only after we beat them, Will our championship start.

If Joe Brolly, Colm Parkinson, Pat Spillane, Peter Canavan or Jim McGuinness said what I'm saying, I don't think anyone would disagree with them.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/06/2016 08:30:12    1872550

Replying To dubarra:  "Waynol if I was you I wouldn't be including myself with the rest of the dublin fans of been gracious it's guys like you who give ammo to the likes of the master."
And ... ?

I've never met TheMaster.

His opinion on Dublin is his opinion, He wont change it one way or the other because of me and what I think of us beating Westmeath.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/06/2016 08:32:29    1872553

Firstly, well done Dublin. Deserved victory as by far the better team, both on the day and over the last number of years.

In the first half, I felt we tried to go with the dubs and succeeded to an extent, but conceded way too much possession especially from kickouts or restarts. Both Connolly and Flynn scored two brilliant points in the first half from outside the arc we were setting up. Even though we went with Dublin in the first half, it was inevitable what was going to happen in the second. That said, I wasn't expecting such a non contest. Once we missed the goal opportunity by Michael Newman, right after half time, it was as if we even stopped trying. I know that wasn't the case as the players give all they can, (but we just aren't good enough yet), as it was just simply the case of Dublin showing their class.

One thing I will say, is that when you are inferior in quality to the opposition (as Meath currently are, like Ireland in the soccer), a number of things need to come into play for victory to occur.
1. You simply have to keep the scoreboard ticking over and we didn't. Newman and Cillian O'Sullivan kicked 4 frees wide in second half. Not to mention the 2 goal chances.
2. You need the superior quality opposition to have an off day, which wasn't the case. It just took Dublin longer to settle than normal.
3. You need an element of luck, be it by your own making or otherwise. Neither goal opportunity was taken, as Dalton McDonagh hit thin air and Newman;.. well I still don't know what he was doing. Both did the hardest bit by collecting possession and creating the chance, but both unlucky fluffed their lines. However, people may say that Micky Burke and Graham Reilly were lucky, but I disagree. I was sitting on front of both incidents, and Burke was going for the ball without any obvious intent, while Reilly didn't seem to connect with the leg. Maybe I am wrong, as not seen it back on TV. Also, losing Brian Power to an ankle injury (who was just back from injury yesterday) in a freak accident warming up summed up the day. (He landed on a football in a warm up drill)
4. You need the referee to give you something throughout the course of the match, which I felt didn't happen. In fact I thought some decisions were questionable for Dublin frees, which were all excellently converted by Dean Rock. (Shows the importance of a free taker, keeping the scoreboard ticking). Along with that, James McCarthy (for all his brilliance as a player) and John Small pulled and dragged their opponents (namely Reilly and Eamon Wallace respectively) all day as they tried to get away. No fouls were seen or given against either player.
5. The inferior quality opponent need a defined and constructive game plan. We simply didn't have one evident, as defending deep without pressing the opposition for periods and creating the mistakes is not constructive. Added to that, I felt the substitutions were unusual. Andrew Tormey replaced by Ronan Jones (for his championship debut) was weird. Tormey was probably one of a few physically putting it up to Dublin. Also removing Wallace, who was getting possession, be it too deep, and leaving McDonagh on for so long, again was questionable. Could have put Tormey in full forward as selected and when in possession go route one. Also bringing in Seamus Lavin was unusual? He has only played 25 minutes of league football, up in Owenbeg this year, before being subbed. Also, leaving Bryan McMahon on the bench for so long when we needed pace to create outlets when we did gain possession back. 67th minute introduction is a waste.

This all said, Dublin as expected won in second or third gear, as it will take the All Ireland champions to stop them.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 27/06/2016 08:56:53    1872561

What a depressing second half. Once Dublin got a bit ahead I got the feeling Dublin were happy enough and didn't go for the jugular while Meath were thinking of damage limitation with thoughts on the Derry match 6 days later. I think it was a bad day for the future of the Leinster Championship, the 2 counties which might have the population/ and playing numbers to possibly challenge Dublin (Meath and Kildare) are so far off the standard required. I think the Reilly and Burke incidents are being over talked about. I did not see any intent Reilly's part and I honestly think the Burke one was not as bad as it looked, I think he initially ran over with the intention of trying to punch the ball from Kilkenny's grasp, Kilkenny then passed the ball on and when Burke got there late he tried to follow through with a rough tackle but was not going in with the intention of making contact with his face, I think it was more of an awkward rough challenge and a yellow card was the correct course of action.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1356 - 27/06/2016 08:58:45    1872564

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "I understand where your coming from but Burke is not a dirty our nasty player I reffed him many times"
It makes no difference if he is not a dirty or nasty player during the times you reffed him. He is to be judged of each particular incident while on the pitch, and in this instance he was dirty and nasty and should have seen red. You, as a ref, should know that too.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 27/06/2016 09:27:53    1872579

Ah please stop blaming the Meath manager what's he suppose to do against this Dublin team that have been bet once in championship football the last 4 years? In 2014 he went man on man and we all know what happened yesterday he went defensive what's he suppose to do? His players are nowhere near as good as our players and like most managers this year playing Dublin they will lose. What can the manager do when Newman was kicking easy wides in the second half or O Sullivan , nothing is the answer. Once the players go out onto the pitch it's up to them to deliver the manager can't do it for them. This is a once in a lifetime Dublin team it's no shame getting bet by ten points to us I know Meath folk don't want to hear that but that's the truth of it and I'm being genuine here.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/06/2016 10:04:17    1872605

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Ah please stop blaming the Meath manager what's he suppose to do against this Dublin team that have been bet once in championship football the last 4 years? In 2014 he went man on man and we all know what happened yesterday he went defensive what's he suppose to do? His players are nowhere near as good as our players and like most managers this year playing Dublin they will lose. What can the manager do when Newman was kicking easy wides in the second half or O Sullivan , nothing is the answer. Once the players go out onto the pitch it's up to them to deliver the manager can't do it for them. This is a once in a lifetime Dublin team it's no shame getting bet by ten points to us I know Meath folk don't want to hear that but that's the truth of it and I'm being genuine here."
From the outside looking in,i would agree with this to a certain extent.Meath could have Mick O Dwyer,Kevin Heffernan and Sean Boylan as a three man dream team ticket,but Dublin would win with a bit to spare.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/06/2016 10:12:23    1872609