Dublin v Meath

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ziggy. Carlow were actually fav, 4/5 and we were 5/4. I remember this very clearly as it was one of those days I had a fair few quid on us."
Royaldunne...carlow were 2-1underdogs against meath in 96..we had beaten wexford and wicklow and some tipped us to beat meath but physically we were way off

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 26/06/2016 21:09:56    1872428

Replying To HEREBENJI:  "Ziggy, you were slagging off Ulster football on another thread. Have you nothing to say about Reilly kicking a man on the ground or Burkes punch to the face?. I suppose that is good manly meath football. Given the bore fests served up by Leinster counties in recent years I'm only too happy to see competitive Ulster football."
Hardly. A kick more of a trailing leg and on Burke it was closed fist but no intent in my eyes

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 26/06/2016 21:13:44    1872431

Replying To Htaem:  "1st off well done to Dublin, deserved winners without a doubt.

Very disappointing from a Meath point of view, we didn't come out and battle for the second half at all, so depressing after a reasonably good 1st half.

Once again though I have to say fairplay to the Dublin fans, very graceous in victory, top notch stuff lads, I mean that honestly."
Fair play htaem. Reckon meath will have enough to beat derry in two weeks time

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/06/2016 21:14:40    1872433

Meath started off ok. I think for the goal chance it should've been a penalty, Cluxton pulled McDonagh's leg. Could have made the game a little more interesting.

Clear red card for Burke, I was surprised the ref missed it. I knew straight away what he'd done.

If Reilly meant to kick Connolly, which I think he did, it was really filthy.

Some of Dublin's scores in the first half were great. Connolly and Flynn both got beauties from the right hand side. There's not a lot the Meath defence can do about that. McManamon although not his most spectacular game, was very effective. He's the sort of player the weaker counties miss. A focal point in around the centre of the oppositions goal, finds space to be an option so that Dublin can get themselves in behind the half back line.

Second half Meath were poor. To be fair though it doesn't look like they've the players really. Wallace got himself on the ball well and got a good point but he is not the most comfortable on the ball. He isn't a great link man for playing balls into the forward line. He was also probably playing too deep.

Reilly scored 3 from play which is a good return but showed very little other than that. I think he fades from games too easily. There were times when Cillian O'Sullivan had the ball was looking for a pass inside but there was little option for him.

I think MOD is just not up to organising an attack. When Meath moved forward every thing seemed off the cuff. Whereas when Dublin move forward it felt like they'd a coordinated plan.

I think with a better manager there is more potential to Meath than was shown today.

To not have a better kicking strategy in place after what happened vs Westmeath last year is criminal.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4235 - 26/06/2016 21:18:23    1872436

Replying To KerryKillers:  "Hey Tonny1975, where are you? In less than 5,000 words, explain what happened, I mean, we got no goals, it was raining and..."
Make it 4.000

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/06/2016 21:18:38    1872437

Replying To carlovia:  "Royaldunne...carlow were 2-1underdogs against meath in 96..we had beaten wexford and wicklow and some tipped us to beat meath but physically we were way off"
I've seen posters debate this a few times.Obviously i don't know for sure what the odds were for this game but i would be amazed if Carlow were favourites with the bookies v Meath.Doesn't make any sense.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/06/2016 21:42:30    1872448

Dublin strolled through the game, could have easily been 20+ if they were in the mood. Love to know what Meath do in training or what the game plan was, Burke lucky to stay on.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 26/06/2016 21:53:29    1872454

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Hardly. A kick more of a trailing leg and on Burke it was closed fist but no intent in my eyes"
Would you have sent Burke off?

I'm not sure about Reilly's. I've a suspicion it was deliberate although I hope it wasn't.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4235 - 26/06/2016 21:56:43    1872457

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Hardly. A kick more of a trailing leg and on Burke it was closed fist but no intent in my eyes"
100% intent. I was directly in front of him.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/06/2016 22:03:23    1872463

First off well done to Dublin and hard luck to Meath.

As a neutral it hard to watch especially in the second half but when there was a bit of a contest there Dublin left a lot of space at the back and when Meath ran at them on the counter they gave away a few frees. Also between the Laois game and today's one I think the jury is out on the Dublin full back line (More so Byrne and Cooper) under the high ball and I think Meath should have tried to pump more ball in. Flynn, Brogan and Rock all as consistent as ever and Connolly is just class. What a dummy and finish.

Not many positives for Meath in this unfortunately and won't learn much.
The second half reminded me of the collapse against Westmeath last year and it was clearly evident in the last 15 minutes when Dublin toyed with ye that fitness is a huge issue. The midfield and half forward line should have pushed up and worked their socks off to win the ball back but they couldn't. (No.9 for Meath did try hard and looks a decent footballer). They don't need management to tell them that when you are chasing a game you have to come out of your half.
Going forward No.11 looks like he could be a class act and its only his first year of championship football too am I right? And Newman for frees was brilliant in the first half missed a couple in the second half though. Reilly kicked three nice points but after that he done nothing else and was lucky to stay on the field for leaving the boot in. Meath need to find another scoring forward from play if they are to get back to the top table.

Dublin are a top class team and most people could guess the result but I don't think the players are there for Meath but the spine looks good. The likes of Keoghan and Harnan in the backs looked solid but they need better players either side of them. No.9 was good a nice carrier and passer of the ball but needs to bulk up a small bit for midfield. No.11 and Newman upfront have potential however they need other forwards to step up or find new ones.

Jackos_Wacko (Kerry) - Posts: 417 - 26/06/2016 22:05:45    1872466

Replying To Jackeen:  "100% intent. I was directly in front of him."
I'd give Reilly the benefit of the doubt as it looked pretty soft.Burke's was a bad looking puch and C Kilkenny is not a man to go down easily.I'm no ref and never blame a ref as its a thankless job but maybe Burke can count himself lucky to have remained on the field.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/06/2016 22:11:31    1872472

Replying To Jackos_Wacko:  "First off well done to Dublin and hard luck to Meath.

As a neutral it hard to watch especially in the second half but when there was a bit of a contest there Dublin left a lot of space at the back and when Meath ran at them on the counter they gave away a few frees. Also between the Laois game and today's one I think the jury is out on the Dublin full back line (More so Byrne and Cooper) under the high ball and I think Meath should have tried to pump more ball in. Flynn, Brogan and Rock all as consistent as ever and Connolly is just class. What a dummy and finish.

Not many positives for Meath in this unfortunately and won't learn much.
The second half reminded me of the collapse against Westmeath last year and it was clearly evident in the last 15 minutes when Dublin toyed with ye that fitness is a huge issue. The midfield and half forward line should have pushed up and worked their socks off to win the ball back but they couldn't. (No.9 for Meath did try hard and looks a decent footballer). They don't need management to tell them that when you are chasing a game you have to come out of your half.
Going forward No.11 looks like he could be a class act and its only his first year of championship football too am I right? And Newman for frees was brilliant in the first half missed a couple in the second half though. Reilly kicked three nice points but after that he done nothing else and was lucky to stay on the field for leaving the boot in. Meath need to find another scoring forward from play if they are to get back to the top table.

Dublin are a top class team and most people could guess the result but I don't think the players are there for Meath but the spine looks good. The likes of Keoghan and Harnan in the backs looked solid but they need better players either side of them. No.9 was good a nice carrier and passer of the ball but needs to bulk up a small bit for midfield. No.11 and Newman upfront have potential however they need other forwards to step up or find new ones."
Kind words and it is hard to know if we have potential, but if we have it will never be realised under this management

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 26/06/2016 22:21:50    1872476

Agree. Will be interesting to see if there's any retrospective punishment since there was no card issued at the time.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 26/06/2016 22:58:05    1872489

I'm no great fan of the Dublin footballers but I have to say Meath should have had two red cards for those incidents as highlighted on the Sunday Game.I really can't understand the Bourke one as it happened right in front of the linesman.
Once again the officiating was found wanting.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 26/06/2016 23:20:05    1872497

Me thinks you need specsavers so!!! :)

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 26/06/2016 23:26:02    1872498

guess your eyes were closed so?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 26/06/2016 23:28:31    1872499

I understand where your coming from but Burke is not a dirty our nasty player I reffed him many times

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 26/06/2016 23:35:24    1872506

Burke should have seen red,but people are having a laugh if they think the Reilly one was a red..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 26/06/2016 23:40:09    1872508

Del a refs first job is to be neutral and fair. I am not joking when i say if u ever ref a Dublin team, on all known form from you on here, you would be neither neutral nor fair . You're genuine anti dub attitude from a serious ref is glaringly obvious. Why?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/06/2016 23:53:20    1872510

The simple fact that HS refuse to post anything I say about Dublin that isn't glowing or fawning demonstrates that the Southern media are neither fair or unbiased when it comes to the GAA. I have witnessed the most offensive, partitionist bile on HS about Ulster sides, and most of it gets through, but Dublin and Kerry are off limits when it comes to criticism. Wise up HS, your censorship is as bad as North Korea at times.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 27/06/2016 00:00:16    1872513