Dublin v Meath

Replying To HighKings:  "We're probably going to get hammered. A 5 point loss would be a good result. To have any hope we need a very aggressive blanket defensive with Wallace, O'Sullivan and Reilly breaking at pace. We should leave two big men, Newman and Tormey on the edge of the square and bring everyone else behind the ball when we don't have it. Soon as we lose the ball we need to sprint back and form a defensive structure. Can't see it happening."
Do you want to see a football match or a Donegal style rugby league game?

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 20/06/2016 02:13:28    1869261

Replying To jimbodub:  "Dublin played well in places against Laois, but overall the performance was below par

That's a good thing for Dublin as it exposed a couple of issues and would have brought a bit of focus to their training over the last couple of weeks

I just don't see Dublin being caught cold, unless anything happens this week, Dublin should have a fully fit panel to pick from and we'll possibly see both Flynn and Andrews starting

That'll be some serious bench for Dublin... pace, power, skill in abundance to bring into the game

Meath will need goals, and I just don't see them committing a lot going forward, I can see them going very defensive, the days of Meath setting up man v man against Dublin will soon come to an end

I honestly hope Meath put in a big performance and trouble Dublin but I just don't see them winning

I think Meath will do just that but Dublin still to win by 6+

We just have too much at present for Meath to deal with for 70+ minutes..."
How is it that Dublin normally have a fully fit panel to choose from? Meath have been ravaged by injuries over the last number of years.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/06/2016 08:31:58    1869283

Replying To ziggy32001:  "How is it that Dublin normally have a fully fit panel to choose from? Meath have been ravaged by injuries over the last number of years."
This is the first time this year we've had a fully fit panel ?

We were missing Paddy Andrews and Paul Flynn for the Laois game.

And we had injuries in every game in the league.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 20/06/2016 08:57:50    1869293

I'd imagine every Dub is expecting to hammer Meath, a lot of Meath fans are expecting a hammering and I'd imagine basically every neutral is expecting Dublin to hammer Meath, probably to the point where a lot of them won't bother watching the game.

If there's any self-respect left within Meath, our players will go out determined to upset the odds, nothing short of a 70mins battling performance will be acceptable. I won't ask anymore of our players than to go out and battle right to the end, but throwing in the towel is totally unacceptable.

As for the result, I won't be happy if we lose by more than 10 but also I won't be happy if we lose by less than 10, who the hell could say they'd be happy with a loss, it makes no sense to me and I sincerely hope our players aren't training to 'keep the score down'. If they are then they should let us know because I'm not interested in going to see my team play if they're not interested in winning.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/06/2016 09:10:19    1869311

Its seems the GAA were determined to get Meath playing Derry away 6 days later!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/06/2016 09:51:06    1869341

Replying To Htaem:  "I'd imagine every Dub is expecting to hammer Meath, a lot of Meath fans are expecting a hammering and I'd imagine basically every neutral is expecting Dublin to hammer Meath, probably to the point where a lot of them won't bother watching the game.

If there's any self-respect left within Meath, our players will go out determined to upset the odds, nothing short of a 70mins battling performance will be acceptable. I won't ask anymore of our players than to go out and battle right to the end, but throwing in the towel is totally unacceptable.

As for the result, I won't be happy if we lose by more than 10 but also I won't be happy if we lose by less than 10, who the hell could say they'd be happy with a loss, it makes no sense to me and I sincerely hope our players aren't training to 'keep the score down'. If they are then they should let us know because I'm not interested in going to see my team play if they're not interested in winning."
Agreed, I dont get this moral victory thing one bit, never have never will, a loss is a loss, I've seen it with Westmeath and Las year with Fermanagh actually celebrating been beat, it doesn't sit well with me, bit like Irish fans who are there for the craic and a sing song.
The game itself? Well we are finally going to see mods master plan, the plan he has been practising for 2 years, the plan that got him reappointed, it all comes down to this game, and of course the plan to beat dubs, I dont know what it is, players haven't even discussed it with their families, selectors and backroom people have been sworn to secrecy. Will it work? I have no idea, I hope to god mod rams everything I've said about him down my throat, only time will tell.
Hon the Royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2016 09:58:22    1869350

Replying To royaldunne:  "Agreed, I dont get this moral victory thing one bit, never have never will, a loss is a loss, I've seen it with Westmeath and Las year with Fermanagh actually celebrating been beat, it doesn't sit well with me, bit like Irish fans who are there for the craic and a sing song.
The game itself? Well we are finally going to see mods master plan, the plan he has been practising for 2 years, the plan that got him reappointed, it all comes down to this game, and of course the plan to beat dubs, I dont know what it is, players haven't even discussed it with their families, selectors and backroom people have been sworn to secrecy. Will it work? I have no idea, I hope to god mod rams everything I've said about him down my throat, only time will tell.
Hon the Royal"
Mods game plan will be torn to shreds. I genuinely can't see anything but a double digit win. Meath were very poor against Fermanagh in the league. Have they improved since then?
Regarding Fermanagh last year we weren't celebrating getting beat. We thanked the players for giving us a great year. We recognised their sacrifice to give us a few great days out. Now perhaps you don't comprehend that a side might with the smallest pick in Ireland, no tradition to have made it to the all Ireland series is a massive achievement. Last summer I had some great days as a Fermanagh man, I could walk with my head held high after some great performances and some great results. 5 points down with 5 to go and we beat Roscommon. It was those sort of performances we were thanking them for. It didn't matter who beat us or what we lost by, we were always going to thank those players for restoring pride in the county and allowing us to walk with out head held high.
Now you may still view it as celebrating defeat but you would be wrong. Royal dunne at this moment in time I couldn't really care what you think. Feel free to think that we were celebrating defeat from your high throne looking back at all Ireland wins from many moons ago. At least in Fermanagh we look forward, not backwards.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 20/06/2016 11:03:57    1869430

Replying To gotmilk:  "Mods game plan will be torn to shreds. I genuinely can't see anything but a double digit win. Meath were very poor against Fermanagh in the league. Have they improved since then?
Regarding Fermanagh last year we weren't celebrating getting beat. We thanked the players for giving us a great year. We recognised their sacrifice to give us a few great days out. Now perhaps you don't comprehend that a side might with the smallest pick in Ireland, no tradition to have made it to the all Ireland series is a massive achievement. Last summer I had some great days as a Fermanagh man, I could walk with my head held high after some great performances and some great results. 5 points down with 5 to go and we beat Roscommon. It was those sort of performances we were thanking them for. It didn't matter who beat us or what we lost by, we were always going to thank those players for restoring pride in the county and allowing us to walk with out head held high.
Now you may still view it as celebrating defeat but you would be wrong. Royal dunne at this moment in time I couldn't really care what you think. Feel free to think that we were celebrating defeat from your high throne looking back at all Ireland wins from many moons ago. At least in Fermanagh we look forward, not backwards."
Chillax lads,looks like we've all got the monday blues ):

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 20/06/2016 11:10:30    1869437

Replying To cuederocket:  "Chillax lads,looks like we've all got the monday blues ):"
Haha sorry cue but I'm sick of this sh*te saying that Fermanagh were celebrating defeat.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 20/06/2016 11:14:16    1869439

Replying To gotmilk:  "Haha sorry cue but I'm sick of this sh*te saying that Fermanagh were celebrating defeat."
Ye were rightly proud of yere display v Dublin,scoring two goals into the hill in the process.Not many teams have done that in recent years.The result was never in doubt but Fermanagh played well and there was no shame in that loss.The gulf in class was far too big.Same as it will be against Meath.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 20/06/2016 11:23:21    1869449

royaldunne

It would be great to see MOD hatch a masterplan but I have to be honest royaldunne, I think what we're going to see from management is going to be more along the lines of Balderick and one of his 'cunning plans'. I have little faith in MOD but I really hope he proves me wrong, that and I hope the players do themselves proud and at least be able to look themselves in the mirror and say 'I gave it absolutely everything'.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/06/2016 11:24:54    1869451

Replying To gotmilk:  "Haha sorry cue but I'm sick of this sh*te saying that Fermanagh were celebrating defeat."
Ah come on, the players and fans in attendance celebrated like they'd just won the All Ireland!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/06/2016 11:27:40    1869457

Replying To Htaem:  "royaldunne

It would be great to see MOD hatch a masterplan but I have to be honest royaldunne, I think what we're going to see from management is going to be more along the lines of Balderick and one of his 'cunning plans'. I have little faith in MOD but I really hope he proves me wrong, that and I hope the players do themselves proud and at least be able to look themselves in the mirror and say 'I gave it absolutely everything'."
Big few weeks for MOD,if we lose our next two games that has to be the end of the road..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/06/2016 11:31:11    1869460

gotmilk

Mods game plan will be torn to shreds. I genuinely can't see anything but a double digit win.

I think most people feel the same way about the game but we still have to plan to win it, where's the value in sport if one team turns up with no intentions of trying to win the game.

Anyway look if our situation is that hopeless then MOD should field the Junior team and keep the senior lads fit and focused for Derry the following weekend. Why risk fitness and moral on a guaranteed loss?

I'm not being sarcastic and I know it wouldn't exactly be in the spirit of the game, I'm just making the point that it makes no logical sense to risk the senior lads if we've already surrendered.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/06/2016 11:33:10    1869465

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Ah come on, the players and fans in attendance celebrated like they'd just won the All Ireland!"
It was a thank you not a celebration. Perhaps you don't understand what it's like for your summer to end in June every year. When you get a good summer where you can hold your head high you want to thank those that made it possible.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 20/06/2016 11:35:25    1869469

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Ah come on, the players and fans in attendance celebrated like they'd just won the All Ireland!"
Yeah I know, Jesus at least be honest and admit it was celebrating. If it walks like a duck quacks like a duck, odds are its a duck.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2016 11:38:00    1869471

Replying To gotmilk:  "It was a thank you not a celebration. Perhaps you don't understand what it's like for your summer to end in June every year. When you get a good summer where you can hold your head high you want to thank those that made it possible."
The team celebrated like they'd won - Tomás Corrigan celebrating a late (nothing) goal with his arms spread in front of the hill is a perfect example of that.

There's nothing wrong in celebrating your teams performance but to try and say the fans and team weren't celebrating that result is a stretch.

Ps. I follow the Dublin hurlers so I'm (unfortunately) well used to seeing my team's season end in June.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/06/2016 11:46:20    1869474

Replying To Htaem:  "royaldunne

It would be great to see MOD hatch a masterplan but I have to be honest royaldunne, I think what we're going to see from management is going to be more along the lines of Balderick and one of his 'cunning plans'. I have little faith in MOD but I really hope he proves me wrong, that and I hope the players do themselves proud and at least be able to look themselves in the mirror and say 'I gave it absolutely everything'."
I totally agree, I believe mod has hugely underachieved, however all (well nearly all) will be forgiven if this master plan, or whatever they calling I pays off, but not one of us or the players will be celebrating even if its a narrow defeat.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2016 11:47:32    1869475

Replying To ziggy32001:  "Big few weeks for MOD,if we lose our next two games that has to be the end of the road.."
I would have thought it would be the end of the road for him alright ziggy but then again I thought he was a goner after last year's disastrous championship and the county board crowned him manager again and shot down all talk of a vote so don't hold your breath.

Anyway if someone new got in there's no guarantee of improvement, the Meath championship still badly needs restructuring and until that happens it's unlikely we'll see a vast improvement. There's a real lack of intensity and urgency in Meath club football and that needs to be addressed first.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/06/2016 11:47:49    1869476

Replying To royaldunne:  "Agreed, I dont get this moral victory thing one bit, never have never will, a loss is a loss, I've seen it with Westmeath and Las year with Fermanagh actually celebrating been beat, it doesn't sit well with me, bit like Irish fans who are there for the craic and a sing song.
Hon the Royal"
mods master plan ?, From what I know he has talked about having a team that are suited to playing in Croke park, all this means is having mobility in the team to suit a very big pitch like Croke Park. I certainly not expecting some completely revolutionary new way of playing Gaelic football on Sunday.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1356 - 20/06/2016 11:51:36    1869478