Win at all cost

Replying To traleegerry:  "horse have only just seen your last post ...you are missing the point no body is condemning pulling a guy down we all do it and no body will deny that

my point all along is the horrible nasty way the tryrone guys went about winning verbal verbal and more verbal and a sneaky under hand way of

intimidation I wish to god some of the players from counties would come out and say what these fellows did and hold them accountable for there

actions for all good decent GAA folk too see .it really does make my blood boil"
well here I am again looking for that great big admission of guilt ..the GOOCH has spoken and it justs confirms what I have said and what

was done too us by tryrone and the way they played the game ..horse im sorry but have a look back and read and ask the men that played for Kerry in those games ..one day the truth will come out ..

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 09/10/2017 18:07:42    2054228

well lads the goochs book says it all

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 16/11/2017 10:48:47    2062629

Well kingdom and the rest of your mates who said I was wrong about them good for nothings up north. MICKY harte hold your hand up

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 16/09/2018 21:24:28    2142063

Replying To traleegerry:  "Well kingdom and the rest of your mates who said I was wrong about them good for nothings up north. MICKY harte hold your hand up"
Sorry Tralee Gerry you have me at a disadvantage, what did Mickey do?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/09/2018 21:37:14    2142072

Replying To traleegerry:  "Well kingdom and the rest of your mates who said I was wrong about them good for nothings up north. MICKY harte hold your hand up"
Ya, you were on the money there Gerry alright.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/09/2018 15:29:59    2142250

Kingdom boy. MICKY sent and allowed his teams too intimidate other teams in any way they could. Have a look back the antics these people got up too and there are many instances over the since MICKY Hart took over. The events up there over the past few weeks proves my point. They do not care how they win and and MICKY did not once condemn this behaviour. No body wants him hung drawn or quartered. But a simple admission of how and the way they were prepared too win. That is what MICKY did

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 18/09/2018 07:34:58    2142346

Replying To traleegerry:  "Kingdom boy. MICKY sent and allowed his teams too intimidate other teams in any way they could. Have a look back the antics these people got up too and there are many instances over the since MICKY Hart took over. The events up there over the past few weeks proves my point. They do not care how they win and and MICKY did not once condemn this behaviour. No body wants him hung drawn or quartered. But a simple admission of how and the way they were prepared too win. That is what MICKY did"
Gerry I think you might be mistaken me for another poster as I never said you were wrong about Tyrone, I did actually agree with you and gave examples of the abuse that I had heard of.

What I did say was dragging it up wasn't going to do anyone any good, what's done is done and these guys have retired now have to live with that.

We have a bigger problem than Tyrone at the moment with the blue monster in the east , we need to look forward now to put a stop to there gallop and not be looking back at Tyrone.

As for Mickey , of course he knew the score, there was nothing going on there that he didn't sanction although I must say his teams of late seem to be quire Boys compared to what came before so maybe he's learned his lesson.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/09/2018 13:20:18    2142454

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Gerry I think you might be mistaken me for another poster as I never said you were wrong about Tyrone, I did actually agree with you and gave examples of the abuse that I had heard of.

What I did say was dragging it up wasn't going to do anyone any good, what's done is done and these guys have retired now have to live with that.

We have a bigger problem than Tyrone at the moment with the blue monster in the east , we need to look forward now to put a stop to there gallop and not be looking back at Tyrone.

As for Mickey , of course he knew the score, there was nothing going on there that he didn't sanction although I must say his teams of late seem to be quire Boys compared to what came before so maybe he's learned his lesson."
Sorry kingdom it rules my blood too this day. And may I did get the poster wrong I always enjoy your which are always straight and honest.. But the blue is so big now that I think we are fighting a losing battle for a few years at least

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 18/09/2018 20:21:44    2142569

Ah if we get the right man in charge and selectors beside him that have opinions and will voice then with a bit of luck we might not be too far away. The county championship is in full swing but key areas where we were faltering in this year no new player is putting a hand up?

Young Dillon looks like a good man marker with Feale Rangers, Barry Sullivan was impressive with Dingle but I was disappointed with Darragh Shea the keeper with Shannon Rangers, unfortunately we didn't see either Tadgh Morley or Gavin Crowley with their sides but maybe the break will do them good.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 18/09/2018 20:57:20    2142580

Replying To traleegerry:  "Sorry kingdom it rules my blood too this day. And may I did get the poster wrong I always enjoy your which are always straight and honest.. But the blue is so big now that I think we are fighting a losing battle for a few years at least"
Not a bother Gerry boy, and ya it's going to take some amazing team to stop the Dubs, maybe it'l take a team going toe to toe with them instead of going defensive as I think there defense can be got at.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/09/2018 12:05:29    2142659

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ah if we get the right man in charge and selectors beside him that have opinions and will voice then with a bit of luck we might not be too far away. The county championship is in full swing but key areas where we were faltering in this year no new player is putting a hand up?

Young Dillon looks like a good man marker with Feale Rangers, Barry Sullivan was impressive with Dingle but I was disappointed with Darragh Shea the keeper with Shannon Rangers, unfortunately we didn't see either Tadgh Morley or Gavin Crowley with their sides but maybe the break will do them good."
I don't think playing defensive football suits us horse and it never has, we have a serious arsenal up front and I think we should be going out to out score teams ,

Teams that go defensive do so because they haven't much up front so it's understandable why they do what they do.

Woolly Parkinson reckons a team would need to score around 20 points to beat the dubs, I'd disagree with that I'd reckon a team would need to score 24/25 points and I think we'd have the forwards to do that .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/09/2018 12:15:10    2142661

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Not a bother Gerry boy, and ya it's going to take some amazing team to stop the Dubs, maybe it'l take a team going toe to toe with them instead of going defensive as I think there defense can be got at."
Ah look, they've been saying that for a few years now Tom and 'tis easier said than done. Any defence can be got at alright but you can't abandon the defensive side of things or you'll get destroyed by the Dubs. They've plenty of firepower too and are very well drilled all over the field.
You plug a hole in one place and there's a leak somewhere else.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 19/09/2018 12:31:33    2142669

Dublin can be beat it's just an awful lot of things need to go right for the opposition on a given day.
It's not just the starting 15 or the bench and the brains and guile on the sideline.
Your up against a home town crowd every game and the influence that has on match officials.
You also seem to be up against the match officials too on any given day, as we have found out to our severe cost since 2011 on. I said it after the AI final a couple of weeks ago, I have never seen any team that constantly gets so many crucial decisions or momentum shifts in their favour in games at just the right time. Just think back:
- The steps by Kevin Mc and then the none free for Cluxton to slot over to win the game, today is actually the anniversary of that bloody nightmare!
- 2013 semi-final, the Kevin Mac miskick that hits the back of the net, then in the final when they manage with only 12-13 fit players to play keep ball for the last few moments
- Killian Young slipping with the goal at his mercy in 2015 final, let alone the clear penalty that the ref overlooked when Star was hauled to the ground
- The 2016 semi-final first half ending just in time as Dublin were on the ropes, then the referee decisions for them in the second half and in the final the two own goals by Mayo
- Last year Vaughan getting himself sent off when all he had to do was keep his cool. The penalty against Tyrone this year.
I've often thought that Dublin are surely in for one almighty belt off Karma, but it's 7 years now since 2011 and they still are riding their luck without any comeuppance!

But I liked Star's attitude at the end of his interview on TT. A Kerry team that stops the Dubs 5 in a row would nearly become as famous as one that won 4. I know we have a young side and it will be a new crowd on the sideline but surely that should be the aim for 2019. It's a huge opportunity for these lads to do something that will define their inter-county careers and for once they will have most of the country supporting them if they get a crack at Dublin!
I hope every one of them take Star's words on board, train like dogs this winter and become obsessed, obsessed with the idea of winning the AI in 2019. The talent is there, we have the forwards and with a few tweaks and a bit of decent coaching we surely have the footballing brains and prowess to come up with solid defense.
History, tradition, pedigree they still mean a lot in a game that's all about identity and what how and what you represent - no Kerry player should tolerate or accept some other county eclipsing our proud heritage in the game. They have to become obsessed with stopping them and light a fire in their belly that burns with them all the way to the steps of the Hogan Stand next Autumn.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/09/2018 13:25:28    2142687

Replying To TheHermit:  "Dublin can be beat it's just an awful lot of things need to go right for the opposition on a given day.
It's not just the starting 15 or the bench and the brains and guile on the sideline.
Your up against a home town crowd every game and the influence that has on match officials.
You also seem to be up against the match officials too on any given day, as we have found out to our severe cost since 2011 on. I said it after the AI final a couple of weeks ago, I have never seen any team that constantly gets so many crucial decisions or momentum shifts in their favour in games at just the right time. Just think back:
- The steps by Kevin Mc and then the none free for Cluxton to slot over to win the game, today is actually the anniversary of that bloody nightmare!
- 2013 semi-final, the Kevin Mac miskick that hits the back of the net, then in the final when they manage with only 12-13 fit players to play keep ball for the last few moments
- Killian Young slipping with the goal at his mercy in 2015 final, let alone the clear penalty that the ref overlooked when Star was hauled to the ground
- The 2016 semi-final first half ending just in time as Dublin were on the ropes, then the referee decisions for them in the second half and in the final the two own goals by Mayo
- Last year Vaughan getting himself sent off when all he had to do was keep his cool. The penalty against Tyrone this year.
I've often thought that Dublin are surely in for one almighty belt off Karma, but it's 7 years now since 2011 and they still are riding their luck without any comeuppance!

But I liked Star's attitude at the end of his interview on TT. A Kerry team that stops the Dubs 5 in a row would nearly become as famous as one that won 4. I know we have a young side and it will be a new crowd on the sideline but surely that should be the aim for 2019. It's a huge opportunity for these lads to do something that will define their inter-county careers and for once they will have most of the country supporting them if they get a crack at Dublin!
I hope every one of them take Star's words on board, train like dogs this winter and become obsessed, obsessed with the idea of winning the AI in 2019. The talent is there, we have the forwards and with a few tweaks and a bit of decent coaching we surely have the footballing brains and prowess to come up with solid defense.
History, tradition, pedigree they still mean a lot in a game that's all about identity and what how and what you represent - no Kerry player should tolerate or accept some other county eclipsing our proud heritage in the game. They have to become obsessed with stopping them and light a fire in their belly that burns with them all the way to the steps of the Hogan Stand next Autumn."
Well said the hermit you're 100% correct in everything you say there.

And you're right the team that stops the 5 will be nearly more famous the the team that did the 4, the whole country remember lar Corbett and Seamus Darby.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/09/2018 14:20:25    2142698

Replying To catch22:  "Ah look, they've been saying that for a few years now Tom and 'tis easier said than done. Any defence can be got at alright but you can't abandon the defensive side of things or you'll get destroyed by the Dubs. They've plenty of firepower too and are very well drilled all over the field.
You plug a hole in one place and there's a leak somewhere else."
Well somebody has to try something different, the definition of madness is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.
Going defensive against the dubs hasn't worked for anyone in the last 4 years, when we beat them in the league final last year it's because we went out and attacked them and scored 20 points and they didn't like that.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/09/2018 14:31:32    2142704

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well said the hermit you're 100% correct in everything you say there.

And you're right the team that stops the 5 will be nearly more famous the the team that did the 4, the whole country remember lar Corbett and Seamus Darby."
Hopefull David Clifford can join them in 2019

He could quit then and live off it the rest of his life ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/09/2018 14:52:16    2142709

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well somebody has to try something different, the definition of madness is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.
Going defensive against the dubs hasn't worked for anyone in the last 4 years, when we beat them in the league final last year it's because we went out and attacked them and scored 20 points and they didn't like that."
Of course a different approach might yield a result but you should remember that I don't think the Dubs had put a whole pile of work into winning that league and were the width of a post away from drawing it up after Moran's drag down.
You can't make a silk purse out of a sows ear is another euphemism that comes to mind and this won't be fixed any time soon.
I'd say Mayo will be back in contention next year too mind.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 19/09/2018 15:39:27    2142735

Replying To catch22:  "Of course a different approach might yield a result but you should remember that I don't think the Dubs had put a whole pile of work into winning that league and were the width of a post away from drawing it up after Moran's drag down.
You can't make a silk purse out of a sows ear is another euphemism that comes to mind and this won't be fixed any time soon.
I'd say Mayo will be back in contention next year too mind."
We didn't even know we were in the league final leaving Fitzgerald's stadium after beating Tyrone in the last game of the league, and that was only a week before the final which we had to play a full strength Dublin team in their own back yard .

And I wouldn't go as far as to compare Dublin to a sows ear mate, they are just after winning 4 in a row.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/09/2018 17:30:23    2142763

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "We didn't even know we were in the league final leaving Fitzgerald's stadium after beating Tyrone in the last game of the league, and that was only a week before the final which we had to play a full strength Dublin team in their own back yard .

And I wouldn't go as far as to compare Dublin to a sows ear mate, they are just after winning 4 in a row."
i Know, sure tis more the shortcomings in the Kerry ranks in that respect I'm talking about Tom. I can't see Feck all happening in the short term anyway.
This bloody winter is going to go on for ever.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 19/09/2018 18:51:35    2142777

Yerra don't we have the Co. Championship only heating up, then the new manager will be in place and we'll all be having our say about who will get on the squad and who should be left off etc etc, the winter won't be long passing at all and the New Year will bring the excitement and promise of another new chapter.
As my cousin is fond of telling me when I'm down in the dumps about Kerry football, sure what have we to be worried about it's not as if we're Antrim ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/09/2018 19:23:03    2142786