Win at all cost

guys a year ago or so I posted a new topic on here ....THE WIN AT ALL COST GAME and it is surely coming to bare fruit

we have brian mac from tyrone saying the fun has gone from the game how right he is and who do we have to thank for that

we have the likes of MICKY HARTE TO THANK who told his teams and still does win any way you can ie get in there face ..talk into there ear

and get in to there heads ..how right I was back then

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 15/06/2016 07:39:22    1867005

Replying To traleegerry:  "guys a year ago or so I posted a new topic on here ....THE WIN AT ALL COST GAME and it is surely coming to bare fruit

we have brian mac from tyrone saying the fun has gone from the game how right he is and who do we have to thank for that

we have the likes of MICKY HARTE TO THANK who told his teams and still does win any way you can ie get in there face ..talk into there ear

and get in to there heads ..how right I was back then"
Traleegerry
It's kind of ironic allright that an ex Tyrone player is mouthing about the game going too cynical , they won't change the way they play either it's just the way they do it in Tyrone.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/06/2016 15:10:23    1867708

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Traleegerry
It's kind of ironic allright that an ex Tyrone player is mouthing about the game going too cynical , they won't change the way they play either it's just the way they do it in Tyrone."
thank you kingdom boy at the least like my self ..let us tell them what they are and what they are not .any body would think they invented the game up there ..our problem in Kerry is we treat football with utmost respect and we treat the men who play and manage teams with the same respect and this was a weakness which MICKY HARTE took advantage of ..not a nice way to behave and have pretence of treating all gaels with respect ...I never mind being beaten as Dublin have done to us over the last few years ..HORSE NO WORD FROm you

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 16/06/2016 15:41:27    1867722

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Traleegerry
It's kind of ironic allright that an ex Tyrone player is mouthing about the game going too cynical , they won't change the way they play either it's just the way they do it in Tyrone."
thank you kingdom boy at the least like my self ..let us tell them what they are and what they are not .any body would think they invented the game up there ..our problem in Kerry is we treat football with utmost respect and we treat the men who play and manage teams with the same respect and this was a weakness which MICKY HARTE took advantage of ..not a nice way to behave and have pretence of treating all gaels with respect ...I never mind being beaten as Dublin have done to us over the last few years ..HORSE NO WORD FROm you

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 16/06/2016 15:53:34    1867731

hey look the truth of the matter is in 20 years time when someone opens a history book all they will read is that Team A beat Team B in the final and show the score. IS winning all that counts? I think it depends on both you and your teams ethos. If you play fair, have mutual respect for both your self, the opposition the ref and act with some form of honourability well then yes you can hold your head up high, others play the game to win, win at all costs what ever means by fair or foul. again it all depend on what you want to get out of it. Put it this way we all want to win ya, from our playing days to when we support or coach. I'm sure we have all lost games key games on dodgy decisions or against illegal players - some clubs insist on bringing results to county level on appeals etc - which would you rather win on the field yes, lose on the field ok it happens win in the board room.. I've no time for like I said above it all depend on what you want out of it, if it is win at all cost ok then the dark arts may be for you, like I treat life you play fair with folks they mainly play fair with you. I always shook hand with my man before and after a game in my playing days regardless of the outcome I still do the same now as a coach, I shake hands with my opposite man before and after and still visit my oppositions dressing room after to wish them well etc.. look maybe it depends as the old saying goes how you were rared - i know from talking to a Tipperary player in last years U21 final they couldn;t get over the treatment they received from Tyrone in that final similar was it last year that a Donegal Minor was skelped about the death of his father again ask any Finuge man about their club game in Croker where a lot of personal loss was brought up by the opposition... personally I feel actions like were displayed by the Kerry fans when clapping Mickey Harte on the bus in 2012 go further.. it's only a game lads... life is a hell of a lot more important..

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 16/06/2016 22:25:53    1867953

Replying To traleegerry:  "thank you kingdom boy at the least like my self ..let us tell them what they are and what they are not .any body would think they invented the game up there ..our problem in Kerry is we treat football with utmost respect and we treat the men who play and manage teams with the same respect and this was a weakness which MICKY HARTE took advantage of ..not a nice way to behave and have pretence of treating all gaels with respect ...I never mind being beaten as Dublin have done to us over the last few years ..HORSE NO WORD FROm you"
Every1 knows about them now and what they bring with them.
It's not just there county team but look what derrytresk did to dromid and fr rocks to finuge.
Plus some of the stuff that happened in last years U21 final was supposed to have been brutal.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/06/2016 22:34:52    1867958

Aye lads, I've great respect for what Tyrone have managed to achieve in the last 20 years but no respect with the antics they have brought with them as a part of it. That Tyrone team was great enough to win without all the sh*t they made a concious effort to indulge in.

As ye said lads, from club to underage now, Tyrone teams have taken to emulatin what the seniors did. Look at all the incidents in the last few years, Gooch eye gouged in 05, a Tyrone 'supporter' giving him a belt when he ran into the pitch after the whistle went in 08.

That disgraceful stuff Derrytresk and Mulligans shower got up to against Dromid and Finuge.

I still think the worst was the outrageous stuff which was left happen in the minorsemi final between us and then in 2013. To send 16 and 17 year olds out to act like that, NO THANK YOU.

It's not about winning, it's ABOUT HOW YOU WIN, just as it's about how you lose.

We are the Kingdom for a reason: walking off after the bitter, bitter disappointment of captaining a losing Kerry side last Sept Star was asked about the eye gough. What did he say, nothing to see here, no story. Any other county and they'd using it as the excuse for losing and telling anyone who'd listen.

'We savour Kerry's victories and salute our gallant foe and when we lose there's no excuse, we pack out bags and go', AN RIOCHT ABU

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/06/2016 23:29:22    1867977

hermit and horse thank you for your great posts as you guys can tell I have the utmost contempt for these people and yes I do try in life not to generelise people as I know there is good and bad in all walks of life .I have lived and worked in London for 30 years and people from all walks of life ..we take our football as part of our life and make up ..I really do think we have a lot more to come from this Kerry team this year ...it needs more spirit from the others that the STAR shows .he lives and breeds KERRY

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 17/06/2016 11:07:08    1868067

The hermit
You right, I forgot about the minor semifinal in 2013, that was a very good minor team.
And cans you remember the treatment darran got in 2004 final ? or to might be too young. Your right as well those great Tyrone teams didn't need to sink to those depts to win their allirelands they had some savage players but it was a case of while your down I'm going to kick you as well.
Traleegerry
Let's hope the next generation of Tyrone lads leave that stuff in the past, there didn't seem to be too much niggle last year except when macnamee tried to take the head off the gooch.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/06/2016 11:41:36    1868089

I picked up 'Mugsy' book off a shelf in a bookstore one day just to leaf through it.

The stuff he was saying about Kerry really was pathetic, trying to make out that we looked down on them, disrespected them and did nothing but scoff at them and using that as justification as to why they did what they did against Kerry teams.

The worst is I actually have a good friend from Tyrone who would be in and around the Tyrone camp these past 15-20 years. But He and the rest of them seem to really think all this that is said about them is only part of some southern media witchhunt.

I had a huge argument with him after the Minor semi-final in 2013 saying that it was pretty sad to be coaching under-age teams to go out and engage in that dirty, cynical stuff but he was having none of it. He blamed everything on the media and their supposed vendetta against Tyrone.

I hope they live this stuff in the past now.

But in many ways 2003 began that long slide towards the football we have to watch today and that is no cause for celebration.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/06/2016 14:04:05    1868183

lads what is PAT SPILLANE on the way he was praising tryrone on sunday before the game .his comment that they are a joy to watch

Dublin are a joy to watch there fitness is untrue and there football skills are improvimg all the time ..but we are still the 2nd best team about and have the most chance of beating Dublin and I think he was saying sorry for his puke football comment all them years ago

he was right then and time has proved that it was PUKE

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 20/06/2016 15:53:23    1869741

there fitness is untrue and there football skills are improvimg all the time

Ah thanks, that means a lot to us Dubs, especially coming from a Kerryman :D

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 20/06/2016 17:17:49    1869803

Jim McGuinness writing in the Times today, bemoaning how defensive modern Gaelic football has become and how unsightly it has become for spectators.

You couldn't make it up!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/07/2016 11:54:43    1881664

dear god what treatment again from a tryrone team but fair play to Darren and the glen boys they took it and continued to play football and won

again its back to the old siege mentally that MICKY HARTE brought into our game of football .he knew full well they could not and would not beat

us in fair shoot out ..I am fed up to the teeth with them there attitude stinks

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 20/02/2017 11:30:09    1958594

This has to be most pathetic thread I've ever seen in my life. I actually feel sorry for you lads. You were beat lads, get over it. Long time ago......we had better teams than you over that era. The Kerry lads were well able to give it out as well. Paul Galvin and O'Mahony to name a few. Why so bitter?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 21/02/2017 08:15:20    1958988

fridge ..you need to speak all your fellow gaels up there and they have the same too say your attitude too our game of gaelic football stinks

yes every team needs a tough guy we had paudie ...Dublin have philly ...offaly had McCormack ...meath had lyons

but these hit you yes and hard but not verbal abuse and personnel issues being stuck in your face

thanks it has been highlited and every body now sees tryrone would not have won these all Irelands with out the win what ever it takes attitude

I can go back too the tryrone team of 1986 good hard honest football and trained by a good honest gael

it is time for you guys to go back to your roots teach them to play football not intimidation tactics

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 21/02/2017 11:19:59    1959072

Replying To traleegerry:  "fridge ..you need to speak all your fellow gaels up there and they have the same too say your attitude too our game of gaelic football stinks

yes every team needs a tough guy we had paudie ...Dublin have philly ...offaly had McCormack ...meath had lyons

but these hit you yes and hard but not verbal abuse and personnel issues being stuck in your face

thanks it has been highlited and every body now sees tryrone would not have won these all Irelands with out the win what ever it takes attitude

I can go back too the tryrone team of 1986 good hard honest football and trained by a good honest gael

it is time for you guys to go back to your roots teach them to play football not intimidation tactics"
Gerry
Paul Galvin got banned 4 times in 3 years - one of which was 'fishhooking' O'Leary. Yeah very fair lad.
So you are now blaming all Ulster gaels?
Gerry, listen, let it go. you cant go to grave with so much bitterness in you. we aren't all bad up here. yes we have our moments but sure all counties do including the Kerry.
Also you know the difference in the 1986 team and the 2000's team, the 2000's team won. consistently. and fairly. with better players and a better manager. end off.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 21/02/2017 13:58:52    1959152

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Every1 knows about them now and what they bring with them.
It's not just there county team but look what derrytresk did to dromid and fr rocks to finuge.
Plus some of the stuff that happened in last years U21 final was supposed to have been brutal."
Who told you this about the u21 final?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 21/02/2017 14:14:36    1959162

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Every1 knows about them now and what they bring with them.
Plus some of the stuff that happened in last years U21 final was supposed to have been brutal."
Who told you this about the u21 final?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 21/02/2017 14:17:47    1959165

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Who told you this about the u21 final?"
I know I posted about that U21 final as a good friend of mine who I work with his son lined out that day on the Tipp first 15 and the story relayed to me has no place whatsoever on or off the field and in no make shape of form should have been torerated or 'excused' by the powers that be.

Unfort there was no accountability and they were let get away with it

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 21/02/2017 20:35:43    1959341