Tipperary v Limerick

Replying To blackspot91:  "He has been outstanding at times particularly in 2014 when he pretty much won the game against tipp on his own, was our best forward against cork in the final, destroyed wexford and gave JJ delaney serious problems in the semi. when you say physical i assume you mean workrate/speed because hes a big strong man whos good in the air. but i see your point, hes been poor with limerick since 2014 and pretty average for club. but at hes best hes certainly an asset!"
Yes,i meant workrate.Cannot really knock him for a lack of speed ; your either fast or your not.No doubt he has had some good days in the Limerick shirt,but not enough of them for me.He has lacked consistency in his short career thus far.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/06/2016 17:35:29    1866790

Replying To WildPundit:  "Thanks blackspot91 I hear that their is some gripe with the Na Piarshaig players on the panel in general. Many feel Dowling is only there to take frees. All could be rumour but working here in Limerick a lot of negative talk about the camp. I get the feeling Na Piarshaig are not well liked within the county. Would that be a true statement? I know ye played Waterford in a challenge recently how did ye get on just out of interest?"
Only natural that clubs would be bitter towards NaP - theyre the only club that have senior hurling & football, have won 5 u21 hurling championships in a row, county munster and all ireland champions..

McFan88 (Limerick) - Posts: 447 - 15/06/2016 09:14:53    1867021

Replying To McFan88:  "Only natural that clubs would be bitter towards NaP - theyre the only club that have senior hurling & football, have won 5 u21 hurling championships in a row, county munster and all ireland champions.."
Yup, in my experience I've only ever seen that from people from the big 'traditional' clubs like Patrickswell and Kilmallock. Most people I know hoped Nap would win AI, mainly for the bettering of limerick hurling. Theyve taken alot of young lads in the city away from rugby and soccer which is good from a hurling perspective obviously.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 15/06/2016 09:34:14    1867029

Replying To McFan88:  "Only natural that clubs would be bitter towards NaP - theyre the only club that have senior hurling & football, have won 5 u21 hurling championships in a row, county munster and all ireland champions.."
Dont see why that should make fellow county folk bitter.Maybe a bit envious but fair play to Na Piarsaigh for getting their house in order.Seem a very impressive club.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/06/2016 10:01:47    1867046

Replying To therealtmo:  "I'm going for Limerick to win this one, I think it will be tight and let's face it Tipp don't win tight games. We had our foot on Cork throats and couldn't put them away like KK would of, instead we let them get back in touching distance. Limerick will not roll over to easy and will love the idea of Tipp been red hot favourites"
No surprise there.Have you ever predicted a Tipp win?The most negative Tipp man i never met.Thank God the players don't have that defeatest attitude.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/06/2016 11:15:08    1867089

Replying To cuederocket:  "No surprise there.Have you ever predicted a Tipp win?The most negative Tipp man i never met.Thank God the players don't have that defeatest attitude."
So the realtmo is the antithesis of Thurles Blues.

Hard to know how this one will go but I am hoping home advantage will tilt it in Tipp's favour.

I was very disappointed with Limerick last year when you compare it with 2013 and 2014. Limerick are so unpredictable, that's why I find it hard to predict.

The bookies and neutrals will go with Tipp cos they are slightly more reliable.

I'll be positive and go with Tipp. I think the defeats in 2013 and 2015 will have Tipp on guard.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 15/06/2016 18:23:22    1867343

Cue I don't see why people are saying Tipp are red hot favourites. Seamie Cal is nowhere near the form of last year, we have bubbles outside of that but if them two are held Tipp will be in massive trouble. This is Limerick we are talking about they will not roll over for Tipp, they will see this a one game away from being in a final and they don't fear Tipp. Sunday is a massive game for Tipp, will we see a new Tipp emerge or will all the old problems come to surface again ? Certain players going missing, not winning ball on half forward line, going a good few points up and letting the other team back into it and eventually loose by a pint or two. Roll on Sunday.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 15/06/2016 20:00:34    1867387

Replying To therealtmo:  "Cue I don't see why people are saying Tipp are red hot favourites. Seamie Cal is nowhere near the form of last year, we have bubbles outside of that but if them two are held Tipp will be in massive trouble. This is Limerick we are talking about they will not roll over for Tipp, they will see this a one game away from being in a final and they don't fear Tipp. Sunday is a massive game for Tipp, will we see a new Tipp emerge or will all the old problems come to surface again ? Certain players going missing, not winning ball on half forward line, going a good few points up and letting the other team back into it and eventually loose by a pint or two. Roll on Sunday."
Fair points realtmo.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 15/06/2016 20:11:22    1867393

I'm with therealtmo on this one. While the Cork game was won at a canter Limerick are always a different animal. Tipp seem to never know how to finish out a game the past few years. Even against Cork they lacked belief they could hammer the day lights out of them and mind you Gleeson saved 2 frees from Hogan with only 6 points in it. Tipp have a strong bench which is a plus been able to call on Bergin,O,Meara ,Bonner and Forde is a big plus. This game will b won by how Tipp half forwards play. McCormack and Curran need to chip in more in the scoring stakes. Callinan and Bubbles have to be on form if those two or even one of them is quite Tipp will b in serious trouble like they were against Galway last August. Cian Lynch is a phenomenal player and Limerick will use him to set up attacks and his well able to clip over a few points. I can see him having a big game as well as Kevin Downes. He might cause Barry some problems. Expect this to be closer than many predict. I'm calling a draw.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 15/06/2016 21:37:08    1867439

Replying To WildPundit:  "I'm with therealtmo on this one. While the Cork game was won at a canter Limerick are always a different animal. Tipp seem to never know how to finish out a game the past few years. Even against Cork they lacked belief they could hammer the day lights out of them and mind you Gleeson saved 2 frees from Hogan with only 6 points in it. Tipp have a strong bench which is a plus been able to call on Bergin,O,Meara ,Bonner and Forde is a big plus. This game will b won by how Tipp half forwards play. McCormack and Curran need to chip in more in the scoring stakes. Callinan and Bubbles have to be on form if those two or even one of them is quite Tipp will b in serious trouble like they were against Galway last August. Cian Lynch is a phenomenal player and Limerick will use him to set up attacks and his well able to clip over a few points. I can see him having a big game as well as Kevin Downes. He might cause Barry some problems. Expect this to be closer than many predict. I'm calling a draw."
Some very good points there. We should be more confident in Tipp than we are. I think we have lost trust in them due to their inability to win close matches over the last couple of seasons.

I think the talent is there in spade loads so hopefully they can get it together. Callanan will find his form, the league was very frustrating for him.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 15/06/2016 23:58:30    1867478

I dont think Mick Ryan will stomach the complacency of previous seasons and might spring another surprise or two for the team on Sunday based on training(would not be surprised if Donagh Maher comes in corner back) I think the Cork game, although a handy one, will still stand to Tipp and the games of 13,14 will have them warned.
Limerick could have 7 debutantes which is alot and a bit risky, I would be take Tipp by 6.

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 16/06/2016 00:12:10    1867482

Tipp win half time /full time is my bet for this one . Tipp by 7/8

BarryPD (Dublin) - Posts: 34 - 16/06/2016 09:39:59    1867525

I dont think Mick Ryan will stomach the complacency of previous seasons and might spring another surprise or two for the team on Sunday based on training(would not be surprised if Donagh Maher comes in corner back) I think the Cork game, although a handy one, will still stand to Tipp and the games of 13,14 will have them warned.
Limerick could have 7 debutantes which is alot and a bit risky, I would be take Tipp by 6.

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts:11 - 16/06/2016 00:12:10

Always said Donagh Maher deserved a proper chance at it but you really think he's in line to start? Instead of who? I'd be shocked if there's changes from 1 to 9. Possibly Heffernan at 5 but probably not.

Regarding the match I expect Limerick to win handy enough. I'm only travelling in hope of a performance

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/06/2016 11:36:32    1867607

Replying To tiobraid:  "I dont think Mick Ryan will stomach the complacency of previous seasons and might spring another surprise or two for the team on Sunday based on training(would not be surprised if Donagh Maher comes in corner back) I think the Cork game, although a handy one, will still stand to Tipp and the games of 13,14 will have them warned.

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts:11 - 16/06/2016 00:12:10

Always said Donagh Maher deserved a proper chance at it but you really think he's in line to start? Instead of who? I'd be shocked if there's changes from 1 to 9. Possibly Heffernan at 5 but probably not.

Regarding the match I expect Limerick to win handy enough. I'm only travelling in hope of a performance"
Instead of mickey Cahill who was poor v cork.maher going very well in training,Ryan not afraid to make changes.
Heffernan won't be back.
Interms of your prediction if you get a Tipp performance you will get a Tipp win!

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 16/06/2016 15:21:24    1867713

Only messing about Prediction but it'll be closer than bookies are saying. Maybe but I'd seriously doubt he will make that change. Conor O'Brien is ahead of him in the pecking order whether we like it or not.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/06/2016 17:08:44    1867774

It's hard to have faith Killarney87 I mean jez we lose some amount of tight games. I think we have one of the strongest panel's in the country but we're always leaving games behind. I'm hearing of bust ups in the Limerick camp of late something to do with a challenge between Na Piarshaig and Limerick plus Kilmallock lads on the panel are not even talking to Na Piarshaig players. Tis probably only an aul rumour though!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 16/06/2016 19:21:56    1867842

That's when Limerick are most dangerous, when things are not suppose to be right and fall outs and do on. I can't stress it enough Limerick don't fear us. I do feel if we can get over Sunday we are in for a long summer. We need to pick the right team also. Really looking forward to seen John McGrath I think he could be our match winner if we are to do it.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 16/06/2016 20:11:22    1867867

Ah lads tis awful up here. We will have to travel separately rather than on a team bus things have gotten so bad. Lads can't even sit together for the bus journey things are so bad. Point a man ye will beat us by.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 16/06/2016 20:33:56    1867875

I dont any of ye are going to eclipse Jose Mourinho or Alex Ferguson in the mind games department.Awful aul claptrap nonsense being spouted on here.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/06/2016 20:48:55    1867888

Limerick team named..

Quaid
Condon
Morrissey
English
Byrnes
O mahoney
Hickey
Jimbob
Brown
Hegarty
Dowling
Nash
Mulcahy
Hannon
Lynch

Doesn't seem to be a sweeper team although cian lynch will come out the field. Unless the spring a suprised and drop hegarty back to half back with o mahoney or hickey as sweeper. But I don't think so.

Decent bench with the likes of..
Defenders: Ritchie McCarthy, wayne mac, paudie o brien, seanie o brien and ronan lynch.
Midfield: donald o Donovan, John fitzgibbon, Alan dempsey.
Attach: tom Morrissey, Kevin Downes, David Reidy.
And I'm possibly missing a few..

A few others I'd have high hopes for have been released to the intermediates such as pat ryan, David dempsey and will o donoghue.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 17/06/2016 06:15:02    1867984