The Sunday Game is a Long Way from Tipperary

Dessie Dolan criticised Tipp as a team that hasn't pushed on last week without knowing or understanding the inner workings of Tipp GAA.

The main thing is Tipp won in the end cos Tipp looked like they had let Cork snatch it from them at the death like two years ago.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 13/06/2016 10:16:49    1865965

I would love to see TG4 getting rights to show the championship games RTE could not be bothered with.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 13/06/2016 10:19:11    1865968

agree with you currancake

mesamis- same thing happend me i didnt cop series link didnt cover it coz it was moved to rte1 -saw it on plus one thoug

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 13/06/2016 10:33:33    1865983

Replying To s goldrick:  "this is very confusing. so bbc provide the cameras and production but they can't show it live unless RTe show it live. ?"
Bbc ni don't pay for any coverage but the provide the cameras for the Ulster games, which is a big reason so many Ulster games are shown live on rte

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 13/06/2016 10:41:40    1865991

Replying To KerryKillers:  "Looks like RTE preempted that this fixture wasn't worth the hassle and didn't set up proper cameras down there, so they decided to headline with the Tipp story and oddly a phone call with the manager, too late lads, ye f****d up!"
I think you hit the nail on the head there , very few were predicting that result ,it was probably the normal call Kerry cork both to win handily enough , say they shi7 themselves when they realised they were wrong

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/06/2016 10:52:34    1865999

I never understood the mentality of the Sunday Game (evening show) where they will show more highlights of the live TV games earlier that day and only give lip service to the other games. In this modern era, if we missed the game live could we not watch shortened highlights of those games on the evening show and watch the entire game on the RTÉ Player if we wished. Give more time to the other games.

Also congrats to Tipperary on their win. It's all the more impressive when you see the talent they lost this year.

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 13/06/2016 11:52:53    1866049

Replying To yew_tree:  "I would love to see TG4 getting rights to show the championship games RTE could not be bothered with."
RTE pay lip service to the GAA in general. We all know that head of sport in RTE is a rugby man.
TG4 provide an excellent service with undoutedly more limited resources than RTE have.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 13/06/2016 11:55:24    1866053

Replying To Damothedub:  "I think you hit the nail on the head there , very few were predicting that result ,it was probably the normal call Kerry cork both to win handily enough , say they shi7 themselves when they realised they were wrong"
Haha i'd say RTE had to call in an extra supply of Kitten Soft jacks roll as soon as the final whistle blew in Thurles.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 13/06/2016 11:59:48    1866059

Replying To janesboro:  "agree with you currancake

mesamis- same thing happend me i didnt cop series link didnt cover it coz it was moved to rte1 -saw it on plus one thoug"
Yeah could've watched it on plus one or on the player but seeing as the highlights were already over at 21:34 or so I figured the highlights weren't great so I haven't bothered yet!

It'd be great if RTÉ could concentrate on the games that were not live that afternoon. I've almost completely stopped watching the evening show as a result to be honest.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 13/06/2016 12:05:41    1866068

Replying To Lockjaw:  "RTE pay lip service to the GAA in general. We all know that head of sport in RTE is a rugby man.
TG4 provide an excellent service with undoutedly more limited resources than RTE have."
there will be three live games on rte the weekend - thats hardly lip service
thats not to say sunday game connot be improved though

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 13/06/2016 12:06:11    1866069

Replying To ROS1:  "Bbc ni don't pay for any coverage but the provide the cameras for the Ulster games, which is a big reason so many Ulster games are shown live on rte"
yes. I think that was my original point

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 13/06/2016 12:41:43    1866107

Replying To Damothedub:  "I think you hit the nail on the head there , very few were predicting that result ,it was probably the normal call Kerry cork both to win handily enough , say they shi7 themselves when they realised they were wrong"
I thought they should have covered the Meath/Louth game as well potential shock, intensive rivalry etc,

I think in this day and age RTE should have at least have every game streamed live so fans can take thier pic and watch it live.

I realise they have a GAA go thing for fans that are abroad. (Ironically the cats v dubs game would not have been covered because it was on sky!)

RTE should definitely give more choice for the fans in Ireland there does not even have to be any commentary or analysis (most of that is guff anyway) just stream the game and give the supporters and neutrals a choice.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 13/06/2016 12:56:31    1866117

Great result for tipp, but does anyone else get pis.ed of with the sunday game telling us the results before we watch the game, i was away yesterday so sat down last night to watch the highlights not knowing any results and program starts with them telling us of tipps win and meeting kerry in final thats a bloody joke, this happens all the time.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 13/06/2016 13:27:31    1866135

Replying To CletusVanDamme:  "I never understood the mentality of the Sunday Game (evening show) where they will show more highlights of the live TV games earlier that day and only give lip service to the other games. In this modern era, if we missed the game live could we not watch shortened highlights of those games on the evening show and watch the entire game on the RTÉ Player if we wished. Give more time to the other games.

Also congrats to Tipperary on their win. It's all the more impressive when you see the talent they lost this year."
Agree completely makes no sense

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 13/06/2016 15:26:03    1866217

There was little or no interest shown by anyone in this game before the shock, 2700 turned up to watch it.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2151 - 13/06/2016 15:46:10    1866233

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Turned out to be the best game of the day and we get a half arsed two minutes with a voice-over. Not much effort from RTE."
Less than 3000 were there to watch it. Noone was complaining in recent years when 2 minutes highlights has been standard for similar games.

When counties have shown potential, RTE have shown them. Limerick's win over Cork 13 years ago was shown live. A number of Kerry v Tipperary games have been shown live.

Tipperary had no momentum reflected in the low attendance. RTE have fulfilled peoples hunger for something to complain about!

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7871 - 13/06/2016 16:38:01    1866281

Replying To legendzxix:  "Less than 3000 were there to watch it. Noone was complaining in recent years when 2 minutes highlights has been standard for similar games.

When counties have shown potential, RTE have shown them. Limerick's win over Cork 13 years ago was shown live. A number of Kerry v Tipperary games have been shown live.

Tipperary had no momentum reflected in the low attendance. RTE have fulfilled peoples hunger for something to complain about!"
people have been complaining about rte giving the non televised games poor coverage for years

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 13/06/2016 16:57:34    1866296

Replying To alano12:  "people have been complaining about rte giving the non televised games poor coverage for years"
I would agree many people have complained. 2 years ago tipp should have beaten Cork so I don't think it was that much of a shock that it would be at least close. Look at westmeath and offaly a game that always likely to be close and a local Darby the same poor coverage.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 13/06/2016 18:41:21    1866318

Replying To legendzxix:  "Less than 3000 were there to watch it. Noone was complaining in recent years when 2 minutes highlights has been standard for similar games.

Tipperary had no momentum reflected in the low attendance. RTE have fulfilled peoples hunger for something to complain about!"
So RTE shouldn't show any games that are potentially foregone conclusions. That means we shouldn't have seen any of Dublins games in the Leinster Championship over the last few years. The idea of showing extended highlights of a game shown earlier in the day and basically ignoring games not shown live doesn't make any sense. If RTE had a camera at a game, which turned out to be a thriller, surely it's not beyond their capabilities to marry a commentary with six or seven minutes of highlights. I imagine a lot of people, on seeing the Tipp result, tuned in on Sunday night especially to see those highlights. Cork were nine points down, we were shown a goal and a point and hey presto the teams were level. Tipp beating Cork after seventy two years was a big deal. Kilkenny beating Dublin in hurling was not. Just because RTE get a lot of things right doesn't mean we shouldn't point out the things they get wrong. Too often we adopt the "shure it's grand" approach to mediocrity.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 13/06/2016 22:55:11    1866423

Replying To benched:  "As has often been stated on here before BBC can only show the games RTE are showing live - hence only deferred coverage of the Fermanagh - Antrim game on the BBC and why the second semi-final which will be on Sky won't be shown on BBC.
Therefore RTE can't show an alternative game to the BBC either, either RTE show it or it isn't on."
Yes, I am aware of that arrangement and its well past time it was changed,
Ulster football doesn't benefit from RTE coverage, it has been subjected to a stream of personal abuse from its panelists for over a decade now.
BBC coverage is so superior, more thorough and intelligent.
Its analysis can be robust but never personal.
I would shed no tears if the Ulster Council decided to give RTE cameras a rest of 3-5 years from its grounds.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 13/06/2016 23:33:37    1866444