Donegal 2016. Coming in under the radar

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Monaghan will destroy them there finished ."
Lol yeah they will indeed! Donegal will beat Monaghan and Tyrone with ease....

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 13/06/2016 13:08:57    1866128

Hard for any Ulster team to be under the radar with the amount of games ye have to play. That's coming from a Leinster man.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 13/06/2016 14:07:15    1866168

My honest opinion is that Donegal will beat Monaghan.
Here we have two teams who are more or less unchanged over the last three years. Monaghan are similar to ourselves in keeping the old guard and I doubt if they risk many of their U21 lads in an Ulster semi final. I still expect it to be tight though.
As regards playing Tyrone I think Donegal Defensive system is tailor made for Tyrone. I think what Tyrone scored in Ballybofey last year against Donegal was their highest over the last five years. Before that 10 to12 points was the max they could muster. Plus I think they scored one goal in our four meetings.
Get over Monaghan and I think we will win Ulster.
Don't forget this team stopped Dublin in their tracks two year ago and I'd safely say they were the only team to be able to beat Tyrone in Ulster this last few years.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 13/06/2016 21:55:38    1866397

coming in under the radar.
going to fly straight into a cliff.

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 13/06/2016 22:16:02    1866402

Replying To dstuction:  "Cant read too much into the game to be honest. Donegal did enough to win which is how they always play really.
They had 14 men for half the game so gameplan went out the window in the end.

I felt some of the passing moves were great to watch. With Frank, O Reilly and the 2 McHughs there is some great pace.

Fair enough I still don't feel that Murphy is being as good as he maybe could but it was pretty much the performance I expected."
Would agree that you can't read too much into the game. However, in assessing the win it should be remembered that Fermanagh missed a penalty and hit the upright three times (You could say good finishers would not do that but they created the opportunities). The crucial score that boosted Donegal and deflated Fermanagh should have been disallowed. I have no doubt that Donegal management will be giving thought to these points as they plan for Monaghan.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 13/06/2016 22:52:27    1866419

All Ireland series doesn't start until quarter final stage from August week end.
Ulster championship doesn't begin this year until the semi-final stage .. four best teams still standing.
Looking forward to it and we don't have to watch it on RTE.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 13/06/2016 23:02:29    1866428

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "My honest opinion is that Donegal will beat Monaghan.
Here we have two teams who are more or less unchanged over the last three years. Monaghan are similar to ourselves in keeping the old guard and I doubt if they risk many of their U21 lads in an Ulster semi final. I still expect it to be tight though.
As regards playing Tyrone I think Donegal Defensive system is tailor made for Tyrone. I think what Tyrone scored in Ballybofey last year against Donegal was their highest over the last five years. Before that 10 to12 points was the max they could muster. Plus I think they scored one goal in our four meetings.
Get over Monaghan and I think we will win Ulster.
Don't forget this team stopped Dublin in their tracks two year ago and I'd safely say they were the only team to be able to beat Tyrone in Ulster this last few years."
Monaghan beat Tyrone in 14 Sam (Armagh also beat them the same year in the qualifiers). Donegal might well beat Tyrone should they meet (both teams have big hurdles to overcome before it happens) but if they do the games in 11, 12 & 13 won't be the reason. That was the last days of the Tyrone team of the previous decade. Tyrone have changed and improved a lot from those games.....have Donegal??

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 13/06/2016 23:50:38    1866447

Personally, I don't think we are coming in under any radar. I don't think we look right at the minute under Gallagher. People think its the same old Donegal from the McGuinness era, but I don't see it that way really. We are defending in numbers alright, but we are marking space at times instead of really harassing the player in possession with serious intensity as we did under Jim. We look smart at times in attack, I think here is where Rory has added his own touch more obviously, however against the top teams we have yet to really attack with guile, speed and clinical incision. Durcan's not there is a loss as his kickouts were superb. The younger players shonethe last day out against Fermanagh; the two McHughs, Eoin and Ryan, Marty O'Reilly, Odhran MacNiallais and for example. But the older players bar McGlynn looked a bit rusty for whatever reason. All in all, I think are good enough to be competing at the highest level but like others, I thibk Rory doesn't seem to be getting the best out of them currently. I hope I'm proven wrong but I fancy Monaghan to beat us by 4/5 points much as it pains me to say it.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 14/06/2016 09:58:38    1866486

All this talk of dark horses and flying under radars is crap really. Everyone knows what we're about at this stage and has an opinion on it. The general consensus is that we're a declining force. I'd still maintain though that it will take a fair effort to get rid of us. I anticipate unashamed glee and gloating from some quarters when the day does come but for now, an Ulster title is still very much achievable.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 14/06/2016 12:22:02    1866561

Yes benched Tyrone have improved and Donegal probably not but are still a stern test in Ulster. Though Donegal are far from finished as the talent is there bubbling underneath waiting to come through. I expect an Ulster U-21 or 2 in the next few years and a good run at an AI which will then boost the seniors and help the transition that is about to take place.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 14/06/2016 12:30:08    1866567

We constantly hear talk of them being a spent force, yet they have a younger starting line-up that the other top sides this year. and have a well oiled system for integrating young players to the senior side.

Example: Players featured on Sunday v Fermanagh
Patrick McBrearty - 23
Marty O'Reilly - 23
Odhran MacNiallais - 23
Eoin McHugh - 22
Hugh McFadden - 22
Ryan McHugh - 22
MA McGinley - 21

Michael Murphy - 26
Martin McElhinney - 27
Leo McLoone - 26
Paddy McGrath - 26
Anthony Thompson - 29
Frank McGlynn - 29
Neil McGee - 29

Eamon McGee - 32
Rory Kavanagh - 32
Karl Lacey - 30
Colm McFadden - 33

They currently have a number of talented replacements already in the squad, lined up as replacements for some of those players who are aged 30 or over. I think they are transitioning much better than many people believe, and after seeing them on Sunday, I think they might be further along than I expected.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 14/06/2016 13:42:06    1866619

Replying To GaryMc82:  "We constantly hear talk of them being a spent force, yet they have a younger starting line-up that the other top sides this year. and have a well oiled system for integrating young players to the senior side.

Patrick McBrearty - 23
Marty O'Reilly - 23
Odhran MacNiallais - 23
Eoin McHugh - 22
Hugh McFadden - 22
Ryan McHugh - 22
MA McGinley - 21

Michael Murphy - 26
Martin McElhinney - 27
Leo McLoone - 26
Paddy McGrath - 26
Anthony Thompson - 29
Frank McGlynn - 29
Neil McGee - 29

Eamon McGee - 32
Rory Kavanagh - 32
Karl Lacey - 30
Colm McFadden - 33

They currently have a number of talented replacements already in the squad, lined up as replacements for some of those players who are aged 30 or over. I think they are transitioning much better than many people believe, and after seeing them on Sunday, I think they might be further along than I expected."
Ssshhhh Gary!!

;)

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 14/06/2016 14:34:11    1866674

Donegal well and truely have had our number since 2010, I mean it's obvious to see.

Another fact about Donegal is that they haven't played very well outside of Ballybofey since McGuinness left!

Even in McGuinness' final year, they scraped past Armagh only to pull out the most miraculous display of football I've ever seen against Dublin, comparable to us in 2008 but then I'd suggest in 2008 it was the teenage version of the Dublin team in 2014. Majestic football that day.

To summarise personally I see the Donegal set up as having gone downhill since McGuinness although they've never got back to that level of 2012 (bar Dublin 2014), they still win 95% of matches in Ballybofey as being a narrow pitch it suits their narrow style of play it's a great homefield advantage and I give them all the plaudits for taking it as much as they can.

I believe this Donegal team have a big performance in them with the right kind of mental preperation and desire, I feel they can only do it once though, they'll need to get a bit of mojo back all the same because they were blunt on Sunday, Fermanagh were very poor!

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 14/06/2016 17:52:16    1866798

To summarise personally I see the Donegal set up as having gone downhill since McGuinness although they've never got back to that level of 2012 (bar Dublin 2014), they still win 95% of matches in Ballybofey as being a narrow pitch it suits their narrow style of play it's a great homefield advantage and I give them all the plaudits for taking it as much as they can.

I believe this Donegal team have a big performance in them with the right kind of mental preperation and desire, I feel they can only do it once though, they'll need to get a bit of mojo back all the same because they were blunt on Sunday, Fermanagh were very poor!

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts:17 - 14/06/2016 17:52:16 186

I don't agree, as I think the way teams set up prior to Donegal's 2012 success, and after that 2012 success has changed dramatically in order to combat their system of play. Teams will now automatically set up in a defensive manner if playing Donegal, most teams will sit back that bit more to prevent swarms of runners breaking up the field into space.

And I suspect most pundits who speak of Donegal no longer having the legs, are noticing how they no longer put teams to the sword like in 2012 with swarms of runners. In reality, It is just that opposition teams are now able to implement counter-tactics to suppress Donegal's system and make them look more ordinary or less dominant, or more specifically prevent them having the space to break in swarms.

I also don't agree with the one big performance comment, something Ciaran Whelan said at the start of the 2014 Championship. The big performance notion against Dublin, came from Dublin being extremely naive in their tactical setup, and allowing the 2012 system to become ultra-effective in that one match. Yet against every other side they faced (Derry, Antrim, Monaghan, Armagh), the games appeared more tighter, as those sides knew better. Likewise against Kerry in the AI final, Kerry knew better than to make Dublin's mistakes and play a Gung ho game.

Since McGuinness left, they do seem less disciplined at times in both the tackle and mouthing off at officials. But they have players who can hurt any top team, and they also have the mental belief to take on any team, something not very many sides currently have.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 14/06/2016 20:36:35    1866880

Gary
Add to that list the following --- the Jigger o Connor 21, S MC Brearty20. C Thompson22, C Gillispie20 Eoghan Ban20 plus another very fine prospect Rory Carr who I think is u21 yet.
So we have talent , yet we have to get the best out of them. Is our sideline going to do that.
Whoever wants can write off Donegal but we are well capable of beating a lot of teams , it won't be pretty as we will still be very defensive
All we want to do is tighten up in the back line and leave less space.
Still confident enough of winning Ulster.
I wonder if Tyrone win Sunday who would they like to meet in the final?

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 14/06/2016 20:50:48    1866890

If Tyrone beat Cavan on Sunday I would want them to face Donegal in the final. It would be the only real way of knowing how far along they are. Donegal have gotten the better of Tyrone in the last number of years but I do believe that was the old tyrone team then a new inexperienced team.

Tyrone do look the part this year but they haven't been tested. If it was a Tyrone v Donegal final then it would given the winner a real boost and I would fancy the winner to be close to an AI final.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 14/06/2016 21:40:02    1866924

Sadly for us we have regressed .

Coming under no radar .

I think we are now 2/3 in Ulster.

We are no longer a top 3-4 team so let us be .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 14/06/2016 22:43:32    1866957

Replying To GaryMc82:  "We constantly hear talk of them being a spent force, yet they have a younger starting line-up that the other top sides this year. and have a well oiled system for integrating young players to the senior side.

Patrick McBrearty - 23
Marty O'Reilly - 23
Odhran MacNiallais - 23
Eoin McHugh - 22
Hugh McFadden - 22
Ryan McHugh - 22
MA McGinley - 21

Michael Murphy - 26
Martin McElhinney - 27
Leo McLoone - 26
Paddy McGrath - 26
Anthony Thompson - 29
Frank McGlynn - 29
Neil McGee - 29

Eamon McGee - 32
Rory Kavanagh - 32
Karl Lacey - 30
Colm McFadden - 33

They currently have a number of talented replacements already in the squad, lined up as replacements for some of those players who are aged 30 or over. I think they are transitioning much better than many people believe, and after seeing them on Sunday, I think they might be further along than I expected."
Like a car age is only part of the story. Miles on the clock plus wear and tear are just as important. Some of these Donegal lads have pushed their bodies to the limit under Jim McGuinness and got their rewards. The crazy club championship programme then played in 14 has also taken its toll, imo Lacey has never been the same player since he got injured in that. They may have good youth ready to step in and push them back to the top but at the minute I think they aren't the force they were at the start the decade no matter what the birth certs say

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 15/06/2016 00:56:54    1866993

I really don't think the age profile of the Donegal squad is the main issue, more the gameplan that Rory Gallagher has implemented which requires constant running up and down the pitch, even young players would struggle with that. When we lose the ball all players just turn and make a sprint back towards the back line, this is energy sapping and we run out of steam. This does not suit the older lads in the squad. As Gary has pointed out, our average isn't really that old. Kerry have two 35+ players in their back line but they are not expected to be up and down the pitch all game.

I would still say we are in with a chance of winning Ulster but not a serious AL contender.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 15/06/2016 13:46:12    1867205

Like a car age is only part of the story. Miles on the clock plus wear and tear are just as important. Some of these Donegal lads have pushed their bodies to the limit under Jim McGuinness and got their rewards. The crazy club championship programme then played in 14 has also taken its toll, imo Lacey has never been the same player since he got injured in that. They may have good youth ready to step in and push them back to the top but at the minute I think they aren't the force they were at the start the decade no matter what the birth certs say

benched (Tyrone) - Posts:304 - 15/06/2016 00:56:54

My previous comment gave my take as to why Donegal no longer seem the force they once were, and I don't think its all wear and tear. I think its simply that other teams have adapted and learned how to counteract the Donegal system more effectively, which takes the powerful look away from them.

I was critical of Rory Gallagher last year for starting Colm McFadden, Karl Lacey and Christy Toye is certain games, when they weren't all playing well or didn't look fit last year, and continuing to play Patrick McBrearty against us when he got injured early in the Ulster SF last year.
That for me was a time when he could have pushed new talent, but he stayed with the proven older men. Time will tell if more new younger players get a chance in the Championship games this year.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 15/06/2016 14:04:36    1867216