Donegal fouling

Replying To Green_Gold:  "All the top teams in the country use tactical fouling out around the middle of the pitch, unfortunately the black card hasn't helped to stamp it out. In general I feel Donegal's discipline in the tackle is not the same as it was under JMcG. Yesterday Thomas Corrigan scored 7 points from frees, this never happened under Jim. In short Donegal's tackling is poor in every area of the pitch."
I think you would have to agree that most of the fouls were committed when Fermanagh players were threatening to go inside the 45 metre line. They reduced the goal threat and we're quite testing frees. Donegal players also ensured that quick free kicks were not taken thus allowing the backs to regroup. Very McGuinness.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 13/06/2016 16:57:26    1866295

Youse Tyrone boys are some craic. Next Tyrone game your at look at what happens when Colm Cavanagh gets caught up the field, say from a kick out. FOUL and Colm trots back to the edge of the D.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 13/06/2016 20:52:59    1866370

It's a stupid question to ask and coming from a county who have been involved in and accused of many unsavoury incidents
You know well we all foul , every county and both hurling and football
How many times have we seen the Hurley used on an opposing player and most of the time nothing done about it.
What do these Tyrone posters on here think about the performance of Justin McMahon last year on Micheal Murphy. Did he foul M Murphy at all?? Did he play M M fair and square?
Also posters on about Neill McGee , having a mean strike and all this--- well Iv got news for ye all -- you need players like him on your team as ALL other counties have them
I can go back in time --- Paudi o Shea flatting a Cork forward ( at least as bad as N McGee yesterday)
Brian Mullins of Dublin. Dara o Shea v Monaghan a few years ago. John Finn got his jaw broke v Dublin and no one held accountable.
I am not condoning N McGee but he is not the first and won't be the last.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 13/06/2016 21:37:10    1866385

It's a pity the threads on the Donegal, Fermanagh game are about Mcgee's indiscretion and Donegal's tackling. I thought there would be some mention of Donegal's second goal which was a thing of beauty.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 13/06/2016 22:27:09    1866407

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "It's a pity the threads on the Donegal, Fermanagh game are about Mcgee's indiscretion and Donegal's tackling. I thought there would be some mention of Donegal's second goal which was a thing of beauty."
How can an illegal score be a thing of beat. It had a huge impact on the game but should not have been allowed. Have a look at it again and it is very clear that he is standing in the square waiting for the pass to be made.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 13/06/2016 23:03:55    1866429

"a) Show that you understand what exactly constitutes a black card..."

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts:422 - 13/06/2016 05:33:32

Ah sure look-it, there's nobody who knows what the hell the black cards about! :)

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 13/06/2016 23:12:27    1866436

Replying To neverright:  "How can an illegal score be a thing of beat. It had a huge impact on the game but should not have been allowed. Have a look at it again and it is very clear that he is standing in the square waiting for the pass to be made."
It was only his toe that was in the square. If he had a pair of boots a size smaller it would have been legit. The move itself was still a thing of beauty though in my humble opinion.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 14/06/2016 13:44:08    1866621

Clutching at straws here about the square ball. It wasnt the winning nor losing of the game.

Can someone please enlighten us about the difference between the old square ball rule and the new one? I have a feeling not many know the difference. How much of the man has to be in the square? If there is any part of the man outside the square is it legit?

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 14/06/2016 14:08:47    1866641

Replying To Donegalman:  "Clutching at straws here about the square ball. It wasnt the winning nor losing of the game.

Can someone please enlighten us about the difference between the old square ball rule and the new one? I have a feeling not many know the difference. How much of the man has to be in the square? If there is any part of the man outside the square is it legit?"
The game is over, the result decided, so how can it be clutching at straws? As to the winning or losing of the game, it had a major, but very different, impact, on the teams but there is no way of telling that it would have changed the result. It might though have given us a more stirring finish to the game.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 14/06/2016 20:06:13    1866868

NEVERRIGHT
How come it was an illegal score. Did the goal not go up on the score board, so I persume the ref and umpires found nothing wrong with it.
But as the Mayo poster says it was a thing of beauty. Hope to see Donegal create more goals and take them like Sunday's gem.
Or any county for that matter as it is brilliant play.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 14/06/2016 21:24:45    1866915

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "NEVERRIGHT
How come it was an illegal score. Did the goal not go up on the score board, so I persume the ref and umpires found nothing wrong with it.
But as the Mayo poster says it was a thing of beauty. Hope to see Donegal create more goals and take them like Sunday's gem.
Or any county for that matter as it is brilliant play."
Simply a poor reflection on the umpires. Ref may have been too far away to see it.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 14/06/2016 23:04:06    1866968