Neil McGee sending off

The most dangerous tackle in the GAA is also the least punished. The clothes line tackle with the arm outstretched head or neck high of an opponent at high speed. Watch how often it happens in a game. At crucial times, and usually it is on the play maker or fastest runners and ball carriers who are the most dangerous. This targeting usually is a successful tackle as very often, physically it takes the man out for the rest of the game. The referees seem to be happy enough with a maximum sanction of a yellow card, depending on the team and stage that the ref has to make a decision on.

I feel a bit for players who get banned for rash tackles or rushes of blood. But c'est la vie. I also think that refs should really go to town on the above style of tackle.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 15/06/2016 15:42:18    1867266

Replying To hill16no1man:  "will the fermanagh player be investigated by the cccc
just like the offaly player who punched after the whistle and westmeath player for his bad sportsmanship
busy time of year for cccc
amazing how they get nothing to do during the league and theres 16 games a weekend then haha
simply because the media coverage then is not interested in sensationalising every little incident like it does with a microscope during the summer"
Tv replays by cccc are only used for Tyrone.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 15/06/2016 16:27:29    1867302

Replying To Donegalman:  "The most dangerous tackle in the GAA is also the least punished. The clothes line tackle with the arm outstretched head or neck high of an opponent at high speed. Watch how often it happens in a game. At crucial times, and usually it is on the play maker or fastest runners and ball carriers who are the most dangerous. This targeting usually is a successful tackle as very often, physically it takes the man out for the rest of the game. The referees seem to be happy enough with a maximum sanction of a yellow card, depending on the team and stage that the ref has to make a decision on.

I feel a bit for players who get banned for rash tackles or rushes of blood. But c'est la vie. I also think that refs should really go to town on the above style of tackle."
I agree you see the clothes line a lot but it really seems like a reaction and a really tough reaction to keep control of.

I would suggest it may be to do with how high a player actually carries the ball, some players nearly carry it at shoulder height.

I think it's pretty dangerous as well but if you start throwing out reds for it my feeling is that there's going to be a hell of a lot of reds

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 15/06/2016 16:39:03    1867309

Replying To Seansy48:  "I agree you see the clothes line a lot but it really seems like a reaction and a really tough reaction to keep control of.

I would suggest it may be to do with how high a player actually carries the ball, some players nearly carry it at shoulder height.

I think it's pretty dangerous as well but if you start throwing out reds for it my feeling is that there's going to be a hell of a lot of reds"
Yeah, but sit back and watch when it happens. It will happen as a tactic too. Smaller players are of course going to be hit higher in the tackle as they are lower down, but in many many instances, this tackle is not a mistake or a misjudgement on behalf of the person who carries it out.

We would see a much more open style of game, with exciting running were this to be nipped in the bud. But it wont be. We will languish through another year of controversy.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 15/06/2016 22:25:08    1867458

Looks like Neil McGee has lost his appeal on Monday night and Donegal won't be taking it any further.

I hope we don't witness other players getting bans overturned later in the year.....or I will throw my dummy out of the pram big style ha ha

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 30/06/2016 16:53:06    1874380

Replying To InishowenMan:  "No disputing Neil McGee's Red yesterday and he is a major loss for the Semi.

Its a bad trait he has for such an excellent defender.I remember him getting involved last year in Armagh and despite protests from our fans behind the goal he persisted in looking for bother instead of walking away and leaving it.

As for the punch Eamon took to the stomach that was done straight in front of the Goal line assistant and should also have got a red card. and to top it all off the abuse he took from fermanagh supporters when he went to ground after the drive to the stomach was Cat.He got called everything under the sun and even some homophobic insults being directed at him.

The same group where chanting some stuff to the Tune of the NI chant Ulster boys and the language was truly awful. A Horrible Bunch.

And you Lads beat me to well Known Lasher out..But sure he's a reformed man and Glides about the pitch like an Angel these days.

Still no excuse for Neils action but I wouldnt be counting on him getting the Connolly treament of getting it overturned."
Cassidy should have seen red for stiking, but to see a powerfully built man throwing himself to the ground after what was no more than a tap, was disgraceful play acting.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 30/06/2016 17:54:15    1874404

I dont know what incident you were Watching..?
I'd hardly call a Sneaky Drive to the stomach witha clenched Fist "No more than a tap".!
Eamon wasnt expecting it and was clearly Winded by the Blow...But I suppose all them big powerfullly Built Boxers who go Down to heavy blows to the Body are all disgracefully play acting aswell.!

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 01/07/2016 14:38:02    1874690

Replying To InishowenMan:  "I dont know what incident you were Watching..?
I'd hardly call a Sneaky Drive to the stomach witha clenched Fist "No more than a tap".!
Eamon wasnt expecting it and was clearly Winded by the Blow...But I suppose all them big powerfullly Built Boxers who go Down to heavy blows to the Body are all disgracefully play acting aswell.!"
It's also such a contradictory post because he says that Cassidy should of got a red card for striking but then says it's only a "tap". I don't think a tap is a closed fist to the stomach and I don't think a tap would warrant a red card.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 01/07/2016 14:54:50    1874700

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Looks like Neil McGee has lost his appeal on Monday night and Donegal won't be taking it any further.

I hope we don't witness other players getting bans overturned later in the year.....or I will throw my dummy out of the pram big style ha ha"
why on earth did they appeal. this is getting crazy. if someone appeals something as blatant as that they should have their ban doubled.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 01/07/2016 15:01:33    1874705

Replying To s goldrick:  "why on earth did they appeal. this is getting crazy. if someone appeals something as blatant as that they should have their ban doubled."
What about the boys who threw punches, gave a little kick here and there or eye gouge someone --- just tell me how many served a ban after getting a red card.
Most appealed and instead of a, as you say the ban being doubled they got the red card lifted and were allowed to playin the next game.
How comes a Donegal player had to serve a ban while other players did not. ?

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 01/07/2016 20:02:14    1874834

I think that if the Ref had done his job correctly McGee would not have been sent off- he should have awarded a penalty long before McGee got the ball when Quigly was fouled inside the square. I would any day rather get a closed fist in the mid body than a fist in the face. I have seen much worst with no cards- common sense does not exist very often these days (and before someone comes along and says otherwise that is one of the difference between humans and animals). Some Refs are unfortunately more interested in displaying power and sometimes they get poor advice from the linesmen and umpires - In fairness the Ref has a very difficult job the way all these new rules are imposed by guys who spend too much heed to the Sunday Game.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 01/07/2016 20:33:16    1874844

I thought Neil McGee's sending off was a bit harsh, it looked more like a slight rub off yer man's face as Neil navigated his way out of a cluster.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 01/07/2016 20:49:53    1874849

Replying To GaryMc82:  "I thought Neil McGee's sending off was a bit harsh, it looked more like a slight rub off yer man's face as Neil navigated his way out of a cluster."
Are you a wind up merchant ?

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 01/07/2016 23:11:45    1874880

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Are you a wind up merchant ?"
Neil navigated his way out with gusto

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 01/07/2016 23:48:51    1874887