Neil McGee sending off

Hopefully the Donegal board will use the Dermot Connolly defence to get him off. to the letter of the law it was the right decision but these kind of challenges happen week in week out and referees don't call them, would this have been called if it was a team outside ulster say Kerry/Dublin/Mayo , I don't think so.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 13/06/2016 13:30:56    1866140

ulsterrules I dont nessessarly agree that them counties would have got away with it.
It was a red.

The problem is that McGee is now getting a reputation for this so now when he is involved he will get done. Similar to Connolly for Dublin or Galvin for Kerry back a few years ago.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 13/06/2016 13:53:57    1866155

obviously some posters on a wind up here. creating logins just for the purpose of trolling.

Neil Magees forearm smash was totally unusual in the game. thankfully it does not happen frequently. There was no need for it at all. Not sure why he would have done it, he had possesion and would probably have broke the tackle anyway . So not sure why he felt the need to do what he did. Cassidy has form also and will be lucky to escape censure.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 13/06/2016 14:06:11    1866167

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Hopefully the Donegal board will use the Dermot Connolly defence to get him off. to the letter of the law it was the right decision but these kind of challenges happen week in week out and referees don't call them, would this have been called if it was a team outside ulster say Kerry/Dublin/Mayo , I don't think so."
His name is Diarmuid.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 13/06/2016 14:22:21    1866179

will the fermanagh player be investigated by the cccc
just like the offaly player who punched after the whistle and westmeath player for his bad sportsmanship
busy time of year for cccc
amazing how they get nothing to do during the league and theres 16 games a weekend then haha
simply because the media coverage then is not interested in sensationalising every little incident like it does with a microscope during the summer

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 13/06/2016 14:31:02    1866184

No disputing Neil McGee's Red yesterday and he is a major loss for the Semi.

Its a bad trait he has for such an excellent defender.I remember him getting involved last year in Armagh and despite protests from our fans behind the goal he persisted in looking for bother instead of walking away and leaving it.

As for the punch Eamon took to the stomach that was done straight in front of the Goal line assistant and should also have got a red card. and to top it all off the abuse he took from fermanagh supporters when he went to ground after the drive to the stomach was Cat.He got called everything under the sun and even some homophobic insults being directed at him.

The same group where chanting some stuff to the Tune of the NI chant Ulster boys and the language was truly awful. A Horrible Bunch.

And you Lads beat me to well Known Lasher out..But sure he's a reformed man and Glides about the pitch like an Angel these days.

Still no excuse for Neils action but I wouldnt be counting on him getting the Connolly treament of getting it overturned.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 13/06/2016 14:33:56    1866188

McGee won't get it overturned like Connolly.

I hope McGee doesn't get off because he doesn't deserve it .

It was a stupid lunge . Other posters need to calm down though . There are one or two McGees in most good teams.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 13/06/2016 15:01:38    1866205

I'd say there is a very good chance that Neil McGee will get his ban overturned as it happened quite a number of times last year where players were guilty of striking.

I don't like this myself, I think he should accpet his ban as it was a deserved red card. But that seems to be the ways things are going, if you appeal, you have a good chance of getting the punishment rescinded.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 13/06/2016 15:41:12    1866229

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "McGee won't get it overturned like Connolly.

I hope McGee doesn't get off because he doesn't deserve it .

It was a stupid lunge . Other posters need to calm down though . There are one or two McGees in most good teams."
It was far from a lunge he has a nasty streak to his game .he knew what he was at .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 13/06/2016 15:50:18    1866235

I don't like these type of hits and any player lashing out like that deserves to be punished.
But let's take a look back a few years ago to the 2009 All Ireland final.
T Kennellys challenge on N Murphy.
Was it any different from what N McGee done yesterday? Did T Kennelly get sent off or better still should he have been sent off ??
Last year in the Mayo v Dublin game how many punches were thrown and how many got suspended. ?
I hope the County board appeals Neills red card.
I'm not disputing the fact that it was a red card but why punish N McGee when a host of similar players got red cards overturned. Nor would I throw the book at Quigley. I blame the GAA for all this --they had chances last year and indeed previous years to firmly state that incidents like this won't be tolerated
But every county must be treated equally and that is not happening at the moment
The standard of reffing needs to be looked at and indeed refs need more help
Also they should not be able to choose their umpires and to be honest they seem to be there just to raise a flag -- green or white. They never see any wrongdoing.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 13/06/2016 21:22:13    1866376

Replying To SamOnErrigal:  "I don't like these type of hits and any player lashing out like that deserves to be punished.
But let's take a look back a few years ago to the 2009 All Ireland final.
T Kennellys challenge on N Murphy.
Was it any different from what N McGee done yesterday? Did T Kennelly get sent off or better still should he have been sent off ??
Last year in the Mayo v Dublin game how many punches were thrown and how many got suspended. ?
I hope the County board appeals Neills red card.
I'm not disputing the fact that it was a red card but why punish N McGee when a host of similar players got red cards overturned. Nor would I throw the book at Quigley. I blame the GAA for all this --they had chances last year and indeed previous years to firmly state that incidents like this won't be tolerated
But every county must be treated equally and that is not happening at the moment
The standard of reffing needs to be looked at and indeed refs need more help
Also they should not be able to choose their umpires and to be honest they seem to be there just to raise a flag -- green or white. They never see any wrongdoing."
I see the "whataboutery" is strong in this thread, as if Cassidy not getting his red somehow means McGee didn't smash his forearm into a mans face.

Hopefully he gets a long ban, you can't claim a rush of blood to the head when he is at that stuff.

Steve (Fermanagh) - Posts: 293 - 13/06/2016 21:46:35    1866391

I think the donegal county board and Neil should just stay out of the appeals circus. Using what happened last year or years previous as a precedent to appeal means that you can justify anything on that basis alone. There should be no moral higher ground sought. I think that players who used and abused the appeals process in the past have lead to the culture within the GAA of indiscipline on the pitch.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 13/06/2016 21:53:58    1866396

He needs a suspension and he needs to stop all of this rubbish, he's been at this craic way to long , every time I watch Donegal he's in the middle of something.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/06/2016 10:08:00    1866492

I say we must appeal any suspension , same as the players who got suspensions last year and the year before.
Again not condoning him and if all the players who got cards overturned over the last two had to have served suspensions then I'd have no problem with N McGee being suspended.
But I would fight this tooth and nail and try get the card overturned.
All we want is consistently and fair play. And that to every county / club involved in the game.

Fair play to Clondalkin --- you're out for the kill
So every time you watch Donegal you see McGee up to nasties
Have you studied your own county over the last 40 years or so. What about the Micky Ned incident? John Finn? Brian Mullins/ CiaranDuff in 1983. The biting incident a few years ago(not P McBrearty alleged one)
The broken jaw last year in the Dublin v Armagh challenge game which was going to be swept under the carpet but for media exposure
Our teams all have been involved in unsavoury incidents so none of us are whiter than white
Plus the McGee sending off has taken the limelight of the Westmeath lad who was attacked after the game was over. How no big comment on that. If one of the McGees done that after the game I dare say that some posters on here would want them hung.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 14/06/2016 21:46:07    1866930

I have to say again that we should not appeal this. Or the county board rather than 'we' hogan standers!
Just because others have gotten off through the appeals process does not automatically justify everyone should get on board, unless you want to be involved in that side of the game. Like I said before, the mentality of appeal has contributed to the lack of discipline and bad sportsmanship that is in almost every game now. It contributes to contempt for rules and feeds a culture of letter of the law over spirit of the law.

I think that we have a great chance to get a result against monaghan without neil. It might sound ridiculous, but it could really bring our lads on a lot if we get through the next game without him.

Lets be positive. I would hate to see an appeal, headlines of appeals, results of appeals and reactions to appeals steal the headlines over sport.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 14/06/2016 22:42:16    1866956

Replying To Donegalman:  "I have to say again that we should not appeal this. Or the county board rather than 'we' hogan standers!
Just because others have gotten off through the appeals process does not automatically justify everyone should get on board, unless you want to be involved in that side of the game. Like I said before, the mentality of appeal has contributed to the lack of discipline and bad sportsmanship that is in almost every game now. It contributes to contempt for rules and feeds a culture of letter of the law over spirit of the law.

I think that we have a great chance to get a result against monaghan without neil. It might sound ridiculous, but it could really bring our lads on a lot if we get through the next game without him.

Lets be positive. I would hate to see an appeal, headlines of appeals, results of appeals and reactions to appeals steal the headlines over sport."
excellent post

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/06/2016 09:52:04    1867042

Its Diarmuid, not Dermot. The lads name is Diarmuid,

Regarding McGee, what he did was silly, but tell you what, given our current lack of a full back, If Neil wants to throw on a wig and fake eyebrows, I'd have him in a heartbeat!
Good old school full back. Himself and Philly would be.....formidable...... :)
Free the Donegal One!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 15/06/2016 10:30:20    1867065

Replying To Donegalman:  "I have to say again that we should not appeal this. Or the county board rather than 'we' hogan standers!

Lets be positive. I would hate to see an appeal, headlines of appeals, results of appeals and reactions to appeals steal the headlines over sport."
I agree with these sentiments, we shouldn't appeal the sending off itself. But I think 2 games is a bit harsh, we could appeal to get it reduced to 1 game. We have seen closed-fist punches getting no bans whatsoever.

As I have said previously a very bad precedent was set with these appeals in previous years.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 15/06/2016 13:00:03    1867172

Replying To Green_Gold:  "

I agree with these sentiments, we shouldn't appeal the sending off itself. But I think 2 games is a bit harsh, we could appeal to get it reduced to 1 game. We have seen closed-fist punches getting no bans whatsoever.

As I have said previously a very bad precedent was set with these appeals in previous years."
If he wasn't sent off earlier in the year he would have only received a 1 game suspension. His own fault.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 15/06/2016 13:20:15    1867193

No defending what he did, although Rory Gallagher tried to say he thought it was a free out and that Mc Gee was just shrugging his man off...with a forearm smash to the mush.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 15/06/2016 13:49:46    1867207