Best supported in football and hurling

Replying To MesAmis:  "Dublin support/interest in GAA actually grew massively in the period 1996-2010.

The difference in the affect that 2011 had over 1995 on the city was massive by all accounts."
Thank God for Dublin that day!

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1745 - 10/06/2016 16:36:09    1864909

Donegal and kildare fans for me..great for a bit of banter with us dubs..there good craic..also the monaghan fans would be up there aswell in my book...

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 10/06/2016 16:46:53    1864915

Kilkenny always have huge support you only see it really in September though!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 10/06/2016 17:20:04    1864926

Mayo seem to have a very devoted fanbase that sticks with them and will travel anywhere to see them. The Dubs have large numbers of supporters, but I'd wager they've more fair weather supporters than any other team. Kerry people are mad for the football, but don't seem to travel as much as other supporters unless Kerry make it to the business end of things.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 10/06/2016 17:23:44    1864928

Small in numbers but as loyal and vocal as any support is the Dublin hurling supporters and I mean the pre Anthony Daly days.

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 10/06/2016 17:35:16    1864932

Replying To Condorman:  "If you are just talking about numbers of supporters I would say after Dublin you have Mayo, Cork (for hurling), Waterford, Tipp, Limerick and any Northern county thats going well.
However if we want to ask who are the 'best' supporters I would say that the most knowledgeable , unbiased, and least deluded supporters are what I would call the 'hard core' supporters of Kerry, Galway and Cork."
Limerick fans outnumbered tipp 2 to 1 in Thurlas 2 years ago. Would be suprised if we didn't outnumbered them again next Sunday in the same stadium

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 10/06/2016 18:09:18    1864942

The right stuff ------ what about the Old Iron road, none of that in Donegal either. But I kno w Kerry have a train service.
I suppose when teams are doing well a lot of people go to games who might not if the team was struggling.
Still iv come back a good few times to see Donegal play and I remember going to Euston station to get the Hollyhead train at 6oclock in the morning and some young Donegal fans there wrapped up in the county flag. Met more fans on the boat and that was the semi final 2012 v Cork. I thought that there was massive Donegal support that day
Iv taken the plane , the boat , the bus and the car but never got the train to see Donegal play
Other counties who have good support --- Tyrone Mayo Dubs and Cavan
Monaghan bring a good crowd too
That's the nice thing about the GAA- how a team can ignite a county and get the fans on the road

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 10/06/2016 18:20:45    1864949

When you take population in to account it has to be Mayo. They are obsessed with it. Championship would be duller without them.

Wouldn't be sure in the hurling. Tipp people just go to hurling matches because that's all there is to do in Tipp. Likewise Kilkenny I suspect. Limerick hurling fans have a special place in my heart for being sheer eyeballs out crazy. Sometimes worth getting beaten by them just to see them lose there minds.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 10/06/2016 18:39:22    1864957

By and large more success means more support. At Ros Mayo Connacht semi in 1996 in the Hyde official attendance was just over 7k. I lived in Donegal for 4 yrs in the late nineties and while there was a dedicated hardcore at the many matches I attended in Ballybofey it was small enough. In Galway hurling only people by and large do not support football. The City is not a huge supporter of GAA but all in all what we have is a very dedicated but small core football support a bit like Donegal in the late nineties. Coincidentally we were well supported then with our success and recall 28k at a Connacht semi final replay against Sligo in Tuam in 1999. In hurling great club hurling attendances but flaky regarding the county team. In my experience Limerick have the most dedicated hurling support in terms of numbers.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 10/06/2016 18:56:08    1864964

Never get why people think limerick hurling support is great
They get nobody throughout the league
for me they are the epitome of a bandwagon. Most of them are rugby supporters who when Munster end their season go to a championship match in the hurling.
that ain't real support. Fair play to the three thousand or so actual limerick hurling support who turn out for league and championship but every county when they are going well gets the people can't see why limerick get praised and other counties get slated for it as every county has them

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/06/2016 20:09:35    1864993

Dublin fella don't think you know much about limerick hurling support but we have won very little but always get huge support we always out number other teams like your own county every time we play ye

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 10/06/2016 21:11:56    1865013

I know very much that you don't get anybody turning out until the Munster championship. ye didnt have many in the qualifiers last year either once dumped out of munster.Where are the numbers for the rest of the season?
Cork have a far better hurling support in my view they turn out for both league and championship in good numbers.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/06/2016 21:37:10    1865021

When we played Tyrone in the Ulster final a few years ago we outnumbered Tyrone fans 3 - 1. Antrim are a sleeping giant. If we had decent county sides we would fill Croker like Dublin. However the GAA continue to neglect Gaelic Games in Belfast and the surrounding urban areas.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 10/06/2016 22:03:53    1865033

Limerick hurlers bring great colour to all championship games.Always have.I have been to many munster championship games between Tipp and Limerick.The scenes after Limerick beat Cork in Munster final few years back said it all.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 10/06/2016 22:22:49    1865045

they aint even supporting munster anymore hill..u seen the attendances lately?..limerick seems like a bandwagon county to me...went mad for munster rugby when they were winning..same with the hurlers

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 10/06/2016 22:55:56    1865055

dublins core support has grown quite a bit...result of gaa being massive in the county now...mayo always great support and any of the ulster counties when they get on a bit of a run..ulster championship and mckenna cup always getting decent crowds

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 10/06/2016 22:57:45    1865056

hill16man
As a Dub what qualifies you to comment on limerick - i was born raised here and lived here most of my life so i know a bit about limerick support
Never get why people think limerick hurling support is great
Maybe its due to bringing crowds like
40000 at 2013 semi final or 25000 plus at 2013 munster final , 2000 to a qualifer v westmeath last year , 14000 to 2013 and 2014 v tipp,
20000 to all ireland quarter final in 2011

They get nobody throughout the league 

what team does in division 2 -dublin hurlers v carlow got around 900
if we were in 1a our crowds would be as good as anyones -

Most of them are rugby supporters who when Munster end their season go to a championship match in the hurling.
Well then I could so most Dublin supporters are celtic supporters who when celtic end their season to a championship game in football. And lets be honest your support dropped by about a third when ye were asked to make your once a decade away trip to kilkenny. Official attendance was 16k - so lets say 18 k at the game - that would be the equivalent pro rata of limerick bringing 3k to a munster hurling game and by the way there are non nationals and people from other counties living in limerick too.
Hurling is by a mile the most popular sport in limerick. Most limerick hurling fans would follow Munster rugby and soccer too, but would be hurling 1 and rugby/soccer ,unlike some posters in the anti rte anti rugby thread Limerick people think its ok to like a non gaa sports

I know very much that you don't get anybody turning out until the Munster championship. ye didnt have many in the qualifiers last year either once dumped out of munster.Where are the numbers for the rest of the season? 
Oh yeah - I since 2011 I have been at all limerick games inc qualifiers -how many were you at -of the qualifers -lets look at the some of the crowd we brought to games
2011 v wexford -10k (at home)
2011 v antrim 2k in parnell park
2012 v antrim (home) 6000
2015 v westmeath 2k
2015 v dublin around 6k -
Dublin qualifer v tipperary in 2010 football had 25k -be likeus havin 4k at a home qualifer
Cork have a far better hurling support in my view they turn out for both league and championship in good numbers
Cork have 2.5 times the population - do they have 2.5 times the support we do NO
Some other crowd figures for you
4k at limerick v cork minor hurling semis last 2 years (ok at home ) 90% limerick
6k at 2013 and 2014 munster minor hurling replays again mostly limerick
we had around 8-10k fans paying €80 a pop to see our minors in all ireland final
Dublin minor footballers barely get that
Under 21s last year
4k v tipp (at home) on wed night - mostly limerick
Brought 6000 fans to ennis in midweek for munster final
Brough similar amount to thurles for semi finals
Brough over 15000 fans to final
Would dublin ever bring 15000 fans to an under 21 football final - or any other county

rubbish post our support is as good as anyones

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 11/06/2016 00:38:11    1865066

thank you to killoughter red and black and condorman for acknowledging our support

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 11/06/2016 00:40:51    1865067

leitrim4sam - at the 2013 semi v london wasnt there a crowd of around 7k - assuming few neutrals and travelling london fans thats an excellent leitrim support

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 11/06/2016 00:42:19    1865068

A lot of it is relative. If Limerick were in the top hurling division they would get twice as many at league games. The point here is every county has a core die in the wool support of varying degrees. Mayo have a sizeable hardcore but while they are now getting 2 to 3k travelling to away league games (as impressive as this is) they certainly were not getting that pre the Horan era. The bandwagonerss come along with success. I remember being at the Mayo Meath q/f in 2009 that was a double header with the Kilkenny Waterford hurling semi and the level of Mayo support that day compared to their q/f support in 2012 onwards was chalk and cheese. Same as in every successful county.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 11/06/2016 09:38:49    1865083