Your county win the All Ireland or Ireland win the Euros... which?

that isnt aimed at you royaldunne by the way...aimed at those giving out about supporting teams from places they arent even from yet giving out about some of our players not speaking irish!!

I think a smaller county winning Sam would be bigger...for likes of kerry, us and kilkenny in hurling id say the euros possibly

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/06/2016 22:26:14    1863290

Replying To waynoI:  "100% Cue.

Cant stand Ireland in the soccer. Just cant.

With their Scottish/English accents.

Not one word of Irish between the majority of them.

Nah, Not for me.

A very unpopular opinion but I don't care.

Roll on the euros, But wont be watching the Ireland games with any kind of bias towards them. As a Liverpool fan, I'd like to see England do well though with Milner, Henderson, Sturridge, Lallana and Clyne all in the squad.

But yea rant over anyway... Dubs will always come first. So Sam > Euros."
Either you're a WUM or an ignoramus with no idea what Irishness means.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 07/06/2016 22:30:25    1863298

Dubs 4 Sam 100% all day long

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 07/06/2016 22:30:51    1863300

Replying To waynoI:  "Its not people being English or Scottish that I have the problem with.

Ive no problem with England and Scotland.

I just think players should play for their country if they were born and raised in that country, And also played underage football with the country.

Because that doesn't happen you have fellas declaring themselves as proudly irish when they realise they have no hope of making the England team. Case in point, Jon Walters.

Case in point, Keiren Westwood.

Case in point, Richard Keogh.

And I couldn't care less if its a stoneage view. Its my view and that's the end of that."
You must vehemently disagree with Senan Connell then regarding his idea of Dublin players being able to play for their parent counties, he even said Mayo and Kerry should avail of it!

Re:soccer I'm not a massive fan but I think such an accomplishment would transcend anything any Irish sports team (national or international) has ever achieved. It'd be a great boost to people in Ireland and in terms of how'd be we be perceived on the global scale.

I think your jibe at the foreign born players is unfair. Paul McGrath (my favourite Irish player ever) happened to be born in London - does that mean he isn't a Dub?, isn't Irish?

The fact is these days the very small fee they receive for playing for Ireland is minimal to their total earnings. In contrast back in the 80's and 90's it was a far bigger % of their earnings so a much bigger incentive to play for Ireland. Also it was more beneficial in terms of raising their profile to go bigger clubs as English teams rarely if ever bought lads from outside Britain & Ireland as opposed to the global operation today.

It'd be much easier for those players not to bother themselves turning up to play but they do apart from Cork born and bred Stephen Ireland!

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 07/06/2016 22:34:51    1863305

Win the Euros

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 07/06/2016 22:46:36    1863316

Would have to go for Ireland even though Galway haven't won an AI for quite a while. I would understand counties like Monaghan going for Sam though if they haven't won it yet. It's a very tricky question though for Mayo fans

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 07/06/2016 22:49:59    1863321

Ireland to win the Euro's or World Cup any day of the week. Such a difference in magnitude. Anyone who follows soccer but says their county to win an All-Ireland is a liar. People tend to forget the hysteria and elation of Ireland doing well in a major tournament, but when it happens and push comes to shove and people become wrapped up in it again, it's Ireland to win a major everyday of the week over an All-Ireland. Come back and ask the question if we get out of the groups push deep into the tournament and you'll get very different replies.

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4122 - 07/06/2016 23:13:58    1863334

limerick to win all ireland or musnter football be more important for me
and id rank a county championship over that for my club,
same in rugby club first privince second and ireland third - but cheer on all three

good luck ireland in the euros ill be cheering ye on

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 07/06/2016 23:24:33    1863337

I thought this was a wind up originally, no contest, SAM every time!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 08/06/2016 01:05:08    1863352

Roscommon to beat Sligo and mayo would be more important to me.i follow the Irish team but gaa is the one and only.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1066 - 08/06/2016 06:54:29    1863357

Completely honestly, I'd rather see my club reserve team win their league match this weekend, than either of the Irish teams winning the Euros.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 08/06/2016 08:25:18    1863371

I would take an Ulster title, or indeed a county club championship, ahead of the Euros myself.

No harm to the soccer team, I wish them well, but at the end of the day I am a GAA man.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/06/2016 08:35:37    1863375

In this order: Dublin hurlers to win Liam, Dublin footballers to do back to backs, club senior hurlers to win the county championship, Ireland winning the Euros. I'll watch the games and support them but always the GAA 1st for me.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 08/06/2016 09:22:24    1863387

Liam McCarthy is No.1 for me but I would put Ireland winning the Euros way ahead of Galway winning Sam for me.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1908 - 08/06/2016 09:22:59    1863388

No question.....Mayo for Sam for me and I assume all Mayo fans.
I have seen some comments on the party we would all have if Ireland won the Euro....well Mayo would shut down for a month if Sam were to arrive.
I follow the Irish team and will shout for them at the Euro's but GAA comes first.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11248 - 08/06/2016 09:41:06    1863400

Waynol

I actually respect what you put Fella..fair play to you.

I know too many who are anti English everything yet spend most of there lifes talking about The English premiership and their love for their English Club.
They are really only Irish on paddys day or when Ireland play and love seeing the English get beat in evertything else. Hypocrisy at its finest.
At least you are honest and man enough to acknowledge you like to see the club players you support do well.

As for me' Like most I supported an English Club as a child but Football/Soccer is only a passing interest for me nowadays and i couldnt care less about it and it really couldnt keep my attention for the full 90 mins.
Of cousre i would still like to see the Irish do well and will prob watch the matches when they are on but its Donegal that matters to me in Football and everthing else.

I have no issues with anyone liking Soccer and there are plenty of genuine diehard Irish soccer Fans out there but it is the hypocritical Plastic Paddies that get up my nose.

So Donegal for Sam anyday of the week for me.

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 08/06/2016 10:00:37    1863416

Ireland to win the Euros for me.

Oh Waynol, as a second generation Irishman, thanks for the disenfranchisement. You're quite right, in both acknowledging the right to your own opinion and for that opinion to belong in the stone age so please don't take too much offence at being told to stick your views up your arse.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 08/06/2016 10:31:53    1863441

my county to win the All Ireland, I guess its different if you have seen your team win a few All Irelands already.

Anyone know best places in Paris for watching the games on Sunday, I see The Coolin that used to show them seems to have closed.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 08/06/2016 10:51:05    1863458

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Ireland to win the Euros for me.

Oh Waynol, as a second generation Irishman, thanks for the disenfranchisement. You're quite right, in both acknowledging the right to your own opinion and for that opinion to belong in the stone age so please don't take too much offence at being told to stick your views up your arse."
no contest liam or sam every day of the week

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 08/06/2016 10:53:55    1863459

Whilst Ive already stated I hope boys in green do well there is a knock on effect if they were to do Stuggart/Boston heroics ,Dublin may well be flying but in parts of Dublin its a big challenge taking on soccer , in my area there are 11 soccer clubs within a few miles radius , our under 13s have 9 players and most likely will fold with players moving up an age , the area is soccer mad if we do well in France the fight gets that little bit harder ,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/06/2016 11:00:37    1863467